DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 9/9/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 11,618,967 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendment
The rejection described in the Office action mailed on 4/9/2026 has been withdrawn in view of the response filed on 9/9/2026. Because of the withdrawal of the rejection, the arguments concerning this rejection is considered to be moot and will not be addressed.
A new rejection follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–8 and 17–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over
McBay (US 2014/0284045 A1) in view of Seldner (US 2015/0117956 A1).
Claim 1
McBay teaches a reactor system for thermochemical decomposition utilizing heat obtained from a subterranean geothermal source, including magma or lava, wherein feedstock is introduced into a heated reaction region and converted into useful products (¶¶[0054], [0087]–[0099]; Figs. 9–10). McBay further teaches the introduction of feedstock through a supply conduit and the removal of reaction products through a collection conduit (¶¶[0090]–[0096]). McBay does not specifically teach continuously decomposing a polymer-containing reaction medium in the manner claimed. Seldner teaches a thermochemical decomposition process wherein plastic-containing feedstock is mixed with water and a catalyst to form a slurry, which is conveyed through a geothermal heating region to decompose the feedstock into useful hydrocarbon products (¶¶[0016]–[0022]; Figs. 1–2). Seldner further teaches introducing the slurry through an input well, conveying the slurry through a heated pipeline, and withdrawing reaction products through an extraction well, thereby providing continuous-flow processing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the geothermal reactor system of McBay to carry out a known thermochemical decomposition process, including the continuous polymer-containing slurry decomposition process taught by Seldner, in order to utilize the naturally available geothermal or magma-derived heat as an energy source for carrying out the decomposition reaction, thereby reducing the need for externally supplied heating energy. Both references teach using naturally occurring geothermal heat to conduct thermochemical reactions, and the proposed modification would have involved using a known heating arrangement for its established purpose.
The selection of a suitable reaction temperature according to the polymer being processed and the desired degree of decomposition would have been within the ordinary skill in the art, since the reaction conditions necessarily depend upon the particular feedstock and desired conversion. Claim 2 McBay teaches a geothermal heating system wherein heat is transferred from a geothermal well to a reactor, including through a heated thermal material such as molten salt (¶¶[0059]–[0063]; Fig. 5). Seldner teaches a reaction medium comprising water and plastic-containing feedstock (¶¶[0016]–[0022]). McBay does not specifically teach the claimed water-containing polymer decomposition process. However, Seldner teaches using water as a component of the reaction medium. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the water-containing reaction medium of Seldner in the geothermal reactor system of McBay and heat the medium through a heat-exchange interface using a geothermal-heated fluid, as taught by McBay, to supply the thermal energy required for decomposition. Claim 3 McBay teaches conveying a thermal material through a geothermal heating system to recover subterranean heat for use in a reaction process (¶¶[0059]–[0063]; Fig. 5). Seldner teaches conveying a reaction medium through underground piping exposed to geothermal heat (¶¶[0017]–[0022]; Fig. 1). McBay does not specifically teach using the geothermal-heated fluid itself as the polymer-containing reaction medium.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before August 14, 2023, to employ a geothermal-heated reaction medium, as taught by Seldner, in the modified geothermal reactor system of McBay to provide the heat necessary for polymer decomposition. Claim 4 McBay teaches supplying geothermal heat to a reactor through a heated thermal material obtained from a geothermal well (¶¶[0059]–[0063]; Fig. 5). Seldner teaches supplying a polymer-containing reaction medium from a feedstock preparation system (¶¶[0016]–[0022]; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before August 14, 2023, to provide the reaction medium of Seldner to the geothermal reactor system of McBay and heat the reaction medium indirectly using a geothermal-heated heat-exchange fluid, thereby utilizing naturally available geothermal energy to conduct the decomposition reaction. Claim 5 Seldner teaches adding a catalyst to a plastic-containing slurry before geothermal pyrolysis (¶¶[0016]–[0020]; Fig. 1). Seldner's disclosed catalyst is carried with the slurry through the heated piping. Accordingly, Seldner teaches the alternative limitation wherein the catalyst is carried through the reactor body in the reaction medium. Claim 6 Seldner teaches thermochemical decomposition of plastic-containing materials into smaller molecular products using geothermal heat (¶¶[0016], [0019]–[0022]). McBay teaches thermochemical decomposition at elevated temperatures, including temperatures overlapping the claimed ranges (¶[0005], Table I).
McBay and Seldner do not specifically teach depolymerization of PTFE, nylon 6, polystyrene, or PMMA into their respective monomers at the claimed temperatures. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize a polymer capable of depolymerization into its corresponding monomer and to operate the modified process of McBay and Seldner at an effective reaction temperature, including a temperature within the claimed ranges, to obtain the desired monomer product. Selection of suitable polymer feedstocks and effective reaction temperatures according to the desired degree of depolymerization and product composition would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Claim 7 Seldner teaches thermochemical decomposition of plastic-containing waste materials into petroleum or hydrocarbon products using geothermal heat (¶¶[0019]–[0022]; Fig. 1). Seldner does not specifically teach that the plastic comprises a polyolefin or that the resulting product is a combustible olefin. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize polyolefin-containing plastic waste, including polyethylene or polypropylene, in the modified process of McBay and Seldner, since polyolefins are commonly present in plastic waste and are suitable feedstocks for thermochemical decomposition. Furthermore, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select effective decomposition conditions to produce olefinic hydrocarbon products capable of combustion as fuel, thereby obtaining useful fuel products from the plastic waste. Claim 8 Seldner teaches recovering the products of geothermal pyrolysis and conveying them to a separator that separates petroleum material into constituent products, including char, water, oil, and gas (¶[0022]; Fig. 1; claim 1). Seldner does not specifically identify the downstream operation as filtration or dehydration in the cited disclosure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize conventional filtration to remove solid char from the recovered petroleum products or dehydration to remove water, in view of Seldner's teaching that the products contain solid char and water, in order to recover the desired hydrocarbon product with reduced solid or water content. Claim 17 Seldner teaches a mixer receiving feedstock and supplying the resulting slurry through a pump to an input well and heated piping (¶¶[0016]–[0022]; Fig. 1).Thus, in the modified McBay–Seldner system, the reactor inlet would be connected to a source of polymer-containing feedstock through the slurry preparation and supply arrangement. It would have been obvious to provide this connection to introduce the polymer-containing material into the reactor for decomposition, as taught by Seldner. Claim 18 Seldner teaches mixing feedstock with water to form a slurry and conveying the slurry to the geothermal pyrolysis system (¶¶[0016]–[0022]; Fig. 1). Accordingly, the modified reactor inlet would be connected to a source of the reaction medium through the slurry supply arrangement. It would have been obvious to provide such a connection to supply the reaction medium required for the decomposition process.
Claim 19
Seldner teaches a mixer that receives feedstock and water to form a slurry, which is subsequently pumped into the geothermal pyrolysis system (¶¶[0016]–[0022]; Fig. 1). Thus, Seldner teaches supplying both the feedstock and reaction medium to the reactor through a common feed arrangement. It would have been obvious to connect the inlet of the modified McBay reactor to the polymer source and reaction-medium source, as taught by Seldner, to provide the components required for thermochemical decomposition. Claim 20 Seldner teaches a continuous-flow geothermal pyrolysis system in which slurry is pumped through heated piping and the resulting petroleum material is withdrawn for further processing (¶¶[0017]–[0022]; Fig. 1). The heated piping functions as a flow-through reaction region. Accordingly, Seldner supports the claimed alternative of a flow-through reactor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 9, 2026, have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below, subject to the specific evidentiary qualifications identified above.
Regarding the argument that McBay teaches a batch reactor rather than the claimed continuous-flow reactor:
Applicant argues that McBay's conventional pyrolysis reactor is operated in a batch manner and therefore does not disclose the steady-flow arrangement required by claim 1.
The argument is not persuasive against the proposed combination. Although McBay discloses batch embodiments, McBay also teaches magma-based processing involving a continuous supply of biomass (¶[0099]). Furthermore, Seldner teaches continuously pumping a polymer-containing slurry through a geothermal heating region and withdrawing the resulting products (¶¶[0017]–[0022]). The rejection does not rely upon McBay alone for the claimed continuous-flow processing. Rather, Seldner is relied upon for that feature. Also, it is within the level of ordinary skill to operate a process continuously. In re Dilnot 138 USPQ 248 (CCPA 1963); In re Korpi 73 USPQ 229 (CCPA 1947); In re Lincoln 53 USPQ 40 (CCPA 1942).
Regarding the argument that McBay directly mixes biomass with magma:
Applicant argues that McBay's magma-based embodiment involves direct contact between biomass and magma rather than heating a reaction medium through a reactor body.
The Examiner acknowledges that McBay's magma-based embodiment includes direct mixing of biomass and magma (¶¶[0087]–[0099]).
However, McBay also teaches reactor embodiments wherein geothermal heat is used to heat a reaction chamber without requiring direct contact between the feedstock and magma (Figs. 1–5). The proposed combination is based upon the use of geothermal heat as an energy source for the known polymer decomposition process taught by Seldner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before August 14, 2023, to utilize McBay's known geothermal heating arrangement for the continuous polymer decomposition process of Seldner to take advantage of naturally available geothermal energy and reduce externally supplied heating requirements.
Regarding the argument that Seldner's underground pipeline is not the claimed reactor body:
Applicant argues that Seldner teaches a pipeline through underground strata rather than a separate reactor vessel.
The argument is not persuasive insofar as claim 1 does not require the reactor body to have a particular shape or to be a conventional stirred vessel. Seldner's heated piping confines the reaction medium while thermal decomposition occurs and provides a flow path between the inlet and outlet.
Further, claim 20 expressly identifies a flow-through reactor as an alternative reactor configuration.
Nevertheless, the rejection must establish how the reactor body in the proposed combination corresponds to the claimed inlet, outlet, and heating arrangement. Merely identifying a pipeline as a reactor does not eliminate those requirements.
Regarding the argument that the references cannot properly be combined:
Applicant's argument is not persuasive merely because the references disclose different embodiments or reactor configurations.
McBay teaches the use of geothermal heat, including heat associated with magma, for thermochemical decomposition. Seldner teaches a continuous-flow process for thermochemically decomposing plastic-containing feedstock using geothermal heat.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known decomposition process of Seldner could benefit from the geothermal heating arrangements taught by McBay, with the expected advantage of reducing the need for externally supplied thermal energy.
The proposed combination is therefore supported by a reason to utilize known geothermal heating technology for a known thermochemical decomposition process, rather than by an unsupported assertion that the references are interchangeable.
Claims 17–20 were not specifically addressed in the previous Office Action. These claims have now been examined. Seldner's disclosure of a feedstock mixer, reaction-medium supply, slurry pumping system, and continuous-flow geothermal piping provides the basis for rejecting claims 17–20 for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771