DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a deflection unit" in claims 1 and 9.
The "deflection unit" is sufficiently described in the specification as a surface with/without grooved channels (see paragraphs 20, 74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelnutt et al. (US 2014/0218861 A1) and in view of Moon (US 2022/0248564 A1) and further in view of Delia (US 2012/0186790 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 3, Shelnutt discloses a fluid leakage deflection arrangement (immersion tank 400 with liquid return/deflection system 440, see figs. 4-5, 8; and paragraphs 71-72) for a liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (racks of solid state (SSD), hard disk (HDD) drives 125, 410, 510 and servers 200, 300, see figs. 4-5, which are cooled by liquid 412, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 66-67), comprising:
an immersion case (immersion cooling tanks, figs. 4-5) containing a first cooling liquid (cooling liquid, figs. 4-5) in which an electronic device (servers 200, 300) of the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly is at least partially submerged therein (servers 200, 300 partially submerged in cooling liquid, see figs. 4-5), the electronic device comprising electronic components (SSD, HDD 125, see figs. 4-5);
a liquid cooling block (cooling system 460, 860, see figs. 4-5 and 8, through which cooling liquid flows, see paragraph 71) mounted above/on the electronic device (460, 860 mounted above 200, 300, SSD and HDD, see figs. 4-5 and 8; wherein the cooling system is capable of being mounted on the electronic devices) and in direct thermal contact with the electronic components (heat transferred from servers and drives to the cooling fluid in cooling system 460 and 860, see paragraphs 71 and 126-130, where the rising vapor from the server and HDDs come in contact with cooling block tubes 460, see paragraphs 70-71) and incorporating an internal conduit (pipes 467 and 867s, see figs. 4-5 and 8) to accommodate the circulation of a channelized cooling liquid (cooling fluid in pipes 467, 867) to absorb and extract thermal energy from the electronic components (cooling fluid in pipes 467, 867 absorbs heat energy, see paragraphs 71, 86, 91-92 and 140); and
a deflection unit (deflection surface 440 and collection system 545, see figs. 4-5) fixedly attached to the immersion case assembly (see figs. 4-5), configured to shield the electronic device from being in contact with leaking channelized cooling liquid by diverting channelized cooling liquid leaking from the cooling block away from the electronic components (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5; since the deflection unit 440, 545 are directly below the cooling bock 460, the deflection unit 440, 545 are fully capable of diverting all fluid including the leaking fluid away from the electronic components, see paragraphs 71-72). In addition, the deflection unit includes an overhanging structure (see below annotated fig. 5).
However, Shelnutt does not explicitly teach that the cooling block is placed at the electronic device.
Moon teaches an immersion tank system (100) including a first coolant liquid (30) in which an electronic device (electronic device 10 with PCB circuit board 89 and electronic components 86, 88) is at least partially submerge in the cooling liquid (see 10 and 89 submerged in coolant 30, fig. 7B); a liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20 with channels 40) having at least one flat surface (see flat cooling plates 20, figs. 4 and 7) and mounted on the electronic device (20 assembled with and in contact with circuit board PCB 89, see fig. 7B and paragraphs 44-46; wherein the liquid cooling plates 20 are capable of being fixedly mounted/attached on the electronic devices 10/89) such that it is in direct thermal contact with the electronics components (cooling plates 20 with channels 40 in direct thermal contact with PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88 via low temperature coolant 35, see figs. 7 and paragraphs 44-46), the liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20 with channels 40) incorporating an internal conduit to accommodate the circulating of a channelized cooling liquid (coolant 35 passing through passages 40, 40a, 40b, see figs. 7 and paragraph 45) configured to cool the electronic components by directly extracting thermal energy therefrom (cooling PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88 by heat transfer to cooling pates 20, see paragraphs 44-46 and fig. 7); and wherein electronic components (86) of the electronic device (89) within the electronic device (10) are immersed in the first liquid coolant (see paragraph 46 and figs. 7). In addition, Moon discloses that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly of Shelnutt by providing an assembly of a flat-surfaced liquid cooling block and an electronic device such that the liquid cooling block is in direct thermal contact with the electronics components of the electronic device to allow the channelized cooling liquid, circulating through the liquid cooling block, to cool the electronic components by directly extracting thermal energy based on the teachings of Moon, where the immersion case of Shelnutt receives the assembly of Moon such that at least one of the electronic device is submerged in the first cooling liquid in order to improve heat transfer between the channelized cooling liquid and the electronic device because physical contact between liquid cooling block and the electronic devices or their respective surfaces improves thermal heat transfer due to both conduction and convection heat transfer.
Shelnutt also does not explicitly teach that the deflection structure attaches to the liquid pipes/block.
However, Delia teaches electronic equipment enclosure (526) with cooling heat exchanger (500), and fluid shield tray (400, 200) coupled to the supply and return pipes (122, 124) of the cooling heat exchanger (see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 27-28), wherein, the fluid shield tray (400, 200) directs leaked fluid to the bottom of the enclosure (see paragraphs 26-27). In addition, Delia teaches that the fluid shield (200) is fixed to the barrier (204) and overhangs from the barrier (see fig. 2); and the shield (200) guides the leaked fluid into drain channel (206, see paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Shelnutt as modified by providing the deflection unit structure that is fixedly attached to the liquid cooling block of the electronic device of the assembly of Shelnutt based on the teachings of Delia for the advantage of protecting the electronic devices from receiving leaking channelized liquid from above racks by directly attaching the deflection unit to the source of fluid flow at the cooling heat exchanger or liquid cooling block and to prevent shutting down the electronic computing devices for maintenance due leaking channelized liquid.
In regards to claim 2, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that a rack system comprising a plurality of fluid leakage deflection arrangements (plurality of rack systems with cooling and immersion tanks, see fig. 8 and paragraphs 65-67). Shelnutt does not explicitly teach bottom and top rows of immersion cases disposed on top of one another, and the deflection unit comprising an overhanging structure fixedly attached to an upper portion of the electronic device to deflect leaking liquid emanating from the immersion cases of the top row.
However, Moon teaches that the rack system (racks 200 with immersion system 100) being arranged so as to respectively accommodate bottom and top rows of immersion cases (stacked bottom and top row immersion cases 100 within rack 200, see fig. 2) disposed on top of one another (see fig. 2), the deflection units (mounting plates 15 of each cooling system 100, see figs. 1-3) of the immersion cases of the bottom row being arranged (above the electronic devices 10 of the immersion stack 100 located at the bottom of the stack 200, see figs. 3 and 1-2) so as to deflect leaking liquid emanating from the immersion cases of the top row (leaking fluid would be directed away from electronic devices 10 due to the top mounting plate 15 above the bottom row of electronic devices 10, see figs. 1-3). Moon also teaches that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure fixedly attached to an upper portion of the electronic device (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly of Shelnutt by providing a stack of electronic rack system such that the bottom and top rows of immersion cases are arranged to be disposed on top of one another and the deflection units of the immersion cases of the bottom row being arranged with an overhanging structure fixedly attached to an upper portion of the electronic device to deflect leaking liquid emanating from the immersion cases of the top row based on the teachings of Moon in order to protect the electronics devices from receiving a channelized liquid that is different from the heat dissipating first cooling fluid, and that is not as efficient heat transfer medium as the first cooling fluid.
In regards to claim 4, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that the overhanging structure comprises an angular linear cross-sectional profile (see angular liner profile of liquid deflection system 440, figs. 4-5) configured to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5).
In regards to claim 6, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses one or more sensors (conductivity strip sensor 530, fluid level sensor 535, see fig. 5; and temperature sensor, see paragraph 104), disposed within the immersion case (see fig. 5), and configured to measure a level of at least one physical/chemical property of the first cooling liquid to detect a presence of a leaking liquid in the immersion case (fluid leakage detection system, see paragraph 102) and further configured to provide signals reporting the same (see step 710 where sensor data is monitored, fig. 7); and an electrical power controller (processor 150, controller 140, fig. 1; processing device, see paragraphs 103-104; controller 2650) communicatively coupled to a power distribution unit (PDU) (controller 140 coupled to PDU 145, paragraph 59; PDU 425, see fig. 4; also see controller 2650 communicatively coupled to PDU 425, fig. 26) that supplies electric power to the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (via 415, see paragraph 75 and fig. 1) and is communicatively coupled to the one or more sensors (sensors coupled to controller, see figs. 1, 26), the electrical power controller configured to receive, assess, and execute commands based on the reported signals from the one or more sensors (see fig. 7; paragraphs 102-104 and 243-244).
In regards to claim 7, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that the measurement of the at least one physical/chemical property of the first cooling liquid to detect a presence of a leaking liquid leaking in the immersion case comprises measuring at least one of temperature data, conductivity data, viscosity data, and density data (conductivity strip sensor 530, fluid level sensor 535, see fig. 5; and temperature sensor, see paragraph 104, measuring temperature and conductivity data).
In regards to claim 8, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that the upon assessing the received reporting signals, the electrical power controller executes commands (see fig. 7 and paragraphs 100-102) to issue the following instructions:
(i) transmit a normal operations message based on the reported property levels being within an acceptable threshold level (detected conditions not requiring maintenance at step 712 fig. 7, wherein the controller continues normal operation and further monitors the sensor data at step 710, see fig. 7);
(ii) transmit a maintenance check message based on the reported property levels being close to a limit of the acceptable threshold level (alternative limitations that are not required by the claim; however, Shelnutt discloses performing control operation at step 714, to maintain equilibrium state if detected conditioners require maintenance or control at step 712, see fig. 7); and
(iii) transmit a shutdown alert message and issue instructions to disconnect the electrical power supplied by the PDU to the rack-mounted assembly (automatic power shutoff and transmission of notification, see paragraph 102) based on the reported property levels exceeding the acceptable threshold level (power shutoff or notification issued in response to detected conditions above high level threshold, see figs. 14 and paragraph 102).
In regards to claim 9, Shelnutt discloses a method of deflecting fluid leakages (immersion tank 400 with liquid return/deflection system 440, see figs. 4-5, 8; and paragraphs 71-72) in a liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (racks of solid state (SSD), hard disk (HDD) drives 125, 410, 510 and servers 200, 300, see figs. 4-5, which are cooled by liquid 412, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 66-67), comprising:
partially submerging an electronic device (servers 200, 300 partially submerged in cooling liquid, see figs. 4-5) of the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (figs. 4-5 and 8), within a first cooling liquid (cooling liquid, figs. 4-5) contained by an immersion case (immersion cooling tanks, figs. 4-5), the electronic device comprising electronic components (SSD, HDD 125, see figs. 4-5);
mounting a liquid cooling block (cooling system 460, 860, see figs. 4-5 and 8, through which cooling liquid flows, see paragraph 71) above/on the electronic device (460, 860 mounted above 200, 300, SSD and HDD, see figs. 4-5 and 8; wherein the cooling system is capable of being mounted/attached on the electronic devices) to be in direct thermal contact with the electronic components (heat transferred from servers and drives to the cooling fluid in cooling system 460 and 860, see paragraphs 71 and 126-130, wherein the rising vapor from the server and HDDs come in contact with cooling block tubes 460, see paragraphs 70-71), the liquid cooling block incorporating an internal conduit (pipes 467 and 867s, see figs. 4-5 and 8) to accommodate the circulation of a channelized cooling liquid (cooling fluid in pipes 467, 867) to absorb and extract thermal energy from the electronic components (cooling fluid in pipes 467, 867 absorbs heat energy, see paragraphs 71, 86, 91-92 and 140); and
fixedly attaching a deflection unit to the immersion case assembly (see (deflection surface 440 and collection system 545, see figs. 4-5), the deflection unit configured to shield (by surface 440) the electronic device from being in contact with leaking channelized cooling liquid by diverting channelized cooling liquid leaking from the cooling block away from the electronic components (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545, prevent condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5; since the deflection unit 440, 545 are directly below the cooling bock 460, the deflection unit 440, 545 are fully capable of diverting all fluid including the leaking fluid away from the electronic components, see paragraphs 71-72). In addition, the deflection unit includes an overhanging structure (see below annotated fig. 5).
However, Shelnutt does not explicitly teach that the cooling block is placed at the electronic device.
Moon teaches an immersion tank system (100) including a first coolant liquid (30) in which an electronic device (electronic device 10 with PCB circuit board 89 and electronic components 86, 88) is at least partially submerge in the cooling liquid (see 10 and 89 submerged in coolant 30, fig. 7B); a liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20 with channels 40) having at least one flat surface (see flat cooling plates 20, figs. 4 and 7) and mounted on the electronic device (20 assembled and in contact with circuit board PCB 89, see fig. 7B and paragraphs 44-46; wherein the liquid cooling plates 20 are capable of being fixedly mounted/attached on the electronic devices 10/89) such that it is in direct thermal contact with the electronics components (cooling plates 20 with channels 40 in direct thermal contact with PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88 via low temperature coolant 35, see figs. 7 and paragraphs 44-46), the liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20 with channels 40) incorporating an internal conduit to accommodate the circulating of a channelized cooling liquid (coolant 35 passing through passages 40, 40a, 40b, see figs. 7 and paragraph 45) configured to cool the electronic components by directly extracting thermal energy therefrom (cooling PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88 by heat transfer to cooling pates 20, see paragraphs 44-46 and fig. 7); and wherein electronic components (86) of the electronic device (89) within the electronic device (10) are immersed in the first liquid coolant (see paragraph 46 and figs. 7). In addition, Moon discloses that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly of the method of Shelnutt by providing an assembly of a flat-surfaced liquid cooling block and an electronic device such that the liquid cooling block is in direct thermal contact with the electronics components of the electronic device to allow the channelized cooling liquid, circulating through the liquid cooling block, to cool the electronic components by directly extracting thermal energy based on the teachings of Moon, where the immersion case of Shelnutt receives the assembly of Moon such that at least one of the electronic device is submerged in the first cooling liquid in order to improve heat transfer between the channelized cooling liquid and the electronic device because physical contact between liquid cooling block and the electronic devices or their respective surfaces improves thermal heat transfer due to both conduction and convection heat transfer.
Shelnutt also does not explicitly teach that the deflection structure attaches to the liquid pipes/block.
However, Delia teaches electronic equipment enclosure (526) with cooling heat exchanger (500), and fluid shield tray (400, 200) coupled to the supply and return pipes (122, 124) of the cooling heat exchanger (see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 27-28), wherein, the fluid shield tray (400, 200) directs leaked fluid to the bottom of the enclosure (see paragraphs 26-27). In addition, Delia teaches that the fluid shield (200) is fixed to the barrier (204) and overhangs from the barrier (see fig. 2); and the shield (200) guides the leaked fluid into drain channel (206, see paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Shelnutt as modified by providing the deflection unit structure that is fixedly attached to the liquid cooling block of the electronic device of the assembly of Shelnutt based on the teachings of Delia for the advantage of protecting the electronic devices from receiving leaking channelized liquid from above racks by directly attaching the deflection unit to the source of fluid flow at the cooling heat exchanger or liquid cooling block and to prevent shutting down the electronic computing devices for maintenance due leaking channelized liquid.
In regards to claim 12, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses
accommodating the liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (see liquid-cooled assemblies 400, 500, figs. 4-5) in a system (rack-based server system, see paragraph 53), the rack system being configured to accommodate a plurality of liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic assemblies (plurality of immersion tanks with plurality of electronic devices in horizontal order, see fig. 8 and paragraphs 53, 122) on horizontal racking shelve (base panel 810, fig. 8); wherein the rack system comprising a plurality of fluid leakage deflection arrangements (plurality of rack systems with cooling and immersion tanks, see fig. 8 and paragraphs 65-67). In addition, Moon teaches that the rack system (racks 200 with immersion system 100) being arranged so as to accommodate a bottom and a top rows of immersion cases (stacked bottom and top row immersion cases 100 within rack 200, see fig. 2) disposed on top of one another (see fig. 2), the deflection units (mounting plates 15 of each cooling system 100, see figs. 1-3) of the immersion cases of the bottom row being arranged (above the electronic devices 10 of the immersion stack 100 located at the bottom of the stack 200, see figs. 3 and 1-2) so as to deflect leaking liquid emanating from the immersion cases of the top row (leaking fluid would be directed away from electronic devices 10 due to the top mounting plate 15 above the bottom row of electronic devices 10, see figs. 1-3). Moon also teaches that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure fixedly attached to an upper portion of the electronic device (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34).
In regards to claim 15-17, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses one or more sensors (conductivity strip sensor 530, fluid level sensor 535, see fig. 5; and temperature sensor, see paragraph 104), disposed within the immersion case (see fig. 5), and configured to measure a level of at least one physical/chemical property of the first cooling liquid to detect a presence of a leaking liquid in the immersion case (fluid leakage detection system, see paragraph 102) and further configured to provide signals reporting the same (see step 710 where sensor data is monitored, fig. 7); and incorporating a power controller (processor 150, controller 140, fig. 1; processing device, see paragraphs 103-104; controller 2650) communicatively coupled to a power distribution unit (PDU) (controller 140 coupled to PDU 145, paragraph 59; PDU 425, see fig. 4; also see controller 2650 communicatively coupled to PDU 425, fig. 26) that supplies electric power to the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (via 415, see paragraph 75 and fig. 1) and is communicatively coupled to the one or more sensors (sensors coupled to controller, see figs. 1, 26), the electrical power controller configured to receive, assess, and execute commands based on the reported signals from the one or more sensors (see fig. 7; paragraphs 102-104 and 243-244).
In addition, Shelnutt further discloses that the upon assessing the received reporting signals, the electrical power controller executes commands (see fig. 7 and paragraphs 100-102) based on the assessment of reported signals, the power controller:
(i) transmitting a normal operations message based on the reported property levels being within an acceptable threshold level (detected conditions not requiring maintenance at step 712 fig. 7, wherein the controller continues normal operation and further monitors the sensor data at step 710, see fig. 7);
(ii) transmitting a maintenance check message based on the reported property levels being close to a limit of the acceptable threshold level (alternative limitations that are not required by the claim; however, Shelnutt discloses performing control operation at step 714, to maintain equilibrium state if detected conditioners require maintenance or control at step 712, see fig. 7); and
(iii) transmitting an alert shutdown message to disconnect the electrical power supplied by the PDU to the rack-mounted assembly (automatic power shutoff and transmission of notification, see paragraph 102) based on the reported property levels exceeding the acceptable threshold level (power shutoff or notification issued in response to detected conditions above high level threshold, see figs. 14 and paragraph 102).
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelnutt et al. in view of Moon and Delia as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Park (US 2020/0064024 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that the overhanging structure comprises an angular linear cross-sectional profile (see angular liner profile of liquid deflection system 440, figs. 4-5) configured to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5).
However, Shelnutt is silent about the curved profile of the deflection plate.
Park discloses a curved round lower plate (240, 2700, see paragraph 38, 53-54) disposed below heat exchanger (200, fig. 10) to downwardly divert leaking condensate from the heat exchanger (see paragraphs 53-54).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Shelnutt as modified by providing an overhanging structure comprising a curved cross-sectional profile to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device based on the teachings of Park in order to disperse the collecting condensate to avoid corrosion due to stagnation of the condensate (see paragraph 54, Park).
Claim 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelnutt et al. in view of Moon and Delia as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Shelnutt (US 2017/0181329 A1) herein after referred as Shelnutt329'.
In regards to claim 10, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the deflection unit includes an overhanging structure (see below annotated fig. 5). Also Moon further discloses that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure fixedly attached to an upper portion of the electronic device (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34). In addition, Delia teaches that the fluid shield (200) is fixed to the barrier (204) and overhangs from the barrier (see fig. 2); and the shield (200) guides the leaked fluid into drain channel (206, see paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Shelnutt as modified by providing the deflection unit structure with an overhang that is fixedly attached to the liquid cooling block of the electronic device of the assembly of Shelnutt based on the combined teachings of Moon and Delia for the advantage of protecting the electronic devices from receiving leaking channelized liquid from above racks by directly attaching the deflection unit to the source of fluid flow at the cooling heat exchanger or liquid cooling block and to prevent shutting down the electronic computing devices for maintenance due leaking channelized liquid.
However, Shelnutt does not explicitly teach that the deflection unit includes grooved channels to divert fluid leak.
Shelnutt329’ teaches that the deflection unit (junction plate 632 of the stacked pipe covers 602, 630, see figs. 6) incorporates grooved channels (liquid passing cavities 616 near interconnected junction 632, see figs. 6 and paragraph 71) on an upper surface of the bottom rack (see fig. 6F) to facilitate the diverting of the fluid leaks away (diverting the fluid to the bottom of the rack 614, see paragraph 71).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly of the method of Shelnutt as modified by providing the deflection unit structure that incorporates grooved channels on an upper surface thereof to facilitate the diverting of the fluid leaks away from the electronic components based on the teachings of Shelnutt329’ in order to quickly and efficiently direct leaked fluid away from the stack of electronic devices and to the facility drain line (see paragraph 71, Shelnutt329’).
In regards to claim 14, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses that the overhanging structure comprises an angular linear cross-sectional profile (see angular liner profile of liquid deflection system 440, figs. 4-5) configured to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelnutt et al. in view of Moon and Delia and Shelnutt329' as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Park (US 2020/0064024 A1).
In regards to claim 13, Shelnutt as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses that the overhanging structure comprises an angular linear cross-sectional profile (see angular liner profile of liquid deflection system 440, figs. 4-5) configured to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5).
However, Shelnutt is silent about the curved profile of the deflection plate.
Park discloses a curved round lower plate (240, 2700, see paragraph 38, 53-54) disposed below heat exchanger (200, fig. 10) to downwardly divert leaking condensate from the heat exchanger (see paragraphs 53-54).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Shelnutt as modified by providing an overhanging structure comprising a curved cross-sectional profile to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device based on the teachings of Park in order to disperse the collecting condensate to avoid corrosion due to stagnation of the condensate (see paragraph 54, Park).
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 2022/0248564 A1) and in view of Shelnutt et al. (US 2014/0218861 A1) and further in view of Delia (US 2012/0186790 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 3, Moon teaches a fluid leakage deflection management (see immersion cooling system, figs. 1 and by mounting hardware 15 and by difference between width of the cooling plates 20 and size of the fluid channels 40, see figs. 1-5, 7 and abstract) for a liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (server rack 200 with plurality of immersion cooling systems 100, see fig. 2 and paragraph 38), comprising:
an immersion tank system (100) containing a first coolant liquid (30) in which an electronic device (electronic device 10 with PCB circuit board 89 and electronic components 86, 88) of the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (see figs. 1-5) is at least partially submerge in the cooling liquid (see 10 and 89 submerged in coolant 30, fig. 7B), the electronic devices comprising electronic components (electronic device 10 includes PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88, see figs. 7);
a liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20 with channels 40) having at least one flat surface (see flat cooling plates 20, figs. 4 and 7) and mounted on the electronic device (20 assembled and in contact with circuit board PCB 89, see fig. 7B and paragraphs 44-46; wherein the liquid cooling plates 20 are capable of being fixedly mounted/attached on the electronic devices 10/89) such that it is in direct thermal contact with the electronics components (cooling plates 20 with channels 40 in direct thermal contact with PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88 via low temperature coolant 35, see figs. 7 and paragraphs 44-46), the liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20 with channels 40) incorporating an internal conduit to accommodate the circulating of a channelized cooling liquid (coolant 35 passing through passages 40, 40a, 40b, see figs. 7 and paragraph 45) configured to cool the electronic components by directly extracting thermal energy therefrom (cooling PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88 by heat transfer to cooling pates 20, see paragraphs 44-46 and fig. 7); and wherein electronic components (86) of the electronic device (89) within the electronic device (10) are immersed in the first liquid coolant (see paragraph 46 and figs. 7). In addition, Moon discloses that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34).
However, Moon does not explicitly teach a deflection surface/structure attached to the liquid block for diverting liquid away from electronic component.
Shelnutt discloses a fluid leakage deflection arrangement (immersion tank 400 with liquid return/deflection system 440, see figs. 4-5, 8; and paragraphs 71-72) for a liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (racks of solid state (SSD), hard disk (HDD) drives 125, 410, 510 and servers 200, 300, see figs. 4-5, which are cooled by liquid 412, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 66-67), comprising:
an immersion case (immersion cooling tanks, figs. 4-5) containing a first cooling liquid (cooling liquid, figs. 4-5) in which an electronic device (servers 200, 300) of the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly is at least partially submerged therein (servers 200, 300 partially submerged in cooling liquid, see figs. 4-5);
a liquid cooling block (cooling system 460, 860, see figs. 4-5 and 8, through which cooling liquid flows, see paragraph 71) mounted above/on the electronic device (460, 860 mounted above 200, 300, SSD and HDD, see figs. 4-5 and 8; wherein the cooling system is capable of being mounted/attached on the electronic devices); and
a deflection unit (deflection surface 440 and collection system 545, see figs. 4-5) fixedly attached to the immersion case assembly (see figs. 4-5), configured to shield the electronic device from being in contact with leaking channelized cooling liquid by diverting channelized cooling liquid leaking from the cooling block away from the electronic components (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5; since the deflection unit 440, 545 are directly below the cooling bock 460, the deflection unit 440, 545 are fully capable of diverting all fluid including the leaking fluid away from the electronic components, see paragraphs 71-72). In addition, the deflection unit includes an overhanging structure (see below annotated fig. 5), wherein the deflection unit (440) is at least fixedly attached to the immersion cooling vessel enclosures (see 440 attached to enclosure 405, see figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly of Moon by providing a deflecting unit/plate fixedly attached to the immersion case assembly, configured to shield the electronic device from being in contact with leaking channelized cooling liquid by diverting channelized cooling liquid leaking from the cooling block away from the electronic components based on the teachings of Shelnutt in order to catch the falling liquid to prevent falling/leaking liquid from coming in contact with the hard disk drives (HDDs) located below the condenser (see paragraph 71, Shelnutt).
Moon also does not explicitly teach that the deflection structure attaches to the liquid block.
However, Delia teaches electronic equipment enclosure (526) with cooling heat exchanger (500), and fluid shield tray (400, 200) coupled to the supply and return pipes (122, 124) of the cooling heat exchanger (see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 27-28), wherein, the fluid shield tray (400, 200) directs leaked fluid to the bottom of the enclosure (see paragraphs 26-27). In addition, Delia teaches that the fluid shield (200) is fixed to the barrier (204) and overhangs from the barrier (see fig. 2); and the shield (200) guides the leaked fluid into drain channel (206, see paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Moon as modified by providing the deflection unit structure that is fixedly attached to the liquid cooling block of the electronic device of the assembly of Moon based on the teachings of Delia for the advantage of protecting the electronic devices from receiving leaking channelized liquid from above racks by directly attaching the deflection unit to the source of fluid flow at the cooling heat exchanger or liquid cooling block and to prevent shutting down the electronic computing devices for maintenance due leaking channelized liquid.
In regards to claim 2, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the rack system (racks 200 with immersion system 100) being arranged so as to respectively accommodate bottom and top rows of immersion cases (stacked bottom and top row immersion cases 100 within rack 200, see fig. 2) disposed on top of one another (see fig. 2), the deflection units (mounting plates 15 of each cooling system 100, see figs. 1-3) of the immersion cases of the bottom row being arranged (above the electronic devices 10 of the immersion stack 100 located at the bottom of the stack 200, see figs. 3 and 1-2) so as to deflect leaking liquid emanating from the immersion cases of the top row (leaking fluid would be directed away from electronic devices 10 due to the top mounting plate 15 above the bottom row of electronic devices 10, see figs. 1-3). Moon also teaches that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure fixedly attached to an upper portion of the electronic device (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34).
Moon does not explicitly teach a plurality of fluid leakage deflection arrangements.
However, Shelnutt teaches a rack system comprising a plurality of fluid leakage deflection arrangements (plurality of rack systems with cooling and immersion tanks, see fig. 8 and paragraphs 65-67).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly of Moon by providing a rack system comprising a plurality of fluid leakage deflection arrangements based on the teachings of Shelnutt in order to protect the plurality of electronics devices from receiving a channelized liquid that is different from the heat dissipating first cooling fluid, and that is not as efficient conductive heat transfer medium as the first cooling fluid.
In regards to claim 4, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and Shelnutt further discloses that the overhanging structure comprises an angular linear cross-sectional profile (see angular liner profile of liquid deflection system 440, figs. 4-5) configured to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5).
In regards to claim 6, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Shelnutt further discloses one or more sensors (conductivity strip sensor 530, fluid level sensor 535, see fig. 5; and temperature sensor, see paragraph 104), disposed within the immersion case (see fig. 5), and configured to measure a level of at least one physical/chemical property of the first cooling liquid to detect a presence of a leaking liquid in the immersion case (fluid leakage detection system, see paragraph 102) and further configured to provide signals reporting the same (see step 710 where sensor data is monitored, fig. 7); and an electrical power controller (processor 150, controller 140, fig. 1; processing device, see paragraphs 103-104; controller 2650) communicatively coupled to a power distribution unit (PDU) (controller 140 coupled to PDU 145, paragraph 59; PDU 425, see fig. 4; also see controller 2650 communicatively coupled to PDU 425, fig. 26) that supplies electric power to the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (via 415, see paragraph 75 and fig. 1) and is communicatively coupled to the one or more sensors (sensors coupled to controller, see figs. 1, 26), the electrical power controller configured to receive, assess, and execute commands based on the reported signals from the one or more sensors (see fig. 7; paragraphs 102-104 and 243-244).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid leakage detection arrangement of Moon by providing one or more sensors disposed within the immersion case and configured to measure a level of at least one physical/chemical property of the first cooling liquid to detect a presence of a leaking liquid in the immersion case and further configured to provide signals reporting the same and an electrical power controller communicatively coupled to a power distribution unit (PDU) that supplies electric power to the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly and is communicatively coupled to the one or more sensors, the electrical power controller configured to receive, assess, and execute commands based on the reported signals from the one or more sensors as per the teachings of Shelnutt in order to determine properties of the first cooling liquid and variations within the properties of the first cooling liquid due to mixing with the second cooling liquid, which may affect heat transfer ability of the first cooling liquid and in turn the efficiency of the cooling liquid to extract heat from the heat producing electronic devices and/or components.
In regards to claim 7, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and Shelnutt further discloses that the measurement of the at least one physical/chemical property of the first cooling liquid to detect a presence of a leaking liquid leaking in the immersion case comprises measuring at least one of temperature data, conductivity data, viscosity data, and density data (conductivity strip sensor 530, fluid level sensor 535, see fig. 5; and temperature sensor, see paragraph 104, measuring temperature and conductivity data).
In regards to claim 8, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and Shelnutt further discloses that the upon assessing the received reporting signals, the electrical power controller executes commands (see fig. 7 and paragraphs 100-102) to issue the following instructions:
(i) transmit a normal operations message based on the reported property levels being within an acceptable threshold level (detected conditions not requiring maintenance at step 712 fig. 7, wherein the controller continues normal operation and further monitors the sensor data at step 710, see fig. 7);
(ii) transmit a maintenance check message based on the reported property levels being close to a limit of the acceptable threshold level (alternative limitations that are not required by the claim; however, Shelnutt discloses performing control operation at step 714, to maintain equilibrium state if detected conditioners require maintenance or control at step 712, see fig. 7); and
(iii) transmit a shutdown alert message and issue instructions to disconnect the electrical power supplied by the PDU to the rack-mounted assembly (automatic power shutoff and transmission of notification, see paragraph 102) based on the reported property levels exceeding the acceptable threshold level (power shutoff or notification issued in response to detected conditions above high level threshold, see figs. 14 and paragraph 102).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Moon as modified to transmit a normal operations message, a maintenance check message and/or a shutdown alert message along with power disconnection instructions to the rack-mounted assembly based on the reported property levels in comparison to acceptable threshold levels based on the teachings of Shelnutt in order to maintain the efficiency of heat extraction from the electronic components/devices by taking necessary actions based on variations in heat transfer ability of the first cooling liquid.
In regards to claim 9, Moon discloses a method of deflecting fluid leakages (see immersion cooling system, figs. 1 and by mounting hardware 15 and by difference between width of the cooling plates 20 and size of the fluid channels 40, see figs. 1-5, 7 and abstract) in a liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (server rack 200 with plurality of immersion cooling systems 100, see fig. 2 and paragraph 38), comprising:
partially submerging an electronic device (electronic device 10 with PCB circuit board 89 and electronic components 86, 88 within the immersion cooling system 100, see figs. 5-7) of the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (see figs. 1-5) within a first cooling liquid (30) contained by an immersion case (immersion cooling system 100 with electronic devices 10 submerged in liquid 30, see figs. 1-5), the electronic device comprising electronic components (electronic device 10 includes PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88, see figs. 7);
mounting a liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20 with channels 40) having at least one flat surface (see flat cooling plates 20, figs. 4 and 7) on the electronic device (20 assembled and in contact with circuit board PCB 89, see fig. 7B and paragraphs 44-46; wherein the liquid cooling plates 20 are capable of being fixedly mounted/attached on the electronic devices 10/89) to be in direct thermal contact with the electronics components (cooling plates 20 with channels 40 in direct thermal contact with PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88 via low temperature coolant 35, see figs. 7 and paragraphs 44-46), the liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20 with channels 40) incorporating an internal conduit to accommodate the circulating of a channelized cooling liquid (coolant 35 passing through passages 40, 40a, 40b, see figs. 7 and paragraph 45) configured to cool the electronic components by directly extracting thermal energy therefrom (cooling PCB 89 and electronic components 86, 88 by heat transfer to cooling pates 20, see paragraphs 44-46 and fig. 7); and wherein electronic components (86) of the electronic device (89) within the electronic device (10) are immersed in the first liquid coolant (see paragraph 46 and figs. 7). In addition, Moon discloses that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34).
However, Moon does not explicitly teach a deflection surface/structure attached to the liquid block for diverting liquid away from electronic component.
Shelnutt discloses a method of deflecting fluid leakages (immersion tank 400 with liquid return/deflection system 440, see figs. 4-5, 8; and paragraphs 71-72) in a liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (racks of solid state (SSD), hard disk (HDD) drives 125, 410, 510 and servers 200, 300, see figs. 4-5, which are cooled by liquid 412, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 66-67), comprising:
partially submerging an electronic device (servers 200, 300 partially submerged in cooling liquid, see figs. 4-5) of the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (figs. 4-5 and 8), within a first cooling liquid (cooling liquid, figs. 4-5) contained by an immersion case (immersion cooling tanks, figs. 4-5);
mounting a liquid cooling block (cooling system 460, 860, see figs. 4-5 and 8, through which cooling liquid flows, see paragraph 71) above/or the electronic device (460, 860 mounted above 200, 300, SSD and HDD, see figs. 4-5 and 8; wherein the cooling system is capable of being mounted/attached on the electronic devices) to be in direct thermal contact with the electronic components (heat transferred from servers and drives to the cooling fluid in cooling system 460 and 860, see paragraphs 71 and 126-130, wherein the rising vapor from the server and HDDs come in contact with cooling block tubes 460, see paragraphs 70-71); and
fixedly attaching a deflection unit to the immersion case assembly (see (deflection surface 440 and collection system 545, see figs. 4-5), the deflection unit configured to shield (by surface 440) the electronic device from being in contact with leaking channelized cooling liquid by diverting channelized cooling liquid leaking from the cooling block away from the electronic components (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545, prevent condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5; since the deflection unit 440, 545 are directly below the cooling bock 460, the deflection unit 440, 545 are fully capable of diverting all fluid including the leaking fluid away from the electronic components, see paragraphs 71-72). In addition, the deflection unit includes an overhanging structure (see below annotated fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly of Moon by providing a deflecting unit/plate fixedly attached to the immersion case assembly, configured to shield the electronic device from being in contact with leaking channelized cooling liquid by diverting channelized cooling liquid leaking from the cooling block away from the electronic components based on the teachings of Shelnutt in order to catch the falling liquid to prevent falling/leaking liquid from coming in contact with the hard disk drives (HDDs) located below the condenser (see paragraph 71, Shelnutt).
Moon also does not explicitly teach that the deflection structure attaches to the liquid block.
However, Delia teaches electronic equipment enclosure (526) with cooling heat exchanger (500), and fluid shield tray (400, 200) coupled to the supply and return pipes (122, 124) of the cooling heat exchanger (see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 27-28), wherein, the fluid shield tray (400, 200) directs leaked fluid to the bottom of the enclosure (see paragraphs 26-27). In addition, Delia teaches that the fluid shield (200) is fixed to the barrier (204) and overhangs from the barrier (see fig. 2); and the shield (200) guides the leaked fluid into drain channel (206, see paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Moon as modified by providing the deflection unit structure that is fixedly attached to the liquid cooling block of the electronic device of the assembly of Moon based on the teachings of Delia for the advantage of protecting the electronic devices from receiving leaking channelized liquid from above racks by directly attaching the deflection unit to the source of fluid flow at the cooling heat exchanger or liquid cooling block and to prevent shutting down the electronic computing devices for maintenance due leaking channelized liquid.
In regards to claim 12, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure fixedly attached to an upper portion of the electronic device (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34). In addition, Shelnutt teaches that the rack system (racks 200 with immersion system 100) being arranged so as to accommodate a bottom and a top rows of immersion cases (stacked bottom and top row immersion cases 100 within rack 200, see fig. 2) disposed on top of one another (see fig. 2), the deflection units (mounting plates 15 of each cooling system 100, see figs. 1-3) of the immersion cases of the bottom row being arranged (above the electronic devices 10 of the immersion stack 100 located at the bottom of the stack 200, see figs. 3 and 1-2) so as to deflect leaking liquid emanating from the immersion cases of the top row (leaking fluid would be directed away from electronic devices 10 due to the top mounting plate 15 above the bottom row of electronic devices 10, see figs. 1-3) and Shelnutt further discloses accommodating the liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (see liquid-cooled assemblies 400, 500, figs. 4-5) in a system (rack-based server system, see paragraph 53), the rack system being configured to accommodate a plurality of liquid-cooled rack-mounted electronic assemblies (plurality of immersion tanks with plurality of electronic devices in horizontal order, see fig. 8 and paragraphs 53, 122) on horizontal racking shelve (base panel 810, fig. 8); wherein the rack system comprising a plurality of fluid leakage deflection arrangements (plurality of rack systems with cooling and immersion tanks, see fig. 8 and paragraphs 65-67).
In regards to claim 15-17, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and Shelnutt further discloses one or more sensors (conductivity strip sensor 530, fluid level sensor 535, see fig. 5; and temperature sensor, see paragraph 104), disposed within the immersion case (see fig. 5), and configured to measure a level of at least one physical/chemical property of the first cooling liquid to detect a presence of a leaking liquid in the immersion case (fluid leakage detection system, see paragraph 102) and further configured to provide signals reporting the same (see step 710 where sensor data is monitored, fig. 7); and incorporating a power controller (processor 150, controller 140, fig. 1; processing device, see paragraphs 103-104; controller 2650) communicatively coupled to a power distribution unit (PDU) (controller 140 coupled to PDU 145, paragraph 59; PDU 425, see fig. 4; also see controller 2650 communicatively coupled to PDU 425, fig. 26) that supplies electric power to the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly (via 415, see paragraph 75 and fig. 1) and is communicatively coupled to the one or more sensors (sensors coupled to controller, see figs. 1, 26), the electrical power controller configured to receive, assess, and execute commands based on the reported signals from the one or more sensors (see fig. 7; paragraphs 102-104 and 243-244).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid leakage detection arrangement of Moon by providing one or more sensors disposed within the immersion case and configured to measure a level of at least one physical/chemical property of the first cooling liquid to detect a presence of a leaking liquid in the immersion case and further configured to provide signals reporting the same and an electrical power controller communicatively coupled to a power distribution unit (PDU) that supplies electric power to the rack-mounted electronic processing assembly and is communicatively coupled to the one or more sensors, the electrical power controller configured to receive, assess, and execute commands based on the reported signals from the one or more sensors as per the teachings of Shelnutt in order to determine properties of the first cooling liquid and variations within the properties of the first cooling liquid due to mixing with the second cooling liquid, which may affect heat transfer ability of the first cooling liquid and in turn the efficiency of the cooling liquid to extract heat from the heat producing electronic devices and/or components.
In addition, Shelnutt further discloses that the upon assessing the received reporting signals, the electrical power controller executes commands (see fig. 7 and paragraphs 100-102) based on the assessment of reported signals, the power controller:
(i) transmitting a normal operations message based on the reported property levels being within an acceptable threshold level (detected conditions not requiring maintenance at step 712 fig. 7, wherein the controller continues normal operation and further monitors the sensor data at step 710, see fig. 7);
(ii) transmitting a maintenance check message based on the reported property levels being close to a limit of the acceptable threshold level (alternative limitations that are not required by the claim; however, Shelnutt discloses performing control operation at step 714, to maintain equilibrium state if detected conditioners require maintenance or control at step 712, see fig. 7); and
(iii) transmitting an alert shutdown message to disconnect the electrical power supplied by the PDU to the rack-mounted assembly (automatic power shutoff and transmission of notification, see paragraph 102) based on the reported property levels exceeding the acceptable threshold level (power shutoff or notification issued in response to detected conditions above high level threshold, see figs. 14 and paragraph 102).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Moon as modified to transmit a normal operations message, a maintenance check message and/or a shutdown alert message along with power disconnection instructions to the rack-mounted assembly based on the reported property levels in comparison to acceptable threshold levels based on the teachings of Shelnutt in order to maintain the efficiency of heat extraction from the electronic components/devices by taking necessary actions based on variations in heat transfer ability of the first cooling liquid.
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Shelnutt et al. and Delia as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Park (US 2020/0064024 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and Shelnutt further discloses that the overhanging structure comprises an angular linear cross-sectional profile (see angular liner profile of liquid deflection system 440, figs. 4-5) configured to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5).
However, Monn is silent about the curved profile of the deflection plate.
Park discloses a curved round lower plate (240, 2700, see paragraph 38, 53-54) disposed below heat exchanger (200, fig. 10) to downwardly divert leaking condensate from the heat exchanger (see paragraphs 53-54).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Moon as modified by providing an overhanging structure comprising a curved cross-sectional profile to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device based on the teachings of Park in order to disperse the collecting condensate to avoid corrosion due to stagnation of the condensate (see paragraph 54, Park).
Claim 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Shelnutt et al. and Delia as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Shelnutt (US 2017/0181329 A1) herein after referred to as Shelnutt329'.
In regards to claim 10, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the deflection unit comprises an overhanging structure fixedly attached to an upper portion of the electronic device (mounting hardware plate 15, which overhangs the width of electronic plates 10, see fig. 1A and paragraphs 32, 34). In addition, Shelnutt teaches that the deflection unit includes an overhanging structure (see below annotated fig. 5) and Delia teaches that the fluid shield (200) is fixed to the barrier (204) and overhangs from the barrier (see fig. 2); and the shield (200) guides the leaked fluid into drain channel (206, see paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Moon as modified by providing the deflection unit structure with an overhang that is fixedly attached to the liquid cooling block of the electronic device of the assembly of Monn based on the combined teachings of Shelnutt and Delia for the advantage of protecting the electronic devices from receiving leaking channelized liquid from above racks by directly attaching the deflection unit to the source of fluid flow at the cooling heat exchanger or liquid cooling block and to prevent shutting down the electronic computing devices for maintenance due leaking channelized liquid.
However, Moon does not explicitly teach that the deflection unit includes grooved channels to divert fluid leak.
Shelnutt329’ teaches that the deflection unit (junction plate 632 of the stacked pipe covers 602, 630, see figs. 6) incorporates grooved channels (liquid passing cavities 616 near interconnected junction 632, see figs. 6 and paragraph 71) on an upper surface of the bottom rack (see fig. 6F) to facilitate the diverting of the fluid leaks away (diverting the fluid to the bottom of the rack 614, see paragraph 71).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly of the method of Moon as modified by providing the deflection unit structure that incorporates grooved channels on an upper surface thereof to facilitate the diverting of the fluid leaks away from the electronic components based on the teachings of Shelnutt329’ in order to quickly and efficiently direct leaked fluid away from the stack of electronic devices and to the facility drain line (see paragraph 71, Shelnutt329’).
In regards to claim 14, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and Shelnutt further discloses that the overhanging structure comprises an angular linear cross-sectional profile (see angular liner profile of liquid deflection system 440, figs. 4-5) configured to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Shelnutt et al. and Delia and Shelnutt329' as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Park (US 2020/0064024 A1).
In regards to claim 13, Moon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and Shelnutt further discloses that the overhanging structure comprises an angular linear cross-sectional profile (see angular liner profile of liquid deflection system 440, figs. 4-5) configured to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device (liquid return system 440 and collection system 545 (deflection unit), prevent all the condensed liquid from falling onto the top surfaces of servers, SSD and HDD drives, see figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 71-72 and 97, which would also prevent leaking channelized cooling liquid from being in contact with the HDD and SSD drives, see fig. 5).
However, Moon is silent about the curved profile of the deflection plate.
Park discloses a curved round lower plate (240, 2700, see paragraph 38, 53-54) disposed below heat exchanger (200, fig. 10) to downwardly divert leaking condensate from the heat exchanger (see paragraphs 53-54).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflection unit of the fluid leakage deflection arrangement of the electronic processing assembly or method of Moon as modified by providing an overhanging structure comprising a curved cross-sectional profile to downwardly divert leaking channelized cooling liquid away from the electronic device based on the teachings of Park in order to disperse the collecting condensate to avoid corrosion due to stagnation of the condensate (see paragraph 54, Park).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "condenser in the Shelnutt reference cannot be a cooling block because the term "block" is defined by a dictionary as a solid mass of wood or stone, usually with approximately flat faces," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the claimed cooling block includes internal conduit for circulating cooling liquid, therefore, the claimed liquid cooling block cannot be a solid block of wood or stone. In Shelnutt, condenser with coolant flowing tubes (460) reads on the above claimed limitations. Hence applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument, "condenser 460 in Shelnutt is not mounted to the electronic device as claimed by claims 1 and 9," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the condenser 460 is mounted to the housing of the immersion case and the condenser tubes 460 are mounted above the deflection plate/surface, which is mounted above the electronic device. In addition, Moon discloses a liquid cooling block with flat surfaces (see cooling plates 20, fig. 4, Moon) and mounted on the electronic devices (cooling plates 20 assembled with and in contact with electronic devices 10, 80, 89, see fig. 7B and paragraph 46). Moon also teaches that the liquid cooling block (cooling plates 20) in contact with the electronic device (10) is assemble together as shown in figure (7B), therefore, one of skill in the art would be motivated to mount the liquid cooling block on the electronic devices within the system/method of Shelnutt based on the teachings of Moon in order to allow conductive and convective heat transfer between contacting surfaces and the cooling fluid flowing through the liquid cooling block. Hence applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "Shelnutt teaches the deflection unit; however, does not teach that the deflection unit is attached to the cooling block," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that neither Shelnutt nor Moon is used to address the above-mentioned limitation of the claims. Delia teaches a spray shield as a deflection unit that is connected to the cooling fluid pipes and prevents the fluid from reaching electronic devices located at the bottom by directing the leaks to a coolant collection unit. Based on the teachings of Delia, one of skill in the art would be motivated to attach the spray shield of Delia as deflection units on the liquid cooling block of Shelnutt/Moon to protect the electronic devices below the shield. Hence applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763