DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior arts on record fail to anticipate and/or suggest the combination of the claimed invention. Specifically, the prior arts fail to teach, inter alia, the limitation of “wherein each electrically insulating body has a first metallic layer on a first surface thereof, and a second metallic layer on a second surface thereof opposite to the first surface, and wherein the first metallic layers are positioned adjacent to a surface of the piezoelectric element, the surfaces of the piezoelectric element being opposite one another, whereby the first and the second metallic layers reduce a noise signal”.
The closest prior art, Janssen (US Publication 2016/0109306), teaches the first and second electrically insulating body (3, 9) and a piezoelectric element (10) arranged between the first and electrically insulating body (FIG. 1). However, Janssen teaches a singular metallic layer (5 or 7) on a first surface of each insulating body (3 or 9). Thus, Janssen does not teach the limitation of “wherein each electrically insulating body has a first metallic layer on a first surface thereof, and a second metallic layer on a second surface thereof opposite to the first surface” as required by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Janssen et al. (US Publication 2016/0109306; hereinafter Janssen).
With regards to claim 15, Janssen discloses (a) piezoelectric sensor device (FIG. 1) sensible to applied forces comprising
a piezoelectric element (10; [0021]) and
at least one electrically insulating body (3, 9; [0019, 0023]) attached to a surface of the piezoelectric element (10) so that the body is able to impart a force on the piezoelectric element (FIG. 1),
the piezoelectric element (10) and the at least one electrically insulating body (3, 9), constituting a sensor element arrangement, at least one of the piezoelectric element (10) and the electrically insulating body (3, 9) being further in mechanical contact at first adjacent surfaces (surface of 3 or 9) with a second body (1, 15; FIG. 1),
wherein at least the first adjacent surface of the second body (1 or 15) in contact with the at least one of the piezoelectric element and the insulating body (3 or 9) is metallic ([0024]),
wherein the first adjacent surface of the at least one of the piezoelectric element (10) and the electrically insulating body (3, 9) is a metallic surface (5, 7) substantially consisting of a metallic material ([0026-0028]) in order to reduce a noise signal, in particular a noise signal originating from differing thermal expansion of the at least one of the piezoelectric element and the electrically insulating body and the adjacent second body (because the material of Janssen is a metallic material as required by the claim, the material of Janssen would have the property of “reduce a noise signal” as claimed),
wherein the metallic surface is a layer of a metal which is substantially free of carbon (“made of titanium and/or aluminium and/or aluminium-chromium”; [0020-0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen et al. (US Publication 2016/0109306; hereinafter Janssen) in view of Shih (US Patent 9,970,831).
With regards to claim 16, Janssen teaches (a) piezoelectric sensor device (FIG. 1) sensible to applied forces comprising
a piezoelectric element (10; [0021]) and
at least one electrically insulating body (3, 9; [0019, 0023]) attached to a surface of the piezoelectric element (10) so that the body is able to impart a force on the piezoelectric element (FIG. 1),
the piezoelectric element (10) and the at least one electrically insulating body (3, 9), constituting a sensor element arrangement, at least one of the piezoelectric element (10) and the electrically insulating body (3, 9) being further in mechanical contact at first adjacent surfaces (surface of 3 or 9) with a second body (1, 15; FIG. 1),
wherein at least the first adjacent surface of the second body (1 or 15) in contact with the at least one of the piezoelectric element and the insulating body (3 or 9) is metallic ([0024]),
wherein the first adjacent surface of the at least one of the piezoelectric element (10) and the electrically insulating body (3, 9) is a metallic surface (5, 7) substantially consisting of a metallic material ([0026-0028]) in order to reduce a noise signal, in particular a noise signal originating from differing thermal expansion of the at least one of the piezoelectric element and the electrically insulating body and the adjacent second body (because the material of Janssen is a metallic material as required by the claim, the material of Janssen would have the property of “reduce a noise signal” as claimed).
However, Janssen is silent regarding wherein the metallic surface is a layer of a precious metal or of an alloy comprising at least 50 wt.-% of a precious metal.
Shih teaches a piezoelectric thin film sensor (abstract) similar to Janssen and the instant invention. Shih further teaches the metallic surface (114, 118) on each side of the piezoelectric layer (116) is a layer of a precious metal or of an alloy comprising at least 50 wt.-% of a precious metal (col. 5, lines 39-60).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace one known metal material usable as a layer in a piezoelectric sensor as taught by Janssen with another known metal material as taught by Shih with reasonable expectation of functioning as originally intended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/04/2026, with respect to the previously rejected claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claims 1-14 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QXN/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853