Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on 3/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/13/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (WO2020232323) in view of Das et al (20110232522).
Fang, abstract, teaches a coating composition for imparting a hydrophobic film on a target surface is provided that includes a quaternary ammonium silane salt, a solvent, and a solid lubricant.
Fang, paragraph 28, teaches a particulate lubricant is applied as a colloidal dispersion in the solvent along with the salt.
Although Fang teaches a coating composition for imparting a hydrophobic film, Fang does not teach the composition comprising a quaternary silicone polymer.
Das teaches a composition for the treatment of a substrate.
Das, abstract, teaches it has been found that hydrophobicity and stain-resistance can be imparted to a substrate by contacting the substrate with soap and a polyaluminum chloride in presence of water under specific range of pH, while the further addition of a quaternary silicone oil imparts oily soil repellence.
Das, paragraph 40 of the PGPUB, teaches to further provide the repellence of oily soils and stains, the composition may further comprise a quaternary silicone oil, e.g. PDMS (poly dimethyl siloxane). This quaternary silicone oil may be present in the compositions in a concentration of less than 40% by weight.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a quaternary silicone oil as taught by Das into the coating composition as taught Fang to further provide the repellence of oily soils and stains.
Regarding claim 2, Fang, paragraph 11, teaches the coating composition including a quaternary ammonium chloride silane.
Regarding claim 3, Fang, paragraph 26, teaches the film-forming, quaternary ammonium silicone salt is present from 0.5 to 75 total weight percent, in other inventive embodiments, the salt is present from 5 to 60 total weight percent.
Regarding claim 4, Das, paragraph 40 of the PGPUB, teaches this quaternary silicone oil may be present in the compositions in a concentration of less than 40% by weight.
Regarding claim 5, Fang, paragraph 28, teaches a particulate lubricant is applied as a colloidal dispersion in the solvent along with the salt.
Fang, paragraph 28, teaches a coating composition in solvated form is 1 to 10 total weight percent particulate lubricant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US5302322 teaches a hair care composition.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 3/30/26