DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 06/08/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks/arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach on “determining, based on information included in the packet, a VNIC from the plurality of VNICs to be used for forwarding the packet, wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the set of one or more plurality of host machines” as recited in the independent claims. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. An updated search was conducted and a prior art was discovered to read on the amendment: US 2015/0178235 A1 (Kanigicherla)
Gao teaches on forwarding received packets ([0018]). However, Gao (as modified by Wang) is silent on receiving a packet from a host outside of the system and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines.
Kanigicherla teaches on receiving a packet from a host outside of the system, ([0054] Therefore, the control plane CPU may configure the programmable vNIC cluster 204 with different configurations to communicate with the hosts 104. [0055] the NISS 102 may also include an integrated enhanced L2 switch 208. The integrated enhanced L2 switch 208 may allow enhanced routing capabilities along with enhanced speed of communication.) The hosts are located outside of the packet processing system, see Fig 2a.
and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines. ([0077] FIG. 3(a) illustrates a method 300 for sharing NICs amongst a plurality of hosts. [0079] method 300, at block 302, a host to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) of a programmable vNIC cluster is identified. The host may be a host 104-1 from amongst the plurality of hosts 104 which are provided connectivity by NISS 102. Claim 1: 1. A Network Interface Sharing System (NISS) (102) to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) amongst a plurality of hosts 104.)
It would have been obvious to modify Gao (as modified by Wang) by modifying Gao per Kanigicherla as it would allow the combined system to provide proper packet processing and load balancing in multiple network architecture structure types which provides flexibility for implementation.
Please see rejection below in view of: US 2018/0349163 A1 (Gao) in view of US 2019/0179668 A1 (Wang) further in view of US 2015/0178235 A1 (Kanigicherla), regarding Claims 1, 4-7, 10, 13-16, 19. Further in view of US 2020/0314015 A1 (Mariappan), regarding Claims 2-3, 11-12, 20. Further in view of US 2019/0265996 A1 (Shevade), regarding Claims 8-9, 17-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10, 13-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0349163 A1 (Gao) in view of US 2019/0179668 A1 (Wang) further in view of US 2015/0178235 A1 (Kanigicherla).
Regarding Claim 1:
Gao teaches A method comprising: receiving, by a packet processing system (Fig 1, System 100) comprising a plurality of host machines and a plurality of virtual network interface cards (VNICs), a packet originating from a first compute instance (Fig 1, Host A VM-A) hosted on a first host machine (Fig 1, Host A), (Fig 1, Host-A, Host-B, Host-C. Sending packets from Host-A VM-A to Host-C VM-C. Also sending packets from Host A VM-A to Host B (VM-B and VM-Y). Each host has multiple VMs and multiple VNICs.)
selecting, by the packet processing system, a particular host machine from the plurality of host machines included in the packet processing system for processing the packet; (Fig 1, Host-A, Host-B, Host-C. Sending packets from Host-A VM-A to Host-C VM-C. Also sending packets from Host A VM-A to Host B (VM-B and VM-Y). Each host has multiple VMs and multiple VNICs. Fig 2, Host-B receives the packet.)
selecting, (ie. VTEP) for processing the packet; processing the packet by the particular worker thread (ie. VTEP), ([0023] In response to receiving the encapsulated packets (see 185 in FIG. 1), VTEP 117B is configured to decapsulate and retrieve information from the encapsulated packets. [0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240.)
wherein the processing comprises determining, based on information included in the packet, a VNIC from the plurality of VNICs to be used for forwarding the packet, ({options 326: [0045] option 326 in the GBM header of port mirroring packets 240 and port mirroring packets 410 may both be set to "1," indicating a single MAC address and a single monitoring VM to forward mirrored traffic to. [0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240, more specifically from port mirroring options B. Virtual switch 116B may access information retrieved from port mirroring options B. Based on the "1" specified in option 326 and the MAC address associated with VM-B 134, virtual switch 116B is configured to forward a single copy of mirrored packets 241 (i.e., 260) to VM-B 134.) Options 326 is set to “1” which indicates to VTEP 117B that only one VNIC (VNIC-B 154) in Host B receives the packet for the VM-B 134 (next-hop target).
and causing, by the packet processing system, the packet to be forwarded to the next-hop target. ([0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240, more specifically from port mirroring options B. Virtual switch 116B may access information retrieved from port mirroring options B. Based on the "1" specified in option 326 and the MAC address associated with VM-B 134, virtual switch 116B is configured to forward a single copy of mirrored packets 241 (i.e., 260) to VM-B 134. [0056] Fig 6, Forward generated copy to VNIC according to retrieved MAC address.)
Gao teaches on selecting a particular worker thread ([0023]). However, Gao is silent on selecting, from a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine, a particular worker thread for processing the packet;
Wang teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on techniques for distributing processing of routes among multiple execution threads of a network device, Abstract.
Wang also teaches selecting, from a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine (Fig 1, Network Device 12), a particular worker thread for processing the packet; processing the packet by the particular worker thread. ([0010] identify, with a thread of the plurality of execution threads, a first route processing thread of the execution threads to process a first route of a routing protocol. [0052] Main thread 28 may manage reordering the routes received in order from the multiple route processing threads 26.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao per Wang to include a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide load balancing and scalability for a virtual environment implemented by a host machine by implementing multiple choices of worker threads for routing.
Gao teaches on forwarding received packets ([0018]). However, Gao (as modified by Wang) is silent on receiving a packet from a host outside of the system and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines.
Kanigicherla teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on methods to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) amongst a plurality of hosts, Abstract.
Kanigicherla teaches on receiving a packet from a host outside of the system, ([0054] Therefore, the control plane CPU may configure the programmable vNIC cluster 204 with different configurations to communicate with the hosts 104. [0055] the NISS 102 may also include an integrated enhanced L2 switch 208. The integrated enhanced L2 switch 208 may allow enhanced routing capabilities along with enhanced speed of communication.) The hosts are located outside of the packet processing system, see Fig 2a.
and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines. ([0077] FIG. 3(a) illustrates a method 300 for sharing NICs amongst a plurality of hosts. [0079] method 300, at block 302, a host to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) of a programmable vNIC cluster is identified. The host may be a host 104-1 from amongst the plurality of hosts 104 which are provided connectivity by NISS 102. Claim 1: 1. A Network Interface Sharing System (NISS) (102) to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) amongst a plurality of hosts 104.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao (as modified by Wang) by modifying Gao per Kanigicherla to include receiving a packet from a host outside of the system and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide proper packet processing and load balancing in multiple network architecture structure types which provides flexibility for implementation.
Regarding Claim 10:
Gao teaches A packet processing system, comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions which, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations ([0057] The computer system may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions or program code that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform processes described herein with reference to FIG. 1) including:
receiving, by the packet processing system comprising a plurality of host machines and a plurality of virtual network interface cards (VNICs), a packet originating from a first compute instance (Fig 1, Host A VM-A) hosted on a first host machine (Fig 1, Host A), (Fig 1, Host-A, Host-B, Host-C. Sending packets from Host-A VM-A to Host-C VM-C. Also sending packets from Host A VM-A to Host B (VM-B and VM-Y). Each host has multiple VMs and multiple VNICs.)
selecting a particular host machine from the plurality of host machines included in the packet processing system for processing the packet; (Fig 1, Host-A, Host-B, Host-C. Sending packets from Host-A VM-A to Host-C VM-C. Also sending packets from Host A VM-A to Host B (VM-B and VM-Y). Each host has multiple VMs and multiple VNICs. Fig 2, Host-B receives the packet.)
selecting, (ie. VTEP) for processing the packet; ([0023] In response to receiving the encapsulated packets (see 185 in FIG. 1), VTEP 117B is configured to decapsulate and retrieve information from the encapsulated packets. [0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240.)
processing the packet by the particular worker thread (ie. VTEP), wherein the processing comprises determining, based on information included in the packet, a VNIC from the plurality of VNICs to be used for forwarding the packet, (Fig 1, each host machine comprises multiple VNICs), and determining a next-hop target to which the packet is to be forwarded using the VNIC and destination information included in the packet; ({options 326: [0045] option 326 in the GBM header of port mirroring packets 240 and port mirroring packets 410 may both be set to "1," indicating a single MAC address and a single monitoring VM to forward mirrored traffic to. [0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240, more specifically from port mirroring options B. Virtual switch 116B may access information retrieved from port mirroring options B. Based on the "1" specified in option 326 and the MAC address associated with VM-B 134, virtual switch 116B is configured to forward a single copy of mirrored packets 241 (i.e., 260) to VM-B 134.) Options 326 is set to “1” which indicates to VTEP 117B that only one VNIC (VNIC-B 154) in Host B receives the packet for the VM-B 134 (next-hop target).
and causing the packet to be forwarded to the next-hop target. ([0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240, more specifically from port mirroring options B. Virtual switch 116B may access information retrieved from port mirroring options B. Based on the "1" specified in option 326 and the MAC address associated with VM-B 134, virtual switch 116B is configured to forward a single copy of mirrored packets 241 (i.e., 260) to VM-B 134. [0056] Fig 6, Forward generated copy to VNIC according to retrieved MAC address.)
Gao teaches on selecting a particular worker thread ([0023]). However, Gao is silent on selecting, from a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine, a particular worker thread for processing the packet;
Wang teaches selecting, from a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine (Fig 1, Network Device 12), a particular worker thread for processing the packet; processing the packet by the particular worker thread. ([0010] identify, with a thread of the plurality of execution threads, a first route processing thread of the execution threads to process a first route of a routing protocol. [0052] Main thread 28 may manage reordering the routes received in order from the multiple route processing threads 26.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao per Wang to include a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide load balancing and scalability for a virtual environment implemented by a host machine by implementing multiple choices of worker threads for routing.
Gao teaches on forwarding received packets ([0018]). However, Gao (as modified by Wang) is silent on receiving a packet from a host outside of the system and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines.
Kanigicherla teaches on receiving a packet from a host outside of the system, ([0054] Therefore, the control plane CPU may configure the programmable vNIC cluster 204 with different configurations to communicate with the hosts 104. [0055] the NISS 102 may also include an integrated enhanced L2 switch 208. The integrated enhanced L2 switch 208 may allow enhanced routing capabilities along with enhanced speed of communication.) The hosts are located outside of the packet processing system, see Fig 2a.
and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines. ([0077] FIG. 3(a) illustrates a method 300 for sharing NICs amongst a plurality of hosts. [0079] method 300, at block 302, a host to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) of a programmable vNIC cluster is identified. The host may be a host 104-1 from amongst the plurality of hosts 104 which are provided connectivity by NISS 102. Claim 1: 1. A Network Interface Sharing System (NISS) (102) to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) amongst a plurality of hosts 104.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao (as modified by Wang) by modifying Gao per Kanigicherla to include receiving a packet from a host outside of the system and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide proper packet processing and load balancing in multiple network architecture structure types which provides flexibility for implementation.
Regarding Claim 19:
Gao teaches One or more computer readable non-transitory media storing computer- executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, ([0057] The computer system may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions or program code that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform processes described herein with reference to FIG. 1) cause:
receiving, by a packet processing system comprising a plurality of host machines and a plurality of virtual network interface cards (VNICs), a packet originating from a first compute instance (Fig 1, Host A VM-A) hosted on a first host machine (Fig 1, Host A), (Fig 1, Host-A, Host-B, Host-C. Sending packets from Host-A VM-A to Host-C VM-C. Also sending packets from Host A VM-A to Host B (VM-B and VM-Y). Each host has multiple VMs and multiple VNICs.)
selecting, by the packet processing system, a particular host machine from the plurality of host machines included in the packet processing system for processing the packet; (Fig 1, Host-A, Host-B, Host-C. Sending packets from Host-A VM-A to Host-C VM-C. Also sending packets from Host A VM-A to Host B (VM-B and VM-Y). Each host has multiple VMs and multiple VNICs. Fig 2, Host-B receives the packet.)
selecting, (ie. VTEP) for processing the packet; ([0023] In response to receiving the encapsulated packets (see 185 in FIG. 1), VTEP 117B is configured to decapsulate and retrieve information from the encapsulated packets. [0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240.)
processing the packet by the particular worker thread (ie. VTEP), wherein the processing comprises determining, based on information included in the packet, a VNIC from the plurality of VNICs to be used for forwarding the packet, ({options 326: [0045] option 326 in the GBM header of port mirroring packets 240 and port mirroring packets 410 may both be set to "1," indicating a single MAC address and a single monitoring VM to forward mirrored traffic to. [0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240, more specifically from port mirroring options B. Virtual switch 116B may access information retrieved from port mirroring options B. Based on the "1" specified in option 326 and the MAC address associated with VM-B 134, virtual switch 116B is configured to forward a single copy of mirrored packets 241 (i.e., 260) to VM-B 134.) Options 326 is set to “1” which indicates to VTEP 117B that only one VNIC (VNIC-B 154) in Host B receives the packet for the VM-B 134 (next-hop target).
and causing, by the packet processing system, the packet to be forwarded to the next-hop target. ([0046] At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from port mirroring packets 240, more specifically from port mirroring options B. Virtual switch 116B may access information retrieved from port mirroring options B. Based on the "1" specified in option 326 and the MAC address associated with VM-B 134, virtual switch 116B is configured to forward a single copy of mirrored packets 241 (i.e., 260) to VM-B 134. [0056] Fig 6, Forward generated copy to VNIC according to retrieved MAC address.)
Gao teaches on selecting a particular worker thread ([0023]). However, Gao is silent on selecting, from a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine, a particular worker thread for processing the packet;
Wang teaches selecting, from a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine (Fig 1, Network Device 12), a particular worker thread for processing the packet; processing the packet by the particular worker thread. ([0010] identify, with a thread of the plurality of execution threads, a first route processing thread of the execution threads to process a first route of a routing protocol. [0052] Main thread 28 may manage reordering the routes received in order from the multiple route processing threads 26.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao per Wang to include a plurality of worker threads on the particular host machine. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide load balancing and scalability for a virtual environment implemented by a host machine by implementing multiple choices of worker threads for routing.
Gao teaches on forwarding received packets ([0018]). However, Gao (as modified by Wang) is silent on receiving a packet from a host outside of the system and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines.
Kanigicherla teaches on receiving a packet from a host outside of the system, ([0054] Therefore, the control plane CPU may configure the programmable vNIC cluster 204 with different configurations to communicate with the hosts 104. [0055] the NISS 102 may also include an integrated enhanced L2 switch 208. The integrated enhanced L2 switch 208 may allow enhanced routing capabilities along with enhanced speed of communication.) The hosts are located outside of the packet processing system, see Fig 2a.
and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines. ([0077] FIG. 3(a) illustrates a method 300 for sharing NICs amongst a plurality of hosts. [0079] method 300, at block 302, a host to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) of a programmable vNIC cluster is identified. The host may be a host 104-1 from amongst the plurality of hosts 104 which are provided connectivity by NISS 102. Claim 1: 1. A Network Interface Sharing System (NISS) (102) to share a plurality of virtual network interface controllers (vNICs) amongst a plurality of hosts 104.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao (as modified by Wang) by modifying Gao per Kanigicherla to include receiving a packet from a host outside of the system and wherein the plurality of VNICs is shared by the plurality of host machines. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide proper packet processing and load balancing in multiple network architecture structure types which provides flexibility for implementation.
Regarding Claims 4, 13:
Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) teaches the inventions of Claims 1, 10 as described.
Gao teaches wherein the next-hop target is one of a virtual router, a service gateway, a dynamic routing gateway, an Internet gateway, and a network address translation gateway. ([0017] Physical network 102 may include any suitable number of interconnected network devices, such as layer-3 routers, layer-2 switches, gateway devices. Includes Internet Protocol layer.)
Regarding Claims 5, 14:
Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) teaches the inventions of Claims 1, 10 as described.
Gao teaches wherein one or more virtual IP addresses (ie. IP addresses of the VNICs) are allocated for the VNIC and each of the one or more virtual IP address is associated with a forwarding rule (ie. Geneve tunnel 203). ([0039] To obtain the IP address of VTEP 117B associated with host-B 110B, where VNIC-Y 153 and VNIC-B 154 reside, virtual switch 116A may broadcast a message to all hosts in virtualized computing environment 100 to request for the IP address of the VTEP associated with the host that supports VNIC-Y 153 and VNIC-B 154. In some embodiments, the Address Resolution Protocol (ARP) is utilized. When host-B 110B supporting VNIC-Y 153 and VNIC-B 154 receives the broadcasted request, host-B 110B may send an IP address associated with host-B 110B (e.g., IP address of VTEP 117B) to virtual switch 116A at host-A 110A. With the IP address of VTEP 117B, VTEP 117 A and VTEP 117B may establish the Geneve tunnel 203 between them.)
Regarding Claims 6, 15:
Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) teaches the inventions of Claims 1, 10 as described.
Gao teaches wherein the VNIC from the plurality of VNICs to be used for forwarding the packet is determined using a source information of the packet. ([0052) At 550 in FIG. 5, virtual switch 116A is configured to transmit the port mirroring packets from the source host (e.g., host-A 110A) to one or more destination host (e.g., host-B 110B and/or host-D 110D) in a port mirroring session. In some embodiments, the port mirroring packets may be transmitted along a tunnel between a source VTEP (e.g., VTEP 117A) on the source host and one or more destination VTEPs ( e.g., VTEP 117B and/or VTEP 117D) on the destination hosts.)
Regarding Claims 7, 16:
Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) teaches the inventions of Claims 1, 10 as described.
Gao teaches wherein the next-hop target to which the packet is to be forwarded is determined using metadata associated with the VNIC, wherein metadata includes information identifying one or more forwarding rules of the VNIC or security and firewall rules of the VNIC. ([0018] Each virtual switch 116A/116B/116C may generally correspond to a logical collection of virtual ports that are each logically associated with a VNIC. For example in FIG. 1, at host-A 110A, virtual switch 116A is a logical collection of virtual ports VP-A 161 and VP-X 162, which are associated with VNIC-A 151 and VNIC-X 152, respectively. Each virtual switch 116A/116B/116C maintains forwarding information to forward packets to and from the corresponding VNICs.)
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0349163 A1 (Gao) in view of US 2019/0179668 A1 (Wang) further in view of US 2015/0178235 A1 (Kanigicherla) more in view of US 2020/0314015 A1 (Mariappan).
Regarding Claims 2, 11, 20:
Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) teaches the inventions of Claims 1, 10, 19 as described.
Gao teaches routing devices ([0017]). However, Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) is silent on wherein the packet originating from the first compute instance is received by a top-of-rack (TOR) switch included in the packet processing system.
Mariappan teaches, in the same field of endeavor, techniques for specifying a backend virtual network for a service load balancer, Abstract.
Mariappan also teaches wherein the packet originating from the first compute instance is received by a top-of-rack (TOR) switch included in the packet processing system. ([0036] Data center 10 includes storage and/or compute servers interconnected via switch fabric 14 provided by one or more tiers of physical network switches and routers, with servers 12A-12X (herein, "servers 12") depicted as coupled to top-of-rack switches 16A-16N.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) by modifying Gao per Mariappan to include wherein the packet originating from the first compute instance is received by a top-of-rack (TOR) switch included in the packet processing system. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide proper packet processing and load balancing utilizing multiple network device types which provides flexibility for implementation.
Regarding Claims 3, 12:
Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) teaches the inventions of Claims 1, 10 as described.
Gao teaches multiple host machines and routing packets between them ([0017][0018]). However, Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) is silent on wherein the particular host machine from the plurality of host machines is selected by a top-of-rack (TOR) switch included in the packet processing system based on an equal cost multipath algorithm.
Mariappan teaches wherein the particular host machine from the plurality of host machines is selected by a top-of-rack (TOR) switch included in the packet processing system based on an equal cost multipath algorithm. ([0087] Network controller 24 configures the load balancer 31 to use virtual network interface 26N that corresponds to the specified backend virtual network, e.g., as a next hop for service traffic 32. (The next hop may be an equal-cost multipath next hop or other composite next hop.))
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) by modifying Gao per Mariappan to include wherein the particular host machine from the plurality of host machines is selected by a top-of-rack (TOR) switch included in the packet processing system based on an equal cost multipath algorithm. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide targeted load balancing by utilizing multiple algorithms to provide optimization of routing in a multiple device type and network structure environment.
Claim(s) 8-9, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0349163 A1 (Gao) in view of US 2019/0179668 A1 (Wang) further in view of US 2015/0178235 A1 (Kanigicherla) more in view of US 2019/0265996 A1 (Shevade).
Regarding Claims 8, 17:
Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) teaches the inventions of Claims 1, 10 as described.
Gao teaches wherein the packet processing system receives the packet from a network virtualization device (NVD) (ie. virtual switch 116A) associated with the first host machine, the NVD including a ([0039] To obtain the IP address of VTEP 117B associated with host-B 110B, where VNIC-Y 153 and VNIC-B 154 reside, virtual switch 116A may broadcast a message to all hosts in virtualized computing environment 100 to request for the IP address of the VTEP associated with the host that supports VNIC-Y 153 and VNIC-B 154. In some embodiments, the Address Resolution Protocol (ARP) is utilized. When host-B 110B supporting VNIC-Y 153 and VNIC-B 154 receives the broadcasted request, host-B 110B may send an IP address associated with host-B 110B (e.g., IP address of VTEP 117B) to virtual switch 116A at host-A 110A. With the IP address of VTEP 117B, VTEP 117 A and VTEP 117B may establish the Geneve tunnel 203 between them.)
Gao teaches on multiple VNICs and microprocessors ([0016][0060]). However, Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) is silent on wherein the packet processing system receives the packet from a network virtualization device (NVD) associated with the first host machine, the NVD including a micro-VNIC that is configured to route the packet to the packet processing system.
Shevade teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on various embodiments of methods and apparatus for enhancing the scalability and availability of a virtualized computing service (VCS) using a control plane, Abstract.
Shevade also teaches wherein the packet processing system receives the packet from a network virtualization device (NVD) associated with the first host machine, the NVD including a micro-VNIC that is configured to route the packet to the packet processing system. ([0035] The data plane 150 may comprise several types of virtualization hosts 155 in the depicted embodiment, individuals one of which may be used to host one or more VMs requested by VCS clients 180. [0056] For some micro-VMs (such as 540A), respective virtual network interfaces may be set up at the VCS, e.g., with the help of the OVMC 570.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) by modifying Gao per Shevade to include wherein the packet processing system receives the packet from a network virtualization device (NVD) associated with the first host machine, the NVD including a micro-VNIC that is configured to route the packet to the packet processing system. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide shorter response time for fulfilling certain types of VM configuration requests, see Shevade [0037].
Regarding Claims 9, 18:
Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla & Shevade) teaches the inventions of Claims 8, 17 as described.
Gao teaches wherein the ([0018] Each virtual switch 116A/116B/116C maintains forwarding information to forward packets to and from the corresponding VNICs. [0039][0040] With the IP address of VTEP 117B, VTEP 117 A and VTEP 117B may establish the Geneve tunnel 203 between them. VTEP 117 A then sends port mirroring packets 240 to host-B 110B via tunnel 203. At host-B 110B, VTEP 117B decapsulates and retrieves information from packets 240.)
Gao teaches on multiple VNICs and microprocessors ([0016][0060]). However, Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) is silent on wherein the micro-VNIC directs the packet to a virtual internet protocol address of the VNIC.
Shevade teaches wherein the micro-VNIC directs the packet to a virtual internet protocol address of the VNIC. ([0038] A particular cell may, for example, be selected based on a mapping from a networking-related property of the requested VM (e.g., a subnet within which the VM is to be included, and IP address of the VM. [0056] For some micro-VMs (such as 540A), respective virtual network interfaces may be set up at the VCS, e.g., with the help of the OVMC 570.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gao (as modified by Wang & Kanigicherla) by modifying Gao per Shevade to include wherein the micro-VNIC directs the packet to a virtual internet protocol address of the VNIC. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide shorter response time for fulfilling certain types of VM configuration requests, see Shevade [0037].
Conclusion & Contact Information
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454