DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed July 14, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows. Claims 6-8 and 17 were previously withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11 of the Remarks, filed July 28, 2026, with respect to claims 1-5 and 9-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-5 and 9-16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026, regarding claims 18-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Namely, applicant argues that element 37 of Majima extends vertically through the port rather than including “a central portion spaced from the at least one holding member that floats between the first and second substrates”. However, it is noted that the Majima reference satisfies the claim language. Specifically element 37 of Majima extends both horizontally and vertically across the port. Further, a portion of element 37 may be considered to be a central portion that is between ends of element 37 and thus spaced from the holding members, and 37 is suspended or floating between those holding members (see e.g. Figure 3 of Majima).
Therefore, claims 18-20 are rejected, as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Majima (JP 2000-231112).
In regard to claim 18, Majima discloses a method of assembling an electro-optic assembly (denoted “liquid crystal display device”, see e.g. Figure 3 and page 5, 7th full paragraph of the English translation) comprising steps of (see e.g. Figure 3):
Horizontally aligning a first substrate 1 over a second substrate 2 that is horizontally aligned to define a cavity therebetween (see e.g. Figure 3 and page 5, 7th full paragraph of English translation);
placing a seal 34 (denoted “rectangular frame” that is made of a seal resin, see e.g. Figure 3 and page 4, paragraph 6 of the English translation) between the first substrate 1 and the second substrate 2 to define a transmission perimeter (see e.g. page 4, paragraph 6, of the English translation and note that the liquid crystal region is within the seal and thus the seal defines the transmission perimeter around the liquid crystal, also see Figure 4 where the perimeter around the display area of a device is shown); and
coupling a port reduction member 37 (denoted “intermediate rib”, see e.g. page 4, 9th paragraph and note that element 37 reduces the port size by at least the volume of element 37) horizontally across the port and coupled to at least one of the first and second substrates 1, 2 (see e.g. Figure 3 and note that 37 is coupled to substrates 1, 2, via portions of layers 6 and 4) with at least one holding member (i.e. portion of layers 5 and 3 defined by openings 6 and 4, respectively, are considered to be the “holding members”, see e.g. annotated Figure 3, attached below) and at least partially defining a port 35 (denoted “liquid crystal injection hole”, see e.g. Figure 3 and page 5, paragraph 7 of the English translation),
wherein the port reduction member 37 includes a central portion (i.e. the central region of 37) spaced from the at least one holding member (see e.g. Figure 3 and note that the center portion is spaced from the holding members by at least end portions of 37) that floats between the first and second substrates 1,2 (see e.g. Figure 3).
In regard to claim 19, Majima discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the with at least one holding member (i.e. portion of layers 5 and 3 defined by openings 6 and 4, see e.g. annotated Figure 3 above) includes a pair of holding member (i.e. portion of layers 5 and 3 defined by openings 6 and 4, see e.g. annotated Figure 3 above) spaced on opposite sides of the central portion (see e.g. Figure 3 and note that the center portion is spaced from the holding members by at least end portions of 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majima (JP 2000-231112) in view of Takahashi et al. (JP 2007-010705).
In regard to claim 20, Majima discloses the limitations as applied to claim 19 above, but fails to disclose
closing the port with at least one of closing a valve, inserting a plug, or inserting and curing a medium.
However, Takahashi et al. discloses (see e.g. Figures 1, 6):
closing the port 7 (denoted “liquid crystal injection port”, see e.g. Figure 1 and page 6, last full paragraph of the English translation) with at least one of closing a valve, inserting a plug 11 (see e.g. Figure 1 and page 6, last full paragraph of the English translation, where the port 7 is sealed with 11 after liquid crystal is injected between the substrates), or inserting and curing a medium (see e.g. Figure 6 and page 11, fifth paragraph for plugging injection hole 7 with material 11).
Given the teachings of Takahashi et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Majima with closing the port with at least one of closing a valve, inserting a plug, or inserting and curing a medium.
Providing a plug to the injection port of the electro-optic device would prevent unwanted particles or other contaminants from entering the display layer via said port.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 9-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
In regard to independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-5, the closest prior art references, Majima (JP 2000-231112), Takahashi et al. (JP 2007-010705), Sato et al. (US 2001/0013919 A1), and Katsura (US 2001/0015786 A1), fail to disclose or make obvious all of the limitations of claim 1, including the combination of limitations, “seal extending between along a perimeter of the first and second substrates, an electro- optic medium located in the cavity and retained by the seal; and a port at least partially defined by a port reduction member, the port reduction member located between and extending parallel to the first substrate and the second substrate between opposite edges of the port a length along the perimeter of the first substrate and the second substrate, the port reduction member defining a thickness transverse to the length defined by an upper surface facing the first substrate and a lower surface facing the second substrate, the thickness being less than the length.”
In regard to independent claim 9 and dependent claims 10-16, the closest prior art references, Majima (JP 2000-231112), Takahashi et al. (JP 2007-010705), Sato et al. (US 2001/0013919 A1), and Katsura (US 2001/0015786 A1), fail to disclose or make obvious all of the limitations of claim 1, including the combination of limitations, “a seal extending between the first and second substrates, an electro-optic medium located in the cavity and retained by the seal; a port defined by the seal, the first substrate, and the second substrate; and a port reduction member formed of a planar piece of glass that is located within the port that reduces a size of the port, the port reduction member defining a length between side edges that extends along a perimeter of the first and second substrates and across the port; and a pair of holding members, each holding member coupled to one of the side edges of the port reduction member and spacing the side edges from the seal.”
Conclusion
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871