DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of Claims 2. This Office Action is in response to the filing of the application on 08/15/2023 . Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-6 are currently pending. Claim Objections 3. Claim s 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “at least one sensor on the second end that detects connection to the first oxygen line connector to an oxygen line” in lines 7-8. This limitation appears to be duplicated from lines 5-6 regarding the first end, it is suggested to change this to –at least one sensor on the second end that detects connection of the second oxygen line connector to an oxygen line—to clarify that the second end is distinct from the first end. Claim 6 recites “the oxygen hose disconnection alert device of claim 1 where the at least one sensor comprises” in lines 1-2. It is suggested to change this to –the oxygen hose disconnection alert device of claim 1 where the at least one sensor on the first end and /or the at least one sensor on the second end comprises—to clarify that both of the aforementioned sensors are distinct and are being further described. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. 5. Claim s 1- 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1 , the limitation “the oxygen hose disconnection alert device is capable of attempting to alert a user if the oxygen hose disconnection alert device is disconnected from an oxygen line” in lines 9-10 is indefinite because the term “capable of attempting” seems to suggest that the device may or may not alert the user. Further, the term “capable of attempting” seems to be formatted as a method claim, and it is suggested to add functional language to clarify that the claim is directed to a device. This limitation is being interpreted as –the oxygen hose disconnection alert device is configured to alert a user if the oxygen hose disconnection alert device is disconnected from an oxygen line--. The remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 6. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 7. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 8. Claim(s) 1 , 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nashed (US 6,851,421 ) . Regarding claim 1 , Nashed discloses an oxygen hose disconnection alert device (fig. 6 ) comprising: a tubular body ( fig. 6, coupling tube 128 ) having a first end (fig. 6, output end 142 ) and a second end (fig. 6, output end 130 ); a first oxygen line connector on the first end ( col. 8, lines 15-24 states that output end 142 connects to the interior of the supply tube 114, see fig. 6 ); a second oxygen line connector on the second end ( col. 8, lines 1-6 states that the coupling tube 128 connects with endotracheal tube 104, see fig. 6 ) ; at least one sensor on the first end that detects connection of the first oxygen line connector to an oxygen line (fig. 6, first electrically conductive ring 144 and second electrically conductive ring 146 ) ; and at least one sensor on the second end that detects connection of the first oxygen line connector to an oxygen line (fig. 6, first electrically conductive element 132 and second electrically conductive element 134 ) , where the oxygen hose disconnection alert device is capable of attempting to alert a user if the oxygen hose disconnection alert device is disconnected from an oxygen line ( col. 6, lines 36-53 states that a capnograph 76, see fig. 5, includes a program with a third alarm 86 that triggers if the circuit made by the endotracheal tube conductive strip is interrupted once it is connected ) . Regarding claim 4 , Nashed reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on an alert device (col. 6, lines 36-53 states a capnograph is provided for various alarms). Regarding claim 6 , Nashed reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on where the at least one sensor comprises a pressure switch (fig. 6, electrically conductive finger 136 and free end 140 which is biased away from second electrically conductive element 140 which completes the circuit, see col 8, lines 34-41 which describes the same switch for fig. 7 where it is depressed similarly to complete a circuit). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 9. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 10. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nashed in view of Saarem et al. (US 2006/0151995) . Regarding claim 2 , Nashed reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses the endotracheal tube connector is made of a flexible material (col. 6, lines 23-25) , but is silent on the first oxygen line connector and/or the second oxygen line connector comprising a barbed oxygen hose fitting. However, Saarem teaches of a transparent coupling for joining ends of a relatively soft plastic conduit (fig. 4, circumferential barbs 58) to secure conduits in a tube (see claim 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Nashed with the internal circumferential barbs as taught by Saarem to resist removal of the internal conduit and increase the security of the conduits in a tube. The modified device of Nashed reads on the second oxygen line connector comprising a barbed oxygen hose fitting (Nashed fig. 6, the connection between elbow 128 and endotracheal tube 104 with circumferential barbs, see Saarem fig. 4, barbs 58) . 11. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nashed in view of Al-Ali (US 2015/0238722) . Regarding claim 3 , Nashed reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on a capnograph (fig. 1, 76) which appears to have a speaker (fig. 1, alarm 82), a screen (fig. 1, alarm 86), and an LED (fig. 1, alarm 84) which require power, but Nashed does not expressly disclose the use of a battery. However, Al-Ali teaches of a system for monitoring patient physiological data includes a measurement head (fig. 1A, 105) that includes a visual and audible alarms and can be powered by a battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Nashed with a battery as taught by Al-Ali to power the various alarms of Nashed. 12. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nashed in view of Klimm et al. (US 5,626,129) . Regarding claim 5 , Nashed reads on the limitations of claim 4 and further reads on a capnograph (fig. 1, 76) which appears to have a speaker (fig. 1, alarm 82), a screen (fig. 1, alarm 86), and an LED (fig. 1, alarm 84), but does not expressly disclose that each alarm is a buzzer, an LED light, a Bluetooth chip, a Wi-Fi card, or any combination thereof. However, Klimm teaches of an arrangement for monitoring a connection between elements which includes a control and monitoring device (fig. 1, 10) which includes a light-emitting diode (fig. 1, 16) and acoustic signal transmitter (fig. 1, 17) which activate when an alarm is triggered (col. 3, lines 41-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Nashed with the light-emitting diode and acoustic signal transmitter as taught by Klimm to communicate the alarms of Nashed (fig. 1, alarm 86, 82, and 84). The modified device of Nashed reads on the alert device (Nashed fig. 1) comprises a buzzer (Klimm fig. 1 acoustic signal transmitter 17) and an LED light (Klimm fig. 1, light-emitting diode 16). Conclusion 13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Velez-Rivera (US 2015/00783122) discloses a connector that generates an alarm when it disconnected. Buenafe (US 10,039,891) discloses an endotracheal tube alarm that activates when an electrical connection across various pieces is disconnected. Winicki (US 4,067,329) discloses a warning device of the disconnection between tubes that uses pressure switches and a sensing tube that activates when disconnected to set off various alarms . 14. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT THOMAS Z CHANG whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-0432 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9:00 am-5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Timothy Stanis can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5139 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THOMAS Z CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785 /TIMOTHY A STANIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785