DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/29/2025. Claims 1-8, and 10-25 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-13, and 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen et al. (US 2021/0055496 A1, herein “Allen”).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Allen discloses a cable management device (splice tray 100 in Fig. 2A) comprising:
a base portion (102);
a side portion (108);
wherein the base portion includes an edge connecting portion at a first edge (at 105) of the base portion that is structurally configured to removably connect to an edge connection portion of an other device;
wherein the base portion includes an edge connection portion at a second edge (at 106) of the base portion (102) that is structurally configured to removably connect to an edge connecting portion of the other device (snap on hinge component 600, 650);
wherein the cable management device (100) is configured to receive optical fibers such that the optical fibers enter the cable management device along the first edge and the second edge (Fig. 7 shows the cable entrances 105 and 106 are along the first and second edge of the base portion);
wherein the edge connecting portion comprises a connection recess (connection bays 125; the connecting bays is “of an other device” different from the cable management device);
wherein the edge connection portion comprises a connection tab (tab 152);
wherein the base portion comprises a base plate (base 102);
wherein the side portion comprises a side wall (side wall 108);
wherein the side portion extends at a positive angle (right angle or 90˚) from the base portion (102); and
wherein the base portion (102) and the side portion (108) are structurally configured to be connected to and removed from the other device to provide a modular and scalable cable management system that permits expansion of the cable management system on demand.
As shown in Fig. 19B, the connection bay (125) allows for the snap-on hinge component (600, 650, 650) to latch on to the lower snap-on hinge component. The snap-on hinge component enables a splice tray (100) to pivotally mounted to the second splice tray (100 beneath it by a hinging mechanism disposed at the first end of the base (102) (Para [0090]).
Claim 2. The base portion (102) includes a securing portion (cable tie down platform 450 shown in Fig. 11) that is configured to receive a cable securing portion to secure the optical cable to the base portion (Para [0073]).
Claim 4. The cable management device of claim 1, further comprising:
a fiber entry (105 and 106 on each end of the splice tray 100) and retention portion (the interior of the splice tray) including a guide portion (107) that is configured to receive optical fibers entering the management device;
the retention portion (interior of the splice tray) extending from the guide portion (107) and that is configured to retain the optical fibers in the fiber entry and retention portion; and
a fiber storage portion (tabs 109 along the interior side wall 108) that is configured to receive and store the optical fibers that have entered the cable management device.
Claim 5. The guide portion comprises a guide wall (gripping structures 107 have side walls for holding or guiding the cable providing strain relieve (Para [0048]).
Claim 6. The retention portion comprises a retention tab (the retention tabs 109 is along the interior of the splice tray).
Claim 8. The cable management device further comprising a side pathway portion (114, 114’ in Fig. 4) that is structurally configured to provide a path for optical fibers to pass from the base portion (splice tray 100) to an adjacent cable manage device (splice tray 100’), the side pathway being on a third edge that is perpendicular to the first edge (at passage 105) and the second edge (at passage 106) (See Para [0053]);
a rear passage portion (106 in Fig. 1) that is structurally configured to allow passage of the optical fibers from the front side (105 in Fig. 1) of the base portion to a rear side of the base portion; and
a lower passage portion (opening 104) that is structurally configured to allow passage of the optical fibers from the front side of the base portion to the rear side of the base portion (cable can be redirected through opening 104 as an alternative to opening 105 and 106).
Claims 10-11. The cable management device comprises a cable fixation plate. The examiner considers tray (100) with base (102) as the cable fixation plate since base (102) is provided with cable securing guides (107) and retention portions (tabs 109) that would fix the cables to the interior of the tray. Thus, the tray (100) comprises a fiber entry (105, 106) and storage plate (interior of the tray and tabs 109).
Claim 25. The cable management device comprises a fiber entry (105, 106) and storage plate (3100 in Fig. 8A, Para [0062]), and the other device (snap-on hinge component) in latched state with cable management device (100) comprises a cable fixation plate. Splice tray (100) with base (102) is the cable fixation plate since base (102) is provided with cable securing guides (107) and retention portions (tabs 109) that would fix the cables to the interior of the tray
Claim 12. Allen discloses a cable management device (100) comprising:
a base portion (102);
a side portion (108);
wherein the base portion includes an edge connecting portion (121) at a first edge (at 105) of the base portion that is configured to be connected to and removed from an edge connection portion of another device (snap-on hinge component 600, 650);
wherein the other device (snap-on hinge component 600, 650) and the cable management device (100) are different devices that are not identical;
wherein the base portion includes an edge connection portion (121) at a second edge (106) of the base portion (102) that is configured to be connected to and removed from an edge connecting portion of the other device (snap-on hinge component 600, 650);
wherein the edge connecting portion (121) comprises a connection recess (connection bay 125);
wherein the edge connection portion comprises a connection tab (tab 152);
wherein the cable management device (100) is configured to receive optical fibers such that the optical fibers enter the cable management device along the first edge (at 105) and the second edge (at 106); and
wherein the base portion (102) and the side portion (108) are structurally configured to be connected and removed from the other device (snap-on hinge component 600, 650) to provide a modular and scalable cable manage system that permits expansion of the cable management system on demand.
As shown in Fig. 19B, the connection bay (125) allows for the snap-on hinge component (600, 650) to latch on to the lower snap-on hinge component. The snap-on hinge component enables a splice tray (100) to pivotally mounted to the second splice tray (100 beneath it by a hinging mechanism disposed at the first end of the base (102) (Para [0090]).
Claim 13. The base portion (102) includes a securing portion (cable tie down platform 450 shown in Fig. 11) that is configured to receive a cable securing portion to secure the optical cable to the base portion (Para [0073]).
Claim 15. The cable management device of claim 12, further comprising:
a fiber entry (105 and 106 on each end of the splice tray 100) and retention portion (the interior of the splice tray) including a guide portion (107) that is configured to receive optical fibers entering the management device;
the retention portion (interior of the splice tray) extending from the guide portion (107) and that is configured to retain the optical fibers in the fiber entry and retention portion; and
a fiber storage portion (tabs 109 along the interior side wall 108) that is configured to receive and store the optical fibers that have entered the cable management device.
Claim 16. The cable management device further comprising a side pathway portion (114, 114’ in Fig. 4) that is structurally configured to provide a path for optical fibers to pass from the base portion (splice tray 100) to an adjacent cable manage device (splice tray 100’), the side pathway being on a third edge that is perpendicular to the first edge (105) and the second edge (106);
a rear passage portion (106 in Fig. 1) that is structurally configured to allow passage of the optical fibers from the front side (105 in Fig. 1) of the base portion to a rear side of the base portion; and
a lower passage portion (104) that is structurally configured to allow passage of the optical fibers from the front side of the base portion to the rear side of the base portion (openings 104 are on both ends of the tray).
Claim 17. The side portion (108) extends at a positive angle (right angle or 90˚) from the base portion (102).
Claims 18-19. The cable management device comprises a cable fixation plate. The examiner considers tray (100) with base (102) as the cable fixation plate since base (102) is provided with cable securing guides (107) and retention portions (tabs 109) that would fix the cables to the interior of the tray. Thus, the tray (100) comprises a fiber entry (105, 106) and storage plate (interior of the tray and tabs 109).
Claim 20. Allen discloses a cable management device (100) comprising:
a base portion (102);
a side portion (108);
wherein the base portion includes an edge connecting portion at a first edge (left recess 125 of frame portion 121) of the base portion that is structurally configured to removably connect to an edge connection portion of an other device (snap-on hinge component 600, 650);
wherein the other device (snap-on hinge component 600, 650) and the cable management device (100) are different devices that are not identical;
wherein the base portion (102) includes an edge connection portion at a second edge (right recess 125 of frame portion 121) of the base portion that is configured to be connected to and removed from an edge connection portion of the other device (snap-on hinge component 600, 650);
wherein the cable management device is configured to receive optical fibers such that the optical fibers enter the cable management device along the first edge and the second edge (103, 105 as shown in Fig. 2A); and
wherein the base portion and the side portion configured to be connected to and removed from the other device (snap-on hinge component 600, 650) to provide a modular and scalable cable management system that permits expansion of the cable management system on demand.
the other device to provide a modular and scalable cable management system that permits expandability on demand.
As shown in Fig. 19B, the connection bay (125) allows for the snap-on hinge component (600, 650) to latch on to the lower snap-on hinge component. The snap-on hinge component enables a splice tray (100) to pivotally mounted to the second splice tray (100 beneath it by a hinging mechanism disposed at the first end of the base (102) (Para [0090]).
Claim 21. The side portion (108) extends at a positive angle (right angle or 90˚) from the base portion (102).
Claims 22-23. The cable management device comprises a cable fixation plate. The examiner considers tray (100) with base (102) as the cable fixation plate since base (102) is provided with cable securing guides (107) and retention portions (tabs 109) that would fix the cables to the interior of the tray. Thus, the tray (100) comprises as a fiber entry (105, 106) and storage plate (interior of the tray and tabs 109).
Claim 24. The cable management device of claim 23, further comprising:
a fiber entry (105 and 106 on each end of the splice tray 100) and retention portion (the interior of the splice tray) including a guide portion (107) that is configured to receive optical fibers entering the management device;
the retention portion (interior of the splice tray) extending from the guide portion (107) and that is structurally configured to retain the optical fibers in the fiber entry and retention portion; and
a fiber storage portion (tabs 109 along the interior side wall 108) that is structurally configured to receive and store the optical fibers that have entered the cable management device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen in view of Montgelas et al. (US 2015/0362691 A1, herein Montgelas”).
Regarding claim 3, Allen discloses the invention of claim 2, but Allen does not teach the securing portion comprises a T-slot.
Montgelas teaches a base (plate 26) having tabs (422) defined by T-shaped portions for detachably securing optical cables with hook loop straps or the like (Para [0166] and Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the T-shaped tabs can be punched into the base of Allen’s cable management device for securing optical cables as taught by Montgelas. One would be motivated to use T-shape tabs for securing optical cables so that the cables can be secured and/or easily removable for readjustments.
Regarding claim 7, Allen discloses the invention of claim 4, however, Allen does not disclose the fiber storage portion comprises a fiber spool.
Montgelas teaches a spool (475) is provided on base plate (28) for organizing optical cables (Fig. 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the Allen’s modular splice tray can be modified to support a spool on the base (102) to organize the optical cables. One would be motivated to provide a spool to organize the cables while preventing the optical fiber from damage.
Regarding claim 14, Allen discloses the invention of claim 12, but Allen does not teach the securing portion comprises as a T-slot.
Montgelas teaches a base (plate 26) having tabs (422) defined by T-shaped portions for detachably securing optical cables with hook loop straps or the like (Para [0166] and Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the T-shaped tabs can be punched into the base of Allen’s cable management device for securing optical cables as taught by Montgelas. One would be motivated to use T-shape tabs for securing optical cables so that the cables can be secured and/or easily removable for readjustments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s main argument is with respect to the anticipatory rejection over Allen does not disclose the amended limitations of independent claims 1, 12, and 20. And the rejection of claims 3, 7, and 14 over Allen in view of Montgelas do not correct the deficiencies of the amended independent claims.
The examiner addressed each and every limitations to all of the amended claims 1-8, 10-16, 18-20, and 22-24, including new claim 25 in the rejections above.
In summary, the original rejection teaches the edge connecting portions removably connect to an edge connection portion of an other device are two identical splice trays are edge coupled to modularly expand the cable management system. The amended claims distinguished the “an other device” to be a device that is not identical to the cable management device. The frame portion 121 with receiving portions 120 function as the recited “an other device” that is not identical to the cable management device (splice tray 100).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For these reasons, the examiner finds applicant arguments of prior arts to Allen and Montgelas failing to the teach the amended claims to be not persuasive.
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874