DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “V-shaped guide surface” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Novack et al. (US 2020/0110223 A1, herein “Novack”).
Regarding claim 1, Novack discloses a method to secure an optical fiber with a minimum bend radius (extension 11 includes a radius of curvature that minimizes too tight of a bend that might reduce confinement of the light in the fiber [Para {0021}]) coupled to an opto-electronic module (PIC 2) having a bottom surface, the method comprising:
providing an optical fiber winding tray (at reference numeral ‘10’) to receive the optical fiber (Figs. 6-7, Para [0021]), the optical fiber winding tray (10) having a footprint smaller than the module bottom surface (footprint of the winding tray is the width or diameter at ‘7’ is smaller than module (2) bottom surface);
coupling a guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) to the opto-electronic module (PIC 2) and the optical fiber winding tray (10), the guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) extending from the module bottom surface and receiving the optical fiber thereon (via guide tracks 12), wherein the guide provides an optical fiber bending radius curvature greater than the minimum bend radius (the bend radius larger than the bend radius when light escapes confinement within the fiber); and rotating the optical fiber winding tray (10) to spool (spool 8) the optical fiber on the guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) onto the optical fiber winding tray (see also claim 6).
Claim 2. Novack discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the tray (10), comprises a spool (8) and the fiber is wound around a cylindrical hub core (opening 9 extending through the spool 8, Para [0020]).
Claim 4. Novack discloses the method of claim 1, and Novack discloses the method further comprising providing a predetermined bend radius for the optical fiber prior to mounting on the winding tray (via tracks 12).
Claim 5. Novack discloses the method of claim 1, and Novack discloses the method further comprising threading the optical fiber on an angled guide surface (tracks 12 are provided at an angle).
Regarding claim 10, Novack discloses a method to secure an optical fiber coupled to a an opto-electronic module (PIC 2) having a module bottom surface (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
providing an optical fiber winding tray (10) to receive the optical fiber (not shown), the optical fiber winding tray (10) having a tray bottom surface (the surface adjacent to the PIC 2);
coupling a guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) to the opto-electronic (PIC 2) and the optical fiber winding tray (10), the guide including a track (tracks 12) to thread the optical fiber from the opto-electronic module (PIC 2) to the optical fiber winding tray (10), wherein the guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) comprises a guide bottom surface tangent to the module bottom surface and a guide top surface tangent to the tray bottom surface; and
rotating the optical fiber winding tray to spool (8) the optical fiber onto the optical fiber winding tray (10). See replication Fig. 1 above and claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, Novack discloses a device (fiber holder device 1) comprising:
an opto-electronic module (PIC 2) including an optical fiber (not shown) and a module bottom surface (see bottom surface of PIC 2 and bottom surface of feedthrough 4 are adjacent);
an optical fiber winding tray (10) to receive the optical fiber, the optical fiber winding tray having a tray bottom surface (Fig. 1); and
a guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) coupled to the opto-electronic module (2) and the optical fiber winding tray (10), the guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) including a track (12) to thread the optical fiber from the opto-electronic module to the optical fiber winding tray (10), wherein the guide extends from the opto-electronic module (2) bottom surface toward the optical fiber winding tray (Fig. 6 and the adjacent surfaces of 4 and 2) to provide an optical fiber bending curvature greater than the minimum bend radius (Fig. 6, tracks 12, Para [0021]).
Claim 15. Novack discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the tray is rotated to wound the fibers on the tray (Claim 6, Para [0021]).
Claim 16. Novack discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the tray comprises a spool (8) and the fiber is would around a cylindrical hub core (opening 9 shows the interior of the spool is hollow).
Claim 17. Novack discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) extends from the opto-electronic module and provide a predetermined bend radius for the optical fiber (Para [0021]).
Claim 18. Novack discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) comprises an angled guide surface at the tracks (12).
Claim 20. Novack discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the guide (extension 11 and feedthrough 4) bottom surface tangent to the module bottom surface and a guide top surface tangent to the tray bottom surface (tracks 12 is vertically tangent to fiber winding tray 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novack.
Novack discloses the method of claim 1, but Novack is silent to the guide provides a fiber bending curvature larger than about five millimeters. Novack discloses the general condition of providing a radius of curvature that enables the fibers to wind onto the spool without undergoing too tight of a bend that might reduce confinement of light in the fiber (Para [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the bend curvature to the type of fibers employed by the optical module (e.g., polyimide fiber, glass fiber, multimode fiber etc.) which would have different minimum bending radius, to reduce attenuation due to loss of signal confinement, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novack in view of Claessens et al (US 10,663,684 B2, herein “Claessens”).
Novack discloses the invention of claim 1 and claim 11, but Novack does not disclose providing guide rails on either side of the guide.
Claessens teaches an optical network cabinet having splitter module (32 or 200) for directing and guiding optical fibers. The embodiment of the splitter module (200) in Fig. 39 teaches fiber storage slots (220). The storage slots have fiber guiding rails (232) and sidewalls (228) for maintain the fiber(s) within the routing sections and preventing the fiber(s) from crossing over to other channels or routes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate guide rails on either side of the guide in the fiber holder assigned to Novack for directing and routing fiber(s) into predetermined direction and destination. One would be motivated to provide guide rails to direct and maintain fiber routing and prevent the fibers from crossing-over one another.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novack in view of Yu et al. (US 2021/0333489 A1, herein “Yu”).
Regarding claim 7, Novack discloses the invention of claim 1, however, Novack does not disclose threading the optical fiber on a V-shaped guide surface.
Yu teaches a fiber array for vertical coupling including optical fiber 1, an L-shaped plate (2), a U-shaped cover plate (3), and a V-shaped plate (4) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize V-shaped grooves can be molded or etched onto the guide surface in Novack’s guide surface. One motivation for providing V-shaped grooves is to provide high precision alignment for the optical fibers.
Regarding claim 12, Novack discloses the invention of claim 11, however, Novack does not disclose the guide comprises a V-shaped guide surface.
Yu teaches a fiber array for vertical coupling including optical fiber 1, an L-shaped plate (2), a U-shaped cover plate (3), and a V-shaped plate (4) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize V-shaped grooves can be molded or etched onto the guide surface in Novack’s guide surface. One motivation for providing V-shaped grooves is to provide high precision alignment for the optical fibers.
Claims 8-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novack in view of Pommer et al. (US 6,910,812 B2, herein “Pommer”).
Regarding claims 8-9, Novack discloses the invention of claim 1, but Novack is silent to the method comprising communicating light from a waveguide and a solid-state laser.
Pommer teaches a small-scale optoelectronic package wherein an MT connector with optical fibers precisely positions in a V-groove substrate for connecting to VCSEL chip 19, solid state laser (Figs. 12A-12E and coupled state shown in Fig. 17). Moreover, the “fiber” employed in the embodiments can be any light transmitting fiber, such as standard glass optical fibers, plastic optical fibers, or bundled arrays of fibers, or may comprise a waveguide such as a molded plastic or glass waveguide (Col. 21, lines 20-27). Pommer also teaches the package includes a heat sink (101) mounted to the back surface of the printed circuit board (35 in Fig. 6E.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the small-scale optoelectronic package coupling of optical fibers to VSCEL chip can be adopted in Novack’s invention since a PIC can be modified to have integrated semiconductor lasers manufactured within the substrate. One motivation for coupling the communicating light from a waveguide and a solid-state laser allows for optoelectronic devices to interconnect with networks used in high speed telecommunications (Pommers: Col. 1, lines 33-58). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to remove heat from the module from the back surface of the printed circuit board. Pommer does not explicitly teach the heat is removed from the “bottom surface”, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would recognize reorienting the device such that the back side of the circuit board would be the bottom surface would be within the skill of a practitioner in the art of optoelectronic packaging.
Regarding claims 13-14, Novack discloses the invention of claim 11, but Novack is silent to the opto-electronic module comprises a waveguide and a solid-state laser.
Pommer teaches a small-scale optoelectronic package wherein an MT connector with optical fibers precisely positions in a V-groove substrate for connecting to VCSEL chip 19, solid state laser (Figs. 12A-12E and coupled state shown in Fig. 17). Moreover, the “fiber” employed in the embodiments can be any light transmitting fiber, such as standard glass optical fibers, plastic optical fibers, or bundled arrays of fibers, or may comprise a waveguide such as a molded plastic or glass waveguide (Col. 21, lines 20-27). Pommer also teaches the package includes a heat sink (101) mounted to the back surface of the printed circuit board (35 in Fig. 6E.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the small-scale optoelectronic package coupling of optical fibers to VSCEL chip can be adopted in Novack’s invention since a PIC can be modified to have integrated semiconductor lasers manufactured within the substrate. One motivation for coupling the communicating light from a waveguide and a solid-state laser allows for optoelectronic devices to interconnect with networks used in high speed telecommunications (Pommers: Col. 1, lines 33-58). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to remove heat from the module from the back surface of the printed circuit board. Pommer does not explicitly teach the heat is removed from the “bottom surface”, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would recognize reorienting the device such that the back side of the circuit board would be the bottom surface would be within the skill of a practitioner in the art of optoelectronic packaging.
Conclusion
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874