DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Status
This Non-Final Office Action is in Reply to the amendment/request for continued examination (hereinafter “Response”) dated 05/05/2026. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11-12, 14-18, and 21 are presently pending. Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are amended. Claim(s) 3, 5, 7-8, 10, 13, and 19-20 is/have been cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11-12, and 14-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is/are withdrawn in light of the submitted amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11-12, 14-18, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is/are withdrawn in light of the submitted amendment to the claims, however … .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masakazu (WO9931443A1) in view of Joo (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0097915 A1) and Huang (CN112212491A).
Regarding claim 1, Masakazu discloses an air conditioner (see Fig. 1-4 and English Translation, pg. 2, ln 18-25 and pg. 6, ln 17-25), comprising: a case (1) having a first discharge port (discharge port comprising air outlet assembly 21) and a second discharge port (discharge port comprising air outlet assembly 22) formed on a pair of lateral side surfaces thereof (see Fig. 1-4), and a third discharge portion (discharge port comprising air outlet assembly 24) formed on a lower surface thereof (see Fig. 1-4 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 17-25); a front panel (6) coupled to a front portion of the case and forming a suction port (6a); a centrifugal fan (2) that is disposed in the case and rotates with respect to a rotational axis that extends in a frontward-rearward direction (see Fig. 1-2 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 17 - pg. 7, ln 4); a first inner guide (33) disposed at a first side of the fan (left side in Fig. 1, see Fig. 1 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 24-25); a second inner guide (34) and a third inner guide (32) that are positioned at a second side (right side in Fig. 1) of the fan and that are spaced apart in an upward-downward direction (see Fig. 1 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 24-25); a first discharge grille (air outlet assembly 21) disposed above the first inner guide and forming the first discharge port (see Fig. 1); a second discharge grille (air outlet assembly 22) disposed between the second inner guide and the third inner guide and forming the second discharge port (see Fig. 1); a third discharge grille (air outlet assembly 24) disposed below the fan and between the first inner guide and the second inner guide and forming the third discharge port (see Fig. 1); and a guide (air flow control member 11 of the air outlet assembly 22) disposed at the second discharge grille (see Fig. 1 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 21-25), wherein the guide comprises a first guide (one of the plurality of rectifying vanes of the air flow control member 11 positioned in the top half of the assembly, such as among groups 14 and 15) positioned above a center of rotation of the fan and a second guide (one of the plurality of rectifying vanes of the air flow control member 11 positioned in the bottom half of the assembly, such as among groups 13 and 14) positioned below the center of rotation of the fan (see Fig. 1 and 3 and English Translation, pg. 7, ln 5-14), wherein each of the first guide and second guide comprises: an inner guide (curved portion of the rectifying vane) that faces the fan and is curved along the upward-downward direction (see Fig. 1 and 3); and an outer guide (horizontal portion of the rectifying vane) that faces an outside of the case and extends along a horizontal direction (see Fig. 1 and 3), wherein the second discharge grille, the first guide, and the second guide are disposed between the second inner guide and the third inner guide (see Fig. 1).
Masakazu does not teach that no discharge port is formed on an upper surface thereof, Masakazu exhibiting a square-shaped indoor air conditioner unit comprising outlets on each of the four surfaces forming the boundaries of the case, including the upper surface (see Fig. 1-4 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 17-25). This configuration is known to be suitable in circumstances such as when the air conditioner is mounted horizontally in the middle of the ceiling, thereby being aligned (having outlet directions aligned) to the plane of the ceiling, wherein the output flow in each of the four outlet directions is unobstructed and contributes to an approximately even distribution of cool air in all directions, and wherein the effect of colder, denser air sinking downward has no adverse effect on the efficiency of the device. However, it is well known within that such a mounting scheme is not always desirable, and that often, such units are mounted vertically on a wall for reasons of space constraints, electric wiring constraints, or stylistic considerations, whereupon the unit is aligned (having outlet directions aligned) along the vertical wall plane. In such circumstances, it is advantageous and well known within the art to provide the air condition with no upward-directed outlet, and thus no discharge port formed on the upper surface thereof, in order to improve the efficiency of the unit. Such is taught by Joo ([0002-0011] and [0018-0025]), which explains that for air conditioners of the type taught by Masakazu (and depicted in Fig. 1 and escribed in [0002-0011]), when the air condition unit is vertically aligned, such as when mounted on a wall, cold air blown out of the unit through an upwardly directed discharge port formed on the upper surface of the air conditioner case will often sink toward the front side of the case, so as to be sucked into the unit again through the intake port formed therein, thereby reducing the efficiency of the air conditioner unit, since less cooling air is distributed throughout the room and less warm air is being passed through the unit than would otherwise be the case ([0018-0025]). Joo further exhibits an air conditioner indoor unit (see Fig. 18-24 and [0055-0058]) similar to that of Masakazu (square shaped, similar discharge port and flow guide distribution) with a case (outer case 20) comprising discharge ports (blow units 160, comprising blow grills 161) on three side surfaces of the case instead of four, omitting a discharge port formed on an upper surface (upper lateral face 22) of the case (see Fig. 20 and 23, [0298-0305], and [0316]). In place of a discharge port formed on the upper surface of the case, Joo teaches the use of an extended flow guiding member (172) (see Fig. 20 and 23, [0346-0348], and [0364-0369]). It is clear from the teachings of Joo that such a configuration would be more suitable for such circumstances wherein the air conditioner may be provided as vertically aligned with the wall plane (see [0018-0025]). Further, it is clear from Fig. 23 and associated text of Joo that an extended flow guiding member (172) may be placed instead of an outlet formed on the upper surface, and that such a feature may be designed such that it does not cause for any adjustment in the outlet or guide structures of the lateral or bottom surfaces of the air conditioner, since these features are identical to each other in structure within the configuration of Joo (see Fig. 23, [0316], [0346-0348], and [0364-0369]). Considering this fact, the example of Joo, and the well known fact (taught by Joo) that in some common circumstances (such as a wall mounted air conditioner), it is more suitable for such square-shaped indoor air conditioners to avoid outputting cooling air in the upward direction in order to improve cooling efficiency, as described above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the air conditioner of Masakazu to be suitable for such circumstances by comprising no discharge port is formed on an upper surface thereof, and by instead comprising an elongated third inner guide (32) in the manner of the elongated flow guiding member taught by Joo, thereby avoiding a loss in cooling efficiency which would otherwise occur if the four-outlet configuration of Masakazu (which includes an upwardly directed discharge port on the upper surface) were used.
Masakazu also teaches that air blown out from the centrifugal fan is directed at an angle of about 40 degrees outward of the tangent of the outer circumference of the fan, such that the angle at which outlet air enters the outlets 21-24 varies with respect to the perpendicular over the width of the outlets (English Translation, pg. 1, ln 19 – pg. 2, ln 14). Masakazu therefore teaches that the angle of curvature of the inner guide portions of the guides (rectifying vanes) and/or the spacing of the guides may be varied to better align the guides with the incidence of the outlet air of the fan and avoid separation (see Fig. 1-3 and English Translation, pg. 2, ln 26 – pg. 3, ln 28), however Masakazu fails to teach that a length of the guides may also be varied to this end, such that a first guide is smaller than a length of the second guide.
Huang exhibits an air conditioner (Fig. 1), comprising a centrifugal fan assembly (Fig. 2-8) comprising a centrifugal fan (1), a case (volute 2) having an inner guide (tongue 22), and a guide assembly (assembly of guide vanes 4, see Fig. 3-4 and English Translation, pg. 7-9), wherein the guide assembly comprises a first guide (topmost guide positioned closest to the tongue 22) spaced apart from the fan (see Fig. 3-4 and English Translation, pg. 7-9); and a second guide (one of the guide vanes positioned farther from the tongue 22) spaced downward (in the direction farther from the tongue 22) from the first guide and farther from the tongue (see Fig. 3-4 and English Translation, pg. 7-9). Huang teaches that a length of the first guide (L4) may be smaller than a length of the second guide (L1, L2, or L3) (see Fig. 4 and English Translation, pg. 7, para. 2 and pg. 8, para. 3 – pg. 9, para. 2) in order to thereby provide greater flow uniformity within the flow exiting the air conditioner through the guide, thereby also reducing separation (backflow) and vortex-induced noise generated by the air conditioner (English Translation, pg. 7, para. 2 and pg. 8, para. 3 – pg. 9, para. 2). This is taught under the rationale that a greater portion (flow rate) of the outlet flow passes through the portions of the guide assembly far from the inner guide (tongue) than passes through the portions near to the inner guide (tongue), thus guide members of increasingly greater length are required within the portions of the guide assembly farther from the inner guide (downward from the tongue) in order to effectively turn the outlet flow, such that the second guide, being farther from the inner guide (tongue), must be of greater length than the first guide (English Translation, pg. 7, para. 2 and pg. 8, para. 3 – pg. 9, para. 2).
The configuration of Masakazu is similar to that of Huang generally, in that both exhibit air conditioners comprising centrifugal fans housed within cases comprising outlet guide assemblies, and specifically, in that each has a first guide that is positioned closer to an inner guide structure (i.e. tongue portion( of the case than a second guide. Thus, based upon the teachings of Huang, it is clear that the second guide of Masakazu may also be expected to experience a greater portion of the flow passing through the second guide (positioned far from the third inner guide, which on this side of the fan acts as the tongue) than the first guide experiences. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Masakazu according to the guide vane configuration taught by Huang, such that a length of the first guide is smaller than a length of the second guide, as taught by Huang, in furtherance of the goals of Masakazu (see above) in providing greater flow uniformity within the flow exiting the air conditioner through the guide and reducing separation (backflow) occurring between the outlet air and the guide vanes, thereby reducing vortex-induced noise generated by the air conditioner, as described by Huang (English Translation, pg. 7, para. 2 and pg. 8, para. 3 – pg. 9, para. 2), these being desirable to improve the performance of the air conditioner.
Regarding claim 2, Masakazu further discloses that the fan comprises a plurality of blades spaced apart from each other in the rotational direction of the fan (see Fig. 1-2), and wherein the first guide and the second guide extend curvedly toward the fan (see Fig. 1 and English Translation, pg. 4, ln 26 – pg. 5, ln 15).
Regarding claim 4, Masakazu further discloses that each of the first guide and the second guide comprises an outer end portion that faces the outside of the case (see Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, Masakazu further discloses that each of the first guide and the second guide comprises: an inner end portion inclined at an angle with respect to the horizontal direction (see Fig. 1-3, English Translation, pg. 2, ln 26-39, and pg. 8, ln 3-18); and an outer end portion that is parallel to the horizontal direction (see Fig. 1-3, English Translation, pg. 2, ln 26-39, and pg. 8, ln 3-18). Masakazu fails to teach that inner end portions of the first guide and the second guide are inclined at an angle within a range of 38 to 42 degrees with respect to the horizontal direction, however, Masakazu teaches that air blown out from the centrifugal fan is directed at an angle of about 40 degrees outward of the tangent of the outer circumference of the fan, such that the angle at which outlet air enters the outlets 21-24 varies with respect to the perpendicular over the width of the outlets (English Translation, pg. 1, ln 19 – pg. 2, ln 14). Masakazu therefore teaches that the angle of inclination (curvature) of the inner guide portions of the guides (rectifying vanes) may be varied to better align the guides with the incidence of the outlet air of the fan and avoid separation (see Fig. 1-3 and English Translation, pg. 2, ln 26 – pg. 3, ln 28). Masakazu further teaches that the guides may be grouped into several groupings of vanes (13, 14, 15), each guide with the group having the same inclination, and each group having a different inclination from the others, the angle being adapted to the direction of the outlet flow within that region of the discharge grille (see Fig. 1-3 and English Translation, pg. 24-29). Using simple geometric logic, based upon the principle taught by Masakazu that the outlet flow from the fan at a given point on the fan circumference is oriented at approximately 40 degrees with respect to the tangent of the circumference of the fan at that point, and in view of Fig. 1, which depicts via arrows the local flow in the vicinity of the second discharge grille, it follows that the outlet flow received into the discharge grille may be expected to vary in inclination relative to the horizontal from approximately zero degrees at the guide closest to the second inner guide to approximately 80 degrees at the guide farthest from the second inner guide. It can also be seen from Fig. 1 and geometric logic that the guides closest to the midpoint between the second inner guide and third inner guide may expect to receive outlet flow of approximately 40 degrees, this flow originating from the outer circumference of the fan at a location below the midpoint. As such, based on the teachings of Masakazu and as a matter of routine design optimization seeking to align the inclination of the guides with the outlet flow direction for reducing separation between the outlet flow of the fan and the guides (angle of inclination of the inner end of the guides being a recognized result effective variable by Masakazu), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to select the angle of inclination of the guides within a middle group 14 of guides spanning the region of the midpoint between the second inner guide and third inner guide to have an inner end portion inclined at an angle of approximately 40 degrees with respect to the horizontal direction. See MPEP 2144.05(II) Under such a configuration, a first guide positioned above a center of rotation of the fan and a second guide positioned below the center of rotation of the fan may be selected from among the middle group of guides having an inner end portion inclined at an angle of approximately 40 degrees with respect to the horizontal direction, wherein Masakazu would exhibit the claimed configuration.
Regarding claim 9, Masakazu further exhibits that the first guide and the second guide are located on a circular line that extends along the rotational direction of the fan (see Fig. 1). Here, it is clear that a circular line may be drawn which extends along the rotational direction of the fan (i.e. in the plane of the circumference of the fan) and intersects any number of or all of the guides, since the claim does not require the circular line be centered on the rotational axis of the fan or be of any particular diameter. As such, a circular line drawn within the same plane as the circumference of the fan may have large diameter, and may comprise a portion which intersects all of the guides with very gradual curvature.
Regarding claim 11, Huang further teaches that the first guide and second guide may comprise the same vane shaping, with the first guide being smaller in scale to the second guide (see Fig. 4), therefore each of the first guide and second guide could be interpreted as having an inner guide portion (the portion of the guide vane closer to the fan) facing the fan; and an outer guide portion (the portion of the guide vane farther from the fan and facing outward of the case) extending from the first inner guide outward of the case (see Fig. 4), wherein a length of the inner guide of the first guide (the inner guide portion of the first guide) is smaller than a length of the inner guide of the second guide (the inner guide portion of the second guide, see Fig. 4). Since Masakazu is modified according to the configuration taught by Huang in the above modification (see in re claim 1), it follows that Masakazu as modified may also exhibit that a length of the inner guide of the first guide is smaller than a length of the inner guide of the second guide – in essence that the guides of Masakazu may retain their proportions when their size is modified as described in claim 1, such that a length of the inner guide of the first guide is smaller than a length of the inner guide of the second guide, in the same manner as is taught by Huang.
Regarding claim 12, as described above, Masakazu teaches that the guides may be grouped into several groupings of vanes (13, 14, 15), each guide with the group having the same inclination (by virtue of same radius of curvature), and each group having a different inclination from the others, the curvature of the guide being adapted to the direction of the outlet flow within that region of the discharge grille (see Fig. 1-3 and English Translation, pg. 24-29). Thus, a first guide positioned above a center of rotation of the fan and a second guide positioned below the center of rotation of the fan may be selected (interpreted as a first guide and a second guide as claimed) from among the middle group of guides 14, each having the same radius of curvature. As such, Masakazu exhibits that the first guide may extend curvedly with a first radius of curvature, and the second guide may extend curvedly with a second radius of curvature identical to the first radius of curvature.
Regarding claim 14, Masakazu further exhibits that a vertical gap between the first inner guide and the second guide may be smaller than a vertical gap between the first guide and the second guide (see Fig. 1). Here, a guide located near the bottom of the discharge grille 22 (that is, near to second inner guide 34) may be interpreted as the second guide, such that the vertical gap between the first inner guide 33 and the second guide is very small (see Fig. 1, wherein the projected vertical height of the first inner guide 33 is approximately the same as the location of the bottom-most guide of discharge grille 22), whereas a guide located near the top of the discharge grille 22 (that is, near third inner guide 32) may be interpreted as the first guide, such that the vertical gap between the first guide and the second guide is very large (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Masakazu further discloses that the second inner guide (34) is disposed below the second discharge grille (22) and faces the second guide in the upward-downward direction (see Fig. 1, wherein the second inner guide faces all guides within the second discharge grille in the upward-downward direction, however the second guide may be interpreted as being the guide at the bottom of discharge grille 22, closest to the second inner guide, such that the second inner guide directly faces the second guide as well in the upward-downward direction).
Regarding claim 16, Masakazu further discloses that the second inner guide comprises: a first surface (short horizontal portion of guide 34 located directly below discharge grille 22) disposed below the second guide (see Fig. 1); and a second surface (inclined surface of guide 34, extending from the short horizontal portion to the vicinity of the third discharge grille 24) bent downward from the first surface (see Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masakazu as modified by Joo and Huang according to claim 15, and in further view of Jeong (KR20050089659A).
Regarding claim 17, Masakazu discloses the air conditioner of claim 15. While Masakazu teaches that the inclination/curvature of the guides of the discharge grilles may be determined in order to optimally align the guides with the angle of incidence of outlet flow from the fan, thereby minimizing flow separation (see Fig. 1-3 and English Translation, pg. 2, ln 26 – pg. 3, ln 28), Masakazu fails to teach similar shaping for the first, second, and third inner guides. Specifically, Masakazu fails to teach that the second inner guide is curved in an extending direction of the second guide and has a radius of curvature greater than a radius of curvature of the second guide.
Jeong exhibits an air conditioner unit similar to that of Masakazu, comprising a case (10) with a fan (30) for driving air to three separate discharge grilles (51, 52, 53), and with internal inner guides (41, 42, 43, and 141, 142, 143) for directing air within the case to the discharge grilles (see Fig. 1-5 and English Translation, pg. 2, ln 13 – pg. 3, ln 12). Jeong teaches that the surfaces of the internal guides facing inward towards the fan are advantageously made to be curved in shape (see Fig. 4-5) rather than comprising straight segments and corners (as in Fig. 2-3) in order to thereby align (match) these surfaces with the flow of outlet air towards the discharge grilles, thereby optimizing the flow of outlet air within the case (see English Translation, pg. 4, ln 11-19 and pg. 6, ln 30 - pg. 7, ln 13) and avoiding sharp corners, which may cause flow separation, as is well known in the art.
Based on the teachings of Jeong, and in line with the goals and teachings of Masakazu aimed at reducing separation between the outlet flow of the fan and guide structures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second inner guide of Masakazu to be curved in an extending direction of the second guide (i.e. along the length of the surfaces of the second inner guide over which outlet flow passes), such that the short horizontal portion of guide 34 located directly below discharge grille 22 and the inclined portion of the guide 34 extending therefrom are formed as a single curved surface, in order to better align these surfaces with the flow of outlet air towards the second discharge grille, thereby optimizing the flow of outlet air within the case, as described by Jeong (see English Translation, pg. 4, ln 11-19 and pg. 6, ln 30 - pg. 7, ln 13), and avoiding sharp corners, which may cause flow separation, as is well known in the art. Further, maintaining the relative sizing/positioning of the horizontal and inclined portions of the second inner guide when reforming them as a portions of a single curved surface, it is clear from Fig. 1 of Masakazu that such a single curved surface would have a large radius of curvature due to the relatively small difference in incline between the horizontal and inclined portions of the second guide 34 prior to modification. It is clear from Fig. 1 and 3 that the radius of curvature of a second guide selected from among the middle group 14 of guides would have a smaller radius of curvature than the proposed modified surface of the second inner guide 34. Thus, the proposed modified second inner guide exhibits a curved surface which extends in an extending direction of the second guide and has a radius of curvature greater than a radius of curvature of the second guide.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masakazu in view of Joo and Suzuki (JPH06137578A).
Regarding claim 21, Masakazu discloses an air conditioner (see Fig. 1-4 and English Translation, pg. 2, ln 18-25 and pg. 6, ln 17-25), comprising: a case (1) having a first discharge port (discharge port comprising air outlet assembly 21) and a second discharge port (discharge port comprising air outlet assembly 22) formed on a pair of lateral side surfaces thereof (see Fig. 1-4), and a third discharge portion (discharge port comprising air outlet assembly 24) formed on a lower surface thereof (see Fig. 1-4 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 17-25); a front panel (6) coupled to a front portion of the case and forming a suction port (6a); a fan (2) that is disposed in the case and rotates with respect to a rotational axis that extends in a frontward-rearward direction (see Fig. 1-2 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 17 - pg. 7, ln 4); a first inner guide (33) disposed at a first side of the fan (left side in Fig. 1, see Fig. 1 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 24-25); a second inner guide (34) and a third inner guide (32) that are positioned at a second side (right side in Fig. 1) of the fan and that are spaced apart in an upward-downward direction (see Fig. 1 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 24-25); a first discharge grille (air outlet assembly 21) disposed above the first inner guide (see Fig. 1); a second discharge grille (air outlet assembly 22) disposed between the second inner guide and the third inner guide (see Fig. 1); a third discharge grille (air outlet assembly 24) disposed below the fan and between the first inner guide and the second inner guide (see Fig. 1); a guide (air flow control member 11 of the air outlet assembly 22) disposed at the second discharge grille (see Fig. 1 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 21-25); and an auxiliary guide (air flow control member 11 at the air outlet assembly 21) disposed at the first discharge grille and curved along a direction toward an outside of the case (see Fig. 1-4, wherein the flow control member 11 comprises curved guide vanes and a base plate 12 that is curved toward an outside of the case); wherein the guide comprises: a first guide (one of the plurality of rectifying vanes of the air flow control member 11 positioned in the top half of the assembly, such as among groups 14 and 15) positioned above a center of rotation of the fan; a second guide (one of the plurality of rectifying vanes of the air flow control member 11 positioned in the bottom half of the assembly, such as among groups 13 and 14) positioned below the center of rotation of the fan; and a third guide (one of the plurality of rectifying vanes of the air flow control member 11 positioned in the middle of the assembly, between the first and second guide vanes, such as in group 14) positioned between the first guide and the second guide (see Fig. 1 and 3 and English Translation, pg. 7, ln 5-14), and wherein the auxiliary guide comprises: a first auxiliary guide; a second auxiliary guide spaced downward from the first auxiliary guide; and a third auxiliary guide spaced downward from the second auxiliary guide (see Fig. 1, wherein a first, second, and third auxiliary guide set may be selected from any of the plurality of guides at air flow control member 11 of air outlet assembly 21), wherein the first guide, the second guide, and the third guide are disposed between the second inner guide and the third inner guide (see Fig. 1), and wherein the first auxiliary guide, the second auxiliary guide, and the third auxiliary guide are disposed above the first inner guide (see Fig. 1).
Masakazu does not teach that no discharge port is formed on an upper surface thereof, Masakazu exhibiting a square-shaped indoor air conditioner unit comprising outlets on each of the four surfaces forming the boundaries of the case, including the upper surface (see Fig. 1-4 and English Translation, pg. 6, ln 17-25). This configuration is known to be suitable in circumstances such as when the air conditioner is mounted horizontally in the middle of the ceiling, thereby being aligned (having outlet directions aligned) to the plane of the ceiling, wherein the output flow in each of the four outlet directions is unobstructed and contributes to an approximately even distribution of cool air in all directions, and wherein the effect of colder, denser air sinking downward has no adverse effect on the efficiency of the device. However, it is well known within that such a mounting scheme is not always desirable, and that often, such units are mounted vertically on a wall for reasons of space constraints, electric wiring constraints, or stylistic considerations, whereupon the unit is aligned (having outlet directions aligned) along the vertical wall plane. In such circumstances, it is advantageous and well known within the art to provide the air condition with no upward-directed outlet, and thus no discharge port formed on the upper surface thereof, in order to improve the efficiency of the unit. Such is taught by Joo ([0002-0011] and [0018-0025]), which explains that for air conditioners of the type taught by Masakazu (and depicted in Fig. 1 and escribed in [0002-0011]), when the air condition unit is vertically aligned, such as when mounted on a wall, cold air blown out of the unit through an upwardly directed discharge port formed on the upper surface of the air conditioner case will often sink toward the front side of the case, so as to be sucked into the unit again through the intake port formed therein, thereby reducing the efficiency of the air conditioner unit, since less cooling air is distributed throughout the room and less warm air is being passed through the unit than would otherwise be the case ([0018-0025]). Joo further exhibits an air conditioner indoor unit (see Fig. 18-24 and [0055-0058]) similar to that of Masakazu (square shaped, similar discharge port and flow guide distribution) with a case (outer case 20) comprising discharge ports (blow units 160, comprising blow grills 161) on three side surfaces of the case instead of four, omitting a discharge port formed on an upper surface (upper lateral face 22) of the case (see Fig. 20 and 23, [0298-0305], and [0316]). In place of a discharge port formed on the upper surface of the case, Joo teaches the use of an extended flow guiding member (172) (see Fig. 20 and 23, [0346-0348], and [0364-0369]). It is clear from the teachings of Joo that such a configuration would be more suitable for such circumstances wherein the air conditioner may be provided as vertically aligned with the wall plane (see [0018-0025]). Further, it is clear from Fig. 23 and associated text of Joo that an extended flow guiding member (172) may be placed instead of an outlet formed on the upper surface, and that such a feature may be designed such that it does not cause for any adjustment in the outlet or guide structures of the lateral or bottom surfaces of the air conditioner, since these features are identical to each other in structure within the configuration of Joo (see Fig. 23, [0316], [0346-0348], and [0364-0369]). Considering this fact, the example of Joo, and the well known fact (taught by Joo) that in some common circumstances (such as a wall mounted air conditioner), it is more suitable for such square-shaped indoor air conditioners to avoid outputting cooling air in the upward direction in order to improve cooling efficiency, as described above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the air conditioner of Masakazu to be suitable for such circumstances by comprising no discharge port is formed on an upper surface thereof, and by instead comprising an elongated third inner guide (32) in the manner of the elongated flow guiding member taught by Joo, thereby avoiding a loss in cooling efficiency which would otherwise occur if the four-outlet configuration of Masakazu (which includes an upwardly directed discharge port on the upper surface) were used.
Masakazu also fails to teach that a length of the second guide is greater than lengths of the first guide and the third guide, and that a length of the second auxiliary guide is greater than lengths of the first auxiliary guide and the third auxiliary guide.
Suzuki exhibits an air conditioner similar to that of Masakazu (see Fig. 12-14), comprising a case (1) housing a fan (4) and comprising multiple discharge grilles (6), with a rectifying guide vane arrangement (see rectifying ribs 17 and 18 of Fig. 13) provided at one discharge grille (see Fig. 14) and an identical auxiliary guide vane arrangement provided at the opposite discharge grille (see Fig. 14 and [0030-0035]).
Based on the teachings of Suzuki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the guide and auxiliary guide of Masakazu to include the rectifying guide (vane) arrangement of Suzuki, rather than the vane arrangement taught by Masakazu, as a matter of simple substitution of one configuration (that of Suzuki) known to be suitable for use in discharge grilles of air conditioners of the type disclosed by Masakazu for another (the original configuration of Masakazu) in order to obtain predictable results – straightening of flow exiting the air conditioner through the discharge grilles. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Upon such a modification, both the guide and auxiliary guide of Masakazu may comprise the vane arrangement depicted in Fig. 13 of Suzuki. Thus, the first guide, second guide, and third guide may be interpreted as shown in the annotated Fig. 13 of Suzuki below, and the first auxiliary guide, second auxiliary guide, and third auxiliary guide may be interpreted as shown in the second annotated Fig. 13 of Suzuki below (both the guide and auxiliary guide having the same vane arrangement, as taught by Suzuki). Such a modification thus exhibits that a length of the second guide is greater than lengths of the first guide and the third guide, and that a length of the second auxiliary guide is greater than lengths of the first auxiliary guide and the third auxiliary guide (see annotated figures above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art cited in this office action and any prior office actions represents the closest art to the claimed invention as found by the examiner. Regarding the above cited claims, none of these references teach or suggest the claimed invention as a whole, and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine teachings from these references to obtain the claimed invention. In support of this finding, a comparison of the present claim limitations to the closest prior art is presented below.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the limitation “the second inner guide has an end portion inclined with respect to the horizontal direction, and wherein an inclination angle of the second inner guide is smaller than an inclination angle of an end portion of the second guide,” which alongside the remainder of the claim and any intervening claims renders the claim patentably distinct over the prior art. It is clear from Fig. 1 of Masakazu that the second inner guide (34) may be interpreted to comprise an end portion that is inclined with respect to the horizontal direction (either the long and straight flow guiding surface or the curved surface forming the boundary of the channel leading to the lower discharge port could be interpreted as an inclined end portion), however, it is equally clear from Fig. 1 that any end portion of Masakazu has a greater inclination than the inclination angle of an end portion of the second guide, which must be part of a vane that is below the center of rotation of the fan. Thus, while some the second guide portions of the upper most vanes of the second discharge port (22) of Masakazu exhibit significant inclination, none of these vanes can be considered to be the second guide as claimed. Further, while other references such as Joo, Jeong (KR20050089659A), and Chung (KR20050089659) comprise air conditioner cases that include inner flow guide structures and could be modified to include curved guide vanes such as those of Masakazu, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify such references to comprise the exact claimed configuration, wherein the angles of inclination between a guide vane (second guide) and inner flow guide member (second inner guide) are directly compared. For such a modification to be considered obvious, an explicit teaching comparing these parameters would be needed, along with some reasonable motivation for configuring the structures in this manner. No such teachings have been found by the examiner, despite multiple thorough search attempts. Finally, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the inclination angle of the second inner guide or second guide in Masakazu as mere design choice or preference, since such shaping is well understood within the art to have a significant impact upon the flow behavior of air driven by the fan. Since the cited references represent the closest prior art to the claimed configuration, and since no other reference was found by the examiner which discloses or teaches this limitation(s), it is thus concluded that this limitation(s), in combination with the remainder of the claim and any intervening claims, is/are patentably distinct over prior art. Any claims that are dependent upon this claim are also considered to be patentably distinct over prior art by virtue at least of the subject matter of this claim.
Conclusion
/ERIC A LANGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783