DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Amendments filed on 12/18/2025 are entered for prosecution. Applicant’s amendments to the abstract and objections have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 and filed 12/18/2025 regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20230283426 A1, hereinafter LIU).
Regarding claim 1, LIU discloses:
A method for beam measurement (Abstract - Methods and apparatuses for group-based beam reporting with L1-RSRP measurement for multi-TRP DL transmission are disclosed. In one embodiment, a method comprises receiving a CSI reporting setting linked to two Resource Settings… and transmitting a CSI report corresponding to the CSI reporting setting, wherein the CSI report includes two or more CRIs or SSBRIs and their corresponding received powers), comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station (Fig. 3), a set of resources for beam measurements ([0007] In addition to being based on CSI-RS resource, L1-RSRP can be measured based on SSB (SS/PBCH block) resource. Each SS/PBCH block… contains a PSS (primary synchronization signal)… and PBCH (physical broadcast channel) where each of them is transmitted by the gNB using a same spatial Tx beam… One or more SSB resource sets selected from the Resource Setting are linked with one ‘CSI-ReportConfig’. From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement), wherein the set of resources includes Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources ([0003] From the UE point of view, the CSI-RS resources included in the linked CSI-RS resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement) or Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH) blocks ([0007] From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement),
wherein a first portion of the set of resources ([0051] From the UE point of view, when one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ is linked with one or multiple first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource set(s) in the first Resource Setting and one or multiple CSI-RS (or SSB) second resource set(s) in the second Resource Setting… For simplicity, the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets in the first Resource Setting linked with one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ can be referred to as CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting while the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the second CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets… referred to as CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting) is associated with a first transmission/reception point (TRP) ([0051] The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0)), and wherein a second portion of the set of resources is associated with a second TRP ([0051] and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1));
receiving, by the UE from the base station (Fig. 3), a request to perform ([0004] A higher layer parameter ‘reportQuantity’ contained in ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ (it is implied that the BS sends CSI-ReportConfig to the UE through a higher layer (e.g., RRC)) IE configures the UE with the CSI quantities (parameters) to be reported (hence, request). The parameters may include but not limited to CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) and layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) (e.g. when ‘reportQuantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’) a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the set of resources ([0052] For simplicity, the following embodiments are described by assuming the higher layer parameter ‘report Quantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’. In this situation, CSI-RS resources are to be received by the UE and L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the CSI-RS resources… the following embodiments also apply to… in which SSB resources are to be received by the UE, L1-RSRPs are to be measured based on the SSB resources, and SSBRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRPs will be reported); and
reporting, by the UE to the base station, one or more reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance ([0055] The following conditions are met for the first embodiment… Under these conditions, a CSI report will be transmitted from the UE to the base station (e.g. gNB); [0058] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 indicates the number of pairs (group) of different CRIs to be contained in the CSI report) wherein each of the one or more reporting groups includes:
a first CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI) (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]; [0058] In each pair (group) of reported CRIs, a first CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’);
a second CRI or SSBRI (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]; [0058] and a second CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’); and
CSI fields comprising a flag used to indicate whether the first CRI or SSBRI corresponds ([0055] The following conditions are met for the first embodiment: (1) the UE is configured with a CSI reporting setting ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ linked to two Resource Settings (e.g. first Resource Setting and second Resource Setting)… and (4) A higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is configured to the UE… a CSI report will be transmitted from the UE to the base station (e.g. gNB)) to one entry in the first portion of the set of resources or in the second portion of the set of resources ([0059] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 can be set to N (N is a positive integer). If the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is not configured, the N can be set as a default value, e.g. 1. That is to say, the UE will measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP0, and measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP1. The UE will select N CSI-RS resources in the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP0, and N CSI-RS resources in the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP1, i.e. N pairs of CSI-RS resources).
Regarding claim 2, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein each of the one or more reporting groups ([0058] In each pair (group) of reported CRIs, a first CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the first Resource Setting… and a second CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the second Resource Setting) further includes an L1-RSRP measurement of the CSI-RS resource or SS/PBCH block corresponding to the first CRI ([0053] L1-RSRP is abbreviated as RSRP; [0059] the UE will measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the first Resource Setting (associated with first CRI according to [0058]) linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP0) or SSBRI (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]).
Regarding claim 3, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 2, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein each of the one or more reporting groups further includes an L1-RSRP measurement of the CSI-RS resource or SS/PBCH block corresponding to the second CRI ([0053] L1-RSRP is abbreviated as RSRP; [0059] and measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the second Resource Setting (associated with second CRI according to [0058]) linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP1) or SSBRI (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the set of resources includes K CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks ([0050] one CSI reporting setting ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ is linked to two Resource Settings for channel measurement (i.e. first Resource Setting and second Resource Setting). Each of the first Resource Setting and the second Resource Setting has one or multiple CSI-RS resource sets (or one or multiple SSB resource sets), where each CSI-RS resource set has one or multiple CSI-RS resources (or each SSB resource set has one or multiple SSB resources); (K is the total of CSI-RS resources (from both resource settings) linked to one CSI reporting Setting)),
wherein the first portion of the set of resources includes K1 CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks ([0051] For simplicity, the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the first CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets in the first Resource Setting linked with one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’),
wherein the second portion of the set of resources includes K2 CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks ([0051] while the one or more CSI-RS (or SSB) resources in the second CSI-RS (or SSB) resource sets in the second Resource Setting linked with the one CSI reporting setting ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’); and
wherein K (K is the total of CSI-RS resources from both resource settings; 1+1 = 2), K1, and K2 are integers ([0050] where each CSI-RS resource set has one (1 is an example of an integer) or multiple CSI-RS resources), and wherein K (2) equals to K1 (1 CSI-RS resource from first resource setting) plus K2 (1 CSI-RS resource from second resource setting).
Regarding claim 5, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
receiving, by the UE, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 6, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 5, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
receiving, by the UE, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 7, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
receiving, by the UE, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with a same spatial filter ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single (same) spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 8, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 7, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
receiving, by the UE, the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with a same spatial filter simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single (same) spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 9, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the one or more reporting groups include N reporting groups ([0058] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 indicates the number of pairs (group) of different CRIs to be contained in the CSI report), and wherein N equals to 1 ([0059] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 can be set to N (N is a positive integer). If the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is not configured, the N can be set as a default value, e.g. 1.), 2, 4 ([0060] in the following examples, the value of the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is assumed to be 4 (i.e. N=4)), 3, 6, or 8 .
Regarding claim 10, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the one or more reporting groups includes two CRIs ([0058] In each pair (group) of reported CRIs, a first CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’… and a second CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’) or SSBRIs and corresponding L1-RSRP measurements of the two CRIs ([0053] L1-RSRP is abbreviated as RSRP; [0059] the UE will measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the first Resource Setting (associated with first CRI according to [0058]) linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP0… and measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the second Resource Setting (associated with second CRI according to [0058]) linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP1) or SSBRIs (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]).
Regarding claim 11, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources is reported once every two resources in the set of resources ([0011] It is assumed that RSRP #1 is larger than RSRP #2… a differential value ‘differential RSRP #2’ obtained by RSRP #1−RSRP #2 is reported. The ‘differential RSRP #2’ is computed with 2 dB step size with a reference to the largest measured L1-RSRP value (i.e. RSRP #1)… the RSRP represented by a differential RSRP is at most 32 dB (=2 dB*16) lower than the largest measured L1-RSRP value. It implies that a CRI or SSBRI indicating a CSI-RS or SSB resource based on which a L1-RSRP is measured will not be reported, if the L1-RSRP is more than 32 dB lower than the largest measured L1-RSRP. The CSI report in which at least one RSRP is reported by differential RSRP is referred to as differential L1-RSRP based reporting; (one (1) CSI-RS resource in the first CSI-RS resource set (associated with first resource setting) and one (1) CSI-RS resource in the second CSI-RS resource set (associated with second resource setting) according to [0051]; L1-RSRP can be measured on both (2) CSI-RS resources and if the L1-RSRP measured on the (1) CSI-RS resource of the second CSI-RS resource set is more than 32dB lower, the L1-RSRP measured will not be reported. Therefore, only the L1-RSRP measurement from the first CSI-RS resource set will be reported. Hence, the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources is reported once (1) every two (2) resources in the set of resources); Table 3 – L1-RSRP measurement reported for first CSI-RS resource set and differential RSRP value reported for second CSI-RS resource set;).
Regarding claim 12, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources is reported ([0022] In one embodiment, the CSI report includes N pair(s) of CRIs or SSBRIs and their corresponding received powers… the CSI-RS or SSB resources indicated by CRIs or SSBRIs in each pair can be received simultaneously by UE) with a largest L1-RSRP measurement and a differential L1-RSRP measurement ([0022] In a second implementation, the received power with the largest value among received powers based on the CSI-RS or SSBRI resources in both the first Resource Setting and the second Resource Setting is included in the CSI report as RSRP, and the CSI report includes an extra one-bit indication indicating the RSRP is based on a CSI-RS or SSBRI resource in the first Resource Setting or in the second Resource Setting, and other received power(s) are included in the CSI report as differential RSRP(s)).
Regarding claim 13, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the differential L1-RSRP measurement is calculated based on the largest L1-RSRP measurement ([0011] It is assumed that RSRP #1 is larger than RSRP #2. Therefore, RSRP #1 is quantized to a 7-bit value… That is, a differential value ‘differential RSRP #2’ obtained by RSRP #1−RSRP #2 is reported. The ‘differential RSRP #2’ is computed with 2 dB step size with a reference to the largest measured L1-RSRP value (i.e. RSRP #1)).
Regarding claim 14, LIU discloses:
An apparatus (Fig. 3; Abstract - Methods and apparatuses for group-based beam reporting with L1-RSRP measurement for multi-TRP DL transmission are disclosed. In one embodiment, a method comprises receiving a CSI reporting setting linked to two Resource Settings… and transmitting a CSI report corresponding to the CSI reporting setting, wherein the CSI report includes two or more CRIs or SSBRIs and their corresponding received powers), comprising:
a memory ([0105] Referring to FIG. 3, the UE (i.e. the remote unit) includes a processor, a memory, and a transceiver);
a processor coupled to the memory and configured ([0105] The processors implement a function, a process, and/or a method which are proposed in FIG. 2… The memories are connected with the processors to store various pieces of information for driving the processors) to:
receive a set of resources for beam measurements ([0007] In addition to being based on CSI-RS resource, L1-RSRP can be measured based on SSB (SS/PBCH block) resource. Each SS/PBCH block… contains a PSS (primary synchronization signal)… and PBCH (physical broadcast channel) where each of them is transmitted by the gNB using a same spatial Tx beam… One or more SSB resource sets selected from the Resource Setting are linked with one ‘CSI-ReportConfig’. From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement), wherein the set of resources includes Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources ([0003] From the UE point of view, the CSI-RS resources included in the linked CSI-RS resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement) or Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH) blocks ([0007] From the UE point of view, the SSB resources included in the linked SSB resource set(s) are to be received by the UE for the channel measurement), wherein a first portion of the set of resources is associated with a first transmission/reception point (TRP) ([0051] The CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the first Resource Setting are transmitted from one TRP (e.g. TRP0)), and wherein a second portion of the set of resources is associated with a second TRP ([0051] and the CSI-RS (or SSB) resources selected from the second Resource Setting are transmitted from the other TRP (e.g. TRP1));
receive a request to perform a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1- RSRP) measurement of the set of resources ([0004] A higher layer parameter ‘reportQuantity’ contained in ‘CSI-ReportConfig’ (it is implied that the BS sends CSI-ReportConfig to the UE through a higher layer (e.g., RRC)) IE configures the UE with the CSI quantities (parameters) to be reported (hence, request). The parameters may include but not limited to CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) and layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) (e.g. when ‘reportQuantity’ is set to ‘cri-RSRP’); and
report one or more reporting groups in a CSI reporting instance ([0055] The following conditions are met for the first embodiment… Under these conditions, a CSI report will be transmitted from the UE to the base station (e.g. gNB); [0058] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 indicates the number of pairs (group) of different CRIs to be contained in the CSI report),
wherein each of the one or more reporting groups includes:
a first CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI) (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]; [0058] In each pair (group) of reported CRIs, a first CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’); and
a second CRI or SSBRI (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]; [0058] and a second CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’).
Regarding claim 15, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 14, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein each of the one or more reporting groups ([0058] In each pair (group) of reported CRIs, a first CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the first Resource Setting… and a second CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the second Resource Setting) further includes an L1-RSRP measurement of the CSI-RS resource or SS/PBCH block corresponding to the first CRI ([0053] L1-RSRP is abbreviated as RSRP; [0059] the UE will measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the first Resource Setting (associated with first CRI according to [0058]) linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP0) or SSBRI (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]).
Regarding claim 16, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 15, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein each of the one or more reporting groups further includes an L1-RSRP measurement of the CSI-RS resource or SS/PBCH block corresponding to the second CRI ([0053] L1-RSRP is abbreviated as RSRP; [0059] and measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the second Resource Setting (associated with second CRI according to [0058]) linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP1) or SSBRI (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]).
Regarding claim 17, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 14, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein he processor is further configured to receive the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 18, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 17, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to receive the first CRI or SSBRI and the second CRI or SSBRI with different spatial filters simultaneously ([0009] the UE shall report, in a single CSI report, two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) along with corresponding L1-RSRPs, where the two CSI-RS resources (or SSB resources) indicated by the two different CRIs (or SSBRIs) can be received simultaneously by the UE either with a single spatial domain receive filter, or with multiple (different) simultaneous spatial domain receive filters).
Regarding claim 19, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 14, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the one or more reporting groups include N reporting groups, and wherein N equals to 1 ([0058] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 indicates the number of pairs (group) of different CRIs to be contained in the CSI report), and wherein N equals to 1 ([0059] The higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 can be set to N (N is a positive integer). If the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is not configured, the N can be set as a default value, e.g. 1.), 2, 4 ([0060] in the following examples, the value of the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS-Rel-17 is assumed to be 4 (i.e. N=4)), 3, 6, or 8.
Regarding claim 20, LIU discloses the limitations of claim 14, as shown in the rejection above.
LIU further discloses:
wherein the one or more reporting groups includes two CRIs ([0058] In each pair (group) of reported CRIs, a first CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the first Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’… and a second CRI indicates a CSI-RS resource selected from the second Resource Setting linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’) or SSBRIs and corresponding L1-RSRP measurements of the two CRIs or SSBRIs ([0053] L1-RSRP is abbreviated as RSRP; [0059] the UE will measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the first Resource Setting (associated with first CRI according to [0058]) linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP0… and measure the RSRP of each CSI-RS resource in the second Resource Setting (associated with second CRI according to [0058]) linked to the ‘C′SI-ReportConfig’ transmitted from TRP1) or SSBRIs (SSBRI can also be applied according to [0052]).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418