DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 08/11/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted on 10/30/2023 has/have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449).
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 8, line 7, “third t value” should likely read - - third value - - .
Examiner respectfully requests from Applicant verification and requires appropriate correction regarding this matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al., CN 110659225 A (English Translation provided cited in PTO-892), hereby Zhou, in view of Xu, US Patent Application Publication No.: 2020/0210329 A1, hereby Xu, and in further view of Zhao, CN 106921862 A (English Translation provided cited in PTO-892), hereby Zhao.
Zhou discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Zhou discloses a memory management method and a video player system (Figs. 1-3 and 14), comprising:
“setting a first data value of first frame data to a first value to assign a first decoder in a . . . that corresponds to the first value to decode the first frame data (Figs. 1-3 and 14, and page 9, first full 4th to 6th paragraphs, “Video encoder 12 may encode the video data source 11 of video data, video data comprises a plurality of frames of image frame. In some examples, video encoder 12 can transmit the encoded video data (e.g., a reference frame) after compression stored in the DDR memory 13, correspondingly, the video encoder 12 can be decompressed reference frame in DDR memory 13, using the reference frame to continue encoding other of the image frame. In the example of FIG. 1, the destination device 10b comprises a video decoder 14, video display 15 and DDR memory 16. In some examples, destination device 10b further may include an input interface (not shown), the input interface may include a receiver and/or modem. input interface can be a channel 17 receiving the code stream, the code stream comprises the coded video frequency data. [T]he video data wherein the video decoder 14 can decode the encoded code stream to obtain the video data after decoding. In some instances, the video decoder 14 can convert the video data decoding after compression stored in the DDR memory 16. Accordingly, the video decoder 14 also can decompress the DDR memory of video data 16, so that the image obtained after decompressing the frame as the reference frame to a video decoder 14 continues to decode subsequent code stream. Additionally, when the need for video display, video data can also be decompressed DDR video data in memory 16, obtained after the decompression can be input to video display 15.”; see also page 19, 2nd to 4th paragraphs), setting a second data value of the first frame data to a second value, and outputting the first frame data to an application layer (Figs. 1-3 and 14, and page 9, first full 4th to 6th paragraphs; Fig. 2, split paragraph between pages 9-10, further disclosing a wireless communication system of a mobile terminal; page 19, 2nd to 4th paragraphs, “step S301: a decoder for decoding the code stream to obtain the first image frame, the first image frame comprises n sheets tiles of the same size, each piece represents the image of a rectangular area in the first image frame, n ≥ 2. step S302: a compressing module lossless compression to obtain the first image frame to the second image frame, the second image frame comprises n after compression. step S303: the memory management module pre-allocated virtual memory space is the first image frame, continuous, convenient management and maintenance software, the virtual memory space, the space size of the pre-allocated virtual memory space includes a plurality of page number continuous virtual page of the virtual memory page number is K ≤, 0≤K data of the first image frame.”);
based on a control of the application layer, setting a . . . data value of the first frame data to a . . . value, in order to assign a . . . video output transmitter . . . to output the first frame data (Figs. 1-3 and 14, and page 9, first full 4th to 6th paragraphs; Fig. 2, split paragraph between pages 9-10, further disclosing a wireless communication system of a mobile terminal; page 19, 2nd to 4th paragraphs); and
. . . .”
However, although Zhou does not expressly disclose the claimed plurality of video output transmitters, setting a third data value, and clearing storage space according to first, second, and third data values, Xu does expressly disclose the following:
“. . . ;
based on a control of the application layer, setting a third data value of the first frame data to a third value, in order to assign a first video output transmitter in a plurality of video output transmitters to output the first frame data (Fig. 1, visually disclosing multiple outputs for various types of terminals; Figs. 3-4, and [0079]-[0081]; [0088]-[0092]); and
determining whether to clear a storage space in a memory that stores the first frame data according to the first data value, the second data value, and the third data value (Fig. 1, visually disclosing multiple outputs for various types of terminals; Figs. 3-4, and [0079]-[0081]; [0088]-[0092]).”
Accordingly, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou and Xu (hereby Zhou-Xu), to modify the memory management method and a video player system of Zhou to use the claimed plurality of video output transmitters, setting a third data value and clearing storage space according to first, second, and third data values as in Xu. The motivation for doing so would have been to create the advantage of providing efficient memory management (see Xu, [0036]; Figs. 1 and 3-4, and [0079]-[0081]; [0088]-[0092]).
However, although Zhou-Xu does not expressly disclose the claimed plurality of decoders, Zhao does expressly disclose “a plurality of decoders” (Zhao, Figs. 1-5, visually disclosing a multi-core decoder).
Accordingly, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou-Xu and Zhao (hereby Zhou-Xu-Zhao), to modify the memory management method and a video player system of Zhou-Xu to use the plurality of decoders as in Zhao. The motivation for doing so would have been to create the advantage of improving bandwidth efficiency (see Zhao, Figs. 1-5, and pages 5-6).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhou-Xu-Zhao discloses:
“if the application layer returns the first frame data to the first decoder (Zhou, Figs. 1-3 and 14, and page 9, first full 4th to 6th paragraphs; Fig. 2, split paragraph between pages 9-10; page 19, 2nd to 4th paragraphs), resetting the first data value to a first predetermined value (Xu, [0096]-[0097]; Figs. 1 and. 3-4, and [0079]-[0081]; [0088]-[0092]); and
if the application layer (Zhou, Figs. 1-3 and 14, and page 9, first full 4th to 6th paragraphs; Fig. 2, split paragraph between pages 9-10; page 19, 2nd to 4th paragraphs) discards the first frame data, resetting the second data value to a second predetermined value, and determining whether to clear the storage space (Xu, [0096]-[0097]; Figs. 1 and. 3-4, and [0079]-[0081]; [0088]-[0092]).”
Accordingly, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou-Xu-Zhao, to modify the memory management method and a video player system of Zhou-Xu-Zhao to use the claimed resetting feature as in Xu. The motivation for doing so would have been to create the advantage of reducing memory occupation rate and improving the memory utilization rate (see Xu, [0072], and [0096]-[0097]; Figs. 1 and. 3-4, and [0079]-[0081]; [0088]-[0092]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Zhou-Xu-Zhao discloses:
“after the first frame data is outputted (Zhou, Figs. 1-3 and 14, and page 9, first full 4th to 6th paragraphs; Fig. 2, split paragraph between pages 9-10; page 19, 2nd to 4th paragraphs), resetting the third data value to a predetermined value and determining whether to clear the storage space (Xu, [0102]-[0104]; see also [0096]-[0097]; Figs. 1 and. 3-4, and [0079]-[0081]; [0088]-[0092]).”
Accordingly, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou-Xu-Zhao, to modify the memory management method and a video player system of Zhou-Xu-Zhao to use the claimed resetting feature as in Xu. The motivation for doing so would have been to create the advantage of providing an efficient rendering queue during the rendering process (see Xu, [0072], and [0096]-[0097]; Figs. 1 and. 3-4, and [0079]-[0081]; [0088]-[0092]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-11, 13-14, 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Examiner notes that multiple references cited disclose memory management. For example, the following references show similar features in the claims, although not relied upon: Lee (US 2015/0201205 A1), Figs. 1-5.
/KATHLEEN M WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482