DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the Restriction Requirement dated 29 December 2025 in the reply filed on 26 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification as indicated in the Restriction Requirement which when searched individually would not sufficiently encompass a proper search for all of the additional inventions. The inventions require a different field of search such as search queries specifically looking for insulative inserts that would not necessarily cover the required areas for searching the method of making steps or the electrode carrier specifically. Therefore, for at least the above reasons, search and examination of the entire application would pose a serious burden on the Office.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Insulation insert” in line 1 should be amended to --An insulation insert--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Insulation insert” in line 1 should be amended to --The insulation insert--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Electrosurgical handheld instrument” in line 1 should be amended to --An electrosurgical handheld instrument--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tube-like insulation insert" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-4 and 20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brockmann (DE 102020118965), all citations being made to English equivalent document US 2022/0015822 as a translation.
Regarding claim 1, Brockmann discloses an insulation insert for an electrosurgical handheld device (see Figs. 1-7), the tube-like insulation insert being detachably couplable by way of a proximal end region to a distal end of a tube-like shaft of the handheld device (see [0036]) and having a central passage for accommodating a shaft (see central passage in the center insulation insert 23, Fig. 7), wherein two drilled holes for accommodating a respective electrode carrier tube of an electrode carrier are arranged opposite one another in a wall of the insulation insert and parallel to the central passage (see bore holes 35 configured for accommodating the shaft of the electrode instrument arranged opposite one another on a wall of the insulation insert and parallel to the central passage, bored holes are considered equivalent to drilled holes since boring is a form of drilling; [0033], Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Brockmann further discloses wherein the two drilled holes are displaced upwardly or downwardly vis-à-vis a central longitudinal axis by the insulation insert (see bore holes 35 being displaced upwardly and downwardly relative to the central longitudinal axis of the insulation insert when rotating the view from Figure 7 90-degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Brockmann further discloses wherein the wall of the insulation insert is strengthened around the two drilled holes and otherwise reduced in terms of its wall strength (see thickened walls around the holes 35 relative to the thickness of the wall of the insulation insert as shown in Fig. 7 which strengthens them via the additional material).
Regarding claim 20, Brockmann discloses an electrosurgical handheld instrument (see Fig. 1), having a main body (see handle 18, Fig. 1) and at least one tube-like shaft connected to the main body (see inner shaft 13; [0020], Fig. 1), with an insulation insert according to Claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) being couplable to a distal end of the shaft (as shown in Fig. 2) and an electrode carrier extending through the shaft and through the insulation insert (see electrode instrument 14; [0028], Fig. 2), the said electrode carrier being fastened to the main body with a proximal end (see [0032], Fig. 2) and an electrode being arrangeable at the distal end thereof (see electrode 16 arranged at a distal end of the electrode instrument 14, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockmann.
Regarding claim 2, Brockmann discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Brockmann fails to further disclose wherein the two drilled holes have an oval cross section, with a height of the oval cross section being greater than a width of the oval cross section. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the cross section of the drilled holes into an oval cross section, with a height of the oval cross section being greater than a width of the oval cross section in order to accommodate differently shaped electrode devices. Additionally, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See MPEP 2144(IV)(B). In the instant case, there is nothing of record to show unexpected results that are produced from an oval shaped cross section in place of a circular cross section for the drilled holes.
Conclusion
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794