DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites, “the first route reflector receives the routes of the particular router from the first route reflector” in lines 2-3. It is not clear how the first route reflector receives route … from the first route reflector. The Examiner assumes that it is intended to claim “the first edge router receives the routes of the particular router from the first route reflector”.
Regarding claim 19, the same rejection as claim 10 is applied.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scholz et al. (US 2023/0116163 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Scholz discloses a method for implementing an SD-WAN (software-defined wide area network) connecting a plurality of sites (e.g. 140) at a plurality of physical locations (figs. 1A-1C), the method comprising: at a first hub router (110B) of the SD-WAN that comprises (i) a plurality of edge routers (e.g. 110A-110B) at the plurality of sites (e.g. 140A-140B), (ii) a plurality of route reflectors for a plurality of regions, each region comprising one or more sites (figs. 1A-1C), and (iii) a plurality of hub routers for the plurality of regions, each particular hub router of each particular region forwarding packets between the edge routers of the sites of the particular region and between the regions (paragraph [0004]-[0005]; [0011]; [0021]; [0100]; [0113]-[0114]): establishing, with a first edge router located at a first site in a first region, a new connection for the first hub router to use to connect the first edge router to a second edge router of a second site in the first region (paragraph [0021]-[0022]; [0031]-[0033]; [0037]; [0054]-[0055]; [0068]; [0072]; [0076]; [0079]-[0081]; and so on, illustrating establishing with first edge router, such as spoke router 110A, a connection to connect the router 11A to a second edge router, such as 110C, through the hub router 110B); determining that a peer-connection notification regarding a set of other routers of which the first hub router has been notified has to be sent to the first edge router (paragraph [0005]; [0008]; [0010]-[0014]; [0041]-[0042]; [0087]; [0098]-[0100]; [0106]-[0109]; [0125]; [0158]-[0160]; [0166]-[0169]; and etc., illustrating the determination of peer-connection information or reachability information of the routers to be sent to the first or second router 110A or 110C); and sending the peer-connection notification to the first edge router for the first edge router to analyze in order to determine whether the first edge router needs to obtain routes associated with each other router in the set of other routers (paragraph [0010]-[0011]; [0022]; [0055]; [0083]-[0087]; [0095]; [0098]-[0100]; [0106]-[0109]; [0115]; [0125]; [0133]-[0135]; [0147]; and so on, describing the reachability information is sent to the edge router such as router 110A or 110C so that the edge router determines whether or not to directly obtain and transmit routes each other).
Regarding claim 12, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding a non-transitory machine readable medium, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2 and 13, Scholz discloses wherein for each particular router in the set of other routers, the peer-connection notification comprises at least an identifier associated with the particular router and one or more indications of whether the first hub router has (i) a direct connection to the particular router or (ii) a relayed connection to the particular router (paragraph [0140]-[0144]; [0005]).
Regarding claim 3 and 14, Scholz discloses wherein the one or more indications comprises a particular metric value, wherein when the first hub router has a direct connection to the particular router, the particular metric value is one, wherein when the first hub router has a relayed connection to the particular router, the particular metric value is incremented for each additional hop between the first hub router and the particular router (paragraph [0005]; [0009]-[0011]; [0022]; [0037]; [0043]; [0071]; [0080]; [0094]-[0099]; [0108]-[0109]; [0114]; [0117]-[0118]; [0126]; [0129]-[0134]; [0147]-[0148]; [0159]-[0160]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Scholz discloses wherein for each particular router in the set of other routers, the peer-connection notification further comprises endpoint information associated with the particular router (paragraph [0009]; [0043]-[0045]; [0060]-[0062]; [0066]; [0073]; [0085]; and so on).
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Scholz discloses wherein the first edge router analyzes the peer-connection notification in order to determine whether the first edge router needs to obtain routes associated with each other router in the set of routers by analyzing the peer-connection notification to determine with which routers in the set of other routers the first edge router needs to exchange communications (paragraph [0010]-[0011]; [0022]; [0055]; [0083]-[0087]; [0095]; [0098]-[0100]; [0106]-[0109]; [0115]; [0125]; [0133]-[0135]; [0147]; and so on).
Regarding claim 9-10, and 19, Scholz discloses wherein the first edge router has a direct connection to a first route reflector, wherein when the first edge router determines it needs to obtain routes associated with at least one particular router in the set of routers, the first edge router requests the routes of the particular router from the first route reflector (paragraph [0141]-[0142]; [0121]; and so on), and wherein when the first route reflector has a direct connection to the particular router, the first route reflector receives the routes of the particular router from the first route reflector and when the first route reflector does not have a direct connection to the particular router, the first edge router receives the routes of the particular router from the first hub router (paragraph [0140]-[0150]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 11 and 20, Scholz discloses wherein the set of routers comprises (i) one or more hub routers, and (ii) one or more edge routers located at one or more branch sites in one or more regions (figs. 1A-1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz in view of Kariyappa et al. (US 2024/0073147 A1).
Regarding claim 4 and 15, as applied above, Scholz discloses one or more indications. Scholz does not disclose wherein the one or more indications comprises one of (i) a direct connection flag that signifies a direct connection between the first hub router and the particular router and (ii) a relayed connection flag that signifies a relayed connection between the first hub router and the particular router.
Kariyappa teaches wherein the one or more indications comprises one of (i) a direct connection flag that signifies a direct connection between the first hub router and the particular router and (ii) a relayed connection flag that signifies a relayed connection between the first hub router and the particular router (paragraph [0055]-[0059]; [0065]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the one or more indications comprises one of (i) a direct connection flag that signifies a direct connection between the first hub router and the particular router and (ii) a relayed connection flag that signifies a relayed connection between the first hub router and the particular router as taught by Kariyappa into Scholz in order to reduce latency and loss of communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461