Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Affidavits or Declarations Traversing Rejections
The affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 02/06/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1 in view of the prior art of Zhong (US20220118460A1) because:
It is not clear how the limitation of “wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage” leads to the Operational Advantages as recited in items 13-15 of page 13 of the AF/D132.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 with respect the prior art of Zhong (US20220118460A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., prevents the trailing ends of the sheets from deflecting laterally; and bending into any space outside the paper-feeding passage) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant argued that the prior art of Zhong (US20220118460A1) does nt disclose the new limitation of “wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage”.
In response to this argument, Zhong does not disclose “wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage”;
However, Zhong discloses wherein a cavity (see fig.1 below) for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion (fig.1: the element (16) having the staple removing plate (30)) and the first sidewall, front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall (fig.1 the conveyer (fig.1: (8)) is configured to rotate to enable the bottom piece of paper in the stack of to-be-shredded paper on the first paper box (3) be bent and deformed at the paper inlet (9) so as to downward enter the paper inlet (9); it will results to have front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange the cavity, the paper feeding passage and the first sidewall of Zhong to be wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04 VI. C).
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong (US20220118460A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhong discloses a paper shredder (abstract and paragraphs 0035 and 0043-0044), comprising
a housing (figs.1 and 3: the housing that formed by elements (1, 2, 4, 5)),
two cutters (fig.1: (10)) rotatably disposed on the housing and a conveyer (fig.1: (8)) disposed on the housing,
wherein the housing is provided with a paper feeding passage for passing sheets of paper (fig.1: the passage that receives a stack of to-be-shredded paper),
the paper feeding passage is provided with a first sidewall (fig.1: (13)) and a second sidewall (fig.1: (15)) that are disposed opposite to each other,
the conveyer (fig.1: (8)) is disposed inside the paper feeding passage and is used for conveying the sheets of paper located inside the paper feeding passage to the two cutters, and
the two cutters (fig.1: (10)) are capable of cooperating to shred the sheets of paper; and the paper shredder further comprising:
a staple removing structure disposed on the first sidewall, wherein the staple removing structure is provided with a staple removing portion (figs.1 and 6: the element (16) having the staple removing plate (30)), the staple removing portion is disposed inside the paper feeding passage and spaced from the second sidewall,
the staple removing portion is capable of blocking movement of a staple or a paper clip disposed on the sheets of paper, and in a conveying direction of the sheets of paper, a distance from the two cutters to the staple removing portion is less than a length of the sheets of paper (see fig.1 above).
wherein a cavity (see fig.1 above) for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion (fig.1: the element (16) having the staple removing plate (30)) and the first sidewall, front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall (fig.1 the conveyer (fig.1: (8)) is configured to rotate to enable the bottom piece of paper in the stack of to-be-shredded paper on the first paper box (3) be bent and deformed at the paper inlet (9) so as to downward enter the paper inlet (9); it will results to have front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall).
Regarding the limitation of “so that in the process of the sheets of paper being torn”; Since the apparatus of Zhong discloses the structure of “wherein a cavity for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall”, then the apparatus of Zhong carry out the limitation of “so that in the process of the sheets of paper being torn”. (MPEP 2112.02).
Zhong does not disclose “wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage”;
However, Zhong discloses wherein a cavity (see fig.1 above) for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion (fig.1: the element (16) having the staple removing plate (30)) and the first sidewall, front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall (fig.1 the conveyer (fig.1: (8)) is configured to rotate to enable the bottom piece of paper in the stack of to-be-shredded paper on the first paper box (3) be bent and deformed at the paper inlet (9) so as to downward enter the paper inlet (9); it will results to have front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange the cavity, the paper feeding passage and the first sidewall of Zhong to be wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04 VI. C).
Regarding claim 3, Zhong discloses wherein a plurality of staple removing structures are provided (fig.1 and 6: the staple removing plate (30) of each box (16)), and the plurality of staple removing structures are spaced from each other in the conveying direction of the sheets of paper.
Regarding claim 4, Zhong discloses wherein the paper feeding passage comprises a left-side paper feeding passage (see fig.1 below), a right-side paper feeding passage (see fig.1 below) and a paper shredding passage (fig.1: (9)), an intersection (see fig.1 below) between the left-side paper feeding passage and the right-side paper feeding passage communicates with the paper shredding passage, and the two cutters (fig.1: (10)) are located on two sides of the paper shredding passage (fig.1: (9)).
Regarding claim 7, Zhong discloses wherein the housing comprises a housing body (fig.1: (1)) and a cover (fig.1: (5)) detachably connected to the housing body, the housing body is provided with an opening, and the cover is used for closing the opening (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 8, Zhong discloses further comprising a protruding block (fig.1: (6)) disposed on the cover, wherein the protruding block is disposed on the intersection between the left-side paper feeding passage and the right-side paper feeding passage and extends towards the paper shredding passage (see fig.1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Zhong discloses wherein the housing is further provided with a paper compartment (figs.1 and 6: (14)) for storing the sheets of paper, and the paper compartment communicates with a side of the paper feeding passage facing away from the two cutters.
Claims 1, 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US20120018554A1) in view of Zhong (US20220118460A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a paper shredder (abstract and paragraphs 0035 and 0027-0047), comprising
a housing (figs.1 and 3: (100)),
two cutters (figs.3 and 6: (41)) rotatably disposed on the housing and a conveyer (fig.3: (31) and (32)) disposed on the housing,
wherein the housing is provided with a paper feeding passage for passing sheets of paper (fig.6: the passage that receives a sheet of paper (P)),
the conveyer (fig.1: (8)) is disposed inside the paper feeding passage and is used for conveying the sheets of paper located inside the paper feeding passage to the two cutters, and
the two cutters (fig.1: (10)) are capable of cooperating to shred the sheets of paper; and the paper shredder further comprising:
Seo does not disclose the paper feeding passage is provided with a first sidewall and a second sidewall that are disposed opposite to each other, and the paper shredder further comprising: a staple removing structure disposed on the first sidewall, wherein the staple removing structure is provided with a staple removing portion, the staple removing portion is disposed inside the paper feeding passage and spaced from the second sidewall, the staple removing portion is capable of blocking movement of a staple or a paper clip disposed on the sheets of paper, and in a conveying direction of the sheets of paper, a distance from the two cutters to the staple removing portion is less than a length of the sheets of paper; wherein a cavity for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall so that in the process of the sheets of paper being torn, front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall, wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage.
Zhong teaches a paper shredder (abstract and paragraphs 0035 and 0043-0044), comprising
a housing (figs.1 and 3: the housing that formed by elements (1, 2, 4, 5)),
two cutters (fig.1: (10)) rotatably disposed on the housing and a conveyer (fig.1: (8)) disposed on the housing,
wherein the housing is provided with a paper feeding passage for passing sheets of paper (fig.1: the passage that receives a stack of to-be-shredded paper),
the paper feeding passage is provided with a first sidewall (fig.1: (13)) and a second sidewall (fig.1: (15)) that are disposed opposite to each other,
the conveyer (fig.1: (8)) is disposed inside the paper feeding passage and is used for conveying the sheets of paper located inside the paper feeding passage to the two cutters, and
the two cutters (fig.1: (10)) are capable of cooperating to shred the sheets of paper; and the paper shredder further comprising:
a staple removing structure disposed on the first sidewall, wherein the staple removing structure is provided with a staple removing portion (figs.1 and 6: the element (16) having the staple removing plate (30)), the staple removing portion is disposed inside the paper feeding passage and spaced from the second sidewall,
the staple removing portion is capable of blocking movement of a staple or a paper clip disposed on the sheets of paper, and in a conveying direction of the sheets of paper, a distance from the two cutters to the staple removing portion is less than a length of the sheets of paper (see fig.1 above).
wherein a cavity (see fig.1 above) for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion (fig.1: the element (16) having the staple removing plate (30)) and the first sidewall, front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall (fig.1 the conveyer (fig.1: (8)) is configured to rotate to enable the bottom piece of paper in the stack of to-be-shredded paper on the first paper box (3) be bent and deformed at the paper inlet (9) so as to downward enter the paper inlet (9); it will results to have front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall).
Regarding the limitation of “so that in the process of the sheets of paper being torn”; Since the apparatus of Zhong discloses the structure of “wherein a cavity for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall”, then the apparatus of Zhong carry out the limitation of “so that in the process of the sheets of paper being torn”. (MPEP 2112.02).
Both of the prior arts of Seo and Zhong are related to a paper shredder;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paper feeding passage of the apparatus of Seo to have a first sidewall and a second sidewall that are disposed opposite to each other; and to modify the apparatus of Seo to have a staple removing structure disposed on the first sidewall, wherein the staple removing structure is provided with a staple removing portion, the staple removing portion is disposed inside the paper feeding passage and spaced from the second sidewall, the staple removing portion is capable of blocking movement of a staple or a paper clip disposed on the sheets of paper, and in a conveying direction of the sheets of paper, a distance from the two cutters to the staple removing portion is less than a length of the sheets of paper; and wherein a cavity for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall so that in the process of the sheets of paper being torn, front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall as taught by Zhong, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Seo in view of Zhong does not disclose “wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage”;
However, Zhong discloses wherein a cavity (see fig.1 above) for the sheets of paper to extend into is provided between the staple removing portion (fig.1: the element (16) having the staple removing plate (30)) and the first sidewall, front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall (fig.1 the conveyer (fig.1: (8)) is configured to rotate to enable the bottom piece of paper in the stack of to-be-shredded paper on the first paper box (3) be bent and deformed at the paper inlet (9) so as to downward enter the paper inlet (9); it will results to have front ends of the sheets of paper are located between the two cutters, and rear ends of the sheets of paper bound with the staple or the paper clip enter the cavity between the staple removing portion and the first sidewall);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange the cavity, the paper feeding passage and the first sidewall of Seo in view of Zhong to be wherein the cavity is located outside the paper feeding passage, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04 VI. C).
Regarding claim 4, Seo discloses wherein the paper feeding passage comprises a left-side paper feeding passage (figs.6: (21)), a right-side paper feeding passage (fig.6: (22)) and a paper shredding passage (fig.6: (23)), an intersection (fig.6: see the intersection at element (12a)) between the left-side paper feeding passage and the right-side paper feeding passage communicates with the paper shredding passage, and the two cutters (fig.6: (41)) are located on two sides of the paper shredding passage (fig.6: (23)).
Therefore, the modification of Seo in view of Zhong teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Seo discloses wherein the conveyer comprises two feeding roller assemblies (fig.6: (31) and (32)) rotatably disposed on the housing, one of the two feeding roller assemblies is disposed inside the left-side paper feeding passage, and another of the two feeding roller assemblies is disposed inside the right-side paper feeding passage (fig.6).
Therefore, the modification of Seo in view of Zhong teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Seo discloses wherein the housing comprises a housing body (figs.3-4 and 6: (100)) and a cover (figs.3-4 and 6: (10)) detachably connected to the housing body, the housing body is provided with an opening, and the cover is used for closing the opening (paragraphs 0059-0061).
Therefore, the modification of Seo in view of Zhong teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Seo discloses further comprising a protruding block (figs.2 and 6: the block that formed by elements (12) and (14)) disposed on the cover (figs.3-4 and 6: (10)), wherein the protruding block is disposed on the intersection between the left-side paper feeding passage and the right-side paper feeding passage and extends towards the paper shredding passage (figs.2 and 6)).
Therefore, the modification of Seo in view of Zhong teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Seo discloses wherein the cover comprises a cover body (figs.2, 4 and 6: the top cover body of the element (10)), a mounting plate (figs.2, 4 and 6: (12) and (14)) connected to the cover body and a resilient member (figs.4 and 6: (13)) disposed between the cover body and the mounting plate, the protruding block is disposed on the mounting plate, and the resilient member is used for providing a resilient force to keep the mounting plate away from the cover body (paragraph 0061).
Therefore, the modification of Seo in view of Zhong teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725