Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 12/10/2025 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Xian (CN 113110906 A; using US 20220319388 A1 as corresponding English translation) in view of MIZUNO (US 20200004319 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xian (e.g., Figs. 1-9) discloses a control method comprising: in response to an electronic device (display device 2) entering different target modes (e.g., Figs. 5-7; full-screen display mode and divided-screen display mode; [0221]-[0222]), controlling at least two processing units (Fig. 2; first processor 201 and second processor 202) of the electronic device to process display content for one or more display output areas (e.g., Figs. 5-7; display areas 501 and 502) based on control parameters corresponding to each target mode to obtain processing results (e.g., Figs. 5-8; control of display modes and corresponding display contents; [0221]-[0222], [0129]-[0134], and [0161]-[0170]) including: based on display configuration information of the electronic device and configuration information of the processing units, determining a processing unit for each display output area of the one or more display output areas to allow the processing unit to process a to-be-displayed content of the corresponding display output area (e.g., Figs. 5-7; full-screen display mode including one display area or divided-screen display mode including two display areas), the display configuration information including at least one of a size ratio relationship of the display output areas, resolutions, or types ([0221]-[0222], [0129]-[0134], and [0161]-[0170], [0174]-[0185]; size ratio of first and second display area, resolution, and data type), and the configuration information of the processing units representing processing capabilities of the processing units ([0028] and [0031]-[0032]; processors 201and 202 are different type processors); and outputting the processing results to the one or more display output areas (e.g., Figs. 5-8).
Xian does not expressly disclose determining the processing unit corresponding to each display output area based on a condition that the higher the display configuration information of the corresponding display output area, the higher the processing capability of the processing unit needed. However, Xian discloses the first display area configured to display a first data and the second display area configured to display a second data, the first data and the second data have different resolutions, data types, and data sizes ([0161]-[0170] and [0174]-[0185]). It is obvious to one skilled in the art that the first processor that controls the first display area and the second processor that controls the second display area have different processing capabilities. The examiner further cites MIZUNO as a reference. MIZUNO (Figs. 1-9) displays a display device that is operated in different display modes, comprising a first display area 400 with a high display performance (e.g., high-resolution and large data size) ([0030] and [0034] and claim 7) and a second display area 500 with a high display performance (e.g., low-resolution and small data size) ([0030] and [0034] and claim 7), the first processor 100 that controls the first display area 400 has a higher processing capability than the second processor 200 that controls the second display area 500 ([0030] and [0034] and abstract). Therefore, MIZUNO discloses the processing unit corresponding to each display output area based on a condition that the higher the display configuration information of the corresponding display output area, the higher the processing capability of the processing unit needed. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MIZUNO to the display device of Xian. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display device capable of displaying various types of data information.
Regarding claim 8, Xian in view of MIZUNO the method of claim 1, Xian (e.g., Figs. 1-9) discloses further comprising: in response to the electronic device being connected to a first processing unit, transferring a processing task of a second processing unit in the at least two processing units for content to be displayed in a target display output area to the first processing unit (Fig. 2 and [0092], [0100], [0103]; signal transfer between the first processor 201 and the second processor 202), types of the first processing unit and the second processing unit being different ([0028] and [0031]-[0032]; processors 201and 202 are different type processors).
5. Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Xian (CN 113110906 A; using US 20220319388 A1 as corresponding English translation) in view of MIZUNO (US 20200004319 A1) and further in view of Kim (US 20190147792 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Xian in view of MIZUNO discloses the method of claim 1, Xian (Figs. 1-9) discloses wherein controlling the at least two processing units to process the display content in response to the electronic device entering the different target modes includes at least one of:
in response to the electronic device entering a first target mode (e.g., Figs. 5-7; divided-screen display mode) with at least two display output areas (display areas 501 and 502), controlling the at least two processing units (processors 201 and 202) to process content, that is to be displayed in corresponding ones of the at least two display output areas (e.g., Figs. 5-8; display in divided-screen display mode; [0221]-[0222], [0129]-[0134], and [0161]-[0170]), so as to output the processing results to the at least two display output areas (display areas 501 and 502); or
in response to the electronic device entering a second target mode with only one display output area, controlling the at least two processing units to process content, that is to be displayed in the only one display output area, so as to output the processing results to the only one display output area using the corresponding drivers (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Xian discloses output the processing results to the at least two display output areas (display areas 501 and 502) using a corresponding driver (display driver 203), but does not expressly disclose using corresponding drivers. However, the claimed features are well known in display device. As a reference, Kim (e.g., Figs. 1, 3-4, and 6) discloses a display device and a driving method similar to that disclosed by Shen, comprising to output the processing results to the at least two display output areas (display areas 122 and 124) using corresponding drivers (data drivers 144 and 164). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Kim to the display device of Xian in view of MIZUNO so as to supply image data to different display areas.
Regarding claim 3, Xian in view of MIZUNO and further in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 2, Xian (e.g., Figs. 1-9) discloses wherein controlling the at least two processing units to process the content, that is to be displayed in the corresponding ones of the at least two display output areas, in response to the electronic device entering the first target mode with the at least two display output areas includes at least one of:
in response to a display screen of the electronic device entering a split-screen mode (e.g., Figs. 5-7; divided-screen display mode), controlling the at least two processing units (processors 201 and 202) to process content, that is to be displayed in at least two split-screen areas, at least based on split-screen information of the display screen (e.g., Figs. 5-8; display in divided-screen display mode; [0221]-[0222], [0129]-[0134], and [0161]-[0170]);
in response to both a first display screen and a second display screen entering a use mode, controlling the at least two processing units to process content, that is to be displayed in the first display screen and the second display screen, at least based on first display configuration information of the electronic device (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional); or
in response to the electronic device establishing a communication connection with a display device, controlling the at least two processing units to process content, that is to be displayed, of the electronic device and the display device at least based on second display configuration information of the electronic device and the display device (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 4, Xian in view of MIZUNO and further in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 3, Xian (e.g., Figs. 1-9) discloses wherein controlling the at least two processing units to process the content, that is to be displayed in the at least two split-screen areas, at least based on the split-screen information of the display screen includes at least one of:
for each of the at least two split-screen areas (display areas 501 and 502), determining a corresponding one of the at least two processing units based on the split-screen information, so as to use the determined processing unit to process the content, that is to be displayed in the split-screen area (processors 201 and 202 process display contents to be displayed in display areas 501 and 502, respectively; Figs. 5-8 and [0221]-[0222], [0129]-[0134], and [0161]-[0170]);
for each of the at least two split-screen areas, determining a corresponding one of the at least two processing units based on the split-screen information and configuration information of the at least two processing units, so as to use the determined processing unit to process the content, that is to be displayed in the split-screen area (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional); or
for each of the at least two split-screen areas, determining a corresponding one of the at least two processing units based on the split-screen information, the configuration information of the at least two processing units, and the content to be displayed in the split-screen area, so as to use the determined processing unit to process the corresponding content to be displayed (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 5, Xian in view of MIZUNO and further in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 4, Xian (e.g., Figs. 1-9) discloses the method further comprising at least one of:
for each of the at least two split-screen areas, obtaining display identification information of the split-screen area fed back from a display controller of the display screen, and adjusting display resolution of the content to be displayed corresponding to the split-screen area based on the display identification information (Figs. 5-8; adjusting display resolution in divided-screen display mode; [0167]-[0171, [0174]-[0184], and[0229]-[0232]]); or
after the display screen of the electronic device enters the split-screen mode (e.g., Figs. 5-7; divided-screen display mode), configuring relationship between the at least two split-screen areas, so as to at least realize data interaction between the at least two split-screen areas (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional; in addition, Kim (e.g., Figs. 1, 3-4, and 6) discloses the same features as claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Xian in view of MIZUNO and further in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 3, Xian (Figs. 1-9) discloses wherein controlling the at least two processing units to process the content, that is to be displayed in the first display screen and the second display screen, at least based on the first display configuration information of the electronic device includes at least one of:
for each of the first display screen and the second display screen, determining a corresponding one of the at least two processing units based on the first display configuration information (e.g., Figs. 5-8; first display configuration information; [0221]-[0222], [0129]-[0134], and [0161]-[0170]), so as to use the determined processing unit to process the content, that is to be displayed in the display screen (e.g., Figs. 5-8; first display configuration information; [0221]-[0222], [0129]-[0134], and [0161]-[0170]);
for each of the first display screen and the second display screen, determining a corresponding one of the at least two processing units based on the first display configuration information and configuration information of the at least two processing units, so as to use the determined processing unit to process the content, that is to be displayed in the display screen (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional); or
for each of the first display screen and the second display screen, determining a corresponding one of the at least two processing units based on the first display configuration information, the configuration information of the at least two processing units, and the content to be displayed in the first display screen and the second display screen, so as to use the determined processing unit to process the content, that is to be displayed in the display screen (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 7, Xian in view of MIZUNO and further in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 3, Xian (Figs. 1-9) discloses wherein controlling the at least two processing units to process the content, that is to be displayed, of the electronic device and the display device at least based on the second display configuration information of the electronic device and the display device includes at least one of:
in response to the display device being configured with a processing unit, controlling the at least two processing units to process the content, that is to be displayed, of the electronic device and controlling the processing unit configured at the display device to process the content, that is to be displayed of the display device, based on the second display configuration information (e.g., Figs. 5-8; second display configuration information; [0221]-[0222], [0129]-[0134], and [0161]-[0170]);
in response to the display device being configured with the processing unit, controlling at least one of the at least two processing units to process the content, that is to be displayed, of the electronic device and controlling at least one of remaining processing units in the at least two processing units and the processing unit configured at the display device to process the content, that is to be displayed, of the display device based on the second display configuration information (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional); and
in response to the display device being not configured with processing unit, controlling at least one of the at least two processing units to process the content, that is to be displayed, of the electronic device and controlling at least one of remaining processing units in the at least two processing units to process the content, that is to be displayed, of the display device based on the second display configuration information and processing capabilities of the at least two processing units (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding claim 1, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of MIZUNO (US 20200004319 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 9-16 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a display device and a display driving method. The closet prior arts, Xian (CN 113110906 A/US 20220319388 A1), Shen (CN 103067721 A), Kim (US 20190147792 A1), and MIZUNO (US 20200004319 A1) discloses a display device comprising: at least two processing units, wherein each of the at least two processing units having at least one display processing function to process display content to be displayed to be displayed in corresponding areas in one or more display output areas of the electronic device in response to the electronic device entering different target modes wherein the two processing units process display content based on control parameters corresponding to each target mode, wherein: the target modes include a first target mode and a second target mode; in response to the electronic device entering the first target mode with at least two display output areas in response to a trigger event, a processing unit corresponding to each of the at least two display output areas is determined from the at least two processing units; and a central processing unit configured to send display content for the one or more display output areas to the at least two processing units. However, the closet prior arts fail to teach a display controller configured to determine the at least two processing units; and receive processing results obtained by the at least two processing units processing the display content; and output the processing results to the one or more display output areas.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623