DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 USC § 103 over Lindberg and Deng is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the response filed on 3/16/2026.
A new Non-Final Office Action is follows.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-18 and 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,918,967. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently claimed reactor and the reactor of Lindberg share the same structural configuration, including a reaction chamber having inlets and outlets, a wellbore extending into a subterranean heat source, and heat transfer to the reaction chamber. The claims differ primarily in specifying that the thermochemical process comprises polymer decomposition. However, selecting a particular thermochemical reaction to be performed within the same reactor does not render the apparatus patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over McBay et al. (US 2014/0284045 A1) in view of Seldner et al. (US 2015/0117956 A1).
McBay discloses a reactor for thermochemical decomposition, including a pyrolysis reaction chamber configured to carry out decomposition reactions of feedstock into product streams (¶[0028]–[0032], ¶[0048]). The reactor includes conduits for introducing feed and removing products, i.e., functional inlets and outlets (¶[0034]–[0036]). McBay further teaches that the reaction chamber is positioned within a wellbore extending into a geothermal region, including embodiments involving magma/lava heat sources, such that the reactor is heated by heat absorbed from the wellbore environment (¶[0042]–[0045], ¶[0050]). The system operates such that material is introduced, subjected to elevated temperature within the chamber, and converted into product streams which are removed, thereby inherently supporting a flow-through reaction process (¶[0034]–[0038]).
However, McBay does not explicitly disclose that the feedstock comprises a polymer decomposed in a reaction medium (e.g., slurry) with steady flow characteristics as claimed.
Seldner discloses a geothermal pyrolysis system in which plastic-containing materials are combined with water and/or catalyst to form a reaction medium (slurry) and are pumped through a subsurface geothermal region, where the material is thermally decomposed into products (¶[0016]–[0020], ¶[0027]). Seldner further teaches a continuous flow system, wherein the slurry is introduced via an input well and removed via an extraction well after conversion, thereby explicitly disclosing steady flow from inlet to outlet (¶[0021]–[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reactor system of McBay to process a polymer-containing reaction medium (e.g., slurry) in a continuous flow manner as taught by Seldner, in order to enable efficient conversion of plastic/polymer waste into useful products using geothermal heat, since both references are directed to thermochemical decomposition processes driven by subsurface geothermal energy, and Seldner expressly teaches the advantages of slurry-based continuous processing of plastics in such systems.
Claim 2
McBay teaches heating of the reactor via thermal contact with geothermal heat in the wellbore (¶[0042]–[0045]). Seldner further teaches fluid-mediated heat transfer via a circulating reaction medium and/or injected fluids (¶[0016], ¶[0020]).
It would have been obvious to implement heat exchange via fluid or interface mechanisms as a predictable design variation of geothermal heating systems.
Claim 3
Seldner teaches a system including fluid conduits extending through the wellbore to convey material into and out of the heated subsurface region (¶[0021]–[0023]).
Claim 4
Seldner teaches that the reaction medium is supplied from a source and heated indirectly by geothermal heat absorbed in the subsurface region (¶[0016]–[0020]).
Claim 5
Both references teach catalytic processes:
McBay: catalyst may be present in pyrolysis reactor (¶[0032])
Seldner: slurry includes catalyst (¶[0016])
Claim 6
Seldner teaches decomposition of plastic materials into petroleum-like or hydrocarbon products (¶[0016], ¶[0027]), which inherently includes formation of smaller molecular products (monomers/oligomers) depending on reaction conditions.
Optimization of temperature ranges for specific polymers is a result-effective variable (In re Aller).
Claim 7
Seldner teaches conversion of plastics into hydrocarbon fuels (¶[0027]), which inherently includes olefinic products from polymer cracking.
Claim 8
McBay teaches that product streams are removed and may be further processed (¶[0036]–[0038]). Seldner explicitly teaches separation and processing of products using downstream units (e.g., separators) (¶[0024]).
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771