Response to Amendment
This is a Final Office action in response to communications filed on February
16, 2026. Applicant amended claims 1, 10, and 19. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1-20.
Claims 1-9 are drawn to a fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network to a user (i.e., manufacture). Claims 10-18 are drawn to a fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network to a user (i.e., manufacture). Claims 19-20 are drawn to a fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network to a user (i.e., manufacture).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1-20.
Claim 1 recites:
A fitness tracking computing system, the fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network to a visual display of a device viewable by a user, wherein the device is any of a smart phone, tablet computer, and a laptop, wherein the fitness tracking computing system maintains a private account for the user and a professional account for a professional user, wherein the private account and the professional account are linked via a user-controlled linkage that permits the professional user to push a rehabilitative therapy regimen to the private account, wherein the fitness tracking computing system configured to:
transmit to the visual display an instruction, wherein the instruction identifies an exercise to be performed by the user, wherein the exercise is part of the rehabilitative therapy regimen pushed to the private account;
during performance of the exercise by the user, provide an exercise status summary to the visual display;
based on the user's movements during performance of the exercise, as tracked by a camera, provide feedback to the visual display;
track and log performance of the exercise by the user in the database;
automatically modify the rehabilitative therapy regimen in the database based on a detected over-performance or under performance of the exercise by the user;
and determine an effectiveness of the rehabilitative therapy regimen.
These steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because a human can provide instruction for an exercise, a status summary of the exercise, feedback to the user, a log of exercise performance, and an assessment of rehabilitative therapy effectiveness. Applicant of claimed invention discloses “systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods described herein can also provide the ability to manually track cardiovascular routines and body weight.” [0019].
Independent claims 10 and 19 describe nearly identical steps as claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 are directed towards mini-tasks (visual instruction, audio instruction, animated instruction, etc.) for a fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network to a user. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, or analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a processing and storage units (independent claims 1, 10, and 19 and dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20) is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Similarly, the limitations of processing and storage units (independent claims 1, 10, and 19 dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20) are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1, 10, and 19 and dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering, post-solution activity) and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable under US 20120259652 A1 (“Mallon”).
In regards to claim 1, Mallon discloses
A fitness tracking computing system, the fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network ([0043], “system … comprises … network interfaces”) to a visual display of a device viewable by a user ([0077], “The microprocessor … may indicate the device's status on … visual … display” Examiner notes that the microprocessor is connected to the network.), wherein the device is any of a smart phone, tablet computer, and a laptop ([0032], “The gateway can be … a … device such as a Smartphone” Examiner notes that the gateway includes a microprocessor and a network interface.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system maintains a private account for the user ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.) and a professional account for a professional user ([0106], “the … physical therapist, occupational therapist, physician, personal trainer, coach, wellness expert, etc., can also input information, e.g., in the form of comments, observations, recommendations, etc., which can also be used … to generate the baseline assessment, individualized treatment plan”), wherein the private account and the professional account are linked via a user-controlled linkage that permits the professional user to push a rehabilitative therapy regimen to the private account ([0054], “Processor … can be configured to control the operation of device … based on instructions stored in memory”, Examiner notes that the processor can be configured to link the private account to the professional account using user controls.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system configured to ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … a database configured to store treatment information”):
transmit to the visual display an instruction ([0109], “camera … can capture … video of the … individual for … instruction on a Smartphone” Examiner notes that a video provides visual display.), wherein the instruction identifies an exercise to be performed by the user, wherein the exercise is part of ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … exercises … performed by the subject according to a treatment plan”) the rehabilitative therapy regimen ([0092], “Database … can … be configured to store treatment plan information including, … prescriptions for physical therapy or rehabilitation”) pushed to the private account ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.);
during performance of the exercise by the user, provide an exercise status summary to the visual display ([0109], “the … individual can be … running a program that displays content on monitor … and reacts to the patient's movements” Examiner notes that the displayed content may be an exercise status summary.);
based on the user's movements during performance of the exercise, as tracked by a camera, provide feedback to the visual display ([0109], “Camera … can … be used to provide visual feedback”);
track and log performance of the exercise by the user in the database ([0016], “a database configured to store treatment information, … subject information, reporting, … for a plurality of subjects” Examiner notes that reporting often includes tracking and logging information.);
automatically modify the rehabilitative therapy regimen in the database based on a detected over-performance or under performance of the exercise by the user ([0040], “data sets can improve treatment plan optimization and customization, can allow for in depth trending, alarming, etc., and allow modification of treatment plans”);
and determine an effectiveness of the rehabilitative therapy regimen ([0033], “Algorithms … can be configured to not only detect proper performance of a prescribed treatment plan but also the effectiveness of the treatment”).
In regards to claim 2, Mallon discloses
wherein the instruction is a visual instruction ([0100], “baseline assessment can involve the creation of an avatar that can … be used … for visual instruction”).
In regards to claim 3, Mallon discloses
wherein the instruction is an audio instruction ([0148], “camera may … be configured to include an audio component, such that any sounds made … during performance of an exercise, can be … included with the … projection onto the display.”).
In regards to claim 4, Mallon discloses
wherein the instruction is an animated instruction ([0034], “an avatar can be a part of the treatment plan used as a guide or instructor/coach for the prescribed treatment” Examiner notes that an avatar can be an animation.).
In regards to claim 5, Mallon discloses
wherein the exercise status summary comprises set data and repetition data ([0121], “Server … can … use this information … to determine … whether the proper sets and repetitions, etc. were performed”).
In regards to claim 6, Mallon discloses
wherein the exercise status summary comprises timing data ([0121], “server … can receive the data and extract timing and movement information”).
In regards to claim 7, Mallon discloses
wherein the feedback is posture-based feedback ([0132], “the … data may indicate that the subject is not performing an exercise properly, e.g., does not have proper posture”).
In regards to claim 8, Mallon discloses
wherein the feedback is speed-based feedback ([0114], “server … can use the data to determine an individual's capacity to perform certain … exercises … with respect to … speed”).
In regards to claim 9, Mallon discloses
further comprising the database ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … a database”).
In regards to claim 10, Mallon discloses
A fitness tracking computing system, the fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network ([0043], “system … comprises … network interfaces”) to visual displays of each of a plurality of devices, wherein the visual displays of each of the plurality of devices is viewable by a respective user ([0077], “The microprocessor … may indicate the device's status on … visual … display” Examiner notes that the microprocessor is connected to the network.), wherein each of the plurality of devices is any of a smart phone, tablet computer, and a laptop ([0032], “The gateway can be … a … device such as a Smartphone” Examiner notes that the gateway includes a microprocessor and a network interface.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system maintains a respective private account for each respective user ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.) and at least one professional account for a professional user ([0106], “the … physical therapist, occupational therapist, physician, personal trainer, coach, wellness expert, etc., can also input information, e.g., in the form of comments, observations, recommendations, etc., which can also be used … to generate the baseline assessment, individualized treatment plan”), wherein each respective private account is linked to the at least one professional account via user-controlled linkage that permits the professional user to push a rehabilitative therapy regimen associated with the respective user to the respective private account ([0054], “Processor … can be configured to control the operation of device … based on instructions stored in memory”, Examiner notes that the processor can be configured to link the private account to the professional account using user controls.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system configured to ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … a database configured to store treatment information”):
transmit an instruction to the visual display of each of a plurality of devices ([0109], “camera … can capture … video of the … individual for … instruction on a Smartphone” Examiner notes that a video provides visual display.), wherein the instruction identifies an exercise to be performed by the respective user, wherein the exercise is part of ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … exercises … performed by the subject according to a treatment plan”) the rehabilitative therapy regimen ([0092], “Database … can … be configured to store treatment plan information including, … prescriptions for physical therapy or rehabilitation”) pushed to the respective private account ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.);
during performance of the exercise by each of the respective users, provide an exercise status summary to the visual display of the device of the respective user ([0109], “the … individual can be … running a program that displays content on monitor … and reacts to the patient's movements” Examiner notes that the displayed content may be an exercise status summary.);
based on the respective user's movements during performance of the exercise, as tracked by a camera, provide feedback to the visual display of the device of the respective user ([0109], “Camera … can … be used to provide visual feedback”);
track and log performance of the exercise by each of the respective users in the database ([0016], “a database configured to store treatment information, … subject information, reporting, … for a plurality of subjects” Examiner notes that reporting often includes tracking and logging information.);
automatically modify the rehabilitative therapy regimen associated with the respective user in the database based on a detected over-performance or under-performance of the exercise by the respective user ([0040], “data sets can improve treatment plan optimization and customization, can allow for in depth trending, alarming, etc., and allow modification of treatment plans”);
and determine an effectiveness of the rehabilitative therapy regimen based on the performance of each of the respective users ([0033], “Algorithms … can be configured to not only detect proper performance of a prescribed treatment plan but also the effectiveness of the treatment”).
In regards to claim 11, Mallon discloses
wherein the instruction is a visual instruction ([0100], “baseline assessment can involve the creation of an avatar that can … be used … for visual instruction”).
In regards to claim 12, Mallon discloses
wherein the instruction is an audio instruction ([0148], “camera may … be configured to include an audio component, such that any sounds made … during performance of an exercise, can be … included with the … projection onto the display.”).
In regards to claim 13, Mallon discloses
wherein the instruction is an animated instruction ([0034], “an avatar can be a part of the treatment plan used as a guide or instructor/coach for the prescribed treatment” Examiner notes that an avatar can be an animation.).
In regards to claim 14, Mallon discloses
wherein the exercise status summary comprises set data and repetition data ([0121], “Server … can … use this information … to determine … whether the proper sets and repetitions, etc. were performed”).
In regards to claim 15, Mallon discloses
wherein the exercise status summary comprises timing data ([0121], “server … can receive the data and extract timing and movement information”).
In regards to claim 16, Mallon discloses
wherein the feedback is posture-based feedback ([0132], “the … data may indicate that the subject is not performing an exercise properly, e.g., does not have proper posture”).
In regards to claim 17, Mallon discloses
wherein the feedback is speed-based feedback ([0114], “server … can use the data to determine an individual's capacity to perform certain … exercises … with respect to … speed”).
In regards to claim 18, Mallon discloses
further comprising the database ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … a database”).
In regards to claim 19, Mallon discloses
A fitness tracking computing system, the fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network ([0043], “system … comprises … network interfaces”) to a visual display of a device viewable by a user ([0077], “The microprocessor … may indicate the device's status on … visual … display” Examiner notes that the microprocessor is connected to the network.), wherein the device is any of a smart phone, tablet computer, and a laptop ([0032], “The gateway can be … a … device such as a Smartphone” Examiner notes that the gateway includes a microprocessor and a network interface.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system maintains a private account for the user ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.) and a professional account for a professional user ([0106], “the … physical therapist, occupational therapist, physician, personal trainer, coach, wellness expert, etc., can also input information, e.g., in the form of comments, observations, recommendations, etc., which can also be used … to generate the baseline assessment, individualized treatment plan”), wherein the private account and the professional account are linked via a user-controlled linkage that permits the professional user to push a rehabilitative therapy regimen to the private account ([0054], “Processor … can be configured to control the operation of device … based on instructions stored in memory”, Examiner notes that the processor can be configured to link the private account to the professional account using user controls.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system configured to ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … a database configured to store treatment information”):
transmit to the visual display an instruction ([0109], “camera … can capture … video of the … individual for … instruction on a Smartphone” Examiner notes that a video provides visual display.), wherein the instruction identifies an exercise to be performed by the user, wherein the exercise is part of ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … exercises … performed by the subject according to a treatment plan”) the rehabilitative therapy regimen ([0092], “Database … can … be configured to store treatment plan information including, … prescriptions for physical therapy or rehabilitation”) pushed to the private account ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.);
during performance of the exercise by the user, provide an exercise status summary to the visual display ([0109], “the … individual can be … running a program that displays content on monitor … and reacts to the patient's movements” Examiner notes that the displayed content may be an exercise status summary.);
based on the user's movements during performance of the exercise, as tracked by a camera, provide feedback to the visual display ([0109], “Camera … can … be used to provide visual feedback”);
track and log performance of the exercise by the user in the database ([0016], “a database configured to store treatment information, … subject information, reporting, … for a plurality of subjects” Examiner notes that reporting often includes tracking and logging information.);
and automatically modify the rehabilitative therapy regimen in the database based on a detected over-performance or under-performance of the exercise by the user ([0040], “data sets can improve treatment plan optimization and customization, can allow for in depth trending, alarming, etc., and allow modification of treatment plans”).
In regards to claim 20, Mallon discloses
wherein the instruction is any of a visual instruction ([0100], “baseline assessment can involve the creation of an avatar that can … be used … for visual instruction”), an audio instruction ([0148], “camera may … be configured to include an audio component, such that any sounds made … during performance of an exercise, can be … included with the … projection onto the display.”), and an animated instruction ([0034], “an avatar can be a part of the treatment plan used as a guide or instructor/coach for the prescribed treatment”);
the exercise status summary comprises set data and repetition data ([0121], “Server … can … use this information … to determine … whether the proper sets and repetitions, etc. were performed”);
and the feedback is any of posture-based feedback ([0132], “the … data may indicate that the subject is not performing an exercise properly, e.g., does not have proper posture”) and speed-based feedback ([0114], “server … can use the data to determine an individual's capacity to perform certain … exercises … with respect to … speed”).
Response to Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed February 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. With respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant argues that “The Claimed Subject Matter is Not Directed to an Abstract Idea” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS, Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 101, page 7, paragraph 3), “The Claims Integrate the Alleged Exception into a Practical Application” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS, Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 101, page 7, paragraph 5), and “The Claims Recite an Inventive Concept that is Significantly More than any Abstract Idea” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS, Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 101, page 8, paragraph 3). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Claim 1 recites a fitness tracking computing system, the fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network to a visual display of a device viewable by a user, wherein the device is any of a smart phone, tablet computer, and a laptop, wherein the fitness tracking computing system maintains a private account for the user and a professional account for a professional user, wherein the private account and the professional account are linked via a user-controlled linkage that permits the professional user to push a rehabilitative therapy regimen to the private account, wherein the fitness tracking computing system configured to: transmit to the visual display an instruction, wherein the instruction identifies an exercise to be performed by the user, wherein the exercise is part of the rehabilitative therapy regimen pushed to the private account; during performance of the exercise by the user, provide an exercise status summary to the visual display; based on the user's movements during performance of the exercise, as tracked by a camera, provide feedback to the visual display; track and log performance of the exercise by the user in the database; automatically modify the rehabilitative therapy regimen in the database based on a detected over-performance or under performance of the exercise by the user; and determine an effectiveness of the rehabilitative therapy regimen. These steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because a human can provide instruction for an exercise, a status summary of the exercise, feedback to the user, a log of exercise performance, and an assessment of rehabilitative therapy effectiveness. Applicant of claimed invention discloses “systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods described herein can also provide the ability to manually track cardiovascular routines and body weight.” [0019]. Independent claims 10 and 19 describe nearly identical steps as claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 are directed towards mini-tasks (visual instruction, audio instruction, animated instruction, etc.) for a fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network to a user. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, or analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 recite an abstract idea.
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a processing and storage units (independent claims 1, 10, and 19 and dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20) is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Similarly, the limitations of processing and storage units (independent claims 1, 10, and 19 dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20) are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1, 10, and 19 and dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering, post-solution activity) and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, Applicant argues that “Because Mallon does not disclose each and every element of claim 1, the claim is novel” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS, Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103, page 10, paragraph 1). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 1, Mallon discloses a fitness tracking computing system, the fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network ([0043], “system … comprises … network interfaces”) to a visual display of a device viewable by a user ([0077], “The microprocessor … may indicate the device's status on … visual … display” Examiner notes that the microprocessor is connected to the network.), wherein the device is any of a smart phone, tablet computer, and a laptop ([0032], “The gateway can be … a … device such as a Smartphone” Examiner notes that the gateway includes a microprocessor and a network interface.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system maintains a private account for the user ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.) and a professional account for a professional user ([0106], “the … physical therapist, occupational therapist, physician, personal trainer, coach, wellness expert, etc., can also input information, e.g., in the form of comments, observations, recommendations, etc., which can also be used … to generate the baseline assessment, individualized treatment plan”), wherein the private account and the professional account are linked via a user-controlled linkage that permits the professional user to push a rehabilitative therapy regimen to the private account ([0054], “Processor … can be configured to control the operation of device … based on instructions stored in memory”, Examiner notes that the processor can be configured to link the private account to the professional account using user controls.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system configured to ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … a database configured to store treatment information”): transmit to the visual display an instruction ([0109], “camera … can capture … video of the … individual for … instruction on a Smartphone” Examiner notes that a video provides visual display.), wherein the instruction identifies an exercise to be performed by the user, wherein the exercise is part of ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … exercises … performed by the subject according to a treatment plan”) the rehabilitative therapy regimen ([0092], “Database … can … be configured to store treatment plan information including, … prescriptions for physical therapy or rehabilitation”) pushed to the private account ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.); during performance of the exercise by the user, provide an exercise status summary to the visual display ([0109], “the … individual can be … running a program that displays content on monitor … and reacts to the patient's movements” Examiner notes that the displayed content may be an exercise status summary.); based on the user's movements during performance of the exercise, as tracked by a camera, provide feedback to the visual display ([0109], “Camera … can … be used to provide visual feedback”); track and log performance of the exercise by the user in the database ([0016], “a database configured to store treatment information, … subject information, reporting, … for a plurality of subjects” Examiner notes that reporting often includes tracking and logging information.); automatically modify the rehabilitative therapy regimen in the database based on a detected over-performance or under performance of the exercise by the user ([0040], “data sets can improve treatment plan optimization and customization, can allow for in depth trending, alarming, etc., and allow modification of treatment plans”); and determine an effectiveness of the rehabilitative therapy regimen ([0033], “Algorithms … can be configured to not only detect proper performance of a prescribed treatment plan but also the effectiveness of the treatment”).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-9, as anticipated by Mallon, are maintained.
With respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, Applicant argues that “Independent claims 10 and 19 are also patentable over Mallon for similar reasons” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS, Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103, page 10, paragraph 2) and “For the reasons discussed with respect to claim 1, Mallon fails to disclose this specific combination of account-based data delivery and automated performance- based regimen updates” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS, Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103, page 10, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 10, Mallon discloses a fitness tracking computing system, the fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network ([0043], “system … comprises … network interfaces”) to visual displays of each of a plurality of devices, wherein the visual displays of each of the plurality of devices is viewable by a respective user ([0077], “The microprocessor … may indicate the device's status on … visual … display” Examiner notes that the microprocessor is connected to the network.), wherein each of the plurality of devices is any of a smart phone, tablet computer, and a laptop ([0032], “The gateway can be … a … device such as a Smartphone” Examiner notes that the gateway includes a microprocessor and a network interface.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system maintains a respective private account for each respective user ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.) and at least one professional account for a professional user ([0106], “the … physical therapist, occupational therapist, physician, personal trainer, coach, wellness expert, etc., can also input information, e.g., in the form of comments, observations, recommendations, etc., which can also be used … to generate the baseline assessment, individualized treatment plan”), wherein each respective private account is linked to the at least one professional account via user-controlled linkage that permits the professional user to push a rehabilitative therapy regimen associated with the respective user to the respective private account ([0054], “Processor … can be configured to control the operation of device … based on instructions stored in memory”, Examiner notes that the processor can be configured to link the private account to the professional account using user controls.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system configured to ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … a database configured to store treatment information”): transmit an instruction to the visual display of each of a plurality of devices ([0109], “camera … can capture … video of the … individual for … instruction on a Smartphone” Examiner notes that a video provides visual display.), wherein the instruction identifies an exercise to be performed by the respective user, wherein the exercise is part of ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … exercises … performed by the subject according to a treatment plan”) the rehabilitative therapy regimen ([0092], “Database … can … be configured to store treatment plan information including, … prescriptions for physical therapy or rehabilitation”) pushed to the respective private account ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.); during performance of the exercise by each of the respective users, provide an exercise status summary to the visual display of the device of the respective user ([0109], “the … individual can be … running a program that displays content on monitor … and reacts to the patient's movements” Examiner notes that the displayed content may be an exercise status summary.); based on the respective user's movements during performance of the exercise, as tracked by a camera, provide feedback to the visual display of the device of the respective user ([0109], “Camera … can … be used to provide visual feedback”); track and log performance of the exercise by each of the respective users in the database ([0016], “a database configured to store treatment information, … subject information, reporting, … for a plurality of subjects” Examiner notes that reporting often includes tracking and logging information.); automatically modify the rehabilitative therapy regimen associated with the respective user in the database based on a detected over-performance or under-performance of the exercise by the respective user ([0040], “data sets can improve treatment plan optimization and customization, can allow for in depth trending, alarming, etc., and allow modification of treatment plans”); and determine an effectiveness of the rehabilitative therapy regimen based on the performance of each of the respective users ([0033], “Algorithms … can be configured to not only detect proper performance of a prescribed treatment plan but also the effectiveness of the treatment”). Regarding claim 19, Mallon discloses a fitness tracking computing system, the fitness tracking computing system configured to convey information over a network ([0043], “system … comprises … network interfaces”) to a visual display of a device viewable by a user ([0077], “The microprocessor … may indicate the device's status on … visual … display” Examiner notes that the microprocessor is connected to the network.), wherein the device is any of a smart phone, tablet computer, and a laptop ([0032], “The gateway can be … a … device such as a Smartphone” Examiner notes that the gateway includes a microprocessor and a network interface.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system maintains a private account for the user ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.) and a professional account for a professional user ([0106], “the … physical therapist, occupational therapist, physician, personal trainer, coach, wellness expert, etc., can also input information, e.g., in the form of comments, observations, recommendations, etc., which can also be used … to generate the baseline assessment, individualized treatment plan”), wherein the private account and the professional account are linked via a user-controlled linkage that permits the professional user to push a rehabilitative therapy regimen to the private account ([0054], “Processor … can be configured to control the operation of device … based on instructions stored in memory”, Examiner notes that the processor can be configured to link the private account to the professional account using user controls.), wherein the fitness tracking computing system configured to ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … a database configured to store treatment information”): transmit to the visual display an instruction ([0109], “camera … can capture … video of the … individual for … instruction on a Smartphone” Examiner notes that a video provides visual display.), wherein the instruction identifies an exercise to be performed by the user, wherein the exercise is part of ([0016], “A movement monitoring and management system, comprises … exercises … performed by the subject according to a treatment plan”) the rehabilitative therapy regimen ([0092], “Database … can … be configured to store treatment plan information including, … prescriptions for physical therapy or rehabilitation”) pushed to the private account ([0034], “an initial visit … is … required in order to … develop a custom, individualized treatment plan” Examiner notes that an individualized treatment plan can include an account for the user's private information and specific goals.); during performance of the exercise by the user, provide an exercise status summary to the visual display ([0109], “the … individual can be … running a program that displays content on monitor … and reacts to the patient's movements” Examiner notes that the displayed content may be an exercise status summary.); based on the user's movements during performance of the exercise, as tracked by a camera, provide feedback to the visual display ([0109], “Camera … can … be used to provide visual feedback”); track and log performance of the exercise by the user in the database ([0016], “a database configured to store treatment information, … subject information, reporting, … for a plurality of subjects” Examiner notes that reporting often includes tracking and logging information.); and automatically modify the rehabilitative therapy regimen in the database based on a detected over-performance or under-performance of the exercise by the user ([0040], “data sets can improve treatment plan optimization and customization, can allow for in depth trending, alarming, etc., and allow modification of treatment plans”).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of independent claims 10 and 19 and dependent claims 11-18 and 20, as anticipated by Mallon, are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LISA H ANTOINE
Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715