DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 08/11/2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
“the frequency” should read “a frequency” line 2
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen (US-11152761-B2) in view of Kim (US-20200091673-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pedersen discloses a laser stabilization apparatus (fig. 2, col. 7 lines 60-65) comprising: an optical fiber resonator which is in the form of an optical fiber loop (frequency discriminator ring resonator 2, col. 3 lines 10-30, col. 5 lines 1-15, claim 1), wherein when light emitted from a laser is input to the optical fiber resonator (light from laser input to 2, col. 6 lines 35-50), a transmittance of the optical fiber resonator changes according to a frequency of the input light (frequency discriminator diagram in fig. 2, transmittance vs frequency plot); and a light measurer configured to measure light transmitted through the optical fiber resonator and generate an error signal for stabilizing a frequency of the laser (light measurer 3+4 measures light transmitted through 2 and generates error signal to stabilize laser frequency, col. 6 lines 35-50, col. 6 line 60 – col. 7 line 5).
Pedersen does not disclose the optical fiber resonator + loop including an optical fiber delay-line.
Kim discloses an optical frequency stabilizer with an optical fiber delay-line (fig. 1 delay line 230, Abstract, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an optical fiber delay-line in the optical fiber resonator + loop to provide more control over the signal timing (Kim 0107).
Regarding claim 2, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light measurer comprises a balanced photodetector (3+4 is balanced photodetector, col. 7 lines 60-65, col. 9 lines 20-60), and wherein the balanced photodetector comprises a first photodiode and a second photodiode (3+4 comprises first photodiode 3 and second photodiode 4), and is configured to measure the intensity difference between target light to be measured, which is input to the first photodiode (target light input to 3, col. 6 lines 35-50, col. 6 line 60 – col. 7 line 5), and reference light input to the second photodiode (reference light input to 4), and output the error signal (“control signal”, col. 6 lines 35-50), and the light emitted from the laser is divided into two components (laser light divided by splitter 1), and one component enters the second photodiode and the other component enters the optical fiber resonator (component reflected by 1 enters 4 and component transmitted by 1 enters 2), and light output from the optical fiber resonator enters the first photodiode (light output from 2 enters 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 2, wherein the balanced photodetector offsets noise contained in both the reference light and the target light, using balanced optical detection, and detects frequency noise of the laser.
Pedersen uses balanced optical detection, inherently performing the above noise offset + noise detection, col. 8 lines 25-40, col. 9 lines 20-60. See attached evidentiary reference RP Photonics Balanced Photodetection, Principle of Balanced Detection/”NPL_Balanced_Detection”.
Regarding claim 4, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Pedersen does not explicitly disclose wherein the optical fiber resonator is implemented as a polarization-maintaining fiber.
Kim discloses an optical frequency stabilizer using a polarization-maintaining fiber in a delay arm of the device (figs. 1 + 13, 0127-0128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optical fiber resonator is implemented as a polarization-maintaining fiber to reduce the number of variables to account for during operation/calculation.
Regarding claim 17, Pedersen discloses an operation method of a laser stabilization apparatus, comprising: dividing light emitted from a laser into target light to be measured and reference light (laser light divided by splitter 1 into target light to be measured incident on 3 and reference light incident on 4, col. 6 lines 35-50, col. 6 line 60 – col. 7 line 5, col. 7 lines 60-65, col. 9 lines 20-60); making light coupled from the target light enter an optical fiber ring resonator (light incident on 3 first enters ring resonator, col. 3 lines 10-30, col. 5 lines 1-15, claim 1), and outputting the transmitting light that is not stored in the optical fiber ring resonator among the target light, to outside of the optical fiber ring resonator (output light transmitted through/outside 2 to 3); and outputting an error signal corresponding to the intensity difference between the reference light and the transmitting light output from the optical fiber ring resonator using balanced optical detection (output error signal/”control signal” from intensity difference between 4 detection and 3 detection using balanced optical detection, col. 6 lines 35-50, col. 6 line 60 – col. 7 line 5, col. 7 lines 60-65, col. 9 lines 20-60).
Pedersen does not disclose wherein the optical fiber ring resonator comprises an optical fiber delay-line.
Kim discloses an optical frequency stabilizer with an optical fiber delay-line (fig. 1 delay line 230, Abstract, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an optical fiber delay-line in the optical fiber resonator + loop to provide more control over the signal timing (Kim 0107).
Regarding claim 18, modified Pedersen discloses the operation method of claim 17, further comprising feeding back the error signal to the laser for stabilizing the frequency of the laser (col. 6 line 60 – col. 7 line 5).
Regarding claim 19, modified Pedersen discloses the operation method of claim 17, wherein a transmittance of the optical fiber ring resonator changes according to a frequency of input light (frequency discriminator diagram in fig. 2, transmittance vs frequency plot).
Regarding claim 20, modified Pedersen discloses the operation method of claim 17, further comprising offsetting noise contained in both the reference light and the transmitting light output from the optical fiber ring resonator using the balanced optical detection, and detecting frequency noise of the laser.
Pedersen uses balanced optical detection, inherently performing the above noise offset + noise detection, col. 8 lines 25-40, col. 9 lines 20-60. See attached evidentiary reference RP Photonics Balanced Photodetection, Principle of Balanced Detection/”NPL_Balanced_Detection”.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of Kim and Peng (US-20020158611-A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Pedersen does not clearly disclose wherein the frequency of the laser is locked at a frequency to maintain the error signal at a specific value.
Peng discloses an apparatus for stabilizing the frequency of a laser that applies the concept of locking a laser frequency to maintain an error signal at a specific value (figs. 2+3, Abstract, 0014-0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the frequency of the laser is locked at a frequency to maintain the error signal at a specific value to facilitate stabilizing the frequency of the laser/reduce fluctuations (Peng 0002, 0007).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of Kim and Tiemann (US-20060192970-A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Pedersen does not clearly disclose further comprising a feedback controller configured to transmit the error signal to a piezoelectric transducer of the laser.
Tiemann discloses an apparatus for stabilizing lasers with a feedback controller configured to transmit a control signal to an actuated piezoelectric translator of a laser (fig. 7 control sends signal to actuator/driver of laser, actuator can be PZT, 0051-0052, 0076-0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have feedback controller configured to transmit the error signal to a piezoelectric transducer of the laser to allow for simplified/automated calibration of the laser (Tiemann 0061, 0076).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of Kim and Evans (US-9703045-B2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Pedersen does not disclose further comprising a feedback controller configured to transmit the error signal to a modulator that modulates an output of the laser.
Evans discloses a system for laser frequency stabilization with a feedback controller configured to transmit an error signal to a modulator that modulates an output of a laser (fig. 4a two PDs 162a/b and op amp 170 and servo 180 transmit error signal to modulator 190 to modulate output of laser 110, col. 14 lines 15-40, col. 15 lines 35-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have feedback controller configured to transmit the error signal to a modulator that modulates an output of the laser to automate control/monitoring of laser frequency and output (Evans col. 15 lines 35-60).
Claim(s) 8-10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen in view of Bailly_NPL, Kim, and Peng.
Regarding claim 8, Pedersen discloses a laser stabilization apparatus (fig. 2, col. 7 lines 60-65) comprising: an optical coupler configured to divide light emitted from a laser into first light and second light and output the first light and the second light (splitter 1 divides light from laser into first light (towards 3) and second light (towards 4)); an optical fiber ring resonator (frequency discriminator ring resonator 2, col. 3 lines 10-30, col. 5 lines 1-15, claim 1), and a balanced photodetector configured to output an error signal corresponding to the intensity difference between the fourth light and the second light, wherein the error signal is fed back to the laser (3+4 balanced photodetector outputs error signal/”control signal” corresponding to intensity difference fed to laser, col. 6 lines 35-50, col. 6 line 60 – col. 7 line 5, col. 7 lines 60-65, col. 9 lines 20-60).
Pedersen does not clearly disclose the optical fiber ring resonator configured to divide the first light into third light and fourth light using an unbalanced optical coupler, and output the fourth light to outside of the optical fiber loop.
Bailly discloses an optical source stabilized on a fiber ring resonator with an unbalanced coupler that divides light into two paths, where equivalent fourth light is output outside the loop (figs. 1+2 + captions, Abstract, Optical Source Design par. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optical fiber ring resonator configured to divide the first light into third light and fourth light using an unbalanced optical coupler, and output the fourth light to outside of the optical fiber loop to allow for coupling ratios other than 50/50 and increase flexibility during construction/operation.
Modified Pedersen does not disclose make the third light entering a ring type optical fiber loop to pass through an optical fiber delay-line of the optical fiber loop.
Kim discloses an optical frequency stabilizer with an optical fiber delay-line (fig. 1 delay line 230, Abstract, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the third light entering a ring type optical fiber loop to pass through an optical fiber delay-line of the optical fiber loop to provide more control over the signal timing (Kim 0107).
Modified Pedersen does not clearly disclose wherein the frequency of the laser is locked at a frequency to maintain the error signal at a specific value.
Peng discloses an apparatus for stabilizing the frequency of a laser that applies the concept of locking a laser frequency to maintain an error signal at a specific value (figs. 2+3, Abstract, 0014-0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the frequency of the laser is locked at a frequency to maintain the error signal at a specific value to facilitate stabilizing the frequency of the laser/reduce fluctuations (Peng 0002, 0007).
Regarding claim 9, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 8, wherein the frequency of the laser is determined by a transmittance of the optical fiber ring resonator.
Transmittance determines amount of light incident on photodetector 3, photodetector 3 affects control signal, control signal affects frequency of laser.
Regarding claim 10, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 8, wherein a Q-factor of the optical fiber ring resonator is calculated, based on a coupling ratio of the unbalanced optical coupler and a length of the optical fiber delay-line.
Q-factor depends on coupling ratio of optical coupler and length of delay-line. Q-factor inversely proportional to FSR, and directly proportional to resonator length (see attached evidentiary references NPL Q Factor “Important Relations”, and NPL Free Spectral Range). Q-factor directly proportional to coupling ratio (fractional power loss per round trip) (see attached evidentiary reference NPL Q Factor “Q-factor of an Optical Resonator”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 8.
Modified Pedersen does not disclose wherein the optical fiber ring resonator is implemented as a polarization-maintaining fiber.
Kim discloses an optical frequency stabilizer using a polarization-maintaining fiber in a delay arm of the device (figs. 1 + 13, 0127-0128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optical fiber resonator is implemented as a polarization-maintaining fiber to reduce the number of variables to account for during operation/calculation.
Regarding claim 13, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 8, wherein the balanced photodetector comprises a first photodiode to which the fourth light passing through the optical fiber loop is input and a second photodiode to which the second light is input ((3+4 comprises first photodiode 3 with incident fourth light after passing through 2 and second photodiode 4 with second light), and is configured to convert the intensity difference between the fourth light and the second light into an electrical signal, and output the error signal corresponding to the electrical signal (intensity difference converted to an electrical error signal “control signal”, col. 6 lines 35-50, col. 6 line 60 - col. 7 line 5).
Regarding claim 14, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 8, wherein the balanced photodetector offsets noise contained in both the second light and the fourth light using balanced optical detection, and detects frequency noise of the laser.
Pedersen uses balanced optical detection, inherently performing the above noise offset + noise detection, col. 8 lines 25-40, col. 9 lines 20-60. See attached evidentiary reference RP Photonics Balanced Photodetection, Principle of Balanced Detection/”NPL_Balanced_Detection”.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen, Bailly_NPL, Kim, Peng, and Renninger (US-20220190541-A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 8.
Modified Pedersen does not disclose wherein the optical fiber ring resonator further comprises an optical isolator configured to guide light toward a circulation direction in the optical fiber loop.
Renninger discloses an optical fiber ring with an optical isolator configured to guide light toward a circulation direction in the optical fiber ring (fig. 5a isolator 516, 0098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optical fiber ring resonator further comprises an optical isolator configured to guide light toward a circulation direction in the optical fiber loop to ensure unidirectional operation and prevent stimulated Brillouin scattering (Renninger 0098).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen, Bailly, Kim, Peng, and Tiemann.
Regarding claim 15, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 8.
Modified Pedersen further comprising a feedback controller configured to transmit the error signal to a piezoelectric transducer of the laser.
Tiemann discloses an apparatus for stabilizing lasers with a feedback controller configured to transmit a control signal to an actuated piezoelectric translator of a laser (fig. 7 control sends signal to actuator/driver of laser, actuator can be PZT, 0051-0052, 0076-0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have feedback controller configured to transmit the error signal to a piezoelectric transducer of the laser to allow for simplified/automated calibration of the laser (Tiemann 0061, 0076).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen, Bailly, Kim, Peng, and Evans.
Regarding claim 16, modified Pedersen discloses the laser stabilization apparatus of claim 8.
Modified Pedersen does not disclose further comprising a feedback controller configured to transmit the error signal to a modulator that modulates an output of the laser.
Evans discloses a system for laser frequency stabilization with a feedback controller configured to transmit an error signal to a modulator that modulates an output of a laser (fig. 4a two PDs 162a/b and op amp 170 and servo 180 transmit error signal to modulator 190 to modulate output of laser 110, col. 14 lines 15-40, col. 15 lines 35-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have feedback controller configured to transmit the error signal to a modulator that modulates an output of the laser to automate control/monitoring of laser frequency and output (Evans col. 15 lines 35-60).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuriy DE-102009048216-A1
Xiong US-20170302051-A1
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828