The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The title could be shortened, and be more to point. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balwani (PGPUB 2016/0253458) in view of Rusanen (US 8,151,942).
With respect to claim 11, Balwani teaches a method for monitoring a vertical transportation device, the system comprising the steps of:
providing a data recording system (paragraph 0057);
providing a log in system for the data recording system (paragraph 0086-87);
enabling a first user (paragraph 0173) to log into (paragraph 0086-87) the data recording system through the log in system;
wherein the data recording system provides current information (paragraph 0142) regarding the vertical transportation device; and
wherein the first user may update information related to (paragraph 0090) the device when the first user is logged into the data recording system.
Balwani does not teach the vertical transportation device.
Rusanen teaches a vertical transportation device (column 1, lines 22-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides secure travel to system in public.
With respect to claim 12, Balwani does not teach wherein the vertical transportation device is moveable in a first direction and a second direction.
Rusanen teaches wherein the vertical transportation device is moveable in a first direction and a second direction (column 10, lines 46-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides multiple secure travel platforms.
With respect to claim 13, Balwani does not teach wherein the first direction is vertical, and the second direction is horizontal.
Rusanen teaches wherein the first direction is vertical, and the second direction is horizontal (column 10, lines 46-64; elevator and escalator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides multiple secure travel platforms.
With respect to claim 14, Balwani does not teach wherein the vertical transportation device is one of an elevator, escalator, dumbwaiter, lift, moving walkway, and inclinator.
Rusanen teaches wherein the vertical transportation device is one of an elevator, escalator, dumbwaiter, lift, moving walkway, and inclinator (column 10, lines 46-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides a secure travel platforms.
With respect to claim 15, Balwani teaches wherein the step of providing the log in system comprises: providing a first log in component that allows a first user to log in to the data recording system (paragraph 0103); and
providing a second log in component that allows a second user (paragraph 0170) to log in to the data recording system (paragraph 0104).
With respect to claim 16, Balwani teaches wherein the first log in component provides the first user with a first level of access (paragraph 0103), and
the second log in component provides the second user with a second level of access (paragraph 0104).
With respect to claim 17, Balwani teaches wherein the first level of access enables the first user to read data from and write data to the data recording system (paragraph 0020).
With respect to claim 18, Balwani teaches further comprising: enabling the first user to write a first type of data into the data recording system, wherein the first type of data comprises at least one of: maintenance data, callback data, break fix data, inspection data, entrapment data, inspection data, work order data, service data, testing data, repair data, modernization data, punch list data, construction data, elevator system information, and code requirement data, into the data recording system (paragraph 0057).
With respect to claim 19, Balwani teaches wherein the second level of access enables the second user to read data from the data recording system (paragraph 0021).
With respect to claim 20, Balwani teaches wherein the first user must log in to the data recording system before the second user logs into the data recording system (paragraph 0021).
With respect to claim 21, Balwani does not teach further comprising: requiring the first user to be within a predetermined distance from the vertical transportation device to log into the system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for system to be log in from distance, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 22, Balwani teaches system, comprising:
a data recording system for the device that contains current information (paragraph 0057) regarding a state of the device;
a log in interface that allows a first user to have a first level of access (paragraph 0033) to the data recording system and a second user (paragraph 0170) to have a second level of access (paragraph 0035) to the data recording system;
wherein the first level of access allows the first user to enter data related to the device into the data recording system by and the second level of access allows the second user to access the data recording system to determine the (paragraph 0090) state of the device.
Balwani does not teach a vertical transportation device.
Rusanen teaches a vertical transportation device (column 1, lines 22-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides secure travel to system in public.
With respect to claim 23, Balwani does not teach wherein the vertical transportation device is capable of both horizontal and vertical movement.
Rusanen teaches wherein the first direction is vertical, and the second direction is horizontal (column 10, lines 46-64; elevator and escalator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides multiple secure travel platforms.
With respect to claim 24, Balwani does not teach wherein the vertical transportation device is one of an elevator, escalator, dumbwaiter, lift, moving walkway, and inclinator.
Rusanen teaches wherein the vertical transportation device is one of an elevator, escalator, dumbwaiter, lift, moving walkway, and inclinator (column 10, lines 46-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides a secure travel platforms.
With respect to claim 25, Balwani does not teach wherein the first level of access requires the first user to be within a predetermined distance of the vertical transportation device to log in to the data recording system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for system to be log in from distance, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 26, Balwani does not teach wherein the second level of access enables the second user to log in to the data recording system from a remote location.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for remote log in location, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 27, Balwani does not teach further comprising a notification system that transmits a notification to the second user when the first user enters data into the data recording system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for system to provide notifications, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 28, Balwani does not teach further comprising a tracking system that calculates average time it takes the first user to complete a predetermined task and updates the data recording system to include the average time after the first user completes the predetermined task.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for system to provide notifications, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 29, Balwani teaches wherein the predetermined task is a task related to at least one type of task, wherein the at least one type of task relates to at least one of maintenance, callback, breakfix, inspection, entrapment, inspection, work order, service, testing, repair, modernization, punch list, construction, elevator system operation, and code requirements (paragraph 0057).
With respect to claim 30, Balwani teaches a method for monitoring a vertical transportation device, comprising:
receiving at least one log in credential from a first user (paragraph 0173);
verifying, through utilization of the log in credential, that the first user is authorized to access (paragraph 0033), at a first level of access, a system that stores real time status information related to the device;
receiving information from (paragraph 0086-87) the first user relating to the device when the first user is authorized to access the system at the first access level (paragraph 0103).
Balwani does not teach a vertical transportation device.
Rusanen teaches a vertical transportation device (column 1, lines 22-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides secure travel to system in public.
With respect to claim 31, Balwani teaches further comprising: receiving at least a second log in credential, wherein the second log in credential is from a second user (paragraph 0170);
verifying, through utilization of the second log in credential, that the second user is authorized to access the system at a second level of access (paragraph 0104); and allowing the second user to access information received from the first user relating the vertical transportation device.
With respect to claim 32, Balwani does not teach wherein the first user is a at least one of a technician, a mechanic, an inspector, a building employee, a building representative, an engineer, a maintenance employee, a service person, and an authority having jurisdiction over the vertical transportation device.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have first user a service person, since applicant has not disclosed that person log in solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose.
With respect to claim 33, Balwani does not teach wherein the second user is at least one of an inspector, a manager, management company personnel, a building employee, a building representative, a building owner, a facility employee, and an authority having jurisdiction over the vertical transportation device.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have second user be building employee, since applicant has not disclosed that person log in solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose.
With respect to claim 34, Balwani does not teach wherein the vertical transportation device is capable of both horizontal and vertical movement.
Rusanen teaches wherein the first direction is vertical, and the second direction is horizontal (column 10, lines 46-64; elevator and escalator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides multiple secure travel platforms.
With respect to claim 35, Balwani does not teach wherein the vertical transportation device is one of an elevator, an escalator, dumbwaiter, lift, moving walkway, and inclinator.
Rusanen teaches wherein the vertical transportation device is one of an elevator, escalator, dumbwaiter, lift, moving walkway, and inclinator (column 10, lines 46-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply was made to include transportation system of Rusanen, to improve the secure device system of Balwani as provides a secure travel platforms.
Conclusion
/ERICK D GLASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837