DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the antecedent basis for the limitation of “the container” is unclear. This recitation will be interpreted as “the respective container”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0108199 to Mackenzie et al. (Mackenzie hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Mackenzie teaches a coding manifold (18) containing connections (14a-14n) for at least two containers (12a-12n), and a connection (24) to extension tubing (27) configured to connect to an IV line to a patient (connection via e.g. 28, see paragraph 0027). Mackenzie teaches that the manifold is configured to permit administration of bolus doses (see e.g. paragraph 30) through the extension tubing.
Regarding claim 2, Mackenzie teaches that the containers are each configured to hold any room temperature liquid, such as amiodarone (paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 4, Mackenzie teaches that the reservoirs may be syringes (paragraph 40) configured for operation via plunger.
Regarding claim 5, Mackenzie teaches shutoff valves (16a-16n) and a port (e.g. 28) configured to allow or prevent passage (or retrieval) of the bolus dose therethrough by appropriate opening and closing of the shutoff valves. The examiner notes that the valves are not limited to manually actuated valves, nor are pressure operated one-way valves disclaimed.
Regarding claim 6, Mackenzie teaches a saline flush (paragraph 27).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 4,439,182 to Huang (Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a manifold (40) with connections (49, 50) for two containers (e.g. 26), a connection (43) to extension tubing (24) configured to connect to an IV line to a patient (via 25), wherein the manifold is configured to permit administration of bolus doses (from 13, 14, or 26) via the extension tubing.
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches that the containers are configured to hold any room temperature liquid such as those claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches threaded connections (col. 6, ln. 1-23).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches syringes (26).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches valves (60) and a port (e.g. 34).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches that the manifold is configured to be flushed with saline from a container (26), inasmuch as the manifold is configured to be liquid tight.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 22 January 2026