DETAILED ACTION
The amendment to the claims overcame the objections to the claims made in the previous Office Action.
Applicant’s argument overcame the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112, made in the previous Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is directed to prior art of record not teaching “non-transforming energy beam is configured to have a power insufficient to transform a pre-transformed material to a transformed material from which the at least one three-dimensional object is printed”. Examiner respectfully disagree. In paragraph [0196] of Milstein, it recites: " In some embodiments, the energy beam effectuates formation of the alignment marker without binding the impinged material. For example, the alignment marker may comprise material that is unbound (e.g., not fused).” This teaches “non-transforming energy beam is configured to have a power insufficient to transform a pre-transformed material to a transformed material from which the at least one three-dimensional object is printed”. “not fused” material is not transformed material.
Applicant’s argument is directed to prior art of record not teaching “the location of the calibration mark is sensed in real-time as the calibration mark is generate on the surface”. Examiner respectfully disagree. In page 57, paragraph [0048] of Milstein, it recites:
“In some embodiments, the closed loop control scheme considers a signal from the sensor. In some embodiments, the signal comprises a sensed property of the calibration mark.”
“In some embodiments, the one or more controllers are further configured to direct the guidance system to guide the transforming agent in (b), and to direct the sensor to sense the calibration mark in (c), at least until a threshold value of the sensed property of the calibration mark is sensed by the sensor.”
“In some embodiments, the closed loop control is in real time, wherein real time
comprises during printing of at least a portion of a three-dimensional object and/or the calibration mark.”
This teaches the sensor senses the calibration mark in real time during print the calibration mark.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 – 4, 8, 10, 15, 21, 24 – 26, 47, 52 – 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Milstein et al. WO 2019/173000 (hereinafter Milstein).
Regarding claim 1, Milstein teaches: an apparatus for calibration in printing of at least one three-dimensional object (Fig. 1), the apparatus comprising at least one controller configured to:
(a) couple to an electrical power source, and operatively coupled to at least one sensor configured to sense a calibration mark, and to a guidance system configured to guide a transforming energy beam (Fig. 1, [0048] - - sensor to sense the calibration mark);
(b) direct the guidance system to project a non-transforming energy beam onto a surface to generate the calibration mark on the surface, which non-transforming energy beam is configured to have a power insufficient to transform a pre-transformed material to a transformed material from which the at least one three-dimensional object is printed ([0196] - - the energy beam impinge upon a pre-transformed material to generate the erasable alignment marker; the energy beam effectuates formation of the alignment marker without binding the impinged material, “not fused” material is not transformed material);
(c) direct the at least one sensor to sense a location of the calibration mark, ([00202] - - capturing the first and second alignment markers), wherein the location of the calibration mark is sensed in real-time as the calibration mark is generated on the surface ([0048] - - the sensor senses the calibration mark in real time during print the calibration mark, see more details in “Response to Amendment” above),and
(d) calibrate, or direct calibration of, the guidance system of a transforming energy beam based at least in part on a location of the calibration mark sensed by the at least one sensor, the transforming energy beam being configured for printing the at least one three-dimensional object ([00180], [00205] - - calibrate energy beam guidance system using alignment marker).
Claim 52 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Claim 53 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 2, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: (I) the non-transforming energy beam and the transforming energy beam originate from the same energy source and/or (II) the non- transforming energy beam is directed by the guidance system of the transforming energy beam ([0014] - - same energy source and same guidance).
Regarding claim 3, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: (I) the surface is of an exposed surface of a material bed utilized in the printing (Fig. 1) and/or
(II) the at least one three-dimensional object comprises elemental metal, metal alloy, ceramic, or an allotrope of elemental carbon ([0010] - - “the pre-transformed material comprises an elemental metal, metal alloy, ceramic, an allotrope of elemental carbon”) .
Regarding claim 4, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the at least one controller is configured to direct sensing the location of the calibration mark at least in part by locating, or by direction location of, a first center of the calibration mark in a first coordinate system on the surface to determine a second center of the non-transforming energy beam ([00194] - - form markers at XYZ position; [00223] - - correction of the energy beam positioning is determined based on the measured position of alignment marker); and optionally wherein the guidance system utilizes a second coordinate system, and the at least one controller utilizes, or direct utilization of, a coordinate translation system to direct the transforming energy beam using the guidance system, the coordinate translation system comprising a linked parameter set that is estimated and corroborated using detection of the calibration mark ([00181] - - the energy beam is controlled according to a spherical coordinate system, the processing area is defined according to Cartesian coordinate system; [001863] - - transformation of a position in a Cartesian coordinate to a position in a spherical coordinate).
Regarding claim 8, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the at least one controller is configured to calibrate, or direct calibration of, the guidance system at least in part by compensating for thermal lensing caused at least in part by the transforming energy beam ([00270] - - compensation for thermal lensing); and optionally wherein the thermal lensing is caused at least in part by the transforming energy beam as it interacts with an optical window through which the transforming energy beam enters into an enclosure in which the at least one three-dimensional object is generated (Fig. 1, [00120] - - the energy flux travels through an optical window to heat a target surface; [00271] - - thermal lensing caused by optical window).
Regarding claim 10, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the at least one controller is configured to direct the non-transforming energy beam to generate the calibration mark, the non-transforming energy beam comprising electromagnetic radiation in a visible light spectrum visible to an average human ([00163] - - the energy beam includes electromagnetic beam comprising visible radiation; [0196] - - the energy beam impinge upon a pre-transformed material to generate the erasable alignment marker).
Regarding claim 15, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the at least one controller is operatively coupled to the at least one sensor configured to detect the location of the calibration mark at least once without detectable damage to the at least one sensor; and optionally wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect the calibration mark with an accuracy of at least about 20 micrometers or with a higher accuracy ([0009] - - direct the detector to detect a position of the marker; [0010] - - the calibrated detector is calibrated to a dimensional accuracy of about 8 microns or higher accuracy).
Regarding claim 21, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: printing the at least one three-dimensional object is in an enclosure configured for accommodating (i) an internal atmosphere more inert than an ambient atmosphere outside of the enclosure ([0010] - - the enclosure comprises an inert atmosphere), (ii) an internal pressure above ambient pressure outside of the processing chamber of the ambient atmosphere ([0010] - - the enclosure comprises an atmosphere maintained at a pressure above ambient pressure), and/or (iii) the internal atmosphere having a lower concentration of a reactive agent as compared to a concentration of the reactive agent in the ambient atmosphere; and optionally wherein the reactive agent comprises oxygen or water and the at least one three-dimensional object comprises an elemental metal or a metal alloy ([00121] - - the interior volume of the enclosure comprise an oxygen or humidity reduced atmosphere; [0003] - - metal, metal alloy).
Regarding claim 24, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the at least one controller is configured to project the calibration mark as a closed continuous shape comprises at least one diagonal line with respect to (i) an edge of the surface of a material bed in which the at least one three-dimensional object is printed (ii) an edge of a floor of a processing chamber comprising the surface, and/or (iii) a wall of the processing chamber; optionally wherein the closed continuous shape being polygonal (Fig. 14B [00214] - - a calibration target is a closed continuous shape; [00189] - - alignment markers comprise an octagon, a square, a hexagon & etc. these are polygonal).
Regarding claim 25, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the first calibration mark and/or the second calibration mark is detectable by at least one camera, the at least one sensor comprising the at least one camera; and optionally wherein (a)the first calibration mark is detectable by a first camera and (b)the second calibration mark is detectable by a second camera, the at least one camera comprising the first camera and the second camera ([00177] - - a camera system, CCD detector array, thus there are a first and a second camera; [00202] - - the markers are detected by camera, thus markers are detectable by camera).
Regarding claim 26, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: calibration mark is an ephemeral mark that excludes a residual footprint once the non-transforming energy beam progresses beyond the calibration mark ([0196] - - erasable alignment marker is ephemeral mark) and optionally wherein the at least one controller is configured to (I) direct the at least one sensor to sense the calibration mark in real time as the calibration mark is generated ([00202] - - direct the sensor to detect the marker) and/or (II) direct generation of the calibration mark having a uniform light density or a substantially uniform light density ([00116] - - the energy source generate a substantially uniform energy beam).
Regarding claim 47, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the at least one sensor comprises a camera, and wherein an exposure time of the camera is synchronized with generating the calibration mark ([00202] - - after the marker is formed, image of the marker is taken by a camera; thus the exposure time of the camera is synchronized with generating the marker).
Regarding claim 54, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the calibration mark is a first calibration mark and the surface is a first exposed surface of a first layer of a material bed from which the at least one three- dimensional object is printed, and wherein the at least one controller is configured to direct projection of a second calibration mark on a second exposed surface of a second layer of the material bed generated layerwise during the printing, the material bed comprising successively deposited layers (Figs. 29A-29H, [00202] - - a first marker and a second marker).
Regarding claim 55, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the at least one controller is configured to direct projection of the first calibration mark and/or of the second calibration mark such that their projection occurs during printing at least about 30% of the successively deposited layers ([00178] - - calibration is performed during the 3D printing, e.g. every nth layer of a 3D object).
Regarding claim 56, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Milstein further teaches: the at least one controller is configured to (A) operatively couple to a layer dispenser, and (B) direct the layer dispenser to dispense a layer during a time window and project the calibration mark on the surface of the layer during a layer dispensing operation and during the time window, the at least one three-dimensional object being printed from a material bed that is generated by layerwise deposition, the layer dispenser dispensing the layer in the layer dispensing operation, the layer being a portion of the material bed (Fig. 1, [0010] - - controller is coupled with a layer dispenser; direct the dispenser to dispense a layer; controller direct formation of markers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46, 49, 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milstein et al. WO 2019/173000 (hereinafter Milstein) in view of Cheverton et al. US 10,500,675 (hereinafter Cheverton).
Regarding claim 46, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Milstein does not explicitly teach: the at least one sensor comprises a camera, and wherein an exposure time of the camera is proportional to a time it takes to generate the calibration mark; and optionally wherein the exposure time of the camera is proportional to the time it takes to generate at least 2 calibration marks.
However, Cheverton teaches: the at least one sensor comprises a camera, and wherein an exposure time of the camera is proportional to a time it takes to generate the calibration mark; and optionally wherein the exposure time of the camera is proportional to the time it takes to generate at least 2 calibration marks (Claim 1, C7, L35-58 - - trigger to position camera shutter in open position at the commencement of a layer build and position the shutter in closed position at the completion of the layer build; it is a design choice to set the exposure time to the time of generating 1 mark or 2 marks).
Milstein and Cheverton are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by Milstein, and incorporating set camera exposure time according to time to generate a mark, as taught by Cheverton.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve additive manufacturing process and reduce errors, as suggested by Cheverton (C4, L26-27).
Regarding claim 49, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Milstein does not explicitly teach: the at least one controller is configured to synchronize, or direct synchronization of, sensing the calibration mark by the camera with generation of the calibration mark at least in part by the sensing being electronically triggered by operation of (a)the non-transforming energy beam and/or (b)an energy source for the non-transforming energy beam.
However, Cheverton teaches: the at least one controller is configured to synchronize, or direct synchronization of, sensing the calibration mark by the camera with generation of the calibration mark at least in part by the sensing being electronically triggered by operation of (a)the non-transforming energy beam and/or (b)an energy source for the non-transforming energy beam (Claim 1, C7, L35-58 - - trigger to position camera shutter in open or closed position; triggering component receives a signal relating to an operating characteristic of energy source).
Milstein and Cheverton are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by Milstein, and incorporating triggering camera according to operation of energy beam, as taught by Cheverton.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve additive manufacturing process and reduce errors, as suggested by Cheverton (C4, L26-27).
Regarding claim 50, Milstein teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Milstein does not explicitly teach: the at least one controller is configured to synchronize, or direct synchronization of, sensing the calibration mark by the camera with generating the calibration mark at least in part by the synchronization comprising clock synchronization, barrier synchronization, count synchronization, or a schedule; and optionally wherein a clock of the clock synchronization comprises an oscillating crystal clock.
However, Cheverton teaches: the at least one controller is configured to synchronize, or direct synchronization of, sensing the calibration mark by the camera with generating the calibration mark at least in part by the synchronization comprising clock synchronization, barrier synchronization, count synchronization, or a schedule; and optionally wherein a clock of the clock synchronization comprises an oscillating crystal clock (C8, L22-25 - - “shutter 146 is moved to the open position after activation of focused energy source 104 and moved to the closed position prior to deactivation of focused energy source 104”; this is a schedule).
Milstein and Cheverton are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to 3D printing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by Milstein, and incorporating scheduling camera according to operation of energy beam, as taught by Cheverton.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve additive manufacturing process and reduce errors, as suggested by Cheverton (C4, L26-27).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116