Mb nm,Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
The amendment filed 1/19/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claims 1-22 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 11-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220346118 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200145975 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Wu and Zhang.
In regard to Claim 1, Wu teaches An Internet of Things (IoT) device, comprising a processing circuitry (the Internet of Things (IoT) where distributed entities, such as things, exchange and process information without human intervention, Para. 3) configured to: maintain a list of a plurality of time slots available to said device (a table for the number of slots that can be aggregated. This table indicates the number of slots that can be aggregated, Para. 294, Table 1) for communicating over at least one communication network (IoT networks, Para. 4), said list comprising respective parameter information for said available time slots (under a particular maximum number of slots that can be aggregated, Para. 294, Table 1).
Wu teaches select at least one of said time slots for transmission of a data item (the PSSCH transmission performed on aggregated slots. Whether to drop the sidelink transmission on all aggregated slots by the TX UE depends on the position of the overlapping slot, Para. 350) based on a joint analysis of properties of a type of said data item (when the amount of data of the PSSCH to be transmitted is large and the QoS of the data to be transmitted is high, that is, the target TBS is greater than a predefined or pre-configured threshold and the value of the service priority is less than a predefined or pre-configured threshold, the TX UE autonomously selects the slot-aggregated sidelink resource for PSSCH transmission, Para. 326) and said respective parameter information (under a particular maximum number of slots that can be aggregated, Para. 294, Table 1).
Wu teaches filtering out (exclude reserved resource for slot aggregations, Para. 27) from said list (a table for the number of slots that can be aggregated. This table indicates the number of slots that can be aggregated under a particular maximum number of slots that can be aggregated, Para. 294, Table 1) time slots which do not achieve the properties required (a threshold of the Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) for deciding whether to exclude reserved resource for slot aggregations, Para. 27. When the TX UE autonomously selects aggregated slots to perform the PSSCH transmission based on the resource usage conditions, the reserved resources excluded are sidelink resources in the aggregated slots, Para. 339) for the data item type (the PSSCH transmission performed on aggregated slots, Para. 350).
Wu teaches a communication interface (receiving and transmitting hardware, Para. 192) configured to upload said data item during said at least one selected time slots (the PSSCH transmission performed on aggregated slots, Para. 350) over a communication network associated with said time slot (IoT networks, Para. 4).
Although Wu teaches one communication network, Wu fails to teach one satellite communication network, and although Wu teaches select at least one of said time slots for transmission of a data item, Wu fails to teach select at least one of said time slots by removing from said list time slots which do not meet or exceed a required probability of success for communication during the respective time slot, and although Wu teaches a communication interface, Wu fails to teach a satellite communication interface.
Zhang teaches communicating over at least one satellite communication network (The E-UTRAN-NR includes an NR node B (gNB) 203. Examples of UE 201 include Satellite Radios, Para. 122, FIG. 2).
Zhang teaches select at least one of said time slots (in S65, the first node judges whether the number of second-type timeslots in the updated set A (that is, the set A obtained after S64 is completed) is greater than M1; if yes, the first node determines a set B from the latest set A in S67, Para. 268, FIG. 11) by: removing from said list time slots which do not meet or exceed a required probability of success for communication during the respective time slot (first-type monitoring includes channel decoding and an energy detection, Para. 91. A first time window and a second time window, as shown in FIG. 8, Para. 221, FIG. 8. In S64, for any one second-type timeslot in the set A, if the first node fails to perform first monitoring (that is, perform channel decoding) in a corresponding first-type timeslot in the first time window, the any one second-type timeslot in the set A is removed from the set A, Para. 281, FIGS. 8-11).
Zhang teaches a satellite communication interface (Satellite Radios, Para. 122, FIG. 2. The PDCP sublayer 304 provides multiplexing between different radio bearers. The RRC sublayer 306 is responsible for acquiring radio resources (i.e. radio bearers), Para. 131, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Wu, since Zhang provides a technique for monitoring and decoding to determine which timeslots are removed from sets, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu to manage time slot utilizations in relation to monitoring and decoding failures.
In regard to Claim 2, Wu teaches said respective parameter information comprises an estimated probability of success for communication during said time slot (the sidelink slot overlapping with the uplink transmission is an aggregation slot other than the first of aggregated slots. Because the control signaling concentrated on the PSCCH resources in the first of aggregated slots is not affected, there is still a high possibility that the RX UE can decode successfully, Para. 352).
In regard to Claim 4, Wu teaches receive data over a communication network (IoT networks, Para. 4) during a time slot selected (the PSSCH transmission performed on aggregated slots. Whether to drop the sidelink transmission on all aggregated slots by the TX UE depends on the position of the overlapping slot, Para. 350) based on a joint analysis of a type of said data to be received (when the amount of data of the PSSCH to be transmitted is large and the QoS of the data to be transmitted is high, that is, the target TBS is greater than a predefined or pre-configured threshold and the value of the service priority is less than a predefined or pre-configured threshold, the TX UE autonomously selects the slot-aggregated sidelink resource for PSSCH transmission, Para. 326) and said respective parameter information (the sidelink slot overlapping with the uplink transmission is an aggregation slot other than the first of aggregated slots. Because the control signaling concentrated on the PSCCH resources in the first of aggregated slots is not affected, there is still a high possibility that the RX UE can decode successfully, Para. 352).
Although Wu teaches a communication network, Wu fails to teach a satellite communication network.
Zhang teaches receive data over a satellite communication network (The E-UTRAN-NR includes an NR node B (gNB) 203. Examples of UE 201 include Satellite Radios, Para. 122, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Wu, since Zhang provides a technique for monitoring and decoding to determine which timeslots are removed from sets, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu to manage time slot utilizations in relation to monitoring and decoding failures.
In regard to Claim 7, Wu teaches said properties comprise at least one of: power requirements, latency, quality of service (QoS) (the QoS of the data to be transmitted is high, Para. 326) and encoding.
In regard to Claim 11, Wu teaches A method of self-management of satellite communications by an Internet of Things (IoT) device (the Internet of Things (IoT) where distributed entities, such as things, exchange and process information without human intervention, Para. 3), comprising: maintaining a list of a plurality of time slots available to said device (a table for the number of slots that can be aggregated. This table indicates the number of slots that can be aggregated under a particular maximum number of slots that can be aggregated, Para. 294, Table 1) for communicating over at least one communication network (IoT networks, Para. 4), said list comprising respective parameter information for said available time slots (under a particular maximum number of slots that can be aggregated, Para. 294, Table 1).
Wu teaches selecting at least one of said time slots for transmission of a data item (the PSSCH transmission performed on aggregated slots. Whether to drop the sidelink transmission on all aggregated slots by the TX UE depends on the position of the overlapping slot, Para. 350) based on a joint analysis of properties of a type of said data item (when the amount of data of the PSSCH to be transmitted is large and the QoS of the data to be transmitted is high, that is, the target TBS is greater than a predefined or pre-configured threshold and the value of the service priority is less than a predefined or pre-configured threshold, the TX UE autonomously selects the slot-aggregated sidelink resource for PSSCH transmission, Para. 326) and said respective parameter information (under a particular maximum number of slots that can be aggregated, Para. 294, Table 1).
Wu teaches filtering out (exclude reserved resource for slot aggregations, Para. 27) from said list (a table for the number of slots that can be aggregated. This table indicates the number of slots that can be aggregated under a particular maximum number of slots that can be aggregated, Para. 294, Table 1) time slots which do not achieve the properties required (a threshold of the Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) for deciding whether to exclude reserved resource for slot aggregations, Para. 27. When the TX UE autonomously selects aggregated slots to perform the PSSCH transmission based on the resource usage conditions, the reserved resources excluded are sidelink resources in the aggregated slots, Para. 339) for the data item type (the PSSCH transmission performed on aggregated slots, Para. 350).
Wu teaches uploading, by a communication interface of said IoT device (receiving and transmitting hardware, Para. 192), said data item during said at least one selected time slots (the PSSCH transmission performed on aggregated slots, Para. 350) over a communication network associated with said time slot (IoT networks, Para. 4).
Although Wu teaches one communication network, Wu fails to teach one satellite communication network, and although Wu teaches selecting at least one of said time slots for transmission of a data item, Wu fails to teach selecting at least one of said time slots by: removing from said list time slots which do not meet or exceed a required probability of success for communication during the respective time slot, and although Wu teaches a communication interface, Wu fails to teach a satellite communication interface.
Zhang teaches communicating over at least one satellite communication network (Referring to FIG. 1, a perspective view of a satellite spot beam hopping packet scheduler system 10, Col. 4, lines 13-15, FIG. 1).
Zhang teaches selecting at least one of said time slots (in S65, the first node judges whether the number of second-type timeslots in the updated set A (that is, the set A obtained after S64 is completed) is greater than M1; if yes, the first node determines a set B from the latest set A in S67, Para. 268, FIG. 11) by: removing from said list time slots which do not meet or exceed a required probability of success for communication during the respective time slot (first-type monitoring includes channel decoding and an energy detection, Para. 91. A first time window and a second time window, as shown in FIG. 8, Para. 221, FIG. 8. In S64, for any one second-type timeslot in the set A, if the first node fails to perform first monitoring (that is, perform channel decoding) in a corresponding first-type timeslot in the first time window, the any one second-type timeslot in the set A is removed from the set A, Para. 281, FIGS. 8-11).
Zhang teaches a satellite communication interface (Satellite Radios, Para. 122, FIG. 2. The PDCP sublayer 304 provides multiplexing between different radio bearers. The RRC sublayer 306 is responsible for acquiring radio resources (i.e. radio bearers), Para. 131, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Wu, since Zhang provides a technique for monitoring and decoding to determine which timeslots are removed from sets, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu to manage time slot utilizations in relation to monitoring and decoding failures.
In regard to Claim 12, Wu teaches said respective parameter information comprises an estimated probability of success for communication during said time slot (the sidelink slot overlapping with the uplink transmission is an aggregation slot other than the first of aggregated slots. Because the control signaling concentrated on the PSCCH resources in the first of aggregated slots is not affected, there is still a high possibility that the RX UE can decode successfully, Para. 352).
Although Wu teaches a communication, Wu fails to teach a satellite communication.
Zhang teaches a satellite communication (Satellite Radios, Para. 122, FIG. 2. The PDCP sublayer 304 provides multiplexing between different radio bearers. The RRC sublayer 306 is responsible for acquiring radio resources (i.e. radio bearers), Para. 131, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Wu, since Zhang provides a technique for monitoring and decoding to determine which timeslots are removed from sets, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu to manage time slot utilizations in relation to monitoring and decoding failures.
In regard to Claim 14, Wu teaches receiving data over a communication network (IoT networks, Para. 4) during a time slot selected (the PSSCH transmission performed on aggregated slots. Whether to drop the sidelink transmission on all aggregated slots by the TX UE depends on the position of the overlapping slot, Para. 350) based on a joint analysis of a type of said data to be received (when the amount of data of the PSSCH to be transmitted is large and the QoS of the data to be transmitted is high, that is, the target TBS is greater than a predefined or pre-configured threshold and the value of the service priority is less than a predefined or pre-configured threshold, the TX UE autonomously selects the slot-aggregated sidelink resource for PSSCH transmission, Para. 326) and said respective parameter information (the sidelink slot overlapping with the uplink transmission is an aggregation slot other than the first of aggregated slots. Because the control signaling concentrated on the PSCCH resources in the first of aggregated slots is not affected, there is still a high possibility that the RX UE can decode successfully, Para. 352).
Although Wu teaches a communication network, Wu fails to teach a satellite communication network.
Zhang teaches receiving data over a satellite communication network (The E-UTRAN-NR includes an NR node B (gNB) 203. Examples of UE 201 include Satellite Radios, Para. 122, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Wu, since Zhang provides a technique for monitoring and decoding to determine which timeslots are removed from sets, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu to manage time slot utilizations in relation to monitoring and decoding failures.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Zhang, and further in view of Good et al. (Pub. No.: US 20060189309 A1), hereafter referred to as Good.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wu in view of Zhang teaches said device.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach said device is capable of communicating over a plurality of satellite communication networks and said parameter information comprises a respective satellite network associated with said time slot.
Good teaches said device is capable of communicating over a plurality of satellite communication networks (The second wireless communications system may be Inmarsat, Iridium, Globalstar, ICO, XM-Satellite Radio and/or Sirius Satellite Radio, Para. 44, FIGS. 2, 5) and said parameter information comprises a respective satellite network associated with said time slot (The plurality of resources may include time intervals and/or time slots, Para. 34. The methods may further include allocating and/or de-allocating at least one resource of the plurality of resources to the first and/or second communications system, and notifying the first and/or second communications system of the allocation and/or de-allocation of the at least one resource, Para. 35, FIGS. 2, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Good with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Good provides a technique for notifying resource allocations including time slots related to satellite communication networks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit user equipment to utilize satellite communication networks involving allocation information of time slots for transmitting to other user equipment.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Wu in view of Zhang teaches said device.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach said device is capable of communicating over a plurality of satellite communication networks and said parameter information comprises a satellite network associated with said time slot.
Good teaches said device is capable of communicating over a plurality of satellite communication networks (The second wireless communications system may be Inmarsat, Iridium, Globalstar, ICO, XM-Satellite Radio and/or Sirius Satellite Radio, Para. 44, FIGS. 2, 5) and said parameter information comprises a satellite network associated with said time slot (The plurality of resources may include time intervals and/or time slots, Para. 34. The methods may further include allocating and/or de-allocating at least one resource of the plurality of resources to the first and/or second communications system, and notifying the first and/or second communications system of the allocation and/or de-allocation of the at least one resource, Para. 35, FIGS. 2, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Good with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Good provides a technique for notifying resource allocations including time slots related to satellite communication networks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit user equipment to utilize satellite communication networks involving allocation information of time slots for transmitting to other user equipment.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Zhang, and further in view of Batchu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160050627 A1), hereafter referred to as Batchu.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wu in view of Zhang teaches said time slots.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach said time slots comprise time periods during which respective estimated probabilities for successful communication during said time slot exceed a threshold value.
Batchu teaches said time slots comprise time periods during which respective estimated probabilities for successful communication during said time slot exceed a threshold value (In FIG. 5B the wireless device 202, is assigned periodic page slots 502 and at time 503 the wireless device 202 determines it wants to transmit data. The wireless device 202 is assigned a high PSIST value and then during times 505 calculates a PSIST success probability based on the PSIST value and if the success probability is less than a threshold, the wireless device 202 returns to an idle mode for a back-off period or until its next page slot. If during the any of the times 505 the success probability is greater than the threshold, the wireless device 202 then goes to an active state and runs a PSIST test. If the PSIST test passes, the wireless device 202 transmits the data, Para. 48, FIG. 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Batchu with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Batchu provides a technique for determining a success probability with a threshold related to data transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit user equipment to utilize threshold for determining a probability of success for transmissions of aggregated slots.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Wu in view of Zhang teaches said time slots.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach said time slots comprise time periods during respective estimated probabilities for successful communication during said time slot exceed a threshold value.
Batchu teaches said time slots comprise time periods during respective estimated probabilities for successful communication during said time slot exceed a threshold value (In FIG. 5B the wireless device 202, is assigned periodic page slots 502 and at time 503 the wireless device 202 determines it wants to transmit data. The wireless device 202 is assigned a high PSIST value and then during times 505 calculates a PSIST success probability based on the PSIST value and if the success probability is less than a threshold, the wireless device 202 returns to an idle mode for a back-off period or until its next page slot. If during the any of the times 505 the success probability is greater than the threshold, the wireless device 202 then goes to an active state and runs a PSIST test. If the PSIST test passes, the wireless device 202 transmits the data, Para. 48, FIG. 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Batchu with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Batchu provides a technique for determining a success probability with a threshold related to data transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit user equipment to utilize threshold for determining a probability of success for transmissions of aggregated slots.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Zhang, and further in view of Takeda et al. (Patent No.: US 11751226 B2), hereafter referred to as Takeda.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wu in view of Zhang teaches said time slots.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach for at least one of said time slots said parameter information comprises an indicator indicating at least one of whether uplink communication is permitted during said time slot and whether downlink communication is permitted during said time slot.
Takeda teaches for at least one of said time slots said parameter information comprises an indicator indicating at least one of whether uplink communication is permitted during said time slot and whether downlink communication is permitted during said time slot (The reference timing in FIG. 5 is a timing that passes a given time more from a timing at which the TDD configuration update notification is received, Col. 7, lines 47-49, FIG. 5. The example in FIG. 5 assumes that the change notification instructs a TDD configuration (UL-DL transmission periodicity=1 ms) where the Slots #0 and #1 are full DL slots, the Slot #2 is a partial DL slot including the number of DL symbols that is a given number from the beginning, and, furthermore, the Slot #3 is a full UL slot, Col. 7, lines 53-58, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takeda with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Takeda provides a technique for reception of a TDD configuration update notification, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit user equipment to obtain indicators of the link direction configured in certain slots.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Wu in view of Zhang teaches said time slots.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach for at least one of said time slots said parameter information comprises an indicator indicating at least one of whether uplink communication is permitted during said time slot and whether downlink communication is permitted during said time slot.
Takeda teaches for at least one of said time slots said parameter information comprises an indicator indicating at least one of whether uplink communication is permitted during said time slot and whether downlink communication is permitted during said time slot (The reference timing in FIG. 5 is a timing that passes a given time more from a timing at which the TDD configuration update notification is received, Col. 7, lines 47-49, FIG. 5. The example in FIG. 5 assumes that the change notification instructs a TDD configuration (UL-DL transmission periodicity=1 ms) where the Slots #0 and #1 are full DL slots, the Slot #2 is a partial DL slot including the number of DL symbols that is a given number from the beginning, and, furthermore, the Slot #3 is a full UL slot, Col. 7, lines 53-58, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takeda with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Takeda provides a technique for reception of a TDD configuration update notification, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit user equipment to obtain indicators of the link direction configured in certain slots.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Zhang, and further in view of Taneja et al. (Pub. No.: US 20040013089 A1), hereafter referred to as Taneja.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wu in view of Zhang teaches parameter information.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach parameter information comprise a financial cost for use of said time slot.
Taneja teaches parameter information comprise a financial cost for use of said time slot (a pricing option wherein each flow specifies the price for each slot when it is served. This price is dependent upon the DRC value requested by the user for the flow in that slot, Para. 306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Taneja with the teachings of Wu, since Taneja provides a technique for assigning prices for each slot requested by users, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit users of UE to pay the appropriate prices for slots utilized in transmissions.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Zhang, and further in view of Grant et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230138213 A1), hereafter referred to as Grant.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wu in view of Zhang teaches a list.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach maintaining said list comprises querying a server for said list of available time slots for an upcoming time period and/or receiving, from a server over a communication network, a message comprising said list of available time slots.
Grant teaches maintaining said list comprises querying a server for said list of available time slots for an upcoming time period and/or receiving, from a server over a communication network, a message comprising said list of available time slots (the terminal determines which slots to transmit on, and in other embodiments the terminal may transmit a request for channel access to the access node. The access node decodes the data received from the terminal, then allocates uplink slots to the terminal for future use and notifies the terminal of its allocation via a downlink message, Para. 121, FIG. 2C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Grant with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Grant provides a technique for communicating slot information related to an adaptive satellite communication system, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit compatibility with an adaptive satellite communication system for the communication of IoT devices.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wu in view of Zhang teaches an IoT device.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach querying a server to return at least one time slot selected from said list for transmission of said data item: wherein said device functions as a hub collecting data from a network of sensors.
Grant teaches querying a server to return at least one time slot selected from said list for transmission of said data item: wherein said device functions as a hub collecting data from a network of sensors (the terminal determines which slots to transmit on, and in other embodiments the terminal may transmit a request for channel access to the access node. The access node decodes the data received from the terminal, then allocates uplink slots to the terminal for future use and notifies the terminal of its allocation via a downlink message, Para. 121, FIG. 2C. Terminals 20 may have both devices 402 and sensors 404 attached, Para. 126, FIGS. 1, 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Grant with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Grant provides a technique for communicating slot information related to an adaptive satellite communication system, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to permit compatibility with an adaptive satellite communication system for the communication of IoT devices.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230138213 A1) in view of Speidel et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220052753 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Grant and Speidel.
In regard to Claim 17, Grant teaches A server, comprising a processing circuitry (The scheduler may be implemented in access nodes (including satellite access nodes), gateways, or be distributed through a communication system, Para. 137, FIG. 2B. A device can be coupled to a server to facilitate the transfer of means for performing the methods, Para. 143) configured to: map satellite locations for a plurality of satellite communication networks (ephemeris data may be used to estimate the location of a satellite in an external communication system, Para. 60, FIGS. 1B, 2A).
Grant teaches based on said mapping and respective physical locations of a plurality of devices (the terminal may include a GNSS receiver to allow it to estimate its location, Para. 62. The Slot Reservation Map 212 may be dependent upon geographic location of the terminal (or transmitter), i.e., reservations are per-geographic region, Para. 65, FIG. 2B), generate respective lists of time slots for said devices (the terminal scheduler adapts its use of slots in the shared medium. This information may be obtained from a Slot Reservation Map 212 that is stored locally in terminal memory, and may be updated from time to time (e.g., via updates 236), Para. 64, FIG. 2B), each of said respective lists comprising a plurality of time slots available for communication by said device over said satellite communication networks (the terminal determines which slots to transmit on, and in other embodiments the terminal may transmit a request for channel access to the access node. The access node decodes the data received from the terminal, then allocates uplink slots to the terminal for future use and notifies the terminal of its allocation via a downlink message, Para. 121, FIG. 2C) and respective estimated probabilities of success for future satellite communication during said available time slots (the slot reservation map may store information relating to the probability or likelihood of interference. A value that is considered high enough to achieve some probability of successful reception, Para. 64, FIG. 2B. Limits on tolerable interference may be stored by the terminal in the Slot Reservation Map, and may be provided via the Medium Coordination Channel. Estimation of probability of receive success may account for potential interference from other terminals that are in the field of view of the target receiver. The target receiver may provide the terminal with information on expected interference levels and other link quality characteristics, Para. 69. Dependence between slot successes in a probabilistic model, Para. 111).
Grant teaches provide said respective lists to said devices (Limits on tolerable interference may be stored by the terminal in the Slot Reservation Map, and may be provided via the Medium Coordination Channel. The target receiver may provide the terminal with information on expected interference levels and other link quality characteristics, Para. 69).
Although Grant teaches devices, Grant fails to teach Internet of Things (IoT) devices, and Grant fails to teach estimated probabilities of success are predictively generated by the server based on at least satellite orbital information for satellites of said satellite communication networks and communication conditions.
Speidel teaches a plurality of Internet of Things (IoT) devices (IoT/M2M use cases that can benefit from connectivity in remote areas, Para. 162. With orbiting base stations, using NB-IoT between the UE and the orbiting base station, Para. 453).
Speidel teaches, wherein said estimated probabilities of success are predictively generated by the server based on at least satellite orbital information for satellites of said satellite communication networks and communication conditions (The enhanced MME may manage mobility with a process that predicts the future state space of the network. To do this it might leverage four databases namely a historic network state space database 1102, the network model database 1104, the constellation location register 1106, and the constellation policy and rules database 1108. These MME might receive information from either the TTCC&DH system, or the NOC, and store that information in those databases. These MME might feed information into a network state space prediction engine 1110 that would use orbital mechanics and attitude dynamics and link budget prediction software to analyze possible network connection scenarios (for base stations, ISLs, GSL, etc.), Para. 209, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Speidel with the teachings of Grant, since Speidel provides a technique for utilizing Internet of Things (IoT) for wireless communications and for making possible predictions based on orbital information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant to permit compatibility with IoT devices for communicating with the adaptive satellite communication system and to predict possibilities for managing connections.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant in view of Speidel, and further in view of Batchu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160050627 A1), hereafter referred to as Batchu.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 17, Grant in view of Speidel teaches probabilities.
Grant in view of Speidel fails to teach estimate said probabilities additionally based on at least one of conditions at said location of said IoT device, satellite constellation health, satellite health and feedback from a ground station.
Batchu teaches estimate said probabilities additionally based on at least one of conditions at said location of said IoT device, satellite constellation health, satellite health and feedback from a ground station (In FIG. 5B the wireless device 202, is assigned periodic page slots 502 and at time 503 the wireless device 202 determines it wants to transmit data. The wireless device 202 is assigned a high PSIST value and then during times 505 calculates a PSIST success probability based on the PSIST value and if the success probability is less than a threshold, the wireless device 202 returns to an idle mode for a back-off period or until its next page slot. If during the any of the times 505 the success probability is greater than the threshold, the wireless device 202 then goes to an active state and runs a PSIST test. If the PSIST test passes, the wireless device 202 transmits the data, Para. 48, FIG. 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Batchu with the teachings of Grant in view of Speidel, since Batchu provides a technique for determining a success probability with a threshold related to data transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of to permit user equipment to utilize threshold for determining a probability of success for transmissions of slots.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 17, Grant in view of Speidel teaches time slots.
Grant in view of Speidel fails to teach available time slots comprises time periods during which respective estimated probabilities for successful communication during said time slot exceed a threshold value.
Batchu teaches available time slots comprises time periods during which respective estimated probabilities for successful communication during said time slot exceed a threshold value (In FIG. 5B the wireless device 202, is assigned periodic page slots 502 and at time 503 the wireless device 202 determines it wants to transmit data. The wireless device 202 is assigned a high PSIST value and then during times 505 calculates a PSIST success probability based on the PSIST value and if the success probability is less than a threshold, the wireless device 202 returns to an idle mode for a back-off period or until its next page slot. If during the any of the times 505 the success probability is greater than the threshold, the wireless device 202 then goes to an active state and runs a PSIST test. If the PSIST test passes, the wireless device 202 transmits the data, Para. 48, FIG. 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Batchu with the teachings of Grant in view of Speidel, since Batchu provides a technique for determining a success probability with a threshold related to data transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of to permit user equipment to utilize threshold for determining a probability of success for transmissions of slots.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 17, Grant in view of Speidel teaches time slots.
Grant in view of Speidel fails to teach respective parameter information for said available time slots; wherein said parameter information comprises respective satellite communication networks associated with said available time slots; wherein said parameter information comprises an indicator indicating at least one of whether uplink communication is permitted during said time slot and whether downlink communication is permitted during said time slot.
Batchu teaches respective parameter information for said available time slots; wherein said parameter information comprises respective satellite communication networks associated with said available time slots; wherein said parameter information comprises an indicator indicating at least one of whether uplink communication is permitted during said time slot and whether downlink communication is permitted during said time slot (In FIG. 5B the wireless device 202, is assigned periodic page slots 502 and at time 503 the wireless device 202 determines it wants to transmit data. The wireless device 202 is assigned a high PSIST value and then during times 505 calculates a PSIST success probability based on the PSIST value and if the success probability is less than a threshold, the wireless device 202 returns to an idle mode for a back-off period or until its next page slot. If during the any of the times 505 the success probability is greater than the threshold, the wireless device 202 then goes to an active state and runs a PSIST test. If the PSIST test passes, the wireless device 202 transmits the data, Para. 48, FIG. 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Batchu with the teachings of Grant in view of Speidel, since Batchu provides a technique for determining a success probability with a threshold related to data transmission, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of to permit user equipment to utilize threshold for determining a probability of success for transmissions of slots.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Zhang, and further in view of Speidel et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220052753 A1), hereafter referred to as Speidel.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wu in view of Zhang teaches the Internet of Things (IoT) device.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach said selecting step comprises a plurality of iterations of said filtering process, in different orders of data type properties, and wherein a final selection is made based on results of the different filtering iterations.
Speidel teaches said selecting step comprises a plurality of iterations of said filtering process, in different orders of data type properties, and wherein a final selection is made based on results of the different filtering iterations (A set of operational rules, constraints, and/or service requirements, may be imposed as a filter to evaluate the series of connectivity scenarios to derive the most ideal one, or ones, thus generating an ideal concept of operations for network connections. This concept of operations might include an itinerary of orbital maneuvers/maintenance, as well as a timeline of network maps, which indicate nodal connections that are predicted to exist at some time, for some amount of time, into the future, Para. 103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Speidel with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Speidel provides a technique for filtering information to predictively determine a connectivity scenario, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to process network information in a filtering technique to predictively determine optimal time slots.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wu in view of Zhang teaches processing circuitry.
Wu in view of Zhang fails to teach processing circuitry is further configured to assign priorities to the data type properties, wherein said priorities determine an order in which said filtering is conducted.
Speidel teaches processing circuitry is further configured to assign priorities to the data type properties, wherein said priorities determine an order in which said filtering is conducted (priority handling between UEs by means of dynamic scheduling, priority handling between logical channels of one UE, and logical channel prioritization, Para. 72. The bearers may be established in a weighted fashion based on priority, Para. 181. Some polygons can be added to the database with service indicators such as which ones are priorities, and these may be added dynamically, with emergencies when communications are most needed by those geographic areas, Para. 270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Speidel with the teachings of Wu in view of Zhang, since Speidel provides a technique for filtering information to predictively determine a connectivity scenario, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wu in view of Zhang to process network information in a filtering technique to predictively determine optimal time slots.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-14, filed 1/19/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 101 have been withdrawn.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 1/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 16 of the Remarks presents the argument that Claim 1 recites an IoT device configured to receive or maintain a list of available time slots, wherein each time slot is associated with respective parameter information, including probability information indicative of a likelihood of successful communication. Wu does not disclose such a list of time slots. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by amendment into Claims 1 and 11, which are not taught by Wu, are taught by Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200145975 A1).
Page 22 of the Remarks presents the argument that Amended Claim 17, now, explicitly claims predictive probabilities for future satellite communication, which Grant does not teach. This argument is not persuasive. The limitation introduced by amendment into Claim 17, which is not taught by Grant, is taught by Speidel et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220052753 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
3-29-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477