DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the objection to Claims 40 and 43. Accordingly the objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 21, 46, 47 and all subsequent dependent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the references cited in the most current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case Chelminski is directed to seismic sound impulses to be transmitted into the earth at a desired site without requiring any special preparation of the earth at the site and Sanger is directed to a sensing segment with a plurality of sensors such as a high-resolution gradient-sensor array, a support structure, and an electrical interface that is submerged in a body of water and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate the teachings of Sanger in order to effectively penetrate all of the preferred mediums resulting in accurate measurements of target areas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “the plurality of acoustic energy generators” however claim 36, which claim 38 depends on, claims a non-explosive acoustic energy generator. Thus, the reader is left confused to what kind of acoustic energy generator is being used with respect to claim 38 and therefore makes the claim unclear and ambiguous to the metes and bounds of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, 16-23, 29-31 and 36-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chelminski (US 3310128 A) in view of Blake (US 2558924 A) and Shippey (WO 9200584 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chelminski teaches a method (method for seismic exploration of geologic formations located beneath the surface of the land), comprising: activating an acoustic energy source (14) that is at least partially submerged in a human-made volume of liquid enclosed within a container under a terranean surface (“the repeater 14 is submerged”). (Col.3, lines 1-16, Col.1, line 59-Col.2, line 9, Claim 12)
Chelminski also teaches based on the activating, producing acoustic wave energy that travels through the human-made volume of liquid and through the container and to a subterranean zone below the terranean surface at a particular location of the terranean surface, the acoustic energy source comprising a repeatably activatable acoustic energy source (acoustical repeater 14). (Col.3, lines 11-16, Col.1, line 59-Col.2, line 9, Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 6, Claim 12, Figs.4-5)
Chelminski also teaches receiving, at one or more acoustic receivers (60), reflected acoustic wave energy from the subterranean zone. (Col.4, lines 33-47, Fig.2)
Chelminski also teaches generating, with a control system, data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy. (Col.4, lines 33-47, Fig.2)
Chelminski also teaches wherein the control system (146, 148) is configured to repeatedly activate the acoustic energy source (acoustical repeater 14) at specified time intervals (acoustical impulses can be repeated at frequent intervals) at the particular location to generate time-dependent data associated with the subterranean zone at the particular location. (Col.7, lines 43-46, Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 25, Col.4, lines 33-47, Fig.2)
Chelminski does not explicitly teach a container that is at least partially buried and a non-explosive acoustic energy source and activate the acoustic energy source exclusive of destructive disturbance to the subterranean formation.
Blake teaches a container (casing b) that is at least partially buried. (Fig.1)
Shippey teaches a non-explosive acoustic energy source (transmitter means for transmitting periodic acoustic pulses) and activate the acoustic energy source exclusive of destructive disturbance to the subterranean formation (transmitter means for transmitting periodic acoustic pulses). (Abstract, Claim 15, Page.10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate a container that is at least partially buried as taught by Blake in order to measure seismic data below a terranean surface and have a concentration of the energy that produces an improvement in the recorded reflections and further modify Chelminski to incorporate a non-explosive acoustic energy source and activate the acoustic energy source exclusive of destructive disturbance to the subterranean formation as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 2, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the data comprises an image of the subterranean zone.
Shippey teaches wherein the data comprises an image of the subterranean zone. (Pages.3, 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the data comprises an image of the subterranean zone as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 3, Chelminski teaches wherein the liquid comprises water. (Col.3, lines 1-6, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 9, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the container is wholly buried under the terranean surface.
Blake teaches wherein the container is wholly buried under the terranean surface. (Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the container is wholly buried under the terranean surface in order to measure seismic data below a terranean surface and have a concentration of the energy that produces an improvement in the recorded reflections.
Regarding claim 10, Chelminski teaches for each activation by the control system, producing acoustic wave energy that travels through the human made volume of liquid, through the container, and to the subterranean zone below the terranean surface. (Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 6)
Regarding claim 11, Chelminski teaches wherein each activation of the acoustic energy source occurs at a specified time interval apart from a previous activation of the acoustic energy source. (Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 6)
Regarding claim 16, Chelminski teaches wherein the acoustic energy source comprises a plurality of acoustic energy generators. (Col.5, lines 11-24, Fig.3)
Chelminski does not explicitly teach non-explosive acoustic energy generators.
Shippey teaches non-explosive acoustic energy generators. (Abstract, Claim 15, Page.10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate non-explosive acoustic energy generators as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 17, Chelminski teaches serially activating the plurality of acoustic energy generators by the control system; and for each activation, producing acoustic wave energy that travels through the human-made volume of liquid, through the container, and to the subterranean zone below the terranean surface at the particular location. (Col.7, lines 43-46, Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 25, Col.4, lines 33-47, Figs.2-3)
Regarding claim 18, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of non-explosive acoustic energy generators comprises a bubbler or a sonar transducer.
Shippey teaches wherein each of the plurality of non-explosive acoustic energy generators comprises a bubbler or a sonar transducer. (Abstract, Claim 15, Page.10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein each of the plurality of non-explosive acoustic energy generators comprises a bubbler or a sonar transducer as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 19, Chelminski teaches for each activation, producing acoustic wave energy that travels through the human-made volume of liquid, through the container, and to the subterranean zone below the terranean surface at the particular location. (Col.5, lines 11-24, Col.9, lines 64-66, Col.10, lines 35-36, Fig.3)
Chelminski does not explicitly teach serially activating the bubbler or sonar transducer by the control system.
Shippey teaches serially activating the bubbler or sonar transducer by the control system. (Claim 15, Page.10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate serially activating the bubbler or sonar transducer by the control system as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 20, Chelminski teaches wherein the one or more acoustic receivers is positioned on or under the terranean surface. (Col.4, lines 33-47, Figs.1-2)
Regarding claim 21, Chelminski teaches a system (“exploration system for making a seismic survey of earth formations”), comprising: an acoustic energy source (14) that is at least partially submerged in a human made volume of liquid enclosed within a container under a terranean surface (the repeater 14 is submerged) at a particular location, the acoustic energy source comprising a repeatably activatable acoustic energy source. (Col.3, lines 1-16, Col.1, line 59-Col.2, line 9, Col.7, lines 43-46, Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 25, Col.4, lines 33-47, Fig.2, Claims 11-12)
Chelminski also teaches one or more acoustic receivers (60) positioned on or under the terranean surface. (Col.4, lines 17-47, Fig.2)
Chelminski also teaches a control system (146, 148) communicably coupled to the acoustic energy source and the one or more acoustic receivers, the control system configured to perform operations. (Col.7, lines 43-54)
Chelminski also teaches repeatedly activating the acoustic energy source (14) at specified time intervals at the particular location to produce acoustic wave energy that travels through the human made volume of liquid and through the container and to a subterranean zone below the terranean surface. (Col.3, lines 1-16, Col.7, lines 43-54, Col.1, line 59-Col.2, line 9, Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 25, Col.4, lines 33-47, Claim 12, Figs.4-5)
Chelminski also teaches identifying, from the one or more acoustic receivers (14), reflected acoustic wave energy from the subterranean zone for each of the repeated activations of the acoustic energy source at the particular location. (Col.4, lines 33-71, Fig.2)
Chelminski also teaches generating time-dependent data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy at the particular location. (Col.4, lines 33-71, Fig.2)
Chelminski does not explicitly teach a container that is at least partially buried and a non-explosive acoustic energy source and repeatedly activating the acoustic energy source exclusive of destructive disturbance to the subterranean formation.
Blake teaches a container (casing b) that is at least partially buried. (Fig.1)
Shippey teaches a non-explosive acoustic energy source (transmitter means for transmitting periodic acoustic pulses) and repeatedly activating the acoustic energy source exclusive of destructive disturbance to the subterranean formation (transmitter means for transmitting periodic acoustic pulses). (Abstract, Claim 15, Page.10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate a container that is at least partially buried in order to measure seismic data below a terranean surface and have a concentration of the energy that produces an improvement in the recorded reflections and further modify Chelminski to incorporate a non-explosive acoustic energy source and repeatedly activating the acoustic energy source exclusive of destructive disturbance to the subterranean formation as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 22, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the data comprises an image of the subterranean zone.
Shippey teaches wherein the data comprises an image of the subterranean zone. (Pages.3, 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the data comprises an image of the subterranean zone as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 23, Chelminski teaches wherein the liquid comprises water. (Col.3, lines 1-6, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 29, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the container is wholly buried under the terranean surface.
Blake teaches wherein the container is wholly buried under the terranean surface. (Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the container is wholly buried under the terranean surface in order to measure seismic data below a terranean surface and have a concentration of the energy that produces an improvement in the recorded reflections.
Regarding claim 30, Chelminski teaches wherein the operation of repeatedly activating the acoustic energy source comprises repeatedly activating the acoustic energy source to produce a plurality of acoustic wave energy that each travel through the human- made volume of liquid, through the container, and to the subterranean zone below the terranean surface at the particular location. (Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 6)
Regarding claim 31, Chelminski teaches wherein each activation of the acoustic energy source occurs at the specified time interval apart from a previous activation of the acoustic energy source. (Col.4, line 72-Col.5, line 6)
Regarding claim 36, Chelminski teaches wherein the acoustic energy source comprises a plurality of acoustic energy generators. (Col.5, lines 11-24, Fig.3)
Chelminski does not explicitly teach non-explosive acoustic energy generators.
Shippey teaches non-explosive acoustic energy generators. (Abstract, Claim 15, Page.10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate non-explosive acoustic energy generators as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 37, Chelminski teaches wherein the operation of activating the acoustic energy source comprises serially activating the plurality of acoustic energy generators to produce a plurality of acoustic wave energy that each travel through the human-made volume of liquid, through the container, and to the subterranean zone below the terranean surface at the particular location. (Col.5, lines 11-24, Fig.3)
Regarding claim 38, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of acoustic energy generators comprises a bubbler or a sonar transducer.
Shippey teaches wherein each of the plurality of acoustic energy generators comprises a bubbler or a sonar transducer. (Abstract, Claim 15, Page.10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein each of the plurality of acoustic energy generators comprises a bubbler or a sonar transducer as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 39, Chelminski teaches wherein the operations of activating the acoustic energy source comprises serially activating the acoustic source to produce a plurality of acoustic wave energy that each travel through the human-made volume of liquid, through the container, and to the subterranean zone below the terranean surface at the particular location. (Col.5, lines 11-24, Col.9, lines 64-66, Col.10, lines 35-36, Fig.3)
Chelminski does not explicitly teach serially activating the bubbler or sonar transducer by the control system.
Shippey teaches serially activating the bubbler or sonar transducer by the control system. (Claim 15, Page.10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate serially activating the bubbler or sonar transducer by the control system as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Regarding claim 40, Chelminski teaches wherein the liquid comprises a biodegradable liquid. (Col.10, lines 68-72, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 41, Chelminski teaches wherein the container is a tank. (Col.3, lines 1-16, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 42, Chelminski teaches wherein the liquid comprises a non-water liquid that is defined by a similar set of mechanical properties as water. (Col.10, lines 68-72, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 43, Chelminski teaches wherein the liquid comprises a biodegradable liquid. (Col.10, lines 68-72, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 44, Chelminski teaches wherein the container is a tank. (Col.3, lines 1-16, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 45, Chelminski teaches wherein the liquid comprises a non-water liquid that is defined by a similar set of mechanical properties as water. (Col.10, lines 68-72, Fig.1)
Claim(s) 12-15 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chelminski in view of Blake, Shippey and Liu (US 20190277988 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein generating data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy comprises: generating, with the control system, an image of the subterranean zone that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone from the generated time- dependent data associated with the subterranean zone at the particular location.
Liu teaches wherein generating data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy comprises: generating, with the control system, an image of the subterranean zone that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone from the generated time- dependent data associated with the subterranean zone at the particular location. (Paragraphs 36, 22, 20, 3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein generating data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy comprises: generating, with the control system, an image of the subterranean zone that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone from the generated time- dependent data associated with the subterranean zone at the particular location as taught by Liu in order to provide a powerful and practical tool for improving lithology prediction and four-dimensional (4D) signature analysis.
Regarding claim 13, Chelminski does not explicitly teach aggregating, with the control system, the plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone into an image model of the subterranean zone.
Liu teaches aggregating, with the control system, the plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone into an image model of the subterranean zone. (Paragraph 36)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate aggregating, with the control system, the plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone into an image model of the subterranean zone as taught by Liu in order to provide a powerful and practical tool for improving lithology prediction and four-dimensional (4D) signature analysis.
Regarding claim 14, Chelminski does not explicitly teach determining, with the control system, movement of an underground fluid through the subterranean zone based on the plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone.
Liu teaches determining, with the control system, movement of an underground fluid through the subterranean zone based on the plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone. (Paragraph 36)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate determining, with the control system, movement of an underground fluid through the subterranean zone based on the plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone as taught by Liu in order to provide a powerful and practical tool for improving lithology prediction and four-dimensional (4D) signature analysis.
Regarding claim 15, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the underground fluid comprises carbon dioxide.
Liu teaches wherein the underground fluid comprises carbon dioxide. (Paragraph 36)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the underground fluid comprises carbon dioxide as taught by Liu in order to provide a powerful and practical tool for improving lithology prediction and four-dimensional (4D) signature analysis.
Regarding claim 32, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the operation of generating time-dependent data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy comprises: generating an image of the subterranean zone that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone from the generated time-dependent data at the particular location.
Liu teaches wherein the operation of generating time-dependent data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy comprises: generating an image of the subterranean zone that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone from the generated time-dependent data at the particular location. (Paragraphs 36, 22, 20, 3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the operation of generating time-dependent data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy comprises: generating an image of the subterranean zone that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone from the generated time-dependent data at the particular location as taught by Liu in order to provide a powerful and practical tool for improving lithology prediction and four-dimensional (4D) signature analysis.
Regarding claim 33, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise aggregating the plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone into an image model of the subterranean zone.
Liu teaches wherein the operations further comprise aggregating the plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone into an image model of the subterranean zone. (Paragraphs 36)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the operations further comprise aggregating the plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone into an image model of the subterranean zone as taught by Liu in order to provide a powerful and practical tool for improving lithology prediction and four-dimensional (4D) signature analysis.
Regarding claim 34, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise determining movement of an underground fluid through the subterranean zone based on the plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone.
Liu teaches wherein the operations further comprise determining movement of an underground fluid through the subterranean zone based on the plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone. (Paragraphs 36)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the operations further comprise determining movement of an underground fluid through the subterranean zone based on the plurality of time- dependent images of the subterranean zone as taught by Liu in order to provide a powerful and practical tool for improving lithology prediction and four-dimensional (4D) signature analysis.
Regarding claim 35, Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein the underground fluid comprises carbon dioxide.
Liu teaches wherein the underground fluid comprises carbon dioxide. (Paragraphs 36)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein the underground fluid comprises carbon dioxide as taught by Liu in order to provide a powerful and practical tool for improving lithology prediction and four-dimensional (4D) signature analysis.
Claim(s) 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chelminski in view of Shippey and Sanger (US 11493391 B2).
Regarding claim 46, Chelminski teaches a method, comprising: activating an acoustic energy source that is in a natural body of water that comprises a liquid/soil interface with a subterranean zone that is located below a terranean surface. (Col.3, lines 1-16, Col.1, line 59-Col.2, line 9, Claim 12)
Chelminski also teaches based on the activating, producing acoustic wave energy that travels through the body of water and through the liquid/soil interface and to the subterranean zone. (Col.3, lines 11-16, Col.1, line 59-Col.2, line 9, Claim 12, Figs.4-5)
Chelminski also teaches receiving, at one or more acoustic receivers (60), reflected acoustic wave energy from the subterranean zone. (Col.4, lines 33-47, Fig.2)
Chelminski also teaches generating, with a control system, data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy. (Col.4, lines 33-47, Fig.2)
Chelminski does not explicitly teach an acoustic energy source that is wholly submerged in a natural body of water and producing acoustic wave energy with the acoustic energy source and within the natural body of water so that the acoustic wave energy that travels within and through the natural body of water, to the liquid/soil interface.
Sanger teaches an energy source (output mechanism) that is wholly submerged (modular submersible device) in a natural body of water (sea) and producing energy (output mechanism may emit a different type of output, usually electromagnetic in nature) that travels through the natural body of water. (Col.6, lines 27-34, Claims 1, 17, Figs.1A-2A)
Shippey teaches producing acoustic wave energy (transmitting periodic acoustic pulses) with the acoustic energy source (transmitter) and within the natural body of water (sea) so that the acoustic wave energy that travels within and through the natural body of water, to the liquid/soil interface (Sea-floor). (Pages.3, 10, 33, 48, Claims 14-15)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate an energy source that is wholly submerged in a natural body of water and producing energy that travels through the natural body of water as taught by Sanger in order to effectively penetrate all of the preferred mediums and further modify Chelminski to incorporate producing acoustic wave energy with the acoustic energy source and within the natural body of water so that the acoustic wave energy that travels within and through the natural body of water, to the liquid/soil interface as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Claim(s) 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chelminski in view of Shippey.
Regarding claim 47, Chelminski teaches a method, comprising: repeatedly activating an acoustic energy source that is at least partially submerged in a volume of liquid at a particular location on or under a terranean surface. (Col.3, lines 1-16, Col.1, line 59-Col.2, line 9, Col.4, line 71-Col.5, line 6, Claim 12)
Chelminski also teaches based on each activation, producing acoustic wave energy that travels through the volume of liquid and to a subterranean zone below the terranean surface at a particular location. (Col.3, lines 11-16, Col.1, line 59-Col.2, line 9, Claim 12, Figs.4-5)
Chelminski also teaches receiving, at one or more acoustic receivers (60), reflected acoustic wave energy from the subterranean zone. (Col.4, lines 33-47, Fig.2)
Chelminski also teaches generating, with a control system, data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy. (Col.4, lines 33-47, Fig.2)
Chelminski does not explicitly teach wherein each activation of the acoustic energy source at a particular location occurs at a specified time interval apart from a previous activation of the acoustic energy source and wherein generating data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy comprises: generating, with the control system, an image of the subterranean zone at a particular location that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone.
Shippey teaches wherein each activation of the acoustic energy source at a particular location occurs at a specified time interval apart (transmitting periodic acoustic pulses) from a previous activation of the acoustic energy source (period between said transmitted pulses) and wherein generating data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy (intensity of each pixel representing the strength of the pulse reflected) comprises: generating, with the control system, an image of the subterranean zone at a particular location that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source (after each pulse transmission, imaging a selected area of the scene which includes the sea-floor intercept) and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone (images of two-dimensional sections of the target area can be generated). (Claims 1, 14, 15, Pages.22-23)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Chelminski to incorporate wherein each activation of the acoustic energy source at a particular location occurs at a specified time interval apart from a previous activation of the acoustic energy source and wherein generating data associated with the subterranean zone based on the reflected acoustic wave energy comprises: generating, with the control system, an image of the subterranean zone at a particular location that is associated with each activation of the acoustic energy source and a time instant or time interval to generate a plurality of time-dependent images of the subterranean zone as taught by Shippey in order to compute the image intensity for all points in a given image, speed up image reconstruction time and derive the strength of the reflected pulse and hence intensity of the pixel from the frequency coefficients of the composite signal.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645