Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said first protrusion” and “said second protrusion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner believes “first protrusion” should be “first projection” and “second protrusion” should be “second projection”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Labbe (USP 7,810,531)
Regarding claim 1, Labbe discloses an attachment, said attachment comprising: a first end (1E: see below/23 of figure 2A); a second end (2E/24 of figure 2A); and an outer wall (28) with a plurality of projections (34) (col. 8, lines 26-41), each of said plurality of projections (34) having a passage (122) therethrough (figure 10 and col. 11, lines 1-8). Please note: Labbe’s tool/attachment is capable of removing foam.
Regarding claim 2, Labbe discloses wherein each of said plurality of projections (34) extends radially from said outer wall (28) and said passage (122) or each of said plurality of projections does not pass through said outer wall (figure 2A, 5, 10, 11 & and col. 8, lines 26-41 & col. 11, lines 1-8).
[AltContent: textbox (1E)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2E)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Labbe discloses wherein said attachment comprises a shell (22) and a core. Labbe discloses “cutting head 20 is mounted longitudinally between two spaced apart housing sidewalls 1004 and 1006 and supported on bearing assemblies (not shown) for rotational motion about an axis of rotation `A-A” (col. 8, lines 15-19) and Examiner is defining the core to be the bearing assembly located between the shell and the shaft.
Regarding claim 9, Labbe discloses an attachment for use with a tool having a rotating shaft (figure 2A), said attachment comprising: a core (Labbe discloses “cutting head 20 is mounted longitudinally between two spaced apart housing sidewalls 1004 and 1006 and supported on bearing assemblies (not shown) for rotational motion about an axis of rotation `A-A” (col. 8, lines 15-19) and Examiner is defining the core to be the bearing assembly located between the shell and the shaft), said core (i.e. bearing assembly) having an inner passage selectively attachable (selectively interpreted as with the shaft and without the shaft held by the bearing assembly) to said shaft and an outer profile (i.e. exterior); and a shell (22) comprising a cavity, an outer wall (28), a first projection (cutting tooth 500 indicated below as P1) with a first projection passage (shown as 122 in figure 10) and a second projection (cutting tooth 500 indicated below as P2) with a second projection passage (122), wherein: said core is received within said cavity (col. 8, lines 15-19); said first projection passage and said second projection passage (122) do not pass exterior or said outer wall (28) (col. 11, lines 1-8).
[AltContent: textbox (Shaft)][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow] ++
Regarding claim 14, Labbe discloses wherein said first protrusion/projection (P1) and said second protrusion/ (P2) are part of a plurality of protrusions arranged in a helical path around said outer wall of said shell (see figure above).
Claims 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boyd et. Al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0254181).
Regarding claim 15, Boyd discloses an attachment, said attachment (1100’) comprising: a cavity (1113’); an outer wall (1150); a first end (1130’);
a second end (1120’), said second end having a second end wall (1121’) with a second end opening (O: see below) through said second end wall (1121’), said second end also having a primary slot (1112’), said primary slot being open to said second end opening and passing through said outer wall (see figure below); and a plurality of projections (P1/P2: see below) having a passage (P) therethrough extending from said outer wall (1150). Please note: Boyd’s invention is capable of removing foam.
[AltContent: textbox (O)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Px)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P)][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 18, Boyd discloses wherein said plurality of projections (P1/P2) are arranged in a helical path around said outer wall (as seen in figure above, the exemplary projection Px does not extend straight and has a helical path).
Regarding claim 19, Boyd discloses wherein: said plurality of projections are a first plurality of projections (P1); and said attachment further comprises a second plurality of projections (P2) arranged in a second helical path around said outer wall (1150) (see figure above)..
Regarding claim 20, broadly reading the claim, Boyd discloses the attachment (1110) having a core (i.e. the hollow interior 1160) (figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 10-13, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 1/4/26