DETAILED ACTION
1. Acknowledgement is made to the amendment, filed 7/7/2025. Claims 1-27 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 1-6 & 20-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/7/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 7-19 (Group II) in the reply filed on 7/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graham et al. (US 2007/0234215 A1), hereinafter Graham.
Regarding claim 7, Graham discloses a system comprising
a viewing device [0159, 0211, 0212, & 0214],
a video playback device connected to the viewing device to cause the viewing device to playback video [0159, 0211, 0212, & 0214],
a remote control device connected via radio frequency to the video playback device, to control the video playback device, said remote control device having a scanning function [0207-0211],
a scannable token sized for insertion into the remote control device, which when scanned yields actuates predetermined functions in the remote control device [0064, 0068, 0077, & 0155-0157].
Regarding claim 8, Graham discloses a system as in claim 7 wherein the video playback device includes a power source, CPU, mass data storage, and software applications to connect the video playback device to the Viewing Device and remote control [0159, 0211, 0212, & 0214].
Regarding claim 9, Graham discloses a system as in claim 8 wherein the scannable playback token comprises a flat plastic substrate having a scannable image on one side [0054 & 0068].
Regarding claim 10, Graham discloses a system as in claim 9 wherein the scannable playback token has a shape which, when inserted into the remote control device, actuates predetermined functions in the remote control device [0054, 0068, & 0077].
Regarding claim 11, Graham discloses a system as in claim 10 wherein the functions include accessing a URL or functionally equivalent reference to a video file [0053, 0076, & 0097].
Regarding claim 12, Graham discloses a system as in claim 10 wherein the shape is other than rectilinear [0054, 0068, & 0070].
Regarding claim 13, Graham discloses a system as in claim 9 further comprising a printer for printing the scannable image on a label substrate [0056, 0064, & 0068].
Regarding claim 14, Graham discloses a system as in claim 12 wherein the label comprises an encrypted QR code and the remote control device includes an optical scanner to read the encrypted QR code and software to decript the encrypted QR code [0061, 0067, & 0081].
Regarding claim 15, Graham discloses a method comprising
scanning a QR code with a device capable of performing such scan to produce encrypted data [0061, 0067, 0121, & 0122],
electronically processing the encrypted data with a digital computer to produce a data string reference to a video file [0061, 0062, 0121, 0122, & 0124],
radio transmitting the data string reference to a video playback device having access to the world-wide web [0053, 0056, 0064, & 0207-0209],
accessing the video file on the world wide web [0053, 0062, 0121, 0122, & 0124], and
playing the video on a video viewing device electronically connected to the video playback device [0159, 0211, 0212, & 0214].
Regarding claim 16, Graham discloses a method as in claim 15 wherein the QR code is scanned with a remote control device which is radio linked to the video playback device [0207-0211].
Regarding claim 17, Graham discloses a method as in claim 16 wherein the QR code is carried on a scannable token [0061, 0067, & 0081].
Regarding claim 18, Graham discloses a method as in claim 17 further comprising inserting the scannable token into a slot formed in the remote control device, said slot being configured to accept only scannable tokens of predetermined size and shape [0054, 0068, & 0077].
Regarding claim 19, Graham discloses a method as in claim 18 further comprising displaying a menu on the video viewing device in response to the scannable token being accepted by the remote control device [0159, 0211, 0212, & 0214].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876