DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/03/2023, 03/12/2026, 03/24/2026, 06/17/2026, 07/17/2026 and 08/07/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to regarding the term "RF", any abbreviation or shortened representations of a term should be spelled out completely upon its first use in each claim branch (e.g., radio frequency (RF)). Acronym RF was not completely stated out on first use in the branch that contains claims 1.
Claim 11 is missing but there is nothing indicating that claim 11 is canceled. (MPEP 608.01(j)).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a controller is configured to selectively activate the first beam state and the second beam state” in claim 1, “wherein the selective activation of the controller is function of a wireless network protocol” in claims 5, “wherein the controller is further configured to selectively activate the first beam state independently from the second beam state” in claim 9, “wherein the controller is further configured to combine at least the first beam state and the second beam state into a combined beam state” in claim 10, “wherein the controller is further configured to selectively activate the first beam state and the second beam state as a function of time” in claim 12 and “wherein the controller is configured to selectively activate the third beam state and the fourth beam state” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hormis et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0382208), Hormis hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Hormis teaches a multi-beam communication system, comprising:
a first antenna assembly within an array of antenna assemblies; (fig. 3 and paragraph [0208] At 1910, the device may receive, at two or more antenna elements of a first antenna array, one or more beamformed transmissions associated with the one or more receive beams. The operations of 1910 may be performed according to the methods described herein. In some examples, aspects of the operations of 1910 may be performed by a receive array as described with reference to FIGS. 16 through 18.)
the first antenna assembly has a first set of RF elements oriented to produce a first beam state, and a second set of RF elements oriented to produce a second beam state; ([0021] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the wireless router may be a bidirectional wireless router, the set receive beams may have beamforming parameters that correspond to the first set of beams that can be transmitted or received via the first antenna array and the first beamforming network, the set transmit beams may have beamforming parameters that correspond to the second set of beams that can be transmitted or received via the second antenna array and the second beamforming network, and where the method further includes switching a first set of transmit/receive amplification paths between antenna elements of the first antenna array and the first beamforming network based on whether the first set of beams may be being transmitted or received using the first antenna array, and switching a second set of transmit/receive amplification paths between antenna elements of the second antenna array and the second beamforming network based on whether the second set of beams may be being transmitted or received using the second antenna array.)
wherein the first set of RF elements comprise a first set of output sectors, and the second set of RF elements comprise a second set of output sectors; and (The area covered by the arrangement of the RF element and antenna system may be refered to as sector. Paragraph [0060] The geographic coverage area 110 for a base station 105 may be divided into sectors making up a portion of the geographic coverage area 110, and each sector may be associated with a cell. ... [0210] At 1920, the device may switch one or more outputs of a set of outputs of the first beamforming network to be coupled with one or more inputs of a set of inputs of the second beamforming network based on the mapping of the one or more receive beams to the one or more transmit beams. The operations of 1920 may be performed according to the methods described herein. In some examples, aspects of the operations of 1920 may be performed by a switching network as described with reference to FIGS. 16 through 18.)
wherein a controller is configured to selectively activate the first beam state and the second beam state. (fig. 5, fig. 6 and paragraph [0120] For example, a first receive beam (beam 1) 505-a may be received at a first input divider/combiner circuit 510-a. The first input divider/combiner circuit 510-a may divide the first input signal of the first receive beam 505-a into N branches, and route the N outputs to N switches 520-a through 520-d of the switch array 515. Based on the state of the switches 520, as controlled by beam controller 525, the output from divider/combiner circuits 510 may be routed to one or more of the N output divider/combiner circuits 530. Each output divider/combiner circuit 530 may aggregate received signals, corresponding to beams 1 through M, and output the aggregated signal for transmission as a corresponding output beam 535. ... Further, as indicated herein, the switching matrix architecture 500 is bidirectional, and thus may also work in reverse, in which case N may be the same as M, or N may be less than M with one or more of the beams from the right-hand side of the architecture being multicast over two or more beams on the left-hand side.)
Regarding Claim 2, Hormis teaches claim 1.
Hormis further teaches wherein the first beam state further comprises a first beam set, and wherein the second beam state comprises a second beam set. ([0183] In some cases, the set receive beams have beamforming parameters that correspond to a first set of beams that can be transmitted or received via the first antenna array and the first beamforming network. In some cases, the set transmit beams have beamforming parameters that correspond to a second set of beams that can be transmitted or received via the second antenna array and the second beamforming network. In some cases, the set receive beams have beamforming parameters that correspond to the first set of beams that can be transmitted or received via the first antenna array and the first beamforming network. In some cases, the set transmit beams have beamforming parameters that correspond to the second set of beams that can be transmitted or received via the second antenna array and the second beamforming network.)
Regarding Claim 9, Hormis teaches claim 1.
Hormis further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to selectively activate the first beam state independently from the second beam state. ([0027] Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for establishing a control link with a controller of the wireless router, the control link being separate from the one or more receive beams or the one or more transmit beams, and receiving, via the control link, one or more of first beamforming parameters for the first beamforming network, second beamforming parameters for the second beamforming network, mapping information between the one or more receive beams and the one or more transmit beams, or any combinations thereof. ...)
Regarding Claim 14, Hormis teaches claim 1.
Hormis further teaches further comprising a second antenna assembly within the array of antenna assemblies; (fig. 5 shows beam 1, beam 2, beam 3 up to beam M. [0153] In this example, the outputs 1240 of the RF switching network 1230 may be fed into second Butler matrix network 1215-b. The second Butler matrix network 1215-b may perform operations on the signal (e.g., via the process described in FIG. 4) and may output a set of N output signals which are fed into VGA and PA drivers 1250. The number of terminals to which the second Butler matrix network 1215-b may output may be equal to the N outputs for the transmit beams. ... The amplified output signals may be passed to antenna elements 1260 and the antenna elements 1260 may output the associated one or more (i.e., N) output transmissions. The array 1262 of antennas, PA drivers, VGAs, and PAs may thus output beamformed output signals that may be received by one or more base stations, one or more UEs, or combinations thereof. For instance, in the present example, amplified first, second, third, and fourth output signals may be passed to antenna elements 1260-a through 1260-d, which may correspond to the N output beams.)
the second antenna assembly has a third set of RF elements oriented to produce a third beam state, and a fourth set of RF elements oriented to produce a fourth beam state; ([0157] The outputs 1325 of the first Butler matrix network 1315-a may be provided to RF switching network 1330, which may route each of the M receive beams to the N transmit beams by setting switches in the RF switching network 1330 to states that correspond to a mapping between the M receive beams and N transmit beams (e.g., receive beam 1 mapped to transmit beam 1, receive beam 2 mapped to transmit beams 2 and 3, receive beam 3 mapped to transmit beam 4, etc.). Although four signal path outputs 1325 are depicted in the present example, it should be understood that there may be more or fewer signal path outputs 1325 without deviating from the scope of the present disclosure. The RF switching network 1330 may determine the mapping between the receive and transmit beams at the direction of beam controller 1345. The beam controller 1345 may identify or determine the signal paths, for example, based on configuration information received from a base station or other controller via a control link.)
wherein the third set of RF elements comprise a third set of output sectors, and the fourth set of RF elements comprise a fourth set of output sectors; and ([0162] The outputs 1425 of the first Butler matrix network 1415-a may be provided to RF switching network 1430, which may route each of the M receive beams to the N transmit beams by setting switches in the RF switching network 1430 to states that correspond to a mapping between the M receive beams and N transmit beams (e.g., receive beam 1 mapped to transmit beam 1, receive beam 2 mapped to transmit beams 2 and 3, receive beam 3 mapped to transmit beam 4, etc.). Although four signal path outputs 1425 are depicted in the present example, it should be understood that there may be more or fewer signal path outputs 1425 without deviating from the scope of the present disclosure. The RF switching network 1430 may determine the mapping between the receive and transmit beams at the direction of beam controller 1445. The beam controller 1445 may identify or determine the signal paths, for example, based on configuration information received from a base station or other controller via a control link.)
wherein the controller is configured to selectively activate the third beam state and the fourth beam state (fig. 5 shows beam controller 525 selectively activating beam 2, beam 3 up to beam M. [0123] Based on the state of the SPNT switches, as controlled by beam controller 625, the outputs of the input divider/combiner circuits 610 may be routed to one or more of the N output switching divider/combiner circuits 630. Each output switching divider/combiner circuit 630 may aggregate received signals, corresponding to beams 1 through M, and output the aggregated signal for transmission as a corresponding output beam 635. In some cases, the input beams 605 may be received from corresponding outputs of a first Butler matrix that performs beamforming processing on signals at a receive antenna array to generate the M input beams 605. The switches on the output switching divider/combiner circuits 630 may be controlled to route particular received beams 605 to a same or one or more different output beams 635, similarly as discussed with respect to FIG. 5,)
Regarding Claim 15, Hormis teaches claim 14.
Hormis further teaches wherein the third beam state further comprises a third beam set, and wherein the third beam state comprises a third beam set. (fig. 5 shows beam controller 525 selectively activating beam 2, beam 3 up to beam M. Paragraph [0123] Based on the state of the SPNT switches, as controlled by beam controller 625, the outputs of the input divider/combiner circuits 610 may be routed to one or more of the N output switching divider/combiner circuits 630. Each output switching divider/combiner circuit 630 may aggregate received signals, corresponding to beams 1 through M, and output the aggregated signal for transmission as a corresponding output beam 635. In some cases, the input beams 605 may be received from corresponding outputs of a first Butler matrix that performs beamforming processing on signals at a receive antenna array to generate the M input beams 605. The switches on the output switching divider/combiner circuits 630 may be controlled to route particular received beams 605 to a same or one or more different output beams 635, similarly as discussed with respect to FIG. 5,)
Regarding Claim 16, Hormis teaches claim 14.
Hormis further teaches wherein the third beam state is the same as the first beam state. (fig. 5 and paragraph [0120] … For example, first input beam 505-a may be routed to a second output beam (Beam 2) 535-b, which may have the same or different beamforming parameters as the first input beam 505-a. …). In the same way 535-c in fig. 5 which is the third beam may have same or different beamforming parameters as the first input beam.
Regarding Claim 17, Hormis teaches claim 14.
Hormis further teaches wherein the third beam state is different from the first beam state. (fig. 5 and paragraph [0120] … For example, first input beam 505-a may be routed to a second output beam (Beam 2) 535-b, which may have the same or different beamforming parameters as the first input beam 505-a. …). In the same way 535-c in fig. 5 which is the third beam may have same or different beam forming parameters as the first input beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hormis et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0382208), Hormis hereinafter, in view of Frigon et al. (US 10879627 B1), Frigon hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 3, Hormis teaches claim 1.
Yet, Hormis does not expressly teach wherein the first set of output sectors at least partially overlaps the second set of output sectors.
However, in the analogous art, Frigon explicitly discloses wherein the first set of output sectors at least partially overlaps the second set of output sectors. (fig. 3, fig. 26 and column 15 line 5 to 15 - One can appreciate that with the MR-MSMP antenna system 1100, 1500, the following benefits and features can be accomplished: (1) it is possible to independently achieve various coverage for each radio varying from an approximately 90×90 degree sector coverage to 160×160 degree sector coverage by selectively interconnecting the RF chains to the antenna feeds in the interface matrix 1120, 1520; (2) the coverage of each radio can be independently configure and can range from fully-overlapping to non-overlapping; ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Frigon's configuration for fully overlapping or non-overlapping coverage for ease of adaptation to seamless coverage or minimization of interference.
Regarding Claim 4, Hormis in view of Frigon teaches claim 3.
Frigon further teaches wherein the first set of output sectors does not overlap the second set of output sectors. (fig. 3, fig. 26 and column 15 line 5 to 15 - One can appreciate that with the MR-MSMP antenna system 1100, 1500, the following benefits and features can be accomplished: (1) it is possible to independently achieve various coverage for each radio varying from an approximately 90×90 degree sector coverage to 160×160 degree sector coverage by selectively interconnecting the RF chains to the antenna feeds in the interface matrix 1120, 1520; (2) the coverage of each radio can be independently configure and can range from fully-overlapping to non-overlapping; ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Frigon's configuration for fully-overlapping or non-overlapping coverage for ease of adaptation to seamless coverage or minimization of interference.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hormis et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0382208), Hormis hereinafter, in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0048775), Kim hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Hormis teaches claim 1.
Yet, Hormis does not expressly teach wherein the selective activation of the controller is function of a wireless network protocol.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly discloses wherein the selective activation of the controller is function of a wireless network protocol. ([0119] ... Additionally, the RBN may perform beam refinement protocol (BRP) to select the optimal reception sector beam or may select a more accurate optimal transmission/reception beam through more precise beam training. BRP setup for performing BRP may be done during ATI or DTI, and BRP beam training may be done during DTI. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Kim's use of beam refinement protocol to achieve higher signal to noise ratio.
Claims 6, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hormis et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0382208), Hormis hereinafter, in view of Kaistha et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0384606), Kim hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 6, Hormis teaches claim 1.
Yet, Hormis does not expressly teach wherein the first antenna assembly further comprises a first RF lens.
However, in the analogous art, Kaistha explicitly discloses wherein the first antenna assembly further comprises a first RF lens ([0149] FIG. 11B is a schematic cross-sectional view of the dual-beam antenna 600 of FIG. 11A with an RF lens in place that includes a first heat dissipation element design, and FIG. 11C is a schematic perspective view of a portion of the antenna 600.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Kaistha's RF lenses use to get higher gain in antenna system.
Regarding Claim 7, Hormis in view of Kaistha teaches claim 6.
Kaistha further teaches further comprising a second RF lens having a third set of RF elements oriented to produce a third set of output sectors, and a fourth set of RF elements oriented to produce a fourth set of output sectors. ([0101] The base station antennas according to embodiments of the present inventive concept may be multibeam antennas that can be used for sector-splitting applications. In some embodiments, these multibeam base station antennas may include at least first and second arrays of radiating elements that are configured to operate in the same frequency band and an RF lens that is positioned to receive electromagnetic radiation from the first and second arrays. At least one heat dissipation channel extends through RF energy focusing material of the RF lens.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Kaistha's RF lenses use to achieve higher gain in antenna system.
Regarding Claim 13, Hormis in view of Kaistha teaches claim 6.
Kaistha further teaches wherein the first RF lens is configured such that selective activation of the first beam state alters the first output beam with respect to at least one of a beam frequency range, beamwidth, a beam-direction, a beam polarization, a beam gain, and a beam sidelobe level ([0122] Pursuant to embodiments of the present inventive concept, base station antennas are provided that include RF lenses having heat dissipation elements, such as air channels, that may be used to vent heat from the interior of the RF lens. These antennas may also include active cooling elements such as small fans which may further assist with the removal of heat from the RF lenses. … Moreover, the size, constitution and placement of the heat dissipation elements may be selected to improve characteristics of the antenna patterns generated by the antennas, such as the azimuth sidelobe levels.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Kaistha's RF lenses use to achieve higher gain in antenna system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hormis et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0382208), Hormis hereinafter, in view of Kaistha et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0384606), Kim hereinafter and further in view of Gao et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0138567), Gao hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Hormis in view of Kaistha teaches claim 6.
Yet, Hormis in view of Kaistha does not expressly teach wherein at least some of the beam states operate simultaneously, within 0.5 to 30 GHz.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly discloses 8. The multi-beam communication system of claim 6, wherein at least some of the beam states operate simultaneously, within 0.5 to 30 GHz ([0089] In a new radio (NR) system specified in the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) protocol, frequency ranges of wireless transmission are classified into an FR1 band and an FR2 band. A frequency range of the FR1 band is 410 MHz to 7125 MHz, and a frequency range of the FR2 band is 24.25 GHz to 52.6 GHz.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Gao's use of bands within 0.5 to 30 GHz to get high capacity and high throughput.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hormis et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0382208), Hormis hereinafter, in view of Gao et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0138567), Gao hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10, Hormis teaches claim 1.
Hormis further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to combine at least the first beam state and the second beam state into a combined beam state, ([0027] Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for establishing a control link with a controller of the wireless router, the control link being separate from the one or more receive beams or the one or more transmit beams, and receiving, via the control link, one or more of first beamforming parameters for the first beamforming network, second beamforming parameters for the second beamforming network, mapping information between the one or more receive beams and the one or more transmit beams, or any combinations thereof. ... [0140] ... The first Butler matrix network 1015-a perform signal processing as discussed with respect to FIG. 4, and output signals that correspond to each of the M receive beams.)
Yet, Hormis does not expressly teach wherein the combined beam state is configured for 120 degrees of coverage.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly discloses wherein the combined beam state is configured for 120 degrees of coverage ([0151] FIG. 6 is a top view of beam directions. An area covered by the beams in the first SSB beam set is located in a 120-degree area in the sector, the N first SSB beams are discontinuously distributed (where the first partial area includes discontinuous areas covered by N first SSB beams), an area covered by the beams in the second SSB beam set is located in the 120-degree area in the sector, and the M second SSB beams are discontinuously distributed (where the second partial area includes discontinuous areas covered by the M second SSB beams). It may be understood as that one second SSB beam is located between at least two first SSB beams. It may also be understood as that, after the N first SSB beams are evenly distributed in the 120-degree sector, the second SSB beams are obtained by rotating the first SSB beams by a specific angle, so that a coverage area of the second SSB beams is located in a corresponding non-coverage area between the first SSB beams. A purpose of beam rotation is to cover a range that is not covered by the plurality of second beams. Therefore, a plurality of third beams obtained through rotation of the plurality of second beams may cover a part of the range that is not covered by the plurality of second beams. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Gao's use of bands within 0.5 to 30 GHz to get high capacity and high throughput.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hormis et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0382208), Hormis hereinafter, in view of Yao et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0352968), Yao hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 12, Hormis teaches claim 1.
Yet, Hormis does not expressly teach wherein the controller is further configured to selectively activate the first beam state and the second beam state as a function of time
However, in the analogous art, Yao explicitly discloses wherein the controller is further configured to selectively activate the first beam state and the second beam state as a function of time ([0370] In the process shown in FIG. 16, the wireless network node transmits a first beam state and a second beam state to a wireless terminal (e.g. UE). Note that one of the first beam states and the second beam state is applied after a first time point and another one of the first beam state and the second beam state is applied after a second time point.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hormis’s radio frequency domain beamforming router to include Yao's selective activation of the first beam state and the second beam state as a function of time to achieve adaptive capacity management with time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
US 11575204 B1 which describes communication method and apparatus
U.S. PGPUB 2017/0040687 which describes communication method and communication apparatus
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472