Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Van Keulen (US 2021/246864). With respect to claims 1, 6, 13-14, Van Keulen discloses the claimed solar powered aquatic transloading system 1 with a first floating vessel 10 with an electric motor (page 2, lines 8-37), a second floating vessel 50 with a first solar panel configured with an at least one photovoltaic cell operable to generate a current, a power network or grid (including hubs 20) operably coupled between the first floating vessel and the second floating vessel, with the power network receiving current from the first solar panel and transfers a suitable output current to the electric motor (page 2, lines 8-37), (note also all of the Figures). With respect to claim 3, note Van Keulen, Figure 4. With respect to claim 4, note Van Keulen, 52, Figure 3. With respect to claim 14, note Van Keulen, page 13, lines 30-36.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 10-12 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Keulen (US 2021/246864) in view of McGinnis (US 2004/0211348). With respect to claims 2, 7, 11, 13-14, Van Keulen does not disclose a tug and barge. McGinnis teaches a tug and barge (paragraph 0044). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Van Keulen with a tug and barge as taught by Hine et al with a high likelihood of success for improved vessel handling. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention in designing complex and very expensive marine power grid systems would have years of experience in the art and advanced degrees. Such a person would be familiar with various types of marine vessels and would have found the combination to have been obvious. With respect to claims 7, 10, 12, it would have been an obvious choice of engineering design to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the system of Van Keulen with the specific ranges claimed and to use diesel power for improved vessel power and propulsion. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention in designing complex and very expensive marine power grid systems would have years of experience in the art and advanced degrees. Such a person would be familiar with various types of ranges and fuel types and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Keulen (US 2021/246864) in view of Hine et al (US 2007/0173141). With respect to claims 15-16, Van Keulen does not disclose a satellite gps steering system. Hine et al teach a satellite gps steering system (paragraph 0139). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Van Keulen with a satellite gps steering system as taught by Hine et al with a high likelihood of success for improved vessel control. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention in designing complex and very expensive marine power grid systems would have years of experience in the art and advanced degrees. Such a person would be familiar with GPS steering systems and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claims 5 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ivandaev et al (WO 2014185811 A1) show vessels.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615