DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 1- 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 1, the limitation of “a heat exchange plate” is cited in line s 1 and line s 10, it is unclear if they are the same or different. Claims 2-16 are also rejected since the claims depend on claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Makita (JP2020/009694, Machine Translation) Regarding Claim 1 and 17 , Makita et al. teaches a vehicle [Fig. 19 , 0090 ] and a heat exchange plate [20, Fig. 2 a , 0023 ] installable on a vehicle movable [300, Fig. 19 , 0089 ] in a predetermined direction using a first wheel and a second wheel [See plurality of 301, Fig. 19 , 0089 ] , the vehicle including a vehicle body [ structure of 300, Fig. 19 , 0089 ] , the first wheel and the second wheel coupled to the vehicle body [Fig. 19 , 0089-0090 ] , a battery cell group [11, Fig. 1 , 0014 ] disposed along a predetermined plane in the vehicle body and including a plurality of battery cells [10, Fig. 1, 0014] , a heat exchange plate [ 20, Fig. 2 a , 0023 ] disposed along the predetermined plane in the vehicle body [ 300, Fig. 19, 0089 ] , an electric motor configured to drive at least the first wheel using electric power supplied from the battery cell group [0063] , and a refrigerant circuit including at least a compressor [106, Fig. 8, 0060] and a condenser [ 105, Fig. 8, 0058] , the heat exchange plate comprising: a first surface [ area of 31, Fig. 2 b , 0075 ] disposed along the predetermined plane [ Fig. 2] a second surface [ area of 40, fig. 2 b , 0075 ] opposite to the first surface [Fig. 2 ] ; a coolant layer [ Fig. 3a, 0010, 0029-0031 ] configured to allow a coolant to circulate between the first surface and the second surface [Fig. 2] ; a refrigerant layer [ Fig. 3b, 0010, 0029-0030 ] configured to allow a refrigerant to circulate between the first surface and the second surface; a first end portion [ see annotated figure below ] in the predetermined direction; and a second end portion [ see annotated figure below ] opposite to the first end portion in the predetermined direction [see annotated figure] , wherein the refrigerant layer includes a refrigerant input portion [ 22b , Fig. 3 , 0030 ] disposed at the first end portion and configured to enter the refrigerant layer from the refrigerant circuit [0060] , a refrigerant output portion [ 22a, Fig. 3 , 0030 ] disposed at the first end portion and configured to exit from the refrigerant layer to the refrigerant circuit [0080] , a first refrigerant flow path connected to the refrigerant input portion and disposed along the predetermined direction [see annotated figure ] , a second refrigerant flow path connected to the refrigerant output portion and disposed along the predetermined direction [See dashed rectangle] , and a connection portion connecting the first refrigerant flow path and the second refrigerant flow path [ see annotated figure ] , the first refrigerant flow path includes a first branch portion, a first converging portion, and a plurality of first branch flow paths connecting the first branch portion and the first converging portion, the second refrigerant flow path includes a second branch portion, a second converging portion, and a plurality of second branch flow paths connecting the second branch portion and the second converging portion, the refrigerant is movable through the refrigerant input portion, the first branch portion, the first branch flow paths, the first converging portion, the connection portion, the second branch portion, the second branch flow paths, the second converging portion, and the refrigerant output portion in this order [see annotated figure] , and the connection portion is disposed closer to the second end portion than a midpoint of the refrigerant layer in the predetermined direction [ see annotated figure below] Examiner used solid ellipse to show the first portion and dashed ellipse to show second end portions. The solid arrows are the connection portion. The first refrigerant flow path is the rectangle, the solid line inside is the first branch portion, the first converging portion is where the circles and line contact each other, the plurality of first branch flow paths are the circles. The second refrigerant flow path is the dashed rectangle, the solid line inside is the second branch portion, the second converging portion is where the circles and line contact each other, the plurality of second branch flow paths are the circles. The triangle is a midpoint. The dashed lines in the solid rectangle is the third branch portions and the dashed lines in the dashed rectangle is the fourth branch portions. The dashed arrow is the second connection portion. 3824246 4189674 0 0 2373354 4201298 0 0 3002351 4275005 0 0 3293331 4458638 0 0 2401101 3689350 0 0 2933837 3347444 0 0 4143375 4117340 3179528 3516685 3370331 3399266 0 0 2694335 3520545 0 0 3937497 4205881 2276052 3485260 0 0 3243387 3924907 3349101 3735097 0 0 3591283 3596530 0 0 1004078 4262432 0 0 1648874 1153684 0 0 Regarding Claim 2 and 18 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein, at least a part of the plurality of first branch flow paths are disposed along a direction intersecting the predetermined direction when viewed from a normal direction of the predetermined plane, and at least a part of the plurality of second branch flow paths are disposed along a direction intersecting the predetermined direction when viewed from the normal direction of the predetermined plane [see annotated figure] . Regarding Claim 4 and 20 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein the vehicle includes a coolant circuit including at least a pump [0040], the coolant layer includes a coolant input portion [21a, Fig. 3a , 0069 ] configured to enter the coolant layer from the coolant circuit, a coolant output portion [21b, fig. 3a , 0069 ] configured to exit from the coolant layer to the coolant circuit, a first coolant flow path connected to the coolant input portion or the coolant output portion and disposed along the predetermined direction, at least a part of the first coolant flow path being disposed in a manner of overlapping with the first refrigerant flow path, and a second coolant flow path connected to the coolant output portion or the coolant input portion, connected to the first coolant flow path, and disposed along the predetermined direction, at least a part of the second coolant flow path being disposed in a manner of overlapping with the second refrigerant flow path [see annotated figure], a first refrigerant orientation in the predetermined direction of the refrigerant moving in the first refrigerant flow path is opposite to a first coolant orientation in the predetermined direction of the coolant moving in the first coolant flow path, and a second refrigerant orientation in the predetermined direction of the refrigerant moving in the second refrigerant flow path is opposite to a second coolant orientation in the predetermined direction of the coolant moving in the second coolant flow path [see annotated figure, Fig. 3a and 3b] The first coolant flow path is rectangle, the second coolant flow path is the dashed rectangle, 3004777 1706115 0 0 1914275 983201 0 0 1648874 1153684 0 0 Regarding Claim 5 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein the vehicle includes a coolant circuit including at least a pump [0040], the coolant layer includes a coolant input portion [21a, Fig. 3a, 0069] configured to enter the coolant layer from the coolant circuit, a coolant output portion [21b, Fig. 3a, 0069] configured to exit from the coolant layer to the coolant circuit, a first coolant flow path connected to the coolant input portion or the coolant output portion and disposed along the predetermined direction, at least a part of the first coolant flow path being disposed in a manner of overlapping with the first refrigerant flow path, and a second coolant flow path connected to the coolant output portion or the coolant input portion, connected to the first coolant flow path, and disposed along the predetermined direction, at least a part of the second coolant flow path being disposed in a manner of overlapping with the second refrigerant flow path, a first refrigerant orientation in the predetermined direction of the refrigerant moving in the first refrigerant flow path is the same as a first coolant orientation in the predetermined direction of the coolant moving in the first coolant flow path, and a second refrigerant orientation in the predetermined direction of the refrigerant moving in the second refrigerant flow path is the same as a second coolant orientation in the predetermined direction of the coolant moving in the second coolant flow path [see annotated figure] The first coolant flow path is rectangle, the second coolant flow path is the dashed rectangle, 3004777 1706115 0 0 1914275 983201 0 0 1648874 1153684 0 0 Regarding Claim 6 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein the coolant input portion and the coolant output portion are disposed at the first end portion [see annotated figure] Regarding Claim 7 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein the first refrigerant flow path includes a third branch portion, the third branch portion is connected to the refrigerant input portion, the first branch portion, and the first converging portion, and the refrigerant input to the refrigerant input portion is capable of branching into a flow to the first branch portion and a flow to the first converging portion at the third branch portion [See annotated figure]. Regarding Claim 8 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein the second refrigerant flow path includes a fourth branch portion, the fourth branch portion is connected to the connection portion, the second branch portion, and the second converging portion, and the refrigerant passing through the connection portion is capable of branching into a flow to the second branch portion and a flow to the second converging portion at the fourth branch portion [See annotated figure]. Regarding Claim 11 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein the connection portion serves as a first connection portion, and the heat exchange plate further includes a second connection portion disposed closer to the first end portion than the midpoint of the refrigerant layer in the predetermined direction and connecting the first converging portion and the second branch portion [see annotated figure] Regarding Claim 13 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein the heat exchange plate is constructed with a first heat exchange plate including at least the first refrigerant flow path and a second heat exchange plate including at least the second refrigerant flow path, and a part of the connection portion includes a pipe that connects the first heat exchange plate and the second heat exchange plate [Fig. 3A and Fig. 3B]. Regarding Claim 14 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches wherein at least a part of the first branch portion, the first converging portion, the plurality of first branch flow paths, the second branch portion, the second converging portion, and the plurality of second branch flow paths include a pipe [see annotated figure in claim 1] Regarding Claim 15 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches further comprising: a coolant input portion [21a, Fig. 3a, 0069] configured to allow a coolant to be input to the coolant layer; and a coolant output portion [21b, Fig. 3a, 0069] configured to allow the coolant to be output from the coolant layer, wherein the coolant layer includes a first coolant flow path corresponding to the first refrigerant flow path and disposed along the predetermined direction, and a second coolant flow path corresponding to the second refrigerant flow path and disposed along the predetermined direction, the coolant is movable through the coolant input portion, the first coolant flow path, the second coolant flow path, and the coolant output portion, an orientation of movement in the predetermined direction of the refrigerant moving in the first refrigerant flow path is opposite to an orientation of movement in the predetermined direction of the coolant moving in the first coolant flow path, and an orientation of movement in the predetermined direction of the refrigerant moving in the second refrigerant flow path is opposite to an orientation of movement in the predetermined direction of the coolant moving in the second coolant flow path [see annotated figure in claim 1 and 4-5 ] Regarding Claim 16 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. teaches further comprising: a coolant input portion [21a, Fig. 3a , 0069 ] configured to allow a coolant to be input to the coolant layer; and a coolant output portion [21b, fig. 3a , 0069 ] configured to allow the coolant to be output from the coolant layer, wherein the coolant layer includes a first coolant flow path corresponding to the first refrigerant flow path and disposed along the predetermined direction, and a second coolant flow path corresponding to the second refrigerant flow path and disposed along the predetermined direction, the coolant is movable through the coolant input portion, the first coolant flow path, the second coolant flow path, and the coolant output portion, an orientation of movement in the predetermined direction of the refrigerant moving in the first refrigerant flow path is the same as an orientation of movement in the predetermined direction of the coolant moving in the first coolant flow path, and an orientation of movement in the predetermined direction of the refrigerant moving in the second refrigerant flow path is the same as an orientation of movement in the predetermined direction of the coolant moving in the second coolant flow path [see annotated figure]. The first coolant flow path is rectangle, the second coolant flow path is the dashed rectangle, 3004777 1706115 0 0 1914275 983201 0 0 1648874 1153684 0 0 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim(s) 9-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makita (JP2020/009694, Machine Translation) Regarding Claim 9 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. is silent on wherein, a cross-sectional area of a refrigerant flow path of the connection portion is larger than a cross-sectional area of a refrigerant flow path of the first converging portion. A s the reactor cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the cooling circuit , with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the cooling circuit , the parameters of the cooling circuit would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “ wherein, a cross-sectional area of a refrigerant flow path of the connection portion is larger than a cross-sectional area of a refrigerant flow path of the first converging portion. ” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the cooling circuit to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency ( In re Boesch , 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. ( In re Aller , 105 USPQ 223). Regarding Claim 10 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. is silent on wherein the connection portion is disposed between the midpoint of the refrigerant layer in the predetermined direction and the second end portion. A s the reactor cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the cooling circuit , with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the cooling circuit , the parameters of the cooling circuit would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “ wherein the connection portion is disposed between the midpoint of the refrigerant layer in the predetermined direction and the second end portion. ” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the cooling circuit to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency ( In re Boesch , 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. ( In re Aller , 105 USPQ 223). Regarding Claim 12 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. is silent on wherein a cross-sectional area of a refrigerant flow path of the first connection portion is larger than a cross-sectional area of a refrigerant flow path of the second connection portion. A s the reactor cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the cooling circuit , with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the cooling circuit , the parameters of the cooling circuit would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “ wherein a cross-sectional area of a refrigerant flow path of the first connection portion is larger than a cross-sectional area of a refrigerant flow path of the second connection portion. ” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the cooling circuit to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency ( In re Boesch , 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. ( In re Aller , 105 USPQ 223). Claim(s) 3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makita (JP2020/009694, Machine Translation) in view of Wang (US Pub No. 2019/0016230) Regarding Claim 3 and 19 , Makita et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Makita et al. is silent on further comprising: a thermal expansion valve disposed between the refrigerant input portion and the refrigerant circuit, and between the refrigerant output portion and the refrigerant circuit. Wang et al. teaches a battery thermal management system [abstract] comprising a thermal expansion valve [0046] . Since Makita et al. teaches the use of a refrigerant circuit, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the thermal expansion valve of Wang et al. to the refrigerant circuit of Makita et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional engineering design and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. , 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MICHAEL Y SUN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0557 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9AM-7PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT MATTHEW MARTIN can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7871 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL Y SUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728