DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 05/11/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 4-8, 11, 14, 17-18 and 21-30 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1, 4-8, 11,14,17-18 and 21-30 and filed 05/11/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant respectfully argues that “Liu is silent about using a flag to indicate whether the first CRI or SSBRI corresponds to one entry in the first portion of the set of resources or in the second portion of the set of resources.
Moreover, Liu discloses in paragraph [0064] that "All of the CSI-RS resources indicated by the first CRI of each pair (e.g. CRI #0-1, CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are selected from the first Resource Setting (i.e. transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0)); and all of the CSI-RS resources indicated by the second CRI of each pair (e.g. CRI #1-1, CRI #1-2, CRI #1-3, and CRI #1-4) are selected from the second Resource Setting (i.e. transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1))". That is, Liu merely discloses that the first CRI corresponds to CSI-RS resources selected from the first resource setting (i.e., the first portion of the set of resources), and the second CRI corresponds to CSI-RS resources selected from the second resource setting (i.e., the second portion of the set of resources)”, Remarks - Page 13 (emphasis added).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. LIU discloses a flag (e.g., nrofReportedRS-Rel-17) configured to the UE which indicates the first CRI in a CRI pair corresponds to a selected CSI-RS resource from the first portion of the set of resources (e.g., the first resource setting) and the second CRI in the CRI pair corresponds to another selected CSI-RS resource from the second portion of the set of resources (e.g., the second resource setting) ([0058] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 indicates the number of pairs of different CRIs to be contained in the CSI report. In each pair of reported CRIs, a first CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’; and a second CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’). Configuring the flag satisfies one of the conditions taught by LIU for the UE to transmit the CSI report to the base station (0055] The following conditions are met for the first embodiment: (1)... and (4) A higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is configured to the UE. Under these conditions, a CSI report will be transmitted from the UE to the base station (e.g. gNB)).
Furthermore, the applicant references [0064] to show that LIU is allegedly silent about using “a flag to indicate whether the first CRI... or in the second portion of the set of resources”. Examiner notes that [0064] of LIU correlates to the first example of the CSI report according to the first embodiment is shown in Table 1. However, LIU discloses more than one examples of the CSI reporting, such as shown in Tables 2-4. Specifically, Table 2 discloses using a flag (e.g., extra one bit) to indicate whether the first CRI (e.g., CRI #0-1) corresponds to one entry in the first portion of the set of resources or in the second portion of the set of resources (e.g., the first/second resource setting) ([0074] Table 2 differs from Table 1 in an extra one bit “CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from which Resource Setting”. This one bit indicates whether the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting or the second Resource Setting).
Therefore, the applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Additionally, the applicant argues that “Further, Liu merely discloses in paragraph [0058] that "In each pair of reported CRIs, a first CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the 'CSI'-ReportConfig'; and a second CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the second Resource Setting linked to the 'CSI'-ReportConfig That is, in each pair of CRIs (i.e., each reporting group), the first CRI and the second CRI correspond to the first resource setting and the second resource setting (different portions of the set of resources), respectively. However, Liu fails to mention that when the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI are in different reporting groups, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion of the set of resources, or
when the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI are in one reporting group, the first CRI or SSBRI and the third CRI or SSBRI correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion of the set of resources” Remarks – Pages 13-14, (emphasis added).
However, the examiner disagrees. Paragraph [0058] of LIU merely shows one examples of how the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 could be configured to the UE. The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 could also be configured to be set to N which corresponds to the N pairs of different CRIs ([0059] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 can be set to N (N is a positive integer); [0060] [0060] For ease of discussion, in the following examples, the value of the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is assumed to be 4 (i.e. N=4); [0062] As can be seen from Table 1, four (i.e. N=4) pairs of different CRIs and their RSRP(s) (or Differential RSRP(s)) are contained in the CSI report).
The applicant further links the “each pair of CRIs” of LIU to equates to the “each reporting groups” in the Remarks. However, that specific mapping is not reflected in the current claim language.
Claim 1 currently recites “reporting, by the UE to the base station, two reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance, wherein the CSI reporting instance includes... wherein the first CRI or SSBRI and the third CRI or SSBRI are in one reporting group, the second CRI or SSBRI and the fourth CRI or SSBRI are in another reporting group, and the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion of the set of resources, or
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI are in one reporting group, the third CRI or SSBRI and the fourth CRI or SSBRI are in another reporting group, and the first CRI or SSBRI and the third CRI or SSBRI correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion of the set of resources” (emphasis added).
The “one reporting group” and “another reporting group” recited in claim 1 do not limit to the “one reporting group” and “another reporting group” to be a part of the “two reporting groups”. Similarly, the “same portion” of the set resources does not limit the “same portion” to be either the first portion or the second portion of the set of resources.
Therefore, LIU discloses:
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) are in one reporting group ([0058]; [0076] When the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(0-n) (n is an integer of 2 or more) (e.g. CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are also selected from the same Resource Setting, i.e. the first Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #0-1 and CRI #0-2 are in the same first resource setting group of the CSI report)),
the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1) and the fourth CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2) are in another reporting group ([0058]; [0076] On the other hand, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(1-n) (n is an integer of 1 or more) (e.g. CRI #1-1, CRI #1-2, CRI #1-3, and CRI #1-4) are selected from a different Resource Setting, i.e. the second Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #1-1 and CRI #1-2 are in the same second resource setting group of the CSI report)), and
the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #0-1) and the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1) correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion (Table 2 – 1st Pair; [0058] The CSI-RS resources indicated by each pair of reported CRIs (i.e. one CSI-RS resource transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0) and the other CSI-RS resource transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter (the CSI-RS resources of the same pair are received in the same beam at once, hence the same portion), or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters) of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting... The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0); and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)), or
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #1-1) are in one reporting group (Table 2 – 1st Pair (from the same 1st pair); [0062] four (i.e. N=4) pairs of different CRIs and their RSRP(s) (or Differential RSRP(s)) are contained in the CSI report), the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) and the fourth CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2) are in another reporting group (Table 2 – 2nd Pair (from the same 2nd t pair); [0062];), and
the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion ([0058]; [0076] When the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(0-n) (n is an integer of 2 or more) (e.g. CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are also selected from the same Resource Setting, i.e. the first Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #0-1 and CRI #0-2 are in the first resource setting portion of the CSI report)) of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting... The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0); and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)).
Thus, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 14 and 25, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, 14, 17-18 and 21-30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 “an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), a second CRI or SSBRI, a third CRI or SSBRI, a fourth CRI or SSBR” should read “a first SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), a second CRI or second SSBRI, a third CRI or third SSBRI, a fourth CRI or fourth SSBRI”
“the first CRI or SSBRI... the second CRI or SSBRI... the third CRI or SSBRI... the fourth CRI or SSBRI” should read “the first CRI or the first SSBRI... the second CRI or the second SSBRI... the third CRI or the third SSBRI... the fourth CRI or the fourth SSBRI”
Independent Claims 14 and 25 have the same informalities as claim 1, therefore the same objections are applied. The same objections are also applied to their dependent claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 11,14,17-18 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20230283426 A1, hereinafter, LIU).
Regarding claim 1, LIU discloses:
A method for beam measurement (Abstract - Methods and apparatuses for group-based beam reporting with L1-RSRP measurement for multi-TRP DL transmission are disclosed. In one embodiment, a method comprises receiving a CSI reporting setting linked to two Resource Settings… and transmitting a CSI report corresponding to the CSI reporting setting, wherein the CSI report includes two or more CRIs or SSBRIs and their corresponding received powers), comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station (Fig. 3), a set of resources for beam measurements ([0007] In addition to being based on CSI-RS resource, L1-RSRP can be measured based on SSB (SS/PBCH block) resource. Each SS/PBCH block… contains a PSS (primary synchronization signal)… and PBCH (physical broadcast channel) where each of them is transmitted by the gNB using a same spatial Tx beam… One or more SSB resource sets selected from the Resource Setting are linked with one ‘CSI-ReportConfig’. From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement), wherein the set of resources includes Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources ([0003] From the UE point of view, the CSI-RS resources included in the linked CSI-RS resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement) or Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH) blocks ([0007] From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement),
wherein a first portion of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting… For simplicity, the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets in the first Resource Setting linked with one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ can be referred to as CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting while the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the second CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets… referred to as CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting) is associated with a first transmission/reception point (TRP) ([0051] The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0)), and wherein a second portion of the set of resources is associated with a second TRP ([0051] and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1));
receiving, by the UE from the base station (Fig. 3), a request to perform ([0004] A higher layer parameter ‘reportQuantity’ contained in ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ (it is implied that the BS sends CSI-ReportConfig to the UE through a higher layer (e.g., RRC)) IE configures the UE with the CSI quantities (parameters) to be reported (hence, request). The parameters may include but not limited to CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) and layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) (e.g. when ‘reportQuantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’) a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the set of resources ([0052] For simplicity, the following embodiments are described by assuming the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’. In this situation, CSI-RS resources are to be received by the UE and L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the CSI-RS resources… the following embodiments also apply to… in which SSB resources are to be received by the UE, L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the SSB resources, and SSBRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRPs will be reported),
wherein the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources ([0065] Each RSRP is measured based on the CSI-RS resource indicated by the CRI. For example, RSRP #0-1 is measured based on the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1. It can be said that RSRP #0-1 corresponds to CRI #0-1) is reported with a largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – RSRP#0-1; [0066] Only RSRP #0-1 is represented by a 7-bit value; [0075] According to the second example, RSRP #0-1 is the largest value among all of the measured values based on the selected CSI-RS resources or SSB resources in both the first Resource Setting and the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’) and differential L1-RSRP measurements (Table 2 – differential RSRP#m), and the differential L1-RSRP measurements are calculated based on the largest L1-RSRP measurement ([0067] That is, “Differential RSRP #0-2” to “Differential RSRP #0-4” and “Differential RSRP #1-1” to “Differential RSRP #1-4” are contained in the CSI report. The “Differential RSRP #m” (m is between 0-2 and 0-4 and between 1-1 and 1-4) is a difference value of RSRP #m from RSRP #0-1 (e.g. “Differential RSRP #m”=RSRP #0-1-RSRP #m). A differential RSRP can be represented by a 5-bit value or a 6-bit value configured by RRC signaling); and
reporting ([0057] When the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’, the UE should transmit a CSI report including CRI and the measured RSRP according to the CSI-RS resource indicated by the CRI), by the UE to the base station, two reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance ([0055] The following conditions are met for the first embodiment: (1) the UE is configured with a CSI reporting setting ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ linked to two Resource Settings (e.g. first Resource Setting and second Resource Setting) (hence two reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance); (2) the higher layer parameter ‘reportQuantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’; (3) the UE is configured with a higher layer parameter ‘groupBasedBeamReporting’ set to ‘enabled’; and (4) A higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is configured to the UE. Under these conditions, a CSI report will be transmitted from the UE to the base station (e.g. gNB)), wherein the CSI reporting instance ([0073] A second example of the CSI report according to the first embodiment is shown in Table 2; [0057] When the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’, the UE should transmit a CSI report including CRI and the measured RSRP according to the CSI-RS resource indicated by the CRI; [0058] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 indicates the number of pairs of different CRIs to be contained in the CSI report. In each pair of reported CRIs) includes:
a first CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI) (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #0-1),
a second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1),
a third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2),
a fourth CRI or SSBR (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2),
the largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1 - RSRP#0-1),
a second differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1 - Differential RSRP #1-1),
a third differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2 – Differential RSRPP #0-2),
a fourth differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2 – Differential RSRPP #1-2), and
a flag ([0074] Table 2 differs from Table 1 in an extra one bit “CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from which Resource Setting”. This one bit indicates whether the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting or the second Resource Setting),
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1 - RSRP#0-1; [0066]; [0075];),
the second CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the second differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1 - Differential RSRP #1-1),
the third CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the third differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2 – Differential RSRPP #0-2),
the fourth CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the fourth differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2 – Differential RSRPP #1-2), and
the flag (Table 2 - extra one bit) is used to indicate whether the first CRI or SSBRI corresponds to one entry in the first portion of the set of resources or in the second portion of the set of resources ([0074] Table 2 differs from Table 1 in an extra one bit “CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from which Resource Setting”. This one bit indicates whether the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting or the second Resource Setting);
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) are in one reporting group ([0058]; [0076] When the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(0-n) (n is an integer of 2 or more) (e.g. CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are also selected from the same Resource Setting, i.e. the first Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #0-1 and CRI #0-2 are in the same first resource setting group of the CSI report)),
the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1) and the fourth CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2) are in another reporting group ([0058]; [0076] On the other hand, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(1-n) (n is an integer of 1 or more) (e.g. CRI #1-1, CRI #1-2, CRI #1-3, and CRI #1-4) are selected from a different Resource Setting, i.e. the second Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #1-1 and CRI #1-2 are in the same second resource setting group of the CSI report)), and
the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #0-1) and the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1) correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion (Table 2 – 1st Pair; [0058] The CSI-RS resources indicated by each pair of reported CRIs (i.e. one CSI-RS resource transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0) and the other CSI-RS resource transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter (the CSI-RS resources of the same pair are received in the same beam at once, hence the same portion), or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters) of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting... The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0); and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)), or
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #1-1) are in one reporting group (Table 2 – 1st Pair (from the same 1st pair); [0062] four (i.e. N=4) pairs of different CRIs and their RSRP(s) (or Differential RSRP(s)) are contained in the CSI report), the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) and the fourth CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2) are in another reporting group (Table 2 – 2nd Pair (from the same 2nd t pair); [0062];), and
the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion ([0058]; [0076] When the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(0-n) (n is an integer of 2 or more) (e.g. CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are also selected from the same Resource Setting, i.e. the first Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #0-1 and CRI #0-2 are in the first resource setting portion of the CSI report)) of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting... The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0); and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)).
Regarding claims 4, 21 and 26, LIU further discloses:
wherein the set of resources ([0003] From the UE point of view, the CSI-RS resources included in the linked CSI-RS resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement) includes K CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks ([0050] one CSI reporting setting ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ is linked to two Resource Settings for channel measurement (i.e. first Resource Setting and second Resource Setting). Each of the first Resource Setting and the second Resource Setting has one or multiple CSI-RS resource sets (or one or multiple SSB resource sets), where each CSI-RS resource set has one or multiple CSI-RS resources (or each SSB resource set has one or multiple SSB resources); (K is the total of CSI-RS resources (from both first and second resource settings) linked to one CSI reporting Setting)),
wherein the first portion of the set of resources includes K1 CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks ([0051] For simplicity, the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets in the first Resource Setting linked with one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’),
wherein the second portion of the set of resources includes K2 CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks ([0051] while the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the second CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets in the second Resource Setting linked with the one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’); and
wherein K (K is the total of CSI-RS resources from both resource settings; 1+1 = 2), K1, and K2 are integers ([0050] where each CSI-RS resource set has one (1 is an example of an integer) or multiple CSI-RS resources), and wherein K (Total CSI-RS resources, K = 2) equals to K1 (1 CSI-RS resource from first resource setting) plus K2 (1 CSI-RS resource from second resource setting).
Regarding claim 5, LIU further discloses:
receiving, by the UE, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (e.g., different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 6, LIU further discloses:
receiving, by the UE, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (e.g., different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 7, LIU further discloses:
receiving, by the UE, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with a same spatial filter ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single (e.g., same) spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 8, LIU further discloses:
receiving, by the UE, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with a same spatial filter simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single (e.g., same) spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, LIU further discloses:
wherein the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources ([0052] For simplicity, the following embodiments are described by assuming the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’. In this situation, CSI-RS resources are to be received by the UE and L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the CSI-RS resources… the following embodiments also apply to… in which SSB resources are to be received by the UE, L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the SSB resources, and SSBRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRPs will be reported) is reported once every two resources in the set of resources ([0011] It is assumed that RSRP #1 is larger than RSRP #2… a differential value ‘differential RSRP #2’ obtained by RSRP #1−RSRP #2 is reported. The ‘differential RSRP #2’ is computed with 2 dB step size with a reference to the largest measured L1-RSRP value (i.e. RSRP #1)… the RSRP represented by a differential RSRP is at most 32 dB (=2 dB*16) lower than the largest measured L1-RSRP value. It implies that a CRI or SSBRI indicating a CSI-RS or SSB resource based on which a L1-RSRP is measured will not be reported, if the L1-RSRP is more than 32 dB lower than the largest measured L1-RSRP. The CSI report in which at least one RSRP is reported by differential RSRP is referred to as differential L1-RSRP based reporting; (one (1) CSI-RS resource in the first CSI-RS resource set (associated with first resource setting) and one (1) CSI-RS resource in the second CSI-RS resource set (associated with second resource setting) according to [0051]; L1-RSRP can be measured on both (2) CSI-RS resources and if the L1-RSRP measured on the (1) CSI-RS resource of the second CSI-RS resource set is more than 32dB lower than the largest L1-RSRP measured on the first CSI-RS resource set, the L1-RSRP measured will not be reported. Therefore, only the L1-RSRP measurement from the first CSI-RS resource set will be reported. Hence, the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources is reported once (1) every two (2) resources in the set of resources); Table 3 – L1-RSRP measurement reported for first CSI-RS resource set and differential RSRP value reported for second CSI-RS resource set;).
Regarding claim 14, LIU discloses:
An apparatus (Fig. 3; Abstract - Methods and apparatuses for group-based beam reporting with L1-RSRP measurement for multi-TRP DL transmission are disclosed. In one embodiment, a method comprises receiving a CSI reporting setting linked to two Resource Settings… and transmitting a CSI report corresponding to the CSI reporting setting, wherein the CSI report includes two or more CRIs or SSBRIs and their corresponding received powers), comprising:
a memory ([0105] Referring to FIG. 3, the UE (i.e. the remote unit) includes a processor, a memory, and a transceiver);
a processor coupled to the memory and configured ([0105] The processors implement a function, a process, and/or a method which are proposed in FIG. 2… The memories are connected with the processors to store various pieces of information for driving the processors) to:
receive a set of resources for beam measurements ([0007] In addition to being based on CSI-RS resource, L1-RSRP can be measured based on SSB (SS/PBCH block) resource. Each SS/PBCH block… contains a PSS (primary synchronization signal)… and PBCH (physical broadcast channel) where each of them is transmitted by the gNB using a same spatial Tx beam… One or more SSB resource sets selected from the Resource Setting are linked with one ‘CSI-ReportConfig’. From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement), wherein the set of resources includes Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources ([0003] From the UE point of view, the CSI-RS resources included in the linked CSI-RS resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement) or Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH) blocks ([0007] From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement),
wherein a first portion of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting… For simplicity, the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets in the first Resource Setting linked with one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ can be referred to as CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting while the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the second CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets… referred to as CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting) is associated with a first transmission/reception point (TRP) ([0051] The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0)), and wherein a second portion of the set of resources is associated with a second TRP ([0051] and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1));
receive a request to perform ([0004] A higher layer parameter ‘reportQuantity’ contained in ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ (it is implied that the BS sends CSI-ReportConfig to the UE through a higher layer (e.g., RRC)) IE configures the UE with the CSI quantities (parameters) to be reported (hence, request). The parameters may include but not limited to CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) and layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) (e.g. when ‘reportQuantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’) a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the set of resources ([0052] For simplicity, the following embodiments are described by assuming the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’. In this situation, CSI-RS resources are to be received by the UE and L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the CSI-RS resources… the following embodiments also apply to… in which SSB resources are to be received by the UE, L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the SSB resources, and SSBRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRPs will be reported),
wherein the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources ([0065] Each RSRP is measured based on the CSI-RS resource indicated by the CRI. For example, RSRP #0-1 is measured based on the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1. It can be said that RSRP #0-1 corresponds to CRI #0-1) is reported with a largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – RSRP#0-1; [0066] Only RSRP #0-1 is represented by a 7-bit value; [0075] According to the second example, RSRP #0-1 is the largest value among all of the measured values based on the selected CSI-RS resources or SSB resources in both the first Resource Setting and the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’) and differential L1-RSRP measurements (Table 2 – differential RSRP#m), and the differential L1-RSRP measurements are calculated based on the largest L1-RSRP measurement ([0067] That is, “Differential RSRP #0-2” to “Differential RSRP #0-4” and “Differential RSRP #1-1” to “Differential RSRP #1-4” are contained in the CSI report. The “Differential RSRP #m” (m is between 0-2 and 0-4 and between 1-1 and 1-4) is a difference value of RSRP #m from RSRP #0-1 (e.g. “Differential RSRP #m”=RSRP #0-1-RSRP #m). A differential RSRP can be represented by a 5-bit value or a 6-bit value configured by RRC signaling); and
report two reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance ([0055] The following conditions are met for the first embodiment: (1) the UE is configured with a CSI reporting setting ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ linked to two Resource Settings (e.g. first Resource Setting and second Resource Setting) (hence two reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance); (2) the higher layer parameter ‘reportQuantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’; (3) the UE is configured with a higher layer parameter ‘groupBasedBeamReporting’ set to ‘enabled’; and (4) A higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is configured to the UE. Under these conditions, a CSI report will be transmitted from the UE to the base station (e.g. gNB)), wherein the CSI reporting instance ([0073] A second example of the CSI report according to the first embodiment is shown in Table 2; [0057] When the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’, the UE should transmit a CSI report including CRI and the measured RSRP according to the CSI-RS resource indicated by the CRI; [0058] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 indicates the number of pairs of different CRIs to be contained in the CSI report. In each pair of reported CRIs) includes:
a first CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI) (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #0-1),
a second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1),
a third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2),
a fourth CRI or SSBR (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2),
the largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1 - RSRP#0-1),
a second differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1 - Differential RSRP #1-1),
a third differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2 – Differential RSRPP #0-2),
a fourth differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2 – Differential RSRPP #1-2), and
a flag ([0074] Table 2 differs from Table 1 in an extra one bit “CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from which Resource Setting”. This one bit indicates whether the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting or the second Resource Setting),
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1 - RSRP#0-1; [0066]; [0075];),
the second CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the second differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1 - Differential RSRP #1-1),
the third CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the third differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2 – Differential RSRPP #0-2),
the fourth CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the fourth differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2 – Differential RSRPP #1-2), and
the flag (Table 2 - extra one bit) is used to indicate whether the first CRI or SSBRI corresponds to one entry in the first portion of the set of resources or in the second portion of the set of resources ([0074] Table 2 differs from Table 1 in an extra one bit “CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from which Resource Setting”. This one bit indicates whether the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting or the second Resource Setting);
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) are in one reporting group ([0058]; [0076] When the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(0-n) (n is an integer of 2 or more) (e.g. CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are also selected from the same Resource Setting, i.e. the first Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #0-1 and CRI #0-2 are in the same first resource setting group of the CSI report)),
the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1) and the fourth CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2) are in another reporting group ([0058]; [0076] On the other hand, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(1-n) (n is an integer of 1 or more) (e.g. CRI #1-1, CRI #1-2, CRI #1-3, and CRI #1-4) are selected from a different Resource Setting, i.e. the second Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #1-1 and CRI #1-2 are in the same second resource setting group of the CSI report)), and
the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #0-1) and the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1) correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion (Table 2 – 1st Pair; [0058] The CSI-RS resources indicated by each pair of reported CRIs (i.e. one CSI-RS resource transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0) and the other CSI-RS resource transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter (the CSI-RS resources of the same pair are received in the same beam at once, hence the same portion), or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters) of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting... The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0); and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)), or
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #1-1) are in one reporting group (Table 2 – 1st Pair (from the same 1st pair); [0062] four (i.e. N=4) pairs of different CRIs and their RSRP(s) (or Differential RSRP(s)) are contained in the CSI report), the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) and the fourth CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2) are in another reporting group (Table 2 – 2nd Pair (from the same 2nd t pair); [0062];), and
the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion ([0058]; [0076] When the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(0-n) (n is an integer of 2 or more) (e.g. CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are also selected from the same Resource Setting, i.e. the first Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #0-1 and CRI #0-2 are in the first resource setting portion of the CSI report)) of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting... The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0); and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)).
Regarding claim 17, LIU further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to receive the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 18, LIU further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to receive the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 22, LIU further discloses:
receive the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with a same spatial filter ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single (e.g., same) spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 23, LIU further discloses:
receive the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with a same spatial filter simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single (e.g., same) spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 25, LIU discloses:
A non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a processor in a computer (Fig. 3; [0105] Referring to FIG. 3, the UE (i.e. the remote unit) includes a processor, a memory, and a transceiver. The processor implements a function, a process, and/or a method which are proposed in FIG. 1), cause the computer to ([0037] the storage device would include... a hard disk, random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM)... a computer-readable storage medium may be any tangible medium that can contain or store a program for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device; [0041] This code may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer... which are executed via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions specified in the schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams for the block or blocks) perform:
receiving a set of resources for beam measurements ([0007] In addition to being based on CSI-RS resource, L1-RSRP can be measured based on SSB (SS/PBCH block) resource. Each SS/PBCH block… contains a PSS (primary synchronization signal)… and PBCH (physical broadcast channel) where each of them is transmitted by the gNB using a same spatial Tx beam… One or more SSB resource sets selected from the Resource Setting are linked with one ‘CSI-ReportConfig’. From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement), wherein the set of resources includes Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources ([0003] From the UE point of view, the CSI-RS resources included in the linked CSI-RS resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement) or Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH) blocks ([0007] From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement),
wherein a first portion of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting… For simplicity, the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets in the first Resource Setting linked with one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ can be referred to as CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting while the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the second CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets… referred to as CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting) is associated with a first transmission/reception point (TRP) ([0051] The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0)), and wherein a second portion of the set of resources is associated with a second TRP ([0051] and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1));
receiving a request to perform ([0004] A higher layer parameter ‘reportQuantity’ contained in ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ (it is implied that the BS sends CSI-ReportConfig to the UE through a higher layer (e.g., RRC)) IE configures the UE with the CSI quantities (parameters) to be reported (hence, request). The parameters may include but not limited to CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) and layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) (e.g. when ‘reportQuantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’) a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the set of resources ([0052] For simplicity, the following embodiments are described by assuming the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’. In this situation, CSI-RS resources are to be received by the UE and L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the CSI-RS resources… the following embodiments also apply to… in which SSB resources are to be received by the UE, L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the SSB resources, and SSBRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRPs will be reported),
wherein the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources ([0065] Each RSRP is measured based on the CSI-RS resource indicated by the CRI. For example, RSRP #0-1 is measured based on the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1. It can be said that RSRP #0-1 corresponds to CRI #0-1) is reported with a largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – RSRP#0-1; [0066] Only RSRP #0-1 is represented by a 7-bit value; [0075] According to the second example, RSRP #0-1 is the largest value among all of the measured values based on the selected CSI-RS resources or SSB resources in both the first Resource Setting and the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’) and differential L1-RSRP measurements (Table 2 – differential RSRP#m), and the differential L1-RSRP measurements are calculated based on the largest L1-RSRP measurement ([0067] That is, “Differential RSRP #0-2” to “Differential RSRP #0-4” and “Differential RSRP #1-1” to “Differential RSRP #1-4” are contained in the CSI report. The “Differential RSRP #m” (m is between 0-2 and 0-4 and between 1-1 and 1-4) is a difference value of RSRP #m from RSRP #0-1 (e.g. “Differential RSRP #m”=RSRP #0-1-RSRP #m). A differential RSRP can be represented by a 5-bit value or a 6-bit value configured by RRC signaling); and
reporting two reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance ([0055] The following conditions are met for the first embodiment: (1) the UE is configured with a CSI reporting setting ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ linked to two Resource Settings (e.g. first Resource Setting and second Resource Setting) (hence two reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance); (2) the higher layer parameter ‘reportQuantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’; (3) the UE is configured with a higher layer parameter ‘groupBasedBeamReporting’ set to ‘enabled’; and (4) A higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is configured to the UE. Under these conditions, a CSI report will be transmitted from the UE to the base station (e.g. gNB)), wherein the CSI reporting instance ([0073] A second example of the CSI report according to the first embodiment is shown in Table 2; [0057] When the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’, the UE should transmit a CSI report including CRI and the measured RSRP according to the CSI-RS resource indicated by the CRI; [0058] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 indicates the number of pairs of different CRIs to be contained in the CSI report. In each pair of reported CRIs) includes:
a first CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI) (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #0-1),
a second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1),
a third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2),
a fourth CRI or SSBR (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2),
the largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1 - RSRP#0-1),
a second differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1 - Differential RSRP #1-1),
a third differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2 – Differential RSRPP #0-2),
a fourth differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2 – Differential RSRPP #1-2), and
a flag ([0074] Table 2 differs from Table 1 in an extra one bit “CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from which Resource Setting”. This one bit indicates whether the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting or the second Resource Setting),
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the largest L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1 - RSRP#0-1; [0066]; [0075];),
the second CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the second differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1 - Differential RSRP #1-1),
the third CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the third differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2 – Differential RSRPP #0-2),
the fourth CRI or SSBRI corresponds to the fourth differential L1-RSRP measurement (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2 – Differential RSRPP #1-2), and
the flag (Table 2 - extra one bit) is used to indicate whether the first CRI or SSBRI corresponds to one entry in the first portion of the set of resources or in the second portion of the set of resources ([0074] Table 2 differs from Table 1 in an extra one bit “CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from which Resource Setting”. This one bit indicates whether the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting or the second Resource Setting);
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) are in one reporting group ([0058]; [0076] When the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(0-n) (n is an integer of 2 or more) (e.g. CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are also selected from the same Resource Setting, i.e. the first Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #0-1 and CRI #0-2 are in the same first resource setting group of the CSI report)),
the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1) and the fourth CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2) are in another reporting group ([0058]; [0076] On the other hand, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(1-n) (n is an integer of 1 or more) (e.g. CRI #1-1, CRI #1-2, CRI #1-3, and CRI #1-4) are selected from a different Resource Setting, i.e. the second Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #1-1 and CRI #1-2 are in the same second resource setting group of the CSI report)), and
the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #0-1) and the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair – CRI #1-1) correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion (Table 2 – 1st Pair; [0058] The CSI-RS resources indicated by each pair of reported CRIs (i.e. one CSI-RS resource transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0) and the other CSI-RS resource transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter (the CSI-RS resources of the same pair are received in the same beam at once, hence the same portion), or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters) of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting... The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0); and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)), or
wherein the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the second CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #1-1) are in one reporting group (Table 2 – 1st Pair (from the same 1st pair); [0062] four (i.e. N=4) pairs of different CRIs and their RSRP(s) (or Differential RSRP(s)) are contained in the CSI report), the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) and the fourth CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #1-2) are in another reporting group (Table 2 – 2nd Pair (from the same 2nd t pair); [0062];), and
the first CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 1st Pair - CRI #0-1) and the third CRI or SSBRI (Table 2 – 2nd Pair – CRI #0-2) correspond to CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks in a same portion ([0058]; [0076] When the CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #0-1 is selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, the CSI-RS resources indicated by CRI #(0-n) (n is an integer of 2 or more) (e.g. CRI #0-2, CRI #0-3, and CRI #0-4) are also selected from the same Resource Setting, i.e. the first Resource Setting (e.g., CSI-RS resources indicated by both CRI #0-1 and CRI #0-2 are in the first resource setting portion of the CSI report)) of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting... The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0); and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1)).
Regarding claim 27, LIU further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor in the computer, further cause the computer to (Fig. 3; [0037]; [0041];) perform:
receiving the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (e.g., different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 28, LIU further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor in the computer, further cause the computer (Fig. 3; [0037]; [0041];) to perform:
receiving the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (e.g., different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 29, LIU further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor in the computer, further cause the computer to (Fig. 3; [0037]; [0041];) perform:
receiving the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with a same spatial filter ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single (e.g., same) spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 30, LIU further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor in the computer, further cause the computer to (Fig. 3; [0037]; [0041];) perform:
receiving the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with the same spatial filter simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single (e.g., same) spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
GAO et al. (US 20210184750 A1) teaches the terminal device may be configured with two sets/subsets of SSB resources. The first set/subset of SSB resources may include M SSB resources, while the second set/subset of SSB resources may include N SSB resources.
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418