DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1–16 in the reply filed on December 05, 2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The amendments to the specification dated December 05, 2025 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites:
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the oil recirculation stream is combined with the VRU oil output upon or before entering the heater treater. Emphasis added.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of the oil recirculation stream—“is combined with the VRU oil output”—is a positive method limitation of using the system (instead of a mere capability). The claim is to an apparatus (the “system”). Therefore claim 4 is indefinite because it is a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether infringement would occur when a system is created that allows the oil recirculation stream to be combined with the VRU oil output, or whether infringement would require that the oil recirculation stream is actually combined with the VRU oil output. See MPEP 2173.05(p), subsection II (a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite). To overcome this rejection, claim 4 could be rewritten as:
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the system is operable to combine the oil recirculation stream
Claims 5–8 are indefinite because they depend from claim 4.
Also, claim 5 recites:
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the live crude oil includes an oil component, and wherein the system yields an oil volumetric production rate output, measured in barrels per day (BPD), that is greater than a volumetric production rate, measured in BPD, of the oil component of the live crude oil. Emphasis added.
Claim 5 is indefinite because it is a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus, as the italicized limitation is a positive method step for operating the system (instead of a mere capability). See MPPE 2173.05(p), subsection II. To overcome this rejection, claim 5 could be amended to read:
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the system is operable such that the live crude oil includes an oil component, and wherein the system is operable to yield
Claim 6 is indefinite because it depends from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 11–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings, US 4,124,496 in view of Rajewski, US 5,980,737.
Regarding claim 1, Cummings teaches an arrangement for producing tankerable crude oil from well stream fluid. See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 7, ll. 4–11. The arrangement reads on the claimed “system for conditioning live crude oil.”
The arrangement comprises a high pressure separator 42 (the “separator”) operable to produce oil sent to line 112 (the “separator oil output”) and gas sent to line 130 (the “separator gas output”) from well stream fluid containing crude oil sent to separator 42 through pipe 100 (the “live crude oil”). See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 6, ll. 33–36, col. 7, ll. 18–29, col. 8, ll. 35–43.
The arrangement also comprises a medium pressure separator 46 (the “stabilizer tower”) operable to receive the “output oil” from line 112 and to receive gas from low pressure separator 50 from line 154 and gas/liquid mixing device 48 (the gas is the “heater treater gas output”), produce an oil output sent to line 120 (the “stabilizer tower oil output”) and produce gas sent to line 136 (the “stabilizer tower gas output”). See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 6, ll. 24–64, col. 7, ll. 3–11.
The arrangement further comprises a low pressure separator 50 (the “heater treater,” as explained in more detail below) operable to receive the “stabilizer tower oil output” from line 120, produce a liquid oil output sent to line 128 (the “heater treater oil output”) and produce a gas output sent to line 154 (the “heater treater gas output”). See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 6, ll. 24–31, col. 7, ll. 3–17.
The “heater treater oil output” at line 128 is a “stabilized oil stream,” as claimed, because it is tankerable crude oil. See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 7, ll. 3–11.
Cummings differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to the low pressure separator 50 comprising a heating mechanism, and therefore fails to provide enough information to teach the low pressure separator 50 being a “heater treater,” as claimed. But the low pressure separator 50 is provided to separate fluid into a gas phase and a liquid oil phase. See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 7, ll. 3–11. Also, the fluid being treated is wax-containing oil. Id. at col. 9, ll. 26–31.
With this in mind, Rajewski teaches a separator vessel comprising a line for introducing oil into the vessel with the line having a heater to heat the oil as it enters the separator vessel. See Rajewski col. 3, ll. 11–22. Heating the oil in this manner is beneficial to enhance oil/gas separation and reduces wax build up. Id.
It would have been obvious for the low pressure separator 50 of Cummings to comprise a heater to heat the fluid entering the separator 50 to enhance oil/gas separation and reduce wax build up. With this modification, the low pressure separator 50 reads on the “heater treater” because it would have a heater to heat the fluid being treated in the separator 50.
Regarding claim 2, Cummings teaches that the assembly further comprises a “vapor recovery unit (VRU)” comprising compressor 56, LPG separation unit 58, pipeline gas separation unit 60 and plant fuel gas separation unit 62. See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 6, ll. 30–32, col. 8, ll. 28–31. The “VRU” is operable to receive the “stabilizer tower gas output” at lines 136, 142. Id. The “VRU is also operable to produce gas outputs at lines 164, 172 and 174 (any of which read on the “VRU gas output”). Id. at Fig. 3, col. 7, ll. 12–17, col. 8, ll. 35–54, col. 9, ll. 9–13. The “VRU” is further operable to produce an oil output at lines 166 and 180, either of which reads on the “VRU oil output.” Id. at Fig. 3, col. 8, ll. 51–54, col. 9, ll. 1–13.
Regarding claim 11, Cummings teaches that the assembly is operable to provide the gas output from the high pressure separator 42 (the “separator gas output”) to a user (as it is “for export” via line 172) and to the medium pressure separator 42 (the “stabilizer tower”) via line 180. See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 8, ll. 35–54.
Regarding claim 12, Cummings teaches that the assembly further comprises a well head operable to feed the live crude stream to the high pressure separator 42 (the “separator”), as claimed. See Cummings col. 1, ll. 31–35.
Regarding claim 13, Cummings teaches that the gas separation unit 60 of the “VRU” is operable to produce a conditioned gas to a user, as claimed, because the gas separation unit 60 sends gas through pipeline 172 “for export.” See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 8, ll. 43–46.
Regarding claim 14, Cummings teaches that the “VRU” comprises compressor 56, as claimed. See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 6, ll. 25–32.
Regarding claim 15, Cummings teaches that the “VRU” is a “scrubber” at least because the gas separation unit 60 of the “VRU” mixes gas with methanol, with the mixture then being cooled to a relatively low temperature to condense liquid from the mixture to thereby separate liquid from the gas. See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 8, ll. 35–54.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings, US 4,124,496 in view of Rajewski, US 5,980,737 and in further view of Schubert et al., US 5,302,294.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Cummings as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Cummings as modified differs from claim 9 because it is silent as to the medium pressure separator 46 (the “stabilizer tower”) being operable to produce a “stabilizer water output.” Cummings as modified also differs from claim 10 because it is silent as to the low pressure separator 50 (the “heater treater”) being operable to produce a “heater treater water output.”
But Cummings teaches that the incoming well stream fluid 100 comprises water, which is separated in the high pressure three phase separator 42, with the water exiting through line 152. See Cummings Fig. 3, col. 6, ll. 33–52. The three phase separator 42 is upstream the medium and low pressure separators 46, 50. Id. Also, the medium and low pressure separators 46, 50 are illustrated as two-phase separators that separate fluid into a gas phase (exiting at lines 136 and 154) and a liquid phase (exiting at lines 120 and 128).
With this in mind, Schubert teaches a separation system for fluid produced form an oil well comprising a first three phase separator (similar to the three phase separator 42 of Cummings) with additional three-phase separators placed in series with the first gravity separator. See Schubert col. 1, ll. 14–30. The three phase separators are able to separate a fluid into oil, water and gas phases, with the water being withdrawn via a pipe as a “water leg.” Id. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the additional three phase separators are beneficial for removing water that was not separated in the first three phase separator.
It would have been obvious for the medium and low pressure separators 46, 50 of Cummings to be three phase separators, with a water leg for discharging water, to remove residual water that was not removed in the three-phase separator 42.
With this modification, the water leg of the medium pressure separator 42 reads on the “stabilizer water output” (claim 9) and the water leg of the low pressure separator 50 reads on the “heater treater water output” (claim 10).
Double Patenting
U.S. Application No. 18/851,950
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/515,950 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ’950 application teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 1. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/515,950 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of the ’950 application teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 2. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/515,950 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 7 of the ’950 application teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 3. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/515,950 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 8 of the ’950 application teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 3. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/515,950 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 13 of the ’950 application teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 10. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/515,950 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 14 of the ’950 application teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 11. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/515,950 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the ’950 application teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 12. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/515,950 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 14 of the ’950 application teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 13. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 1 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 2 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 4 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 3.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 5 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 4.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 10 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 9.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 9 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 11.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 8 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 12.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 6 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 13.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,152 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of claim 7 of the ’152 patent teaches all of the structural limitations of the system of instant claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Van Asperen et al., US 2019/0217222 A1; Krehbiel et al., US 2008/0190291 A1; Guerra et al., US 2006/0070735 A1; Webb, US 5,195,587; Heath, US 4,617,030; Talley, US 3,590,919.
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776