DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on October 2, 2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 7 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “extraction device” in claim 1.
In light of the specification, the limitation “extraction device” has been interpreted as “a gas canister” as described in paragraph [00053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace (US 6,523,616 B1) in view of Machledt et al. (US 2005/0000175 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Wallace discloses a wildfire elimination system (10) removably connected to at least a portion of a building (2), the wildfire elimination system comprising: a fire deterrent dispenser device (62) to dispense at least one fire retardant therefrom to eliminate a fire (Fig. 1); a plurality of sensors (36) connected to the fire deterrent dispenser device to detect a presence of a fire within a predetermined distance at least one of the plurality of sensors and automatically control the fire deterrent dispenser device based on the presence of the fire (Fig. 4); a fire retardant storage container (74) connected to the fire deterrent dispenser device (62) to store the at least one fire retardant therein (Fig. 1); and an extraction device (76) connected to the fire retardant storage container (74) to extract the at least one fire retardant from the fire retardant storage container using at least one extraction tool (Col. 4 lines 59-67); a storage vault disposed within a ground surface to store the fire retardant storage container therein; and an extraction vault disposed within the ground surface to store the extraction device therein (Col. 4 lines 59-62 and Fig. 3), an extraction body (Fig. 3) disposed within the ground surface to store the extraction device therein (Fig. 3), and an extraction barrier (73).
However, Wallace does not disclose that the extraction barrier disposed outside the ground surface while being movably disposed on a top surface of the extraction body and configured to move from closed on the extraction body in a first position to at least partially opened away from the extraction body in a second position.
Machledt teaches a flush to grade extraction vault comprising an extraction barrier (30) disposed outside the ground surface (“the lid 30 is placed flush with the surface of the ground” see Par. [0040]) while being movably disposed on a top surface of the extraction body and configured to move from closed on the extraction body in a first position to at least partially opened away from the extraction body in a second position (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extraction vault, by replacing it with the extraction vault as taught by Machledt, for the benefit of providing a flush to grade utilities connections vault which may be easily accessed for making utilities connections in a convenient working environment (Par. [0012]).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Wallace as modified by Machledt discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Wallace further discloses that the plurality of sensors (36) detect at least one of a temperature level within the predetermined distance, smoke within the predetermined distance, and flame on the building (Col. 3 line 66 – Col. 4 line 3).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Wallace as modified by Machledt discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Wallace further discloses that the plurality of sensors (36) control the fire deterrent dispenser device based on at least one of a location of the fire, a proximity of the fire, and a severity of the fire (Col. 3 line 66 – Col. 4 line 3).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Wallace as modified by Machledt discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Wallace further discloses that the extraction device (76) uses at least one of a weighted block, a gas canister, and an air compressor to extract the at least one fire retardant from the fire retardant storage container (Col. 4 lines 59-67).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Wallace as modified by Machledt discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Wallace further discloses that the plurality of sensors (36) comprises: at least one exterior heat sensor removably connected to at least a portion of an exterior of the building and configured to detect another temperature level based on another predetermined temperature level that indicates a fire near the building is imminent (Col. 3 line 66 – Col. 4 line 3 and Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 6, the device of Wallace as modified by Machledt discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Wallace further discloses that a fire resistant pipe (Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of apertures (40/44), the fire resistant pipe disposed within at least a portion of the building to dispense the at least one fire retardant from the plurality of apertures in response to at least one of the plurality of sensors detecting the fire within the building (Col. 3 line 66 – Col. 4 line 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752