Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 08/11/2023, claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 08/11/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Though Fig. 1 depicts “one of the target charging modes” (of claims 2-4), Fig. 2 depicts the “lithium battery charging mode” (of claims 5-6), and Fig. 3 depicts the “repair charging mode” (of claim 7), each drawing fails to identify the following claimed features/parameters therein. It is suggested to include item numbers with arrows to identify each item in the drawing with associated definition of each item number in the specification.
Claim 2: “first charging control parameter”, “desulphation charging phase”, “first pulse charging control operation”, “present charging voltage”, “preset first voltage parameter threshold”, “corresponding determination result”, “pre-charge charging phase”, “first duty ratio parameter”, “first pulse cycle parameter”, “first pulse electrical parameter”, “second charging control parameter”, “first constant-current charging control operation”, “preset second voltage parameter threshold”, “first soft start charging phase”, “first constant-current electrical parameter”
Claim 3: “third charging control parameter”, “first stepped charging control operation”, “preset third voltage parameter threshold”, “first constant-current charging phase”, “first stepped electrical parameter”, “first stepped charging time parameter”, “fourth charging control parameter”, “second constant-current charging control operation”, “preset fourth voltage parameter threshold”, “first optimization charging phase”, “second constant-current electrical parameter”, “fifth charging control parameter”, “first optimization charging control operation”, “present first charging parameter”, “preset trickle-charging converting condition”, “trickle charging phase”, “first current declining parameter”, “second stepped electrical parameter”, “second stepped charging time parameter”
Claim 4: “sixth charging control parameter”, “trickle charging control operation”, “preset fifth voltage parameter threshold”, “analysis charging phase”, “third constant-current electrical parameter”, “suspend charging control operation”, “preset sixth voltage parameter threshold”, “maintain charging phase”, “seventh charging control parameter”, “maintain charging control operation”, “preset seventh voltage parameter threshold”, access charging status”, “fourth constant-current electrical parameter”
Claim 5: “first lithium battery charging control parameter”, “second constant-current charging phase”, “third constant-current charging control operation”, “present charging voltage”, “preset first lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold”, “second soft start charging phase”, “fifth constant-current electrical parameter”, “second lithium battery charging control parameter”, “second stepped charging control operation”, “preset second lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold”, “third constant-current charging phase”, “third stepped electrical parameter”, “third stepped charging time parameter”
Claim 6: “third lithium battery charging control parameter”, “fourth constant-current charging control operation”, “preset third lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold”, “second optimization charging phase”, “sixth constant-current electrical parameter”, “fourth lithium battery charging control parameter”, “second optimization charging control operation”, “present second charging parameter”, “preset stop-charging condition”, “stop-charging control operation”, “second current declining parameter”, “fourth stepped electrical parameter”, “fourth stepped charging time parameter”
Claim 7: “first repair charging control parameter”, “fourth constant-current charging phase”, “fifrth constant-current charging control operation”, “present charging voltage”, “preset first repair voltage parameter threshold”, “third optimization charging phase”, “seventh constant-current electrical parameter”, “second repair charging control parameter”, “second pulse charging control operation”, “present charging voltage”, “preset second repair voltage parameter threshold”, “stop-charging control operation”, “second duty ratio parameter”, “second pulse cycle parameter”, “second pulse electrical parameter”
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following labels not mentioned in the description:
“Switching voltage” (Figs. 1-3)
“line loss” (Figs. 1-3)
“Battery LED indication” (Figs. 1-3)
“Repair LED flash” (Fig. 3)
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as “Disclosed in the present application”.
The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. The current abstract includes purported merits including “improve the charging matching”, “improve the charging accuracy”, and “improving the charging performance”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 and 9-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-7 and 9-20 recite “an automotive battery” after this feature was prior-introduced in independent claim 1. Thus, this language is suggested to be revised to “[[an]] the automotive battery”.
Claim 4, lines 26-27 recite “a access charging status”, which is suggested to be revised to “[[a]] an access charging status”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “identifying module” and “charging control module” in claim 8.
Note that the following terms are interpreted with their broadest reasonable interpretations. The Specification does not define sufficient structure for these claim limitations.
Claim 8: “identifying module”
Claim 8: “charging control module”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim 8: “identifying module”
Claim 8: “charging control module”
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite as to the plurality of the “battery parameter”.
Claim 1, line 2 recites “identifying a battery parameter”, which indicates there is only a singular battery parameter.
However, claim 1, lines 2-4 recite “the battery parameter of the automotive battery comprising at least one of a rated electrical parameter, a battery type parameter, a charging environment parameter and a battery loss condition”, which indicates the battery is “at least one” different parameter(s) (interpretation for examination).
Claim 1, lines 8-10 and claim 8, lines 9-11 recite “the first charging mode, the second charging mode and the cold environment charging mode all belong to a target charging mode”. This language is indefinite as to whether each of the “the first charging mode, the second charging mode and the cold environment charging mode” are sub-modes within a larger “target charging mode” or, as interpreted for examination, the “target charging mode” is simply a re-naming of these three possible modes.
Further, this language is indefinite as to how all three modes can belong to a target charging mode because it was previously recited that “the charging mode corresponding to the automotive battery is one of a first charging mode, a second charging mode, a cold environment charging mode”. Thus, only one of these three modes is part of the claimed method.
Claim 2, lines 6 and 8 each introduce “a desulphation charging phase”. Thus, claim 2 is indefinite as to whether there is a single desulphation charging phase (interpretation for examination) or two distinct desulphation charging phases.
Claim 2, line 7 recites “the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes”, which indicates there is a plurality of target charging modes. However, claim 1 prior introduced only a singular “target charging modes”. Thus, claim 2 is indefinite as to the plurality of the target charging mode(s). For examination purposes, it is interpreted there is only a singular target charging mode because claim 1 recites “one of a first charging mode, …”.
Claim 2 is indefinite as to the plurality of the “first charging control parameter”.
Claim 2, line 6 recites “identifying a first charging control parameter”, which indicates there is only a singular first charging control parameter.
However, claim 2, lines 14-16 recite “the first charging control parameter comprises a first duty ratio parameter, a first pulse cycle parameter and a first pulse electrical parameter”, which indicates the first charging control parameter is actually a plurality of different parameters (interpretation for examination).
Claim 3 is indefinite as to the plurality of the “third charging control parameter”.
Claim 3, line 3 recites “identifying a third charging control parameter”, which indicates there is only a singular third charging control parameter.
However, claim 3, lines 13-14 recite “the third charging control parameter comprises a first stepped electrical parameter and a first stepped charging time parameter”, which indicates the third charging control parameter is actually a plurality of different parameters (interpretation for examination).
Claim 3 is indefinite as to the plurality of the “fifth charging control parameter”.
Claim 3, line 25 recites “identifying a fifth charging control parameter”, which indicates there is only a singular fifth charging control parameter.
However, claim 3, lines 33-35 recite “the fifth charging control parameter comprises at least one of a first current declining parameter, a second stepped electrical parameter and a second stepped charging time parameter”, which indicates the fifth charging control parameter is “one or more” different parameters (interpretation for examination).
Claim 4, lines 27-28 recite “if yes, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the maintain charging phase to the analysis charging phase”. This language is indefinite as to what question is being answered by “yes”. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that this limitation applies if the automotive battery is detected to be in the “access charging status”.
Claim 5 is indefinite as to the plurality of the “second lithium battery charging control parameter”.
Claim 5, line 18 recites “identifying a second lithium battery charging control parameter”, which indicates there is only a singular second lithium battery charging control parameter.
However, claim 5, lines 27-29 recite “the second lithium battery charging control parameter comprises a third stepped electrical parameter and a third stepped charging time parameter”, which indicates the second lithium battery charging control parameter is a plurality of different parameters (interpretation for examination).
Claim 6 is indefinite as to the plurality of the “fourth lithium battery charging control parameter”.
Claim 6, line 15 recites “identifying a fourth lithium battery charging control parameter”, which indicates there is only a singular fourth lithium battery charging control parameter.
However, claim 6, lines 23-25 recite “the fourth lithium battery charging control parameter comprises at least one of a second current declining parameter, a fourth stepped electrical parameter and a fourth stepped charging time parameter”, which indicates the fourth lithium battery charging control parameter is “at least one” different parameter(s) (interpretation for examination).
Claim 7 is indefinite as to the plurality of the “second repair charging control parameter”.
Claim 7, line 17 recites “identifying a second repair charging control parameter”, which indicates there is only a singular “second repair charging control parameter”.
However, claim 7, lines 25-27 recite “the second repair charging control parameter comprises a second duty ratio parameter, a second pulse cycle parameter and a second pulse electrical parameter”, which indicates the second repair charging control parameter is a plurality of different parameters (interpretation for examination).
The language “when a corresponding determination result is positive” is recited in the following claims:
Claim 2, lines 12-13 and 24 (two occurrences)
Claim 3, lines 9-10, 21, 32 (three occurrences)
Claim 4, lines 9-10, 17-18, 26-27 (three occurrences)
Claim 5, lines 13-14, 25-26 (two occurrences)
Claim 6, lines 10-11, 22 (two occurrences)
Claim 7, lines 13-14, 24 (two occurrences)
This language is indefinite as to what prior limitation the determination result is corresponding to, or further, how the determination result may be a positive or negative number. No mathematical operation appears to be claimed prior to this language. Thus, the language “when a corresponding determination result is positive” is interpreted to not be further limiting.
Claim 8 is indefinite as to the plurality of the “battery parameter”.
Claim 8, line 3 recites “identifying a battery parameter”, which indicates there is only a singular battery parameter.
However, claim 8, lines 4-5 recite “the battery parameter of the automotive battery comprising at least one of a rated electrical parameter, a battery type parameter, a charging environment parameter and a battery loss condition”, which indicates the battery parameter may be singular or may be a plurality of different battery parameters (interpretation for examination).
The claim 8 limitations “identifying module” and “charging control module” each invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification ¶ [24] states each of these means “are, for example programs stored in the control device 20”, which is insufficient structure for each of these “means”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 9-20 are further rejected for their dependency on other rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fagan et al. (US 2005/0248310 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fagan discloses a method of intelligent charging control (¶ [14]: “charge a variety of different types of batteries by varying the charging method and controlling the charging parameters”; Fig. 2) for an automotive battery (“battery 110”; Figs. 1, 3; ¶ [4]: “used in automobiles”), characterized by comprising the following.
Fagan further discloses identifying (Fig. 2, step 204: “read key value”) a battery parameter (“key value 204” from “key 108”; ¶ [7]: “charges the battery in a manner required by the battery type associated with the key value”) of the automotive battery (110) to be charged.
Fagan further discloses the battery parameter (“key value 204” from “key 108”) of the automotive battery (110) comprising at least one of a rated electrical parameter (¶ [20]: “battery types include …. voltage rating”) and a battery type parameter (¶ [17]: “108 includes a code that identifies a type of battery 110”; ¶ [20]: “battery types include differences in chemistry type, size, capacity”).
Fagan further discloses identifying a charging mode (¶ [25]: “selects and applies a charging protocol specific to the battery type as specified by the key value 204”; ¶ [25]: “the charging routine 208 is specific to the type of battery corresponding to the value associated with the key 108”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) based on the battery parameter (“key value 204” from “key 108”) of the automotive battery (110).
Fagan further discloses the charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) is one (see note 1-1, included infra) of a first charging mode, a second charging mode, a cold environment charging mode, a lithium battery charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”, as directed to a lithium-based battery type per ¶ [5]) and a repair charging mode.
NOTE 1-1: The claim 1 limitation “wherein the charging mode corresponding to the automotive battery is one of a first charging mode, a second charging mode, a cold environment charging mode, a lithium battery charging mode and a repair charging mode” is interpreted as being Markush claim language, in accordance with MPEP § 2117. Thus, it is interpreted that exactly one of these charging modes is required by the claimed method.
NOTE 1-2: Because Fagan’s species of the prior Markush claim limitation is the “lithium battery charging mode”, it is interpreted that the claim 1 limitation “additionally, the first charging mode, the second charging mode and the cold environment charging mode all belong to a target charging mode corresponding to the automotive battery” is not applicable.
Fagan further discloses identifying a present electrical parameter (per ¶ [40], the battery’s “voltage with respect to time, and/or current with respect to time” is/are monitored) of the automotive battery (110).
Fagan further discloses identifying a charging phase (¶ [32]: “current stage of the charging cycle”; ¶ [22]: “indicating the status of the charging system 10, for example, powered up, battery polarity is correct, charging stage, and charging completed”; per ¶ [6], may include any of “constant-current, constant potential (or voltage), float, pulse, ripple, taper, and trickle”, based on the “method recommended by the manufacturer for the type of battery”) of the charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) based on the present electrical parameter (voltage or current) of the automotive battery (110).
Fagan further discloses identifying a target charging control parameter (¶ [31-32, 38]: “duty cycle pulse width”; Figs. 4-5) of the charging phase (¶ [32]: “current stage of the charging cycle”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) based on the charging phase (¶ [32]: “varies the width … of the pulse streams … based on the requirements demanded by the charging routine corresponding to the type of battery 110 being charged and the current stage of the charging cycle”) of the charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110).
Fagan further discloses performing a charging control operation (Fig. 2, steps 208, 218; ¶ [38]: “function of providing a variable duty cycle pulse width regulation output to the battery is implemented”) on the automotive battery (110) based on the target charging control parameter (¶ [31-32, 38]: “duty cycle pulse width”; Figs. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 8, Fagan discloses teaches an apparatus (“battery charging system 10”; Fig. 1) of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery (“battery 110”; Figs. 1, 3; ¶ [4]: “used in automobiles”), characterized in that the apparatus (10) comprises the following features.
Fagan further discloses an identifying module (“processor 106”; Figs. 1, 3), used for the following.
Fagan further discloses identifying (Fig. 2, step 204: “read key value”) a battery parameter (“key value 204” from “key 108”; ¶ [7]: “charges the battery in a manner required by the battery type associated with the key value”) of the automotive battery (110) to be charged.
Fagan further discloses the battery parameter (“key value 204” from “key 108”) of the automotive battery (110) comprising at least one of a rated electrical parameter (¶ [20]: “battery types include …. voltage rating”) and a battery type parameter (¶ [17]: “108 includes a code that identifies a type of battery 110”; ¶ [20]: “battery types include differences in chemistry type, size, capacity”).
Fagan further discloses identifying a charging mode (¶ [25]: “selects and applies a charging protocol specific to the battery type as specified by the key value 204”; ¶ [25]: “the charging routine 208 is specific to the type of battery corresponding to the value associated with the key 108”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) based on the battery parameter (“key value 204” from “key 108”) of the automotive battery (110).
Fagan further discloses the charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) is one (see note 8-1, included infra) of a first charging mode, a second charging mode, a cold environment charging mode, a lithium battery charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”, as directed to a lithium-based battery type per ¶ [5]) and a repair charging mode.
NOTE 8-1: The claim 8 limitation “wherein the charging mode corresponding to the automotive battery is one of a first charging mode, a second charging mode, a cold environment charging mode, a lithium battery charging mode and a repair charging mode” is interpreted as being Markush claim language, in accordance with MPEP § 2117. Thus, it is interpreted that exactly one of these charging modes is required by the claimed method.
NOTE 8-2: Because Fagan’s species of the prior Markush claim limitation is the “lithium battery charging mode”, it is interpreted that the claim 8 limitation “additionally, the first charging mode, the second charging mode and the cold environment charging mode all belong to a target charging mode corresponding to the automotive battery” is not applicable.
Fagan further discloses identifying a present electrical parameter (per ¶ [40], the battery’s “voltage with respect to time, and/or current with respect to time” is/are monitored) of the automotive battery (110).
Fagan further discloses identifying a charging phase (¶ [32]: “current stage of the charging cycle”; ¶ [22]: “indicating the status of the charging system 10, for example, powered up, battery polarity is correct, charging stage, and charging completed”; per ¶ [6], may include any of “constant-current, constant potential (or voltage), float, pulse, ripple, taper, and trickle”, based on the “method recommended by the manufacturer for the type of battery”) of the charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) based on the present electrical parameter (voltage or current) of the automotive battery (110).
Fagan further discloses a charging control module (combo of “processor 106” and “charger circuit 104”; Figs. 1, 3), used for the following.
Fagan further discloses identifying a target charging control parameter (¶ [31-32, 38]: “duty cycle pulse width”; Figs. 4-5) of the charging phase (¶ [32]: “current stage of the charging cycle”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) based on the charging phase (¶ [32]: “varies the width … of the pulse streams … based on the requirements demanded by the charging routine corresponding to the type of battery 110 being charged and the current stage of the charging cycle”) of the charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110).
Fagan further discloses performing a charging control operation (Fig. 2, steps 208, 218; ¶ [38]: “function of providing a variable duty cycle pulse width regulation output to the battery is implemented”) on the automotive battery (110) based on the target charging control parameter (¶ [31-32, 38]: “duty cycle pulse width”; Figs. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 9, Fagan discloses the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 1.
Fagan further discloses an apparatus (“battery charging system 10”; Fig. 1) of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery (110), characterized in that the apparatus (10) comprises: a memory (“memory medium” and “storage component” included in “processor 106” per ¶ [16]; Fig. 1), memorized with an executable code (¶ [16]: “software”), and a processor (106), coupled with the memory (“memory medium”, “storage component”), wherein the processor (106) invokes the executable code (“software”) memorized in the memory (¶ [16]: “memory medium that stores the software”; ¶ [16]: “storage component stores data and program code”) to perform the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Fagan discloses the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 1.
Fagan further discloses a non-transitory computer memory medium (¶ [16]: “processor 106 includes … a storage component”) characterized in that the non-transitory computer memory medium memorizes computer instructions (¶ [16]: “storage component stores data and program code. In one embodiment, the storage component includes random access memory. In another embodiment, the storage component includes non-volatile memory, such as floppy disks, hard disks, and writeable optical disks.”); when the computer instructions are invoked (¶ [17]: “106 executes a software program charging different types of batteries. The program includes routines for charging different types of batteries 110”), the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 1 is performed.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clarke et al. (US 2017/0331162 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Clarke discloses a method of intelligent charging control (¶ [8]: “method for identifying a bad battery condition via a battery charger having a display device during a charging process of a lead acid battery”; Figs. 2-7, 11) for an automotive battery (“battery 104”; Figs. 1a, 1d; ¶ [84-86]), characterized by comprising the following.
Clarke further discloses identifying a battery parameter (Fig. 2, step 204: “Diagnostics Mode”; ¶ [114]: “may include nominal voltage detection, battery type detection, etc.”) of the automotive battery (104) to be charged.
Clarke further discloses the battery parameter (data obtained during step 204) of the automotive battery (104) comprising at least one of a rated electrical parameter (¶ [119]: “maximum charging current for a given battery type”), a battery type parameter (¶ [114]: “battery type detection”), a charging environment parameter (¶ [123]: “temperature of the battery 104 may also be monitored”; ¶ [172]) and a battery loss condition (¶ [117]: “resistance measurement, … impedance measurement”; ¶ [118]: “determine … whether the battery 104 is … in a sufficient SoH”).
Clarke further discloses identifying a charging mode (steps of Fig. 2 following step “204”) corresponding to the automotive battery (104) based on the battery parameter (data obtained during step 204) of the automotive battery (104).
Clarke further discloses the charging mode (Fig. 2) corresponding to the automotive battery (104) is a repair charging mode (Fig. 2 repairs the battery via step 206: “Desulfation Mode”). However, Clarke’s charging mode may alternatively be interpreted as any of a first charging mode, a second charging mode, a cold environment charging mode, a lithium battery charging mode and a repair charging mode.
NOTE 1-3: The claim 8 limitation “wherein the charging mode corresponding to the automotive battery is one of a first charging mode, a second charging mode, a cold environment charging mode, a lithium battery charging mode and a repair charging mode” is interpreted as being Markush claim language, in accordance with MPEP § 2117. Thus, it is interpreted that exactly one of these charging modes is required by the claimed method.
NOTE 1-4: Because Clarke’s species of the prior Markush claim limitation is mapped to the “repair charging mode”, it is interpreted that the claim 8 limitation “additionally, the first charging mode, the second charging mode and the cold environment charging mode all belong to a target charging mode corresponding to the automotive battery” is not applicable.
Clarke further discloses identifying a present electrical parameter (“nominal voltage” of “battery 104” identified during “diagnostics mode 204” per ¶ [117]) of the automotive battery (104).
Clarke further discloses identifying a charging phase (various steps of Fig. 2) of the charging mode (Fig. 2) corresponding to the automotive battery (104) based on the present electrical parameter (“nominal voltage”) of the automotive battery (104).
Clarke further discloses identifying a target charging control parameter (charging voltages, currents, and timings thereof applied to the battery in the method of Fig. 2) of the charging phase (steps of Fig. 2) corresponding to the automotive battery (104) based on the charging phase of the charging mode (Fig. 2) corresponding to the automotive battery (104).
Clarke further discloses performing a charging control operation (various steps of Fig. 2, including step 210 “bulk mode”; ¶ [123]) on the automotive battery (104) based on the target charging control parameter (charging voltages, currents, and timings thereof applied to the battery in the method of Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Clarke discloses the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery according to claim 1.
Clarke further discloses steps of identifying a target charging control parameter (charging voltages, currents, and timings thereof applied to the battery in the method of Fig. 2) of the charging phase (steps of Fig. 2) corresponding to the automotive battery (104) based on the charging phase (steps of Fig. 2) of the charging mode (Fig. 2) corresponding to the automotive battery (104), and performing the charging control operation (various steps of Fig. 2, including step 210 “bulk mode”; ¶ [123]) on the automotive battery (104) based on the target charging control parameter (charging voltages, currents, and timings thereof applied to the battery in the method of Fig. 2) comprises the following.
Clarke further discloses identifying a first repair charging control parameter (charging current level of step 208; ¶ [119]: “reduced charging current”) of a fourth constant-current charging phase (Fig. 2, step 208: “Soft Start Mode”; ¶ [119]: “100 charges the battery 104 using a reduced charging current (e.g., about half the maximum charging current for a given battery type until the battery reaches a predetermined state of charge)”) corresponding to the automotive battery (104) when the charging mode is identified as the repair charging mode (“example battery charging cycle 200”; Fig. 2) and the charging phase of the repair charging mode is identified as the fourth constant-current charging phase (step 208).
Clarke further discloses performing a fifth constant-current charging control operation (application of the “reduced charging current” during step 208; ¶ [119]) on the automotive battery (104) based on the first repair charging control parameter (charging current level of step 208; ¶ [119]: “reduced charging current”).
Clarke further discloses determining whether a present charging voltage (voltage of “battery 104”) of the automotive battery (104) is greater than or equal to a preset first repair voltage parameter threshold (¶ [121]: “if the peak voltage in a nominal six-cell 12-volt voltage battery is greater than a first predetermined value (e.g., 11 volts, which is 1.834 VCELL), also see ¶ [174]; also referred to as “predetermined state of charge” in ¶ [119]) during a process of performing the fifth constant-current charging control operation (application of the “reduced charging current” during step 208; ¶ [119]) on the automotive battery (104).
Clarke further discloses when a corresponding determination result is positive (¶ [121]: “if the peak voltage in a nominal six-cell 12-volt voltage battery is greater than a first predetermined value (e.g., 11 volts, which is 1.834 VCELL), … initiates a desulfation process at step 206”; ¶ [174]: “in a 12-volt battery, if the peak voltage is >11 volts, for example, but the initial voltage was less than 3 volts, for example, the system assumes a sulfation condition exists and initiates a desulfation charge”), converting the charging phase of the repair charging mode (200) from the fourth constant-current charging phase (step 208) to a third optimization charging phase (Fig. 2, step 206: “Desulfation Mode”; detailed in Fig. 5 as “exemplary desulfation process 500”).
Clarke further discloses the first repair charging control parameter (charging current level of step 208; ¶ [119]: “reduced charging current”) comprises a seventh constant-current electrical parameter (charging current level of step 208; ¶ [119]: “reduced charging current”).
Clarke further discloses identifying a second repair charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of the current pulses applied in “500”; Fig. 5; ¶ [175-176]) of the third optimization charging phase (206 / 500) corresponding to the automotive battery (104) when the charging mode is identified as the repair charging mode (200) and the charging phase of the repair charging mode is identified as the third optimization charging phase (206 / 500).
Clarke further discloses performing a second pulse charging control operation (application of charging steps of “500”, including “current pulses applied to the battery 104” per ¶ [175]) on the automotive battery (104) based on the second repair charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of the current pulses applied in “500”; Fig. 5; ¶ [175-176]).
Clarke further discloses determining whether a present charging voltage (voltage of “battery 104”) of the automotive battery (104) is greater than or equal to a preset second repair voltage parameter threshold (¶ [175]: “Sulfation detection may be accomplished by continuously monitoring the difference between VMAX and VMIN. If the difference is more than a predetermined value (e.g., 8 volts), then the battery 104 is considered to be in a sulfated condition”) during a process of performing the second pulse charging control operation (application of charging steps of “500”) on the automotive battery (104).
Clarke further discloses when a corresponding determination result is positive (regardless of the outcome of comparing the battery voltage during step 206 “Desulfation Mode”, Fig. 2 shows that eventually the method results in step 220 “End”; further, Fig. 5 shows that “Yes” responses to steps 504-508 results in step 516: “Abort & Display Bad Battery”), performing a stop-charging control operation (Fig. 2, step 220: “End”) on the automotive battery (104).
Clarke further discloses the second repair charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of the current pulses applied in “500”; Fig. 5; ¶ [175-176]) comprises a second duty ratio parameter (duty ratios of the current pulses, inherently part of the timing of pulses), a second pulse cycle parameter (frequency of the current pulses) and a second pulse electrical parameter (amplitude of the current pulses).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagan et al. (US 2005/0248310 A1) in view of Marini (US 2016/0126765 A1), and Huang et al. (US 2022/0181973 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Fagan discloses the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery according to claim 1.
Fagan further discloses steps of identifying a target charging control parameter (¶ [31-32, 38]: “duty cycle pulse width”; Figs. 4-5) of the charging phase (¶ [32]: “current stage of the charging cycle”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) based on the charging phase (¶ [32]: “varies the width … of the pulse streams … based on the requirements demanded by the charging routine corresponding to the type of battery 110 being charged and the current stage of the charging cycle”) of the charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110), and performing the charging control operation (Fig. 2, steps 208, 218; ¶ [38]: “function of providing a variable duty cycle pulse width regulation output to the battery is implemented”) on the automotive battery (110) based on the target charging control parameter (“duty cycle pulse width”).
Fagan does not disclose these steps comprise “identifying a first charging control parameter of a desulphation charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes and the charging phase of the target charging mode is identified as a desulphation charging phase, and performing a first pulse charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the first charging control parameter; determining whether a present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset first voltage parameter threshold during a process of performing the first pulse charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the desulphation charging phase to a pre-charge charging phase, wherein the first charging control parameter comprises a first duty ratio parameter, a first pulse cycle parameter and a first pulse electrical parameter; and identifying a second charging control parameter of the pre-charge charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes and the charging phase of the target charging mode is identified as the pre-charge charging phase, and performing a first constant-current charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the second charging control parameter; determining whether the present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset second voltage parameter threshold during a process of performing the first constant-current charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the pre-charge charging phase to a first soft start charging phase, wherein the second charging control parameter comprises a first constant-current electrical parameter”.
Marini teaches identifying a first charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of pulses in “Step 1”; Fig. 3) of a desulphation charging phase (Figs. 3-4, 7: “Step 1”; Abstract: “desulphation step during which the battery is supplied with current pulses having a maximum value that is considerably lower than the maximum value of the charging current in a subsequent second constant current charging step, each current pulse being generated when the current absorbed by the battery after the delivery of a previous current pulse falls below a minimum preset value”) corresponding to the automotive battery (¶ [20]: “battery 2 is supplied during the charging or charge maintenance procedure”; ¶ [1]: “battery of a motor vehicle”) when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes (Figs. 3-4, 7) and the charging phase of the target charging mode is identified as a desulphation charging phase (“Step 1”; Abstract: “desulphation step”).
Marini further teaches performing a first pulse charging control operation (application of “Step 1”, wherein “square wave-shaped current pulses” are applied per ¶ [30]; Fig. 3) on the automotive battery (2) based on the first charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of pulses in “Step 1”).
Marini further teaches determining whether a present charging voltage (voltage curve in Fig. 3) of the automotive battery (2) is greater than or equal to a preset first voltage parameter threshold (“10.5 V”; Fig. 3) during a process of performing the first pulse charging control operation (application of “Step 1”) on the automotive battery (2).
Marini further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when battery voltage exceeds “10.5 V”), converting the charging phase of the target charging mode (Figs. 3-4, 7) from the desulphation charging phase (“Step 1”) to a next charging phase (“Step 2”).
Marini further teaches the first charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of pulses in “Step 1”; Fig. 3) comprises a first duty ratio parameter (duty ratios of each pulse in “Step 1”), a first pulse cycle parameter (periods of each pulse in “Step 1”) and a first pulse electrical parameter (amplitude “2 A” of pulses in “Step 1”).
Marini further teaches the desulphation charging phase to break up possible lead sulphate crystals that have been formed over time on the terminals of the single cells of the battery and that hinder battery recharging (¶ [32]), thus improving the lifespan of the battery (¶ [4, 37]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Marini to incorporate a target charging mode with a desulphation charging phase, as taught by Marini, to improve the lifespan of the battery.
Huang teaches (see “Fig. 5 - annotated for claim 2”, included infra) a pre-charge charging phase (¶ [51]: “pre-charging stage”; period from “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5).
Huang further teaches identifying a second charging control parameter (current level of the “pre-charging stage”; example value of 3 A in Fig. 5) of the pre-charge charging phase (“pre-charging stage”; “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5) corresponding to the battery (“battery 40”; Figs. 4A-4C, 9B; analogous to the automotive battery per note 2-1, included infra) when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes (charging mode illustrated in Figs. 5 & 11) and the charging phase of the target charging mode (Figs. 5, 11) is identified as the pre-charge charging phase (“pre-charging stage”; “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5).
NOTE 2-1: Though Huang’s teachings are more generically for a battery, rather than explicitly for an automotive battery as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Huang’s method is analogous to that of Fagan.
Huang further teaches performing a first constant-current charging control operation (application of a constant current during the “pre-charging stage”; 3 A applied from “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40) based on the second charging control parameter (3 A).
Huang further teaches determining whether the present charging voltage (“battery voltage (V2)”; Fig. 5) of the battery (40) is greater than or equal to a preset second voltage parameter threshold (example value 3.5 V in Fig. 5) during a process of performing the first constant-current charging control operation (application of a constant current during the “pre-charging stage”; 3 A applied from “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40).
Huang further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when “V2” crosses 3.5 V at time “t2” in Fig. 5), converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the pre-charge charging phase (“pre-charging stage”; “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5) to a first soft start charging phase (not depicted in Fig. 5; Fig. 11 shows that additional steps of soft-starting can occur after “t2” for the ramp-up to the maximum charging current).
Huang further teaches the second charging control parameter (current level of the “pre-charging stage”; example value of 3 A in Fig. 5) comprises a first constant-current electrical parameter (3 A).
Huang further teaches the pre-charge charging phase to improve the efficiency of charging the battery to a target voltage (¶ [7, 54, 85, 88]; Figs. 6, 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method’s target charging mode disclosed by the combo of Fagan & Marini to incorporate a pre-charge charging phase, as taught by Huang, to improve the efficiency of charging the automotive battery in the target charging mode.
Regarding Claim 10, the combo of Fagan, Marini, & Huang teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 2.
Fagan further discloses (see detailed item mapping in the claim 9 rejection included supra) an apparatus of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery, characterized in that the apparatus comprises: a memory, memorized with an executable code, and a processor, coupled with the memory, wherein the processor invokes the executable code memorized in the memory to perform the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery.
Regarding Claim 16, the combo of Fagan, Marini, & Huang teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 2.
Fagan further discloses (see detailed item mapping in the claim 15 rejection included supra) a non-transitory computer memory medium, characterized in that the non-transitory computer memory medium memorizes computer instructions; when the computer instructions are invoked, the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery is performed.
Claims 3, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagan et al. (US 2005/0248310 A1) in view of Marini (US 2016/0126765 A1), Huang et al. (US 2022/0181973 A1), and Fan (US 2020/0014217 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, the combo of Fagan, Marini, & Huang teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery according to claim 2.
Fagan does not disclose “the method also comprises: identifying a third charging control parameter of the first soft start charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes and the charging phase of the target charging mode is identified as the first soft start charging phase, and performing a first stepped charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the third charging control parameter; determining whether the present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset third voltage parameter threshold during a process of performing the first stepped charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the first soft start charging phase to a first constant-current charging phase, wherein the third charging control parameter comprises a first stepped electrical parameter and a first stepped charging time parameter; identifying a fourth charging control parameter of the first constant-current charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the first constant-current charging phase, and performing a second constant-current charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the fourth charging control parameter; determining whether the present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset fourth voltage parameter threshold during a process of performing the second constant-current charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the first constant-current charging phase to a first optimization charging phase, wherein the fourth charging control parameter comprises a second constant-current electrical parameter; and identifying a fifth charging control parameter of the first optimization charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the first optimization charging phase, and performing a first optimization charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the fifth charging control parameter; determining whether a present first charging parameter of the automotive battery satisfies a preset trickle-charging converting condition during a process of performing the first optimization charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the first optimization charging phase to a trickle charging phase, wherein the fifth charging control parameter comprises at least one of a first current declining parameter, a second stepped electrical parameter and a second stepped charging time parameter”.
Fan teaches (see annotated Fig. 9, included infra) a first soft start charging phase (period of Fig. 9 with stepped charging current; ¶ [74]: “a stepped rise of the charging … causes the battery voltage to slowly rise to the safety voltage 4.4 V”).
Fan further teaches identifying a third charging control parameter (current steps and timing thereof) of the first soft start charging phase (Fig. 9 stepped current phase) corresponding to the battery (“battery 203”; Figs. 2-3, 6-7; analogous to the automotive battery per note 3-1, included infra) when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes (Fig. 9) and the charging phase of the target charging mode is identified as the first soft start charging phase (Fig. 9 stepped current phase).
NOTE 3-1: Though Fan’s teachings are more generically for a battery, rather than explicitly for an automotive battery as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Fan’s method is analogous to that of Fagan.
Fan further teaches performing a first stepped charging control operation (application of the stepped charging current of Fig. 9) on the battery (203) based on the third charging control parameter (current steps and timing thereof).
Fan further teaches converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the first soft start charging phase to a first constant-current charging phase (see annotated Fig. 9).
Fan further teaches the third charging control parameter (current steps and timing thereof; Fig. 9) comprises a first stepped electrical parameter (current steps) and a first stepped charging time parameter (timing of the current steps).
Fan further teaches the first stepped charging control operation to slowly increase the battery’s voltage to leave time for detection, thus improving safety by preventing overvoltage damage to the battery (¶ [28, 35-36]).
Though Fan does not explicitly use a voltage threshold (i.e., a “preset third voltage parameter threshold” as claimed), it is well known in the prior art to use voltage thresholds to transition between charging phases. The prior-set forth target charging modes of Marini includes determining whether the present charging voltage (voltage curve in Fig. 3) of the automotive battery (2) is greater than or equal to a preset third voltage parameter threshold (“10.5 V”; Fig. 3) during a process of performing the first stepped charging control operation on the automotive battery (2); when a corresponding determination result is positive (when battery voltage exceeds “10.5 V”), converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the first soft start charging phase (“Step 1”) to a first constant-current charging phase (“Step 2”) to avoid exceeding the battery’s maximum voltage rating (¶ [29]) and put the battery in the optimum condition for charging (¶ [31]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the target charging modes’ first soft start charging phase disclosed by the combo of Fagan, Marini, & Huang to incorporate a first stepped charging control operation, as taught by the combo of Fan & Marini, to improve safety by preventing overvoltage damage to the automotive battery and put the automotive battery in the optimum condition for the first constant-current charging phase.
Huang further teaches (see “Fig. 5 - annotated for claim 2”, included supra) a first constant-current charging phase (¶ [52]: “constant current charging stage”; period from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5)
Huang further teaches identifying a fourth charging control parameter (current level of the “constant current charging stage”; example value of 8 A in Fig. 5) of the first constant-current charging phase (“constant current charging stage”; from “t2” to “t3”) corresponding to the battery (40) when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes (Figs. 5, 11) and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the first constant-current charging phase (“constant current charging stage”; from “t2” to “t3”).
Huang further teaches performing a second constant-current charging control operation (application of the “constant current charging stage” from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40) based on the fourth charging control parameter (8 A).
Huang further teaches determining whether the present charging voltage (V2) of the battery (40) is greater than or equal to a preset fourth voltage parameter threshold (“target voltage VT”; Fig. 5; ¶ [52]) during a process of performing the second constant-current charging control operation (“constant current charging stage” from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40).
Huang further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when “V2” crosses “VT” at time “t3” in Fig. 5), converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the first constant-current charging phase (“constant current charging stage” from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5) to a first optimization charging phase (period from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5).
Huang further teaches the fourth charging control parameter (current level of the “constant current charging stage”; example value of 8 A in Fig. 5) comprises a second constant-current electrical parameter (8 A).
Huang further teaches identifying a fifth charging control parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down from 8 A to 4 A and the timings thereof; Fig. 5) of the first optimization charging phase (from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5) corresponding to the battery (40) when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes (Figs. 5, 11) and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the first optimization charging phase (from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5).
Huang further teaches performing a first optimization charging control operation (steps down in constant-current control of “charging current (I2)” from 8 A to 4 A during period from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40) based on the fifth charging control parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down and the timings thereof).
Huang further teaches determining whether a present first charging parameter (values of “charging current (I2)”, “battery voltage (V2)”, and/or the elapsed time; Fig. 5) of the battery (40) satisfies a preset trickle-charging converting condition (at time “t4”: “I2” = 4 A, “V2” = “VT”, and time = “t4”; Fig. 5) during a process of performing the first optimization charging control operation (application of “I2” during period from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40).
Huang further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (at time “t4”:, the conditions“I2” = 4 A, “V2” = “VT”, and time = “t4” are satisfied), converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the first optimization charging phase (“constant current charging stage” from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5) to a next charging phase (charging phase after “t4”; Fig. 5).
Huang further teaches the fifth charging control parameter comprises (values of “charging current (I2)”, “battery voltage (V2)”, and/or the elapsed time; Fig. 5) at least one of a first current declining parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down from 8 A to 4 A; Fig. 5), a second stepped electrical parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down from 8 A to 4 A; Fig. 5) and a second stepped charging time parameter (timings of the steps down in charging current between “t3” and “t4” in Fig. 5).
Huang further teaches the first constant-current charging phase and the first optimization charging phase to improve the efficiency of charging the battery to a target voltage (¶ [7, 54, 85, 88]; Figs. 6, 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method’s target charging modes disclosed by the combo of Fagan, Marini, Huang, & Fan to incorporate a first constant-current charging phase and a first optimization charging phase, as further taught by Huang, to improve the efficiency of charging the automotive battery in the target charging modes.
Regarding Claim 11, the combo of Fagan, Marini, Huang, & Fan teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 3.
Fagan further discloses (see detailed item mapping in the claim 9 rejection included supra) an apparatus of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery, characterized in that the apparatus comprises: a memory, memorized with an executable code, and a processor, coupled with the memory, wherein the processor invokes the executable code memorized in the memory to perform the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery.
Regarding Claim 17, the combo of Fagan, Marini, Huang, & Fan teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 3.
Fagan further discloses (see detailed item mapping in the claim 15 rejection included supra) a non-transitory computer memory medium, characterized in that the non-transitory computer memory medium memorizes computer instructions; when the computer instructions are invoked, the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery is performed.
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagan et al. (US 2005/0248310 A1) in view of Marini (US 2016/0126765 A1), Huang et al. (US 2022/0181973 A1), Fan (US 2020/0014217 A1), and Fan et al. (CN 103700901 A; hereinafter “Fan-2”; see machine-translated copy, attached to the action).
Regarding Claim 4, the combo of Fagan, Marini, Huang, & Fan teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery according to claim 3.
Fagan does not disclose “the method also comprises: identifying a sixth charging control parameter of the trickle charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the trickle charging phase, and performing a trickle charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the sixth charging control parameter; determining whether the present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset fifth voltage parameter threshold during a process of performing the trickle charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the trickle charging phase to an analysis charging phase, wherein the sixth charging control parameter comprises a third constant-current electrical parameter; performing a suspend charging control operation on the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the analysis charging phase; determining whether the present charging voltage of the automotive battery is smaller than or equal to a preset sixth voltage parameter threshold during a process of performing the suspend charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the analysis charging phase to a maintain charging phase; and identifying a seventh charging control parameter of the maintain charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the maintain charging phase, and performing a maintain charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the seventh charging control parameter; determining whether the present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset seventh voltage parameter threshold during a process of performing the maintain charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, detecting whether the automotive battery is in a access charging status, and if yes, converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the maintain charging phase to the analysis charging phase, wherein the seventh charging control parameter comprises a fourth constant-current electrical parameter”.
Fan-2 teaches a trickle charging phase (see annotated Fig. 1, included infra; pp. 5, step 7: “Constant current three, the battery is charged with current I3 until the battery voltage reaches the full voltage of 14.6V”).
Fan-2 further teaches identifying a sixth charging control parameter (constant current level during the trickle charging phase = “I3”; Fig. 1) of the trickle charging phase corresponding to the battery (see note 4-1, included infra) when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes (Fig. 1) and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the trickle charging phase (labeled in annotated Fig. 1).
NOTE 4-1: Though Fan-2’s teachings are more generically for a battery, rather than explicitly for an automotive battery as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Fan-2’s method is analogous to that of Fagan.
Fan-2 further teaches performing a trickle charging control operation (application of the charging current during the trickle charging phase, labeled in annotated Fig. 1) on the battery based on the sixth charging control parameter (constant current level “I3”).
Fan-2 further teaches determining whether the present charging voltage (upper voltage plot of Fig. 1) of the battery is greater than or equal to a preset fifth voltage parameter threshold (14.6 V in Fig. 1) during a process of performing the trickle charging control operation (application of the charging current during the trickle charging phase, labeled in annotated Fig. 1) on the battery.
Fan-2 further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when battery voltage is equal to or exceeds 14.6 V), converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the trickle charging phase to an analysis charging phase (each phase is labeled in the annotated Fig. 1).
Fan-2 further teaches the sixth charging control parameter (constant current level during the trickle charging phase = “I3”; Fig. 1) comprises a third constant-current electrical parameter (constant current level “I3”).
Fan-2 further teaches performing a suspend charging control operation (annotated Fig. 1 shows the charging current is suspended, i.e. 0 A, during the labeled analysis charging phase) on the battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes (Fig. 1) and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the analysis charging phase (period of Fig. 1 with 0 A current; pp. 5, item 9: “Full, when the battery voltage reaches the full voltage 14.6V and the charging current is less than I4, the battery is full, turn off the charging switch, stop charging”).
Fan-2 further teaches determining whether the present charging voltage (upper voltage plot of Fig. 1) of the battery is smaller than or equal to a preset sixth voltage parameter threshold (12.8 V in annotated Fig. 1) during a process of performing the suspend charging control operation (0 A current during the analysis charging phase) on the battery.
Fan-2 further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when battery voltage is less than or equal to 12.8 V; Fig. 1), converting the charging phase of the target charging mode from the analysis charging phase to a maintain charging phase (each phase is labeled in the annotated Fig. 1).
Fan-2 further teaches identifying a seventh charging control parameter (any of the current levels of the maintain charging phase, including “I1”, “I2”, “I3”, and/or “I4”) of the maintain charging phase (labeled in annotated Fig. 1) corresponding to the battery when the charging mode is identified as one of the target charging modes (Fig. 1) and the charging phase of the charging mode is identified as the maintain charging phase (labeled in annotated Fig. 1).
Fan-2 further teaches performing a maintain charging control operation (applications of current levels during the maintain charging phase to maintain the battery voltage above 12.8 V; a combination of the “high-voltage repair” and “recharge” steps in the description; pp. 5, step 10: “High-voltage repair, when the battery is full, the voltage drops too fast, indicating that the battery capacity has become smaller. At this time, the battery is charged with a continuous high voltage, so that some controllable gas inside the battery is mixed with the acidic substance inside the battery to restore the battery capacity”; pp. 5, step 11: “Recharge, after a period of time, when the battery voltage drops to 12.8V, the charger recharges the battery.”) on the battery based on the seventh charging control parameter (any of the current levels of the maintain charging phase, including “I1”, “I2”, “I3”, and/or “I4”).
Fan-2 further teaches determining whether the present charging voltage (upper voltage plot of Fig. 1) of the battery is greater than or equal to a preset seventh voltage parameter threshold (14.6 V in Fig. 1) during a process of performing the maintain charging control operation (application of currents during the maintain charging phase; annotated Fig. 1) on the battery.
Fan-2 further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when battery voltage is equal to or exceeds 14.6 V at the end of the maintain charging phase), detecting whether the battery is in a access charging status (battery voltage greater than or equal to 14.6 V; means the battery is fully charged).
Fan-2 further teaches if yes (battery voltage greater than or equal to 14.6 V; means the battery is fully charged), converting the charging phase of the target charging mode (Fig. 1) from the maintain charging phase to the analysis charging phase (each phase is labeled in the annotated Fig. 1; if battery is fully charged at conclusion of the maintain charging phase, the charging current returns to 0 A, meaning charging is suspended).
Fan-2 further teaches the seventh charging control parameter (any of the current levels of the maintain charging phase, including “I1”, “I2”, “I3”, and/or “I4”) comprises a fourth constant-current electrical parameter (“I1”, “I2”, “I3”, and/or “I4”).
Fan-2 further teaches the trickle charging chase, an analysis charging phase, and a maintain charging phase to restore the battery capacity and recharge the battery to a full level after the charge has declined (pp. 5, advantage 5; pp. 5, steps 7-11), thus improving availability of the battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the target charging modes disclosed by the combo of Fagan, Marini, Huang, & Fan to incorporate a trickle charging chase, an analysis charging phase, and a maintain charging phase, as taught by Fan-2, to improve availability of the automotive battery by restoring the capacity and recharging to a full level.
Regarding Claim 12, the combo of Fagan, Marini, Huang, Fan, & Fan-2 teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 4.
Fagan further discloses (see detailed item mapping in the claim 9 rejection included supra) an apparatus of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery, characterized in that the apparatus comprises: a memory, memorized with an executable code, and a processor, coupled with the memory, wherein the processor invokes the executable code memorized in the memory to perform the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery.
Regarding Claim 18, the combo of Fagan, Marini, Huang, Fan, & Fan-2 teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 4.
Fagan further discloses (see detailed item mapping in the claim 15 rejection included supra) a non-transitory computer memory medium, characterized in that the non-transitory computer memory medium memorizes computer instructions; when the computer instructions are invoked, the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery is performed.
Claims 5-6, 13-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagan et al. (US 2005/0248310 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0181973 A1) and Marini (US 2016/0126765 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Fagan discloses the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery according to claim 1.
Fagan further discloses steps of identifying a target charging control parameter (¶ [31-32, 38]: “duty cycle pulse width”; Figs. 4-5) of the charging phase (¶ [32]: “current stage of the charging cycle”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110) based on the charging phase (¶ [32]: “varies the width … of the pulse streams … based on the requirements demanded by the charging routine corresponding to the type of battery 110 being charged and the current stage of the charging cycle”) of the charging mode (“charging protocol” / “charging routine 208”) corresponding to the automotive battery (110), and performing the charging control operation (Fig. 2, steps 208, 218; ¶ [38]: “function of providing a variable duty cycle pulse width regulation output to the battery is implemented”) on the automotive battery (110) based on the target charging control parameter (“duty cycle pulse width”).
Fagan does not disclose these steps comprise “identifying a first lithium battery charging control parameter of a second constant-current charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as the lithium battery charging mode and the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode is identified as the second constant-current charging phase, and performing a third constant-current charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the first lithium battery charging control parameter; determining whether a present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset first lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold during a process of performing the third constant-current charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode from the second constant-current charging phase to a second soft start charging phase, wherein the first lithium battery charging control parameter comprises a fifth constant-current electrical parameter; and identifying a second lithium battery charging control parameter of the second soft start charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as the lithium battery charging mode and the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode is identified as the second soft start charging phase, and performing a second stepped charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the second lithium battery charging control parameter; determining whether the present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset second lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold during a process of performing the second stepped charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode from the second soft start charging phase to a third constant-current charging phase, wherein the second lithium battery charging control parameter comprises a third stepped electrical parameter and a third stepped charging time parameter”.
Huang teaches (see “Fig. 5 - annotated for claim 5”, included infra) identifying a first lithium battery charging control parameter (current level of the “pre-charging stage”; example value of 3 A in Fig. 5) of a second constant-current charging phase (¶ [51]: “pre-charging stage”; period from “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5) corresponding to the battery (“battery 40”; Figs. 4A-4C, 9B; analogous to the automotive battery per note 5-1, included infra) when the charging mode is identified as the lithium battery charging mode (charging mode illustrated in Figs. 5 & 11) and the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode (Figs. 5, 11) is identified as the second constant-current charging phase (“pre-charging stage”; “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5).
NOTE 5-1: Though Huang’s teachings are more generically for a battery, rather than explicitly for an automotive battery as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Huang’s method is analogous to that of Fagan.
Huang further teaches performing a third constant-current charging control operation (application of a constant current during the “pre-charging stage”; 3 A applied from “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40) based on the first lithium battery charging control parameter (3 A).
Huang further teaches determining whether a present charging voltage (“battery voltage (V2)”; Fig. 5) of the battery (40) is greater than or equal to a preset first lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold (example value 3.5 V in Fig. 5) during a process of performing the third constant-current charging control operation (application of a constant current during the “pre-charging stage”; 3 A applied from “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40).
Huang further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when “V2” crosses 3.5 V at time “t2” in Fig. 5), converting the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode from the second constant-current charging phase (“pre-charging stage”; “t1” to “t2” in Fig. 5) to a second soft start charging phase (not depicted in Fig. 5; Fig. 11 shows that additional steps of soft-starting can occur after “t2” for the ramp-up to the maximum charging current).
Huang further teaches the first lithium battery charging control parameter (current level of the “pre-charging stage”; example value of 3 A in Fig. 5) comprises a fifth constant-current electrical parameter (3 A).
Huang further teaches the second constant-current charging phase and the second soft start charging phase to improve the efficiency of charging the battery to a target voltage (¶ [7, 54, 85, 88]; Figs. 6, 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method’s lithium battery charging mode disclosed by Fagan to incorporate a second constant-current charging phase and a second soft start charging phase, as taught by Huang, to improve the efficiency of charging the automotive battery in the lithium battery charging mode.
Marini teaches a second soft start charging phase (Figs. 3-4, 7: “Step 1”; ¶ [30-31]: “soft start”).
Marini further teaches identifying a second lithium battery charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of pulses in “Step 1”; Fig. 3) of the second soft start charging phase (“Step 1”) corresponding to the automotive battery (¶ [20]: “battery 2 is supplied during the charging or charge maintenance procedure”; ¶ [1]: “battery of a motor vehicle”) when the charging mode is identified as the lithium battery charging mode (Figs. 3-4, 7) and the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode is identified as the second soft start charging phase (“Step 1”).
Marini further teaches performing a second stepped charging control operation (application of “Step 1”, wherein the duration of pulses steps up over time; Fig. 3) on the automotive battery (2) based on the second lithium battery charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of pulses in “Step 1”).
Marini further teaches determining whether the present charging voltage (voltage curve in Fig. 3) of the automotive battery (2) is greater than or equal to a preset second lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold (“10.5 V”; Fig. 3) during a process of performing the second stepped charging control operation (application of “Step 1”) on the automotive battery (2).
Marini further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when battery voltage exceeds “10.5 V”), converting the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode from the second soft start charging phase (“Step 1”) to a third constant-current charging phase (“Step 2”).
Marini further teaches the second lithium battery charging control parameter (amplitude and timing of pulses in “Step 1”; Fig. 3) comprises a third stepped electrical parameter (amplitude of pulses in “Step 1”) and a third stepped charging time parameter (timing of pulses in “Step 1”).
Marini further teaches the second stepped charging control operation during the second soft start charging phase to avoid exceeding the battery’s maximum voltage rating (¶ [29]) and put the battery in the optimum condition for charging (¶ [31]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second soft start charging phase disclosed by the combo of Fagan & Huang to include a second stepped charging control operation, as taught by Marini, to avoid exceeding the automotive battery’s maximum voltage rating and put the automotive battery in the optimum condition for charging.
Regarding Claim 6, the combo of Fagan, Huang, & Marini teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery according to claim 5.
Fagan does not disclose “the method also comprises: identifying a third lithium battery charging control parameter of the third constant-current charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as the lithium battery charging mode and the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode is identified as the third constant-current charging phase, and performing a fourth constant-current charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the third lithium battery charging control parameter; determining whether the present charging voltage of the automotive battery is greater than or equal to a preset third lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold during a process of performing the fourth constant-current charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, converting the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode from the third constant-current charging phase to a second optimization charging phase, wherein the third lithium battery charging control parameter comprises a sixth constant-current electrical parameter; and identifying a fourth lithium battery charging control parameter of the second optimization charging phase corresponding to the automotive battery when the charging mode is identified as the lithium battery charging mode and the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode is identified as the second optimization charging phase, and performing a second optimization charging control operation on the automotive battery based on the fourth lithium battery charging control parameter; determining whether a present second charging parameter of the automotive battery satisfies a preset stop-charging condition during a process of performing the second optimization charging control operation on the automotive battery; when a corresponding determination result is positive, performing a stop-charging control operation on the automotive battery, wherein the fourth lithium battery charging control parameter comprises at least one of a second current declining parameter, a fourth stepped electrical parameter and a fourth stepped charging time parameter”.
Huang further teaches identifying a third lithium battery charging control parameter (current level of the “constant current charging stage”; example value of 8 A in Fig. 5) of the third constant-current charging phase (¶ [52]: “constant current charging stage”; period from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5) corresponding to the battery (40) when the charging mode is identified as the lithium battery charging mode and the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode is identified as the third constant-current charging phase (“constant current charging stage”; from “t2” to “t3”).
Huang further teaches performing a fourth constant-current charging control operation (application of the “constant current charging stage” from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40) based on the third lithium battery charging control parameter (8 A).
Huang further teaches determining whether the present charging voltage (V2) of the battery (40) is greater than or equal to a preset third lithium-battery-voltage-parameter threshold (“target voltage VT”; Fig. 5; ¶ [52]) during a process of performing the fourth constant-current charging control operation (“constant current charging stage” from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40).
Huang further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (when “V2” crosses “VT” at time “t3” in Fig. 5), converting the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode (Figs. 5, 11) from the third constant-current charging phase (“constant current charging stage” from “t2” to “t3” in Fig. 5) to a second optimization charging phase (period from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5).
Huang further teaches the third lithium battery charging control parameter (current level of the “constant current charging stage”; example value of 8 A in Fig. 5) comprises a sixth constant-current electrical parameter (8 A).
Huang further teaches identifying a fourth lithium battery charging control parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down from 8 A to 4 A and the timings thereof; Fig. 5) of the second optimization charging phase (from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5) corresponding to the battery (40) when the charging mode is identified as the lithium battery charging mode (Figs. 5, 11) and the charging phase of the lithium battery charging mode is identified as the second optimization charging phase (from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5).
Huang further teaches performing a second optimization charging control operation (steps down in constant-current control of “charging current (I2)” from 8 A to 4 A during period from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40) based on the fourth lithium battery charging control parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down and the timings thereof).
Huang further teaches determining whether a present second charging parameter (values of “charging current (I2)”, “battery voltage (V2)”, and/or the elapsed time; Fig. 5) of the battery (40) satisfies a preset stop-charging condition (at time “t4”: “I2” = 4 A, “V2” = “VT”, and time = “t4”; Fig. 5) during a process of performing the second optimization charging control operation (application of “I2” during period from “t3” to “t4” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40).
Huang further teaches when a corresponding determination result is positive (at time “t4”, the conditions “I2” = 4 A, “V2” = “VT”, and time = “t4” are satisfied), performing a stop-charging control operation (¶ [53]: “charging termination stage”; period from “t4” to “t5” in Fig. 5) on the battery (40).
Huang further teaches the fourth lithium battery charging control parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down from 8 A to 4 A and the timings thereof; Fig. 5) comprises at least one of a second current declining parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down from 8 A to 4 A; Fig. 5), a fourth stepped electrical parameter (values of “charging current (I2)” which step down from 8 A to 4 A; Fig. 5) and a fourth stepped charging time parameter (timings of the steps down in charging current between “t3” and “t4” in Fig. 5).
Huang further teaches the third constant-current charging phase and the second optimization charging phase to improve the efficiency of charging the battery to a target voltage (¶ [7, 54, 85, 88]; Figs. 6, 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method’s lithium battery charging mode disclosed by the combo of Fagan, Huang, & Marini to incorporate a third constant-current charging phase and a second optimization charging phase, as further taught by Huang, to improve the efficiency of charging the automotive battery in the lithium battery charging mode.
Regarding Claims 13-14, the combo of Fagan, Huang, & Marini teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 5 and claim 6.
Fagan further discloses (see detailed item mapping in the claim 9 rejection included supra) an apparatus of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery, characterized in that the apparatus comprises: a memory, memorized with an executable code, and a processor, coupled with the memory, wherein the processor invokes the executable code memorized in the memory to perform the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery.
Regarding Claim 19-20, the combo of Fagan, Huang, & Marini teaches the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery as claimed in claim 5 and claim 6.
Fagan further discloses (see detailed item mapping in the claim 15 rejection included supra) a non-transitory computer memory medium, characterized in that the non-transitory computer memory medium memorizes computer instructions; when the computer instructions are invoked, the method of intelligent charging control for an automotive battery is performed.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859