DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (WO2022/016414 , hereinafter Guo) in view of Ye et al. (US 2024/0188077 A1, hereinafter Ye).
Regarding claim 1, Guo disclose1.A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (¶[0028]) for allowing more than one physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (¶[0045]) in each of a plurality of configured grant (CG) periods (¶[0063],¶[0071), the method
comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), a CG configuration for configuring the plurality of CG
periods (¶[0052],¶[0056]);
determining, for each of the plurality of CG periods, that a CG PUSCH occasion exists in each
of a number of consecutive slots within the corresponding CG period (¶[0064]-¶[0069]). Guo does not disclose receiving from the BS a radio resource control (RRC) configuration comprising a first parameter or wherein the number of consecutive slots is determined based on the first parameter. Ye discloses receiving from the BS a radio resource control (RRC) configuration comprising a first parameter (¶[0048],¶[0052],¶[0076]) and wherein the number of consecutive slots is determined based on the first parameter (¶[0081]-¶[0084],¶[0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configured grant mechanism of Guo to use the RRC configured parameter as disclosed by Ye to determine the number of consecutive slots for PUSCH transmission to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Guo discloses :receiving, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) for activating the CG configuration (¶[0054]-¶[0058], wherein the DCI signaling is associated with a CG operation, ¶[0060], wherein the DCI indicates uplink transmission parameters). Guo does not disclose the DCI indicating a start and length indicator value (SLIV) included in a time domain
resource assignment (TDRA) field; and applying the SLIV to each CG PUSCH occasion. Ye discloses the DCI indicating a start and length indicator value (SLIV) included in a time domain
resource assignment (TDRA) field (¶[0068]-¶[0073]), wherein the start symbol and length is determined from the TDRA field); and applying the SLIV to each CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0081]-¶[0084], the time domain allocation to repeated multiple PUSCH occasions,¶[0092] use of configured parameters across multiple transmission occasions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement combine the start and length indicator value (SLIV) with the time domain resource assignment (TDRA) field of Guo to provide a standard flexible mechanism for defining PUSCH start symbol and transmission length for configured grant occasions in a 5G NR uplink scheduling framework.
Regarding claim 3 , Guo discloses determining a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID) (¶[0045],¶[0071]) of a second CG PUSCH occasion within one of the plurality of CG periods (¶[0074]) by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion. Guo does not disclose by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion. Ye discloses by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0076]-¶[0080]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the incrementation of the HARQ along with the HARQ ID CG periods as disclosed by Guo to provide the system with consecutive transmissions within a CG period to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Guo discloses of claim 1, further comprising:receiving, from the BS, a time division duplexing (TDD) configuration (¶[0037],¶[0052]); and
determining, in a case that a certain CG PUSCH occasion within one of the plurality of CG
periods overlaps with at least one DL symbol indicated by the TDD configuration (¶[0064]-¶[0069], wherein the UE detects the overlap by checking symbol availability, invalid transmissions are skipped). Guo does not disclose that the certain CG PUSCH occasion is invalid. Ye discloses that the certain CG
PUSCH occasion is invalid (¶[0085]-¶[0089], wherein the UE evaluates resource conflicts and invalidates transmissions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the validation as disclosed by Ye along with the UEs behavior through software to provide validating CG PUSCH occasions.
Regarding claim 5, Guo discloses the use of integers (¶[[0063]-¶[0069], wherei00.n the quantity of consecutive slots include integers, ¶[0071], , wherein the number of transmission occasions is an integer). Guo does not disclose the RRC parameter is in the form of an integer. Ye discloses wherein the first parameter is in a form of an integer (¶[0052],¶[0076], wherein the RRC parameters represent number of slots). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the RRC (first) parameter of Ye in integer form because the slots and transmission occasions as well as RRC configuration parameters are encoded as number fields representing integer values.
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses determining, in a case that one of the number of repetitions of the PUSCH occasion overlaps (¶[0068], whereint eh UE does not transmission when overlap is detected)
with the CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration, that the one of the number of
repetitions of the PUSCH occasion is invalid. (¶[0069]). Guo does not disclose
receiving, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PUSCH occasion that is not associated with the CG configuration. Ye discloses receiving, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PUSCH occasion that is not associated with the CG configuration; (¶[0052], wherein the RRC configuration of PUSCH transmission parameters , ¶[0081]-¶[0084] repetitons count to repeated transmissions). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the repetition as disclosed by Ye along with uplink PUSCH transmissions as disclosed by Guo to provide conflict resolution in the 5G NR system.
Regarding claim 7, Guo discloses determining, in a case that a first CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration overlaps with one of a number of repetitions of a second CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration (¶[0072]), that the one of the number of repetitions of the second CG PUSCH occasion is invalid (¶[0068]-¶[0069]). Guo does not disclose receiving, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of the CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration. Ye discloses receiving, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of the CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration (¶[0052], wherein the RRC configuration of PUSCH transmission parameters , ¶[0081]-¶[0084] repetitons count to repeated transmissions). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the repetition as disclosed by Ye along with uplink PUSCH transmissions as disclosed by Guo to provide conflict resolution in the 5G NR system.
Regarding claim 8, Guo discloses, wherein in a case that a CG PUSCH occasion within the one
of the plurality of CG periods is invalid, omitting the invalid CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0068]) and determining not to perform a PUSCH transmission in the invalid CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0069], wherein the transmission is not used when invalid).
Regarding claim 9, Guo discloses a User Equipment (UE) (¶[0028], figure 1) for allowing more than one physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (¶[0045])in each of a plurality of configured grant (CG) periods (¶[0063],¶[0071]), the UE comprising:
one or more processors (¶[0021]-¶[0023]); and
at least one memory coupled to at least one of the one or more processors, wherein the at least
one memory stores one or more computer-exceutable instructions that, when executed by the at least
one of the one or more processors, cause the UE to (¶[0021]-¶[0023]):
receive, from a base station (BS), a CG configuration for configuring the plurality of CG
periods (¶[0052], ¶[0056]);
determining, for each of the plurality of CG periods, that a CG PUSCH occasion exists in each
of a number of consecutive slots within the corresponding CG period (¶[0064]-¶[0069]). Guo does not disclose receiving from the BS a radio resource control (RRC) configuration comprising a first parameter or wherein the number of consecutive slots is determined based on the first parameter. Ye discloses receiving from the BS a radio resource control (RRC) configuration comprising a first parameter (¶[0048],¶[0052],¶[0076]) and wherein the number of consecutive slots is determined based on the first parameter (¶[0081]-¶[0084],¶[0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configured grant mechanism of Guo to use the RRC configured parameter as disclosed by Ye to determine the number of consecutive slots for PUSCH transmission to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, Guo discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when
executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the UE to (¶[0021]-¶[0023]): receiving, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) for activating the CG configuration (¶[0054]-¶[0058], wherein the DCI signaling is associated with a CG operation, ¶[0060], wherein the DCI indicates uplink transmission parameters). Guo does not disclose the DCI indicating a start and length indicator value (SLIV) included in a time domain
resource assignment (TDRA) field; and applying the SLIV to each CG PUSCH occasion. Ye discloses the DCI indicating a start and length indicator value (SLIV) included in a time domain
resource assignment (TDRA) field (¶[0068]-¶[0073]), wherein the start symbol and length is determined from the TDRA field); and applying the SLIV to each CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0081]-¶[0084], the time domain allocation to repeated multiple PUSCH occasions,¶[0092] use of configured parameters across multiple transmission occasions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement combine the start and length indicator value (SLIV) with the time domain resource assignment (TDRA) field of Guo to provide a standard flexible mechanism for defining PUSCH start symbol and transmission length for configured grant occasions in a 5G NR uplink scheduling framework.
Regarding claim 11 , Guo discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the UE to (¶[0021]-¶[0023]):
determine a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID) (¶[0045],¶[0071]) of a second CG PUSCH occasion within one of the plurality of CG periods (¶[0074]) by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion. Guo does not disclose by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion. Ye discloses by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0076]-¶[0080]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the incrementation of the HARQ along with the HARQ ID CG periods as disclosed by Guo to provide the system with consecutive transmissions within a CG period to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Guo discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the UE to (
¶[0021]-¶[0023]):
determine, in a case that a first CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration overlaps with one of a number of repetitions of a second CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration (¶[0072]), that the one of the number of repetitions of the second CG PUSCH occasion is invalid (¶[0068]-¶[0069]). Guo does not disclose receive, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of the CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration. Ye discloses receive, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of the CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration (¶[0052], wherein the RRC configuration of PUSCH transmission parameters , ¶[0081]-¶[0084] repetitons count to repeated transmissions). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the repetition as disclosed by Ye along with uplink PUSCH transmissions as disclosed by Guo to provide conflict resolution in the 5G NR system.
Regarding claim 13, Guo discloses the use of integers (¶[[0063]-¶[0069], wherei00.n the quantity of consecutive slots include integers, ¶[0071], , wherein the number of transmission occasions is an integer). Guo does not disclose the RRC parameter is in the form of an integer. Ye discloses wherein the first parameter is in a form of an integer (¶[0052],¶[0076], wherein the RRC parameters represent number of slots). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the RRC (first) parameter of Ye in integer form because the slots and transmission occasions as well as RRC configuration parameters are encoded as number fields representing integer values.
Regarding claim 14, Guo discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the UE to (¶[0021]-¶[0023]): determining, in a case that one of the number of repetitions of the PUSCH occasion overlaps (¶[0068], whereint eh UE does not transmission when overlap is detected)
with the CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration, that the one of the number of
repetitions of the PUSCH occasion is invalid. (¶[0069]). Guo does not disclose
receive, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PUSCH occasion that is not associated with the CG configuration. Ye discloses receive, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of a PUSCH occasion that is not associated with the CG configuration; (¶[0052], wherein the RRC configuration of PUSCH transmission parameters , ¶[0081]-¶[0084] repetitons count to repeated transmissions). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the repetition as disclosed by Ye along with uplink PUSCH transmissions as disclosed by Guo to provide conflict resolution in the 5G NR system.
Regarding claim 15, Guo discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the UE to (¶[0021]-¶[0023]: determine, in a case that a first CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration overlaps with one of a number of repetitions of a second CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration (¶[0072]), that the one of the number of repetitions of the second CG PUSCH occasion is invalid (¶[0068]-¶[0069]). Guo does not disclose receive, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of the CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration. Ye discloses receive, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a number of repetitions of the CG PUSCH occasion corresponding to the CG configuration (¶[0052], wherein the RRC configuration of PUSCH transmission parameters , ¶[0081]-¶[0084] repetitions count to repeated transmissions). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the repetition as disclosed by Ye along with uplink PUSCH transmissions as disclosed by Guo to provide conflict resolution in the 5G NR system.
Regarding claim 16, Guo discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the UE to (¶[0021]-¶[0023]):, in a case that a CG PUSCH occasion within the one
of the plurality of CG periods is invalid, omitting the invalid CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0068]) and determining not to perform a PUSCH transmission in the invalid CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0069], wherein the transmission is not used when invalid).
Regarding claim 17, Guo discloses a base station (BS) for allowing more than one physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (¶[0045])in each of a plurality of configured grant (CG) periods, the BS comprising (¶[0063],¶[0071]):
one or more processors(¶[0024]-¶[0027]); and
at least one memory coupled to at least one of the one or more processors, wherein the at least
one memory stores one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least
one of the one or more processors, cause the BS to (¶[0024]-¶[0027]):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a CG configuration for configuring the plurality of CG
periods; (¶[0052],¶[0056]);
determining, for each of the plurality of CG periods, that a CG PUSCH occasion exists in each
of a number of consecutive slots within the corresponding CG period (¶[0064]-¶[0069]). Guo does not disclose transmit to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration comprising a first parameter or wherein the number of consecutive slots is determined based on the first parameter. Ye discloses transmit to the UE,a radio resource control (RRC) configuration comprising a first parameter (¶[0048],¶[0052],¶[0076]) and wherein the number of consecutive slots is determined based on the first parameter (¶[0081]-¶[0084],¶[0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configured grant mechanism of Guo to use the RRC configured parameter as disclosed by Ye to determine the number of consecutive slots for PUSCH transmission to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, Guo discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the BS to (¶[0024]-¶[0027]:
transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) for activating the CG configuration (¶[0054]-¶[0058], wherein the DCI signaling is associated with a CG operation, ¶[0060], wherein the DCI indicates uplink transmission parameters). Guo does not disclose the DCI indicating a start and length indicator value (SLIV) included in a time domain
resource assignment (TDRA) field; and applying the SLIV to each CG PUSCH occasion. Ye discloses the DCI indicating a start and length indicator value (SLIV) included in a time domain
resource assignment (TDRA) field (¶[0068]-¶[0073]), wherein the start symbol and length is determined from the TDRA field); and applying the SLIV to each CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0081]-¶[0084], the time domain allocation to repeated multiple PUSCH occasions,¶[0092] use of configured parameters across multiple transmission occasions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement combine the start and length indicator value (SLIV) with the time domain resource assignment (TDRA) field of Guo to provide a standard flexible mechanism for defining PUSCH start symbol and transmission length for configured grant occasions in a 5G NR uplink scheduling framework.
Regarding claim 19, Guo discloses, wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when
executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the BS to (¶[0024]-¶[0027]):
determine a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID) (¶[0045],¶[0071]) of a second CG PUSCH occasion within one of the plurality of CG periods (¶[0074]) by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion. Guo does not disclose by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion. Ye discloses by incrementing a HARQ process ID of a first CG PUSCH occasion by one, wherein the first CG PUSCH is within the one of the plurality of CG periods and is before the second CG PUSCH occasion (¶[0076]-¶[0080]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the incrementation of the HARQ along with the HARQ ID CG periods as disclosed by Guo to provide the system with consecutive transmissions within a CG period to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, Guo discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one of the one or more processors, further cause the BS to (¶[0024]-¶[0027]):
transmit, to the UE, a time division duplexing (TDD) configuration(¶[0037],¶[0052]); and
determine in a case that a certain CG PUSCH occasion within one of the plurality of CG
periods overlaps with at least one DL symbol indicated by the TDD configuration (¶[0064]-¶[0069], wherein the UE detects the overlap by checking symbol availability, invalid transmissions are skipped). Guo does not disclose that the certain CG PUSCH occasion is invalid. Ye discloses that the certain CG
PUSCH occasion is invalid (¶[0085]-¶[0089], wherein the UE evaluates resource conflicts and invalidates transmissions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the validation as disclosed by Ye along with the UEs behavior through software to provide validating CG PUSCH occasions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KRAJNC et al. (US 2021/0274621 A1) and Yu (US 2021/0058780 A1).
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412