DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 6,623,299).
Regarding claim 1: Liu teaches a connector 1 (Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (at 30; Fig. 1) that is formed of multiple parts (see Fig. 2 for multiple parts forming the connector housing), having at least a first housing part 30 and a second housing part 11 that are connected to one another (see Figs. 1-3); first contact elements 12 and second contact elements (at 22; Fig. 3) that are soldered to one another (Col. 3, lines 47-50) at contact points (at 211; Fig. 4) arranged in the housing in order to establish an electrical connection (see Fig. 4); first lines 21 that are connected to the first contact elements 12 (see Fig. 4 for electrical and physical connection of first line 21 and first contact element 12); second lines 21 that are different from the first lines (e.g. there are multiple lines and some can be interpreted as first and second lines) and are connected to the second contact elements or whose ends (at 21; Fig. 3) form the second contact elements (e.g. the ends of second lines for second contact elements; see Fig. 3); and a casting resin (e.g. melted plastic material located within cover 30; see Fig. 4 and Col. 3, lines 52-58) that at least partially surrounds the first and second contact elements and surrounds at least the contact points between the first and the second contact elements (see Fig. 4 and Col. 3, lines 52-58), the contact points being provided in or on the first housing part 30 (see Fig. 4), wherein the casting resin (e.g. melted plastic) is connected to the first housing part 30, so as to insulate at least the contact points that are provided in or on the first housing part 30 (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2: Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the casting resin (e.g. melted plastic) has a coefficient of thermal expansion that is equal or nearly equal to a coefficient of thermal expansion of a first material from which the first housing part 30 is made (e.g. melted plastic of cover 30 is made of the same material as housing part 30 and therefore would have the same coefficient of thermal expansion).
Regarding claim 3: Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second housing part 11 is made of a second material (at 13 is part of second housing part 11; see Figs. 1-3) that has a modulus of elasticity that is lower than the modulus of elasticity of the first material (e.g. the material of housing portion 13 would be deformed due to barbs 1211; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5: Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connector includes a printed circuit board 13 (Fig. 2), and wherein the first contact elements 12 are attached to the printed circuit board 13 and the first lines are designed as conductive traces on the printed circuit board (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6: Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 5 and further teaches wherein a connection point or connection points between the first contact elements 12 and the first lines 21 is surrounded by the casting resin (see Fig. 4 and Col. 3, lines 52-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 6,623,299), in view of Hayes (US 4,810,208).
Regarding claim 4: Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Liu does not explicitly teach and further teaches wherein the second housing part has connecting elements or snap hooks that are elastically deformable to establish the connection of the second housing part to the first housing part and/or to another object.
Hayes teaches a second housing part 100 has connecting elements or snap hooks 106 that are elastically deformable to establish a connection of the second housing part to a first housing part 2 (see Figs. 1-4) and/or to another object.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the second housing part has connecting elements or snap hooks that are elastically deformable to establish the connection of the second housing part to the first housing part and/or to another object as taught by Hayes into the connector of Liu in order to achieve the advantage of securely connecting multiple housing components to each other.
Regarding claim 7: Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the second housing part has snap hooks that are elastically deformable to establish the connection of the second housing part to the first housing part, the snap hooks being connected to detent projections of the first housing part.
Hayes teaches a second housing part 100 has snap hooks 106 that are elastically deformable to establish the connection of the second housing part to a first housing part 2, the snap hooks 106 being connected to detent projections 34 of the first housing part (see Figs. 1-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the second housing part has snap hooks that are elastically deformable to establish the connection of the second housing part to the first housing part, the snap hooks being connected to detent projections of the first housing part as taught by Hayes into the connector of Liu in order to achieve the advantage of securely connecting multiple housing components to each other.
Regarding claim 8: Liu, in view of Hayes, teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and Hayes further teaches wherein the second housing part 100 has additional snap hooks (e.g. bottom hooks; Fig. 1) that are elastically deformable to establish a connection of the second housing part to another object (see Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Reference Liu (US 6,623,299) teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and specifically further teaches first lines 21 that are connected to the first contact elements 12 (see Fig. 4 for electrical and physical connection of first line 21 and first contact element 12); second lines 21 that are different from the first lines (e.g. there are multiple lines and some can be interpreted as first and second lines) and are connected to the second contact elements or whose ends (at 21; Fig. 3) form the second contact elements (e.g. the ends of second lines for second contact elements; see Fig. 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896