DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Drabon (US 20180062224 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Drabon discloses a power storage device to be mounted below a floor of a vehicle, the power storage device comprising (see Figs. 1-22 [0045]):
a battery tray (12 and/or 13 and/ or 6, see Figs. 2, 3 and 14-22 [0047]) accommodating a secondary battery cell (2);
a battery frame (4 and 5 [0046] see Figs. 2, 3 and 14-22) surrounding the battery tray(12 and/or 13 and/ or 6, see Figs. 3, 4 and 14-22 [0047]); and
a cooling plate (8, see Figs. 2, 3 and Fig. 18) comprising a plate portion (38 see Fig. 15) provided above the battery tray (12 and/or 13 and/ or 6, see Figs. 2, 3 and 14-22 [0047]) and the battery frame (4 [0046] see Figs. 2, 3 and 14-22) and having a refrigerant flow path (41 see Fig. 18) through which a refrigerant is to flow, and a main pipe (inherently connected to a pipe outside of frame defined by 8 as input to source of 39 [0060]) disposed on an outer side of the battery frame so as to overlap the battery frame in a top bottom direction and continuous with the plate portion such that the refrigerant flow path (39 see Fig. 18) and an internal space of the main pipe (inherently connected to a pipe outside of frame defined by 8 as input to source of 39 [0060]) communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 2, Drabon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Drabon discloses wherein the battery frame (4 and 5 [0046] see Figs. 2, 3 and Fig. 8—note that 26 is part of 5 [0054]) and the cooling plate (see Figs. 2 and 3 [0054]) are fixed to the vehicle, and the battery tray (12 and/or 13 and/ or 6, see Figs. 14 or 15) is attachable to the battery frame (4 and 5 [0046] see Figs. 2, 3 and Fig. 8—note that 26 is part of 5 [0054]) from below.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Drabon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition Drabon discloses wherein the refrigerant flow path (39 see Fig. 18) in the plate portion (38 see Fig. 15) is formed by joining two plates (37 and 38 see Fig. 15 [0060]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Drabon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Drabon discloses the claimed structure for the plate portion including the refrigerant flow path (see Fig. 18 [0065][0011]).
With regards to the plate portion is “formed by extrusion molding such that the refrigerant flow path is formed” the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drabon (US 20180062224 A1) as applied to claims 1-6 above and in further view of Herrmann (US 20110132580 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Drabon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Drabon does not disclose wherein the battery tray comprises a spring member that presses the secondary battery cell upward.
Herrmann (see Fig. 24) discloses that at the interface between a battery surface and a supporting surface there are spring elements (22) to press the battery towards a cooling surface (1) ([0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the supporting surface of the battery tray of Drabon by adding spring elements at the interface of the supporting surface and the battery surface as disclosed by Herrmann to increase the contact between the battery and the cooling structure because this will increase the cooling of the battery.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726