DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the rejection of claim 30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment does not distinguish from Sridhar.
Applicant’s arguments in light of the amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sridhar fails to teach M as amended. The examiner disagrees. Sridhar teaches that the base present in the reaction mixture includes DMAP ([0033]), i.e., dimethylaminopyridine, which anticipates a salt formation reaction between the COOH group and the base, i.e., dimethylaminopyridine, thus the presence of heteroaryl-substituted ammonium since a pyridine ring is heteroaromatic thus meets the term of an “aryl” group.
As such the rejection over Sridhar stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 18-21 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sridhar.
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, 20 and 21, Sridhar teaches a composition comprises a reaction product of polyisobutylene succinic anhydride (PIBSA)with hydroxyalkyl acrylate monomers such as hydroxyethyl methacrylate form a compound such as a compound of the formula ( [0049]):
Which has two ester groups and m+n is 1.
Sridhar teaches the reaction is carried out in the presence of a base including DMAP ( [0033]), i.e., dimethylaminopyridine, which anticipates the presence of -COO-N+H(CH3)2(C5H4N) due to the reaction of the DMAP base with acidic group COOH, i.e., a heteroaryl substituted ammonium , which meets the claimed aryl-substituted ammonium.
Sridhar teaches that the PIBSA has a molecular weight of less than 2300 exemplified as about 1000 ([0031] and [0081]), thus the polyisobutylene chain has a molecular mass of about 900 which corresponds to about 16 isobutylene units or 64 carbon number estimated by the examiner based on formula mass of about 56 of isobutylene and formula mass of 100 of succinic anhydride((1000-100)/56X4), which meets the claimed R1.
Sridhar further discloses that the reaction product can be cured through free radical cure mechanism ([0056]), and curing of the reaction product through free radical would result in a polymer of structure as evidenced by instant disclosure ([0036])
which contains multiester group, wherein the COOH is converted to an OM group, i.e., -COO-N+H(CH3)2(C5H4N) in the presence of DMAP ([0033]) as discussed above.
Additionally, Sridhar discloses a compound of the structure ([0041]):
which also anticipates the claimed compound of claims 1-3 and 7 since the compound is prepared in the presence of a base such as DMAP ([0031] and [0033]), thus the presence of - -COO-N+H(CH3)2(C5H4N) due to the reaction of DMAP base with acidic group - COOH.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Sridhar teaches that the compound has a molecular weight of 30,000 ([0029]), which meets the claimed range.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Sridhar teaches that the reaction mixture comprises toluene as solvent ([0031] and [0093]), and exemplified 600 mL toluene in a reaction mixture of about 1000 g, which is about 55% estimated by the Examiner based on a density of toluene of about 0.87g/mL, which meets the claimed amount.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-31 are allowed as directed to allowable species indicated in previous Office action.
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766