DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Status of the Claims
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2 September 2026.
Claims 1-15 are under prosecution.
Drawings
3. Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by:
I. The appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h);
II. One set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via EFS-Web or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via EFS-Web; and, unless already present,
III. An amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
4. A statement from Applicant that there is no intention to have color drawings will result in acceptance of the drawings; otherwise, the conditions set forth above must be met in order for the color drawings to be accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The Information Disclosure Statements filed 15 August 2023, 16 October 2023, and 31 July 2024 are acknowledged and have been considered.
It is noted that the listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
6. The use of trade names or marks used in commerce (including but not necessarily limited to AlexaFluor), has been noted in this application. Any trade names or marks should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 4 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Clam 4 recites “comprises hairpin-based concatemerization reaction,” which is missing the article “a.”
B. Claim 15 contains the word “glycocide,” which appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 1 (upon which claims 2-15 depend) is indefinite in each of the following:
I. The recitation “the substrate,” which lacks antecedent basis in the previous recitation of a “detectably labeled substrate.”
This limitation is also found in claims 14 and 15.
II. The recitation “the nucleic acid strand” in (2), which is confusing because (1) recites one or more target-specific binding partners. Thus, it is unclear how many nucleic acid stands are being used.
This recitation is also present in claims 2, and 3 (upon which claim 4 depends)
III. The recitation “the detectable label,” which lacks antecedent basis because there is no previous recitation of a “detectable label.”
This recitation is also found in claim 13.
IV. The recitation “the bound enzyme,” which lacks antecedent basis because there is no previous recitation of a “bound enzyme.”
This recitation is also found in claim 6.
V. The recitation “the bound detectable labels,” which lack antecedent basis because there is no previous recitation of “bound detectable labels.”
VI. The recitation “step (5) of imaging,” which lacks anteceded basis because step (5) does not recite imaging.
B. Claim 2 is indefinite in each of the following:
I. The recitation “the second region,” which lacks antecedent basis in the previous recitation of a second “domain.”
II. The recitation “the sequences,” which lacks antecedent basis in the previous recitation of “repeated sequences.”
C. Claim 3 (upon which claim 4 depends) is indefinite in the recitation “the sequences,” which lacks antecedent basis in the previous recitation of “repeated sequences.”
D. Claim 8 is indefinite in the recitation “the detectable labels,” which lacks antecedent basis because there is no previous recitation of “detectable labels.”
E. Claim 9 is indefinite in each of the following:
I. The recitation “the bound label,” which lack antecedent basis because there is no previous recitation of a “bound label.”
II. The recitation “the label,” which lack antecedent basis because in the previous recitation of a “bound label.”
F. Claim 10 is indefinite in the recitation “the releasable linkers,” which lack antecedent basis because there is no previous recitation of releasable “linkers.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0075862 A1, published 25 March 2010) and Collier et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0230854 A1, published 5 September 2013).
Regarding claim 1, Duffy et al. teach methods of testing a sample for detecting one or more targets (i.e., analytes; Abstract) comprising contacting a sample comprising analyte 84 with a target specific binding partner, in the form of first binding ligand 86, followed by binding of analyte 84 to second binding ligand 88 in step C (Figure 2 and paragraph 0040). Second biding ligand 88 further comprises an enzyme (i.e., converting agent), which is exposed to detectably labeled substrate 90 and coverts 90 into labeling agent molecule 92 (Figure 2 and paragraph 0040; see also Example 5). Duffy et al. further teach the methods have the added advantage of allowing quantifying sample molecules at low concentration (Abstract). Thus, Duffy et al teach the known techniques discussed above.
Duffy et al. do not teach a nucleic acid that binds a portion of a nucleic acid attached the specific binding partner and also binds a portion of a nucleic acid bound to the enzyme.
However, Collier et al. teach methods utilizing DNA scaffolding structures wherein specific binding partners (e.g., antibody species 302) is bound to nucleic acid 304, which is hybridized to nucleic acid 314, wherein 314 is also hybridized to nucleic acid 316, which is attached to enzyme 307 (paragraph 0096 and Figure 10). Collier et al. also teach the scaffolds have the added advantage of increased sensitivity in real time tests (paragraph 0077). Thus, Collier et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
With respect to the order of steps, it is noted that the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930); Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959)). See MPEP §2144.04 IV C. Thus, the claimed order of steps is an obvious variant of the steps of the cited prior art.
In addition, MPEP 716.01(c) makes clear that “[t]he arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record” (In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965)). Thus, counsel’s mere arguments cannot take the place of evidence in the record.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Duffy et al. and Collier et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantages of allowing quantifying sample molecules at low concentration as explicitly taught by Duffy et al. (Abstract) and increased sensitivity in real time tests as explicitly taught by Collier et al. (paragraph 0077). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the cited prior art could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques of the cited prior art predictably result in steps useful for identifying molecules in a sample.
Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Collier et al. teach the second region of the intermediate moiety (i.e., bridging nucleic acid 314) comprises repeat sequences 315 that specifically bind (i.e., hybridize) to nucleic acid sequences 316 attached to the enzymes 307 (paragraph 0096 and Figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Collier et al. teach repeated sequences attached to a target specific binding partner (i.e., antibody) are produced by an amplification reaction that produces a DNA molecule that comprises sequence that hybridize to sequences attached to enzymes (i.e., ALP molecules; paragraph 0175). Thus, it would have been obvious that the intermediate moiety (i.e., bridging nucleic acid 314) comprising repeat sequences 315 of Figure 10 and paragraph 0096 could have been made by the described amplification reaction.
With respect to the order of steps, it is reiterated that the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. Thus, the claimed order of amplification is an obvious variant of the steps of the cited prior art.
Applicant is again cautioned to avoid merely relying upon counsel’s arguments in place of evidence in the record.
Regarding claims 5-6, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. In the embodiments where the optional enzyme deactivation is not performed, the instant claim is not further limiting.
Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Duffy et al. teach the label 90 reacts with the enzyme (i.e., the converting agent on the second binding ligand 88) to form an activated substrate, which binds to receptor 94 (reactions 89 and 91 in Figure 2 and paragraph 0040).
Regarding claims 9-10, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. In the embodiments where the optional releasable linker is not present, the instant claims are not further limiting.
Regarding claims 11-12, the method of claim 12 is discussed above. Duffy et al. teach the enzyme is horseradish peroxidase (paragraph 0112), as do Collier et al. (paragraph 0087).
Regarding claim 13, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Duffy et al. teach the labels (i.e., labeling agent) are fluorogenic (paragraph 0051). Collier et al. teach the labels are chemiluminescent (paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 15, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Duffey et al. teach the enzymes is the hydrolytic enzyme beta-galactosidase (paragraph 0115), as do Collier et al (paragraph 0087); beta-galactosidase hydrolyzes glycosides.
13. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0075862 A1, published 25 March 2010) and Collier et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0230854 A1, published 5 September 2013) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in combination with Byrom et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0051343 A1, published 23 February 2017).
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 3 is discussed above in Section 12.
None of the previously cited prior art teach the bridging nucleic acid is amplified via functionally equivalent primer exchange.
However, Byrom et al. teach amplification methods comprising primer exchange, which has the added advantage of being useful in multiple types of amplification reactions (paragraph 0013). Thus, Byrom et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Byrom et al. with Duffy et al. and Collier et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantage of being useful in multiple types of amplification reactions as explicitly taught by Byrom et al. (paragraph 0013). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the Byrom et al. could have been combined with the previously cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Byrom et al. predictably result in functionally equivalent amplification.
14. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0075862 A1, published 25 March 2010) and Collier et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0230854 A1, published 5 September 2013) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in combination with Watzele et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0220593 A1, published 7 August 2014).
It is noted that while claims 5-6 are rejected as described above, the claims are also obvious using the interpretation outlined below.
Regarding claims 5-6, the method of claim 1 is discussed above in Section 12.
The previously cited prior art does not teach stopping the horseradish peroxidase reaction.
However, Watzele et al. teach methods of detection horseradish peroxidase activity (Abstract and paragraph 0005), wherein the reaction is terminated using a stop reagent to deactivate (i.e., inhibit) the reaction (paragraph 0008) using azide (i.e., claim 5; paragraph 0009). Watzele et al. also teach deactivation times of 8 minutes (i.e., claim 6; paragraph 0038), and that the methods have the added advantage of allowing comparison of simultaneous measurement, including controls (paragraph 0008). Thus, Watzele et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see MPEP 2144.05.01).
The courts have also found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955; see MPEP 2144.05 II).
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
The courts have further held that “[d]isclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments” (In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2123.II).
Applicant is again cautioned to avoid merely relying upon counsel’s arguments in place of evidence in the record.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Watzele et al. with Duffy et al. and Collier et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed methods with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in methods having the added advantage of allowing comparison of simultaneous measurement, including controls, as explicitly taught by Watzele et al. (paragraph 0008). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the Watzele et al. could have been combined with the previously cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Watzele et al. predictably result in steps useful for detection of peroxidase generated signals.
15. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0075862 A1, published 25 March 2010) and Collier et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0230854 A1, published 5 September 2013) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in combination with Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0159572 A1, published 24 June 2010).
Regarding claim 8, the method of claim 7 is discussed above in Section 12.
While Duffy et al. teach support-bound receptors 94 for the enzyme product 92 (Figure 2 and paragraph 0040), as well as labels that are deposited (i.e., via their insolubility; paragraph 0007), none of the previously cited prior art teaches the functionally equivalent receptor in the sample.
However, Chen et al. teach methods wherein detection of molecules in a sample (Abstract) is accomplished using enzymes, including peroxidases and glycosidases, that catalyze a product that binds to a receptor present in the sample as an alternative to having the receptor on a support, which has the added advantage of allowing use of exogenous or endogenous receptors (paragraph 0018). Thus, Chen et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Chen et al. with Duffy et al. and Collier et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantage of allowing use exogenous or endogenous receptors as explicitly taught by Chen et al. (paragraph 0018). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the Chen et al. could have been combined with the previously cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Chen et al. predictably result in functionally equivalent receptors for detection of the converted labels.
16. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0075862 A1, published 25 March 2010) and Collier et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0230854 A1, published 5 September 2013) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in combination with Bentsen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2002/0147317 A1, published 10 October 2002).
It is noted that while claims 9-10 are rejected as described above, the claims are also obvious using the interpretation outlined below.
Regarding claims 9-10, he method of claim 1 is discussed above in Section 12.
The previously cited prior art does not teach cleaving linkers.
However, Bentsen et al. teach methods wherein fluorophores are released (i.e., claim 9) via enzymatic cleavage of esters (i.e., claim 10), which has the added advantage of utilizing noncarcinogenic labels that are easily detectable (paragraphs 0004-0005). Thus, Bentsen et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Bentsen et al. with Duffy et al. and Collier et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed methods with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in methods having the added advantage of utilizing noncarcinogenic labels that are easily detectable as explicitly taught by Bentsen et al. (paragraphs 0004-0005). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the Bentsen et al. could have been combined with the previously cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Bentsen et al. predictably result in useful labels for enzymatic detection.
17. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0075862 A1, published 25 March 2010) and Collier et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0230854 A1, published 5 September 2013) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in combination with Singh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,532,138, issued 2 July 1996).
Regarding claim 14, the method of claim 1 is discussed above in Section 12.
Duffy et al each the enzyme is horseradish peroxidase (paragraph 0112), as do Collier et al. (paragraph 0087). However, neither reference teaches a phenolic substrate.
However, Singh et al. teach methods wherein fluorophores are attached to a phenol, which has the added advantage of being an extremely sensitive horseradish peroxidase (i.e., HRP) system (column 34, lines 40-45 and column 1, lines 25-35). Thus, Singh et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Singh et al. with Duffy et al. and Collier et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantage of providing an extremely sensitive horseradish peroxidase system as explicitly taught by Singh et al. (column 34, lines 40-45 and column 1, lines 25-35). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the Singh et al. could have been combined with the previously cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Singh et al. predictably result in useful substrates for horseradish peroxidase.
Conclusion
18. No claim is allowed.
Robert T. Crow
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/Robert T. Crow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683