DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/10/2026. Claims 21-40 are pending and have been considered below.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 4/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent issued on co-pending application 19021653 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
In response to the Applicant’s amendment to claim(s) filed 4/10/2026, the 35 USC 112 rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment and arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 4/10/2026 have been considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment as set forth below in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi (US 2017/0131772).
Regarding claim 21:
Choi discloses an electronic device (figures; abstract) comprising:
a housing (figure 2a [housing or cover for electronic devices as shown]; fig 7);
an input device positioned at least partially within the housing and configured to receive a first input and a second input (fig 2a; fig 12 [1250]), the input device comprising:
a first input sensor configured to produce a first signal in response to the first input (para 40 [first input]; para 70; figure 12 [sensor module 1240]); and
a second input sensor configured to produce a second signal in response to the second input (para 163 [second input]; fig 12); and
a processing device operably connected to the first input sensor and the second input sensor (figure 12 [processor 1210]), the processing device configured to:
detect the first and second signals (figure 3a [steps 303,305 and 307,309]; figs 3b, 3c);
cause the electronic device to perform a first function in response to detecting the first signal (fig 3a [step 306]); and
cause the electronic device to perform a second function in response to detecting the second signal (fig 3a [step 311]; para 208; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 36:
Choi discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claim 21 and further discloses a wearable electronic device comprising, a display at least partially enclosed by the housing; a haptic engine configured to produce a haptic output at the housing (140 in fig 1; para 59), thus claim 36 is rejected with similar rationale under teachings of prior art as in claim 21 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22,37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2017/0131772) in view of Jung (US 2015/0123500).
Regarding claims 22, 37:
Choi discloses all of the subject matter as described above and a haptic actuator operably connected to the processing device, positioned within the housing, configured to produce a haptic output (140 in figure 1; figure 12; and throughout), except for specifically teaching that the haptic actuator comprising a magnet and a coil.
However, Jung in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for a haptic actuator where haptic actuator comprising a magnet and a coil (abstract [haptic actuator with coil and magnet]; figure 1; para 1, 14,21; para 28,35-38 [coil 20, magnet 61 in fig 1]; and throughout disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Jung in Choi to provide haptic actuator to generate haptic output throughout mutual operation of coil and magnet [para 1,13] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-35 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 23-26, 38-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631