DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 08/14/2023. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
U.S. Priority benefit claimed under Title 35, United States Code, § 120 have been
acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 11, the applied phrases of “24/7 connectivity”, or “works well in polar and lower inclinations and for tumbling spacecraft”, or “(G or I)” or “relatively less expensive”, makes the claims indefinite and unclear, as these phrases contain inferences and relative language that fails to clearly define the scope of the claims.
Furthermore, the limitation of "the other qualified S-band and X-band radios" in the claims fails to properly establish antecedent basis for S-band or X-band radios nor what constitutes a “qualification” of those radios.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-15 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for their dependence on independent claims 1 and 11 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210263164 A1 to Gunning et al., (hereinafter Gunning) in view of NPL “GlobalStar STX3 Brochure&User Manual”, dated 2014, (hereinafter “STX3”).
Claim 1. An Improved Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) for broadcast of data called EyeStar (i.e., Satellite 110) for use with a Low Earth Orbiting (LEO) satellite, (Gunning: see para[0031], Fig. 2, Fig. 3B, “Satellite Processing System” (i.e., improved radio communication system) of “Satellite 110” (i.e., “EyeStar”), that broadcasts data to one or more “Satellite Processing Systems” onboard other Satellite 110s all located in LEO orbit) the improved radio communication system comprising:
(a) an integrated computer data processor; (See para[0604], Fig. 3A #300, “Satellite Processing System”, is a microcomputer)
(b) a set of modified internal firmware (See para[0407] software defined radio (SDR) onboard the satellite disciplined to non-atomic clock)
(c) a regulator (See para[0600] a module/circuit for adjusting current and voltage level)
(d) a patch antenna; (See para[0242] multiple antennas onboard Satellite 110)
(e) a set of electronics; (See para[0074] and Fig. 3A for various electronics) and
(f) a battery packs for power (See para[0074], Fig. 3A #301, “Satellite Power System” that includes battery)
wherein the Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) provides continuous 24/7 connectivity to a communications network (G or I) (i.e., other Satellites) for the LEO satellite while in orbit, (See para[0031], Fig. 2, Fig. 3B, “Satellite Processing System” (i.e., improved radio communication system) of “Satellite 110” (i.e., “EyeStar”), that broadcasts data to one or more “Satellite Processing Systems” onboard other Satellite 110s (i.e., G or I) all located in LEO orbit. See para[0609] all signals to/from any elements of Satellite 110, are continuous time (i.e., 24/7 connectivity))
needs no ground station, (See Fig. 2, Satellite 110, does not communicate with ground Station) works well in polar and lower inclinations and for tumbling spacecraft; (See para[0425] any different inclinations (“inclination for tumbling spacecraft), including “polar inclinations” and “non-polar inclinations”, can be implemented)
Gunning does not explicitly disclose any specific “product information” for any one of modules or transmitters of the “Satellite Processing System”, as shown in Fig. 3B, such as, FCC license/certification information, dimension information, power consumption information, wherein the power consumption is low compared to other radios (i.e., low power), and pricing information compared to other radios, etc., as indicated by:
is FCC licensed, and is relatively less expensive, smaller, and require less power than the other qualified S-band and X-band radios.
However, in a similar field, NPL “GlobalStar STX3 Brochure&User Manual” (hereinafter “STX3”), on page 1 of brochure, it indicates STX3 is a low cost, with affordable pricing (i.e., relatively less expensive) with low power consumption (i.e., require less power than other qualified S/X band radios), and in section 1.3 of User Manual, “Description”, it teaches, “GlobalStar STX3 transmitter” as being a small, and a low-profile transmitter, with the dimensions of 1.130 x 0.810 inches ( i.e., smaller than the other qualified S-band and X-band radios). Furthermore, in section 6.2 of User Manual, “Regulatory Notices”, it teaches that “GlobalStar STX3 transmitter” is authorized under FCC Rules Part 25 (i.e., is FCC licensed), as a satellite transmitter.
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, a satellite modem/transmitter as taught by STX, with the teachings of Gunning, in order to benefit from improvements of having a Satellite modem/transmitter with affordable pricing, that is FCC licensed, having low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension, compared to most other radios. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Claim 2. The Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) described in claim 1 wherein the type of broadcast of data is selected from the group consisting Simplex—one way data broadcast and Duplex—two way data broadcast. (Gunning: See Fig. 4 and para[0134] Satellite 110, can perform two-way transmissions (i.e., two way data broadcast), via two-way links, and performs, one-way transmissions (i.e., one way data broadcast), via one-way links)
Claim 3. The Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) described in claim 1 wherein the integrated computer data processor is configured with a buffer (i.e., navigation filter) to filter and to protect a Radio Frequency (RF) output. (Gunning: See para[0174]-[0175] Satellite Processing System 300 includes a navigation filter (i.e., a buffer) that outputs “carrier phase offsets” (i.e., a RF output) based on data information received from on-board sensors)
Claim 4. The Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) described in claim 1 wherein the set of modified internal firmware (i.e., SDR) is configured for improved data broadcast speeds. (Gunning: See Fig. 3B, #325, and para[0092] the processing speeds, or any other processing operations of the satellite (i.e., broadcast speed), is performed by different processing modules. See para[0368] processing modules are software define modules (SDR))
Claim 5. The Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) described in claim 1 wherein the regulator is a 3.3 Volt regulator. (STX3: See section 3, VRF input power for STX is between 3.0 to 3.6 Volts)
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, a satellite modem/transmitter as taught by STX, with the teachings of Gunning, in order to benefit from improvements of having a Satellite modem/transmitter with affordable pricing, that is FCC licensed, having low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension, compared to most other radios. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Claim 6. The Radio Communications System described in claim 1 wherein the patch antenna is an Aerospace Modem GlobalstarSTX-3. (STX3: See section 4.1, “GlobalStar STX3” is a modem)
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, a satellite modem/transmitter as taught by STX, with the teachings of Gunning, in order to benefit from improvements of having a Satellite modem/transmitter with affordable pricing, that is FCC licensed, having low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension, compared to most other radios. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Claim 7. The Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) described in claim 1 wherein the set of electronics is selected from the group consisting of an internal measurement unit, a temperature sensor, an infrared (IR) sensor, and a set of multiple analog/digital (A/D) input ports. (Gunning: see para[0079] Satellite Processing System 300 includes, one or more sensors (i.e., temperature sensor, IR sensor, etc), one measurement unit. See para[0174] Satellite Processing System 300, has elements that handle the analog to digital conversion of the signal)
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210263164 A1 to Gunning et al., (hereinafter Gunning) in view of NPL “GlobalStar STX3 Brochure&User Manual”, dated 2014, (hereinafter “STX3”) and in further view of US 20120302197 A1 to Koontz et al., (hereinafter Koontz).
Claim 8. Gunning in view of STX teaches the Radio Communications System described in claim 1, wherein the Satellite Power System includes battery (Gunning: See para[0074] and Fig. 3A #301), however they do not explicitly disclose ‘Lithium Polymer battery pack”, as being the battery used, as understood in:
wherein the battery packs for power is a Lithium Polymer (LiPo) battery pack.
However, in a similar field, Koontz in para[0029] teaches a tracking device having satellite antenna for Satellite communication, is equipped with a lithium-ion polymer battery pack. (Koontz: See para[0029])
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Koontz teaches communication methods wherein a tracking device with satellite antenna is equipped with lithium polymer battery pack. (Koontz: See para[0029]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, a battery pack, as taught by Koontz, STX, with the teachings of Gunning in view of STX, in order to benefit from improvements of having a lithium-ion battery pack, instead of just a battery. (Koontz: See para[0029]).
Claim 9. Gunning in view of STX teaches the Radio Communications System described in claim 1 wherein the Satellite Power System includes battery (Gunning: See para[0074] and Fig. 3A #301), however they do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the battery packs for power is selected from the list consisting of Nickle Cadmium batteries, Nickle Metal Hydride batteries, Lithium-Ion batteries, sealed lead acid batteries; Absorbed glass mat (AGM) batteries; gel batteries; Lithium sulfur batteries; Sodium-ion batteries; Thin film lithium batteries; Zinc-bromide batteries; Zinc-cerium batteries; Vanadium redox batteries; Sodium-sulfur batteries; Molten salt batteries; and Silver-zinc batteries.
However, in a similar field, Koontz in para[0029] teaches a tracking device having satellite antenna for Satellite communication, is equipped with a lithium-ion polymer battery pack. (Koontz: See para[0029])
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Koontz teaches communication methods wherein a tracking device with satellite antenna is equipped with lithium polymer battery pack. (Koontz: See para[0029]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, a battery pack, as taught by Koontz, STX, with the teachings of Gunning in view of STX, in order to benefit from improvements of having a lithium-ion battery pack, instead of just a battery. (Koontz: See para[0029]).
Claim 10. Gunning in view of STX teaches the Radio Communications System described in claim 1 with continuous 24/7 connectivity to other Satellites of LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, Fig. 3B, “Satellite Processing System” (i.e., improved radio communication system) of “Satellite 110” (i.e., “EyeStar”), that broadcasts data to one or more “Satellite Processing Systems” onboard other Satellite 110s (i.e., GlobalStar or Iridium) all located in LEO orbit. See para[0609] all signals to/from any elements, are continuous time (i.e., 24/7 connectivity))
However, they do not explicitly teach that the Satellites in LEO, are those of either GlobalStar or Iridium that the relay Satellite 110, broadcast or relays data to, as understood by:
wherein the continuous 24/7 connectivity to a communications network is selected from the group consisting of a GlobalStar system and an Iridium system
However, in a similar field, Koontz in para[0018] teaches a tracking device having satellite antenna for Satellite communication, that communicates with Satellites of low-earth orbit (LEO) wherein those satellites located in LEO, are either Iridium Satellites or GlobalStar Satellite that are located in LEO. (Koontz: See para[0029])
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Koontz teaches communication methods wherein a tracking device with satellite antenna communicates with LEO satellites, wherein those LEO satellites are either GlobalStar Satellites or Iridium Satellites that are in LEO orbit. (Koontz: See para[0018]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, LEO Satellites being either GlobalStar or Iridium, as taught by Koontz, with the teachings of Gunning in view of STX, in order to benefit from improvements of identifying specifically Iridium and GlobalStar LEO Satellites that the relay Satellite 101 broadcast or relays data to. (Koontz: See para[0018]).
Claim 11. An Improved Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) for broadcast of data called EyeStar (i.e., Satellite 110) for use with a Low Earth Orbiting (LEO) satellite, (Gunning: see para[0031], Fig. 2, Fig. 3B, “Satellite Processing System” (i.e., improved radio communication system) of “Satellite 110” (i.e., “EyeStar”), that broadcasts data to one or more “Satellite Processing Systems” onboard other Satellite 110s all located in LEO orbit) the improved radio communication system comprising:
(a) an integrated computer data processor (See para[0604], Fig. 3A #300, “Satellite Processing System”, is a microcomputer) configured with a buffer to filter and to protect a RF output; (Gunning: See para[0174]-[0175] Satellite Processing System 300 includes a navigation filter (i.e., a buffer) that outputs “carrier phase offsets” (i.e., a RF output) based on data information received from on-board sensors)
(b) a set of modified internal firmware (See para[0407] software defined radio (SDR) onboard the satellite disciplined to non-atomic clock (i.e., modified internal firmware)) configured for improved data broadcast speeds; (Gunning: See Fig. 3B, #325, and para[0092] the processing speeds, or any other processing operations of the satellite (i.e., broadcast speed), is performed by different processing modules. See para[0368] processing modules are software define modules (SDR))
(c) a 3.3 V regulator; (See para[0600] a module/circuit for adjusting current and voltage level (i.e., 3.3V)
(e) a set of electronics configured with an internal measurement unit, a temperature sensor, an infrared (IR) sensor, and a set of multiple analog/digital (A/D) input ports; and (Gunning: see para[0079] Satellite Processing System 300 includes, one or more sensors (i.e., temperature sensor, IR sensor, etc), one measurement unit. See para[0174] Satellite Processing System 300, has elements that handle the analog to digital conversion of the signal)
wherein the Radio Communications System (i.e., “Satellite Processing System”) provides continuous 24/7 connectivity to a communications network (i.e., other Satellite) for the LEO satellite while in orbit, (See para[0031], Fig. 2, Fig. 3B, “Satellite Processing System” (i.e., improved radio communication system) of “Satellite 110” (i.e., “EyeStar”), that broadcasts data to one or more “Satellite Processing Systems” onboard other Satellite 110s (i.e., GlobalStar or Iridium) all located in LEO orbit. See para[0609] all signals to/from any elements, are continuous time (i.e., 24/7 connectivity))
needs no ground station, (See Fig. 2, Satellite 110, does not communicate with ground Station) works well in polar and lower inclinations and for tumbling spacecraft; (See para[0425] any different inclinations (“inclination for tumbling spacecraft), including “polar inclinations” and “non-polar inclinations”, can be implemented)
Gunning does not explicitly disclose any specific “product information” for any one of modules or transmitters of the “Satellite Processing System”, as shown in Fig. 3B, such as, FCC license/certification information, dimension information, power consumption information, wherein the power consumption is low compared to other radios (i.e., low power), and pricing information compared to other radios, etc., as indicated by:
(d) an Aerospace Modem Globalstar STX-3 + patch antenna;
is FCC licensed, and is relatively less expensive, smaller, and require less power than the other qualified S-band and X-band radios.
However, in a similar field, STX3, on page 1 of brochure section teaches “STX3 is a Satellite Modem”, and in section 6.2, “Regulatory Notices” it teaches, “STX3” can be used with an antenna (i.e., patch antenna). Also on page 1 of brochure, it indicates that STX3 is a low cost, with affordable pricing (i.e., relatively less expensive) with low power consumption (i.e., require less power than other qualified S/X band radios), and in section 1.3 of User Manual, “Description”, it teaches, “STX3 transmitter/modem” as being a small, and a low-profile transmitter, with the dimensions of 1.130 x 0.810 inches (i.e., smaller than the other qualified S-band and X-band radios). Finally, in section 6.2 of User Manual, “Regulatory Notices”, it teaches that “STX3 transmitter/modem” is authorized under FCC Rules Part 25 (i.e., is FCC licensed), as a satellite transmitter.
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, a satellite modem/transmitter as taught by STX, with the teachings of Gunning, in order to benefit from improvements of having a Satellite modem/transmitter with affordable pricing, that is FCC licensed, having low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension, compared to most other radios. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Gunning in view of STX do not seem to explicitly disclose or teach:
(f) a Lithium Polymer (LiPo) battery powerpacks for power
However, in a similar field, Koontz in para[0029] teaches a device having satellite antenna for Satellite communication, that is equipped with a lithium-ion polymer battery pack as a source for its power. (Koontz: See para[0029])
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Koontz teaches communication methods wherein a tracking device with satellite antenna is equipped with lithium polymer battery pack as its power source. (Koontz: See para[0029]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, a battery pack, as taught by Koontz, STX, with the teachings of Gunning in view of STX, in order to benefit from improvements of having a lithium-ion battery pack, instead of just a battery, as the power source for a device. (Koontz: See para[0029]).
Claim 12. The Radio Communications System described in claim 11 wherein the broadcast for data is Simplex—one way data broadcast. (Gunning: See Fig. 4 and para[0134] Satellite 110, can perform two-way transmissions (i.e., two way data broadcast), via two-way links, and performs, one-way transmissions (i.e., one way data broadcast), via one-way links)
Claim 13. The Radio Communications System described in claim 12 wherein the continuous 24/7 connectivity to a communications network is a GlobalStar system. (Koontz: See para[0018] Satellites of low-earth orbit (LEO) are either Iridium Satellites or GlobalStar Satellite both located in LEO.) (Koontz: See para[0029])
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Koontz teaches communication methods wherein a tracking device with satellite antenna communicates with LEO satellites, wherein those LEO satellites are either GlobalStar Satellites or Iridium Satellites that are in LEO orbit. (Koontz: See para[0018]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, LEO Satellites being either GlobalStar or Iridium, as taught by Koontz, with the teachings of Gunning in view of STX, in order to benefit from improvements of identifying specifically Iridium and GlobalStar LEO Satellites, that the relay Satellite 110 broadcast or relays data to, instead of indicating “other Satellites in LEO” that Satellite 110 communicates with. (Koontz: See para[0018]).
Claim 14. The Radio Communications System described in claim 11 wherein the broadcast for data is Duplex—two-way data broadcast. (Gunning: See Fig. 4 and para[0134] Satellite 110, can perform two-way transmissions (i.e., two way data broadcast), via two-way links, and performs, one-way transmissions (i.e., one way data broadcast), via one-way links)
Claim 15. The Radio Communications System described in claim 14 wherein the continuous 24/7 connectivity to a communications network is an Iridium system. (Koontz: See para[0018] Satellites of low-earth orbit (LEO) are either Iridium Satellites or GlobalStar Satellite both located in LEO.) (Koontz: See para[0029])
Gunning teaches satellite communication techniques, wherein a Satellite in low earth orbit (LEO), having a processing system (i.e., improved radio communication system”) that can relay and/or broadcast data to other Satellites in LEO (Gunning: See para[0031], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3B)
STX3 teaches various specifications of a Satellite modem/transmitter that has affordable pricing, FCC licensed, low power consumption, and a small low-profile dimension. (STX: See brochure & User Manual section 1.3).
Koontz teaches communication methods wherein a tracking device with satellite antenna communicates with LEO satellites, wherein those LEO satellites are either GlobalStar Satellites or Iridium Satellites that are in LEO orbit. (Koontz: See para[0018]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included, LEO Satellites being either GlobalStar or Iridium, as taught by Koontz, with the teachings of Gunning in view of STX, in order to benefit from improvements of identifying specifically Iridium and GlobalStar LEO Satellites, that the relay Satellite 110 broadcast or relays data to, instead of indicating “other Satellites in LEO” that Satellite 110 communicates with. (Koontz: See para[0018]).
Conclusion
7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag G. Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477