Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 10, the claim recites “the umbrella is not embedded in the internal elastomer layer”. Claim 1 requires “the base residing within the liner”. The base is part of the umbrella. Residing within the liner meets the definition of embedded and therefore claim 10 appears to contradict claim 1. Please explain or amend the claims. The instant disclosure does not provide additional clarification.
In regard to claims 13-14, the claims recite both “a base residing within the liner” (base of the umbrella) and “the umbrella is not embedded in the internal silicone layer” which appear to contradict one another. Residing within the liner meets the definition of embedded and therefore these limitations appear to contradict one another. Please explain or amend the claims. The instant disclosure does not provide additional clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) in view of Song (KR2010/0044956A).
In regard to claim 1, Bernhardt teaches a prosthetic liner comprising:
an internal elastomer layer (B, C; silicone layers: claim 6), wherein the closed distal end further comprises a liner opening (S; see fig 1-2);
a locking attachment (fig 3) further comprising an umbrella (D), and a central aperture (H, S; figs 1-2), wherein the umbrella (D) further comprises a stem (E) with stem threading (see threads of E) and a base (outer portion of umbrella labeled D in figure 3), the base (outer portion of D) residing within the liner (embedded between C and B as shown in figure 2);
and the umbrella (D) is adhered to the internal elastomer layer (between B and C as shown in figure 2).
However, Bernhardt does not teach the liner comprises a fabric covering, or an exterior screw cap.
Song teaches a substantially tubular fabric covering having an open proximal end, a closed dome-shaped distal end (see abstract: attaching a fabric to the outer surface of the inner layer to complete main body 1; interpreted as the outer skin 13 as shown in figure 3);
an exterior screw cap 30 with screw cap threads (since attached by connecting bolt 101 which is threaded, the hole 201 is threaded; abstract: nut hole 201 engaged with connecting bolt 101), and wherein the exterior screw cap 30 is disposed on an exterior of the fabric covering (on exterior, see fig 3),
once the exterior screw cap 30 is engaged with the umbrella 10 by joining the screw cap threads with the stem threads (see threaded nut 101 and 201), thereby securing the fabric covering (interpreted as 13) between the base and the exterior screw cap (see fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the fabric and exterior screw caps of Song on the liner of Bernhardt because the fabric assists in allowing the liner to easily be inserted into a socket (reduced friction) and the screw cap protects the outer surface of the liner and provides additional cushioning (pg 3, paragraph 1 of translation).
In regard to claim 2, Bernhardt meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 and further teaches the base of the umbrella (outer portion of D) is dome-shaped to correspond to the dome-shaped distal end. (see figures 1-2)
In regard to claim 4, Bernhardt meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 and further teaches the internal elastomer layer comprises silicone. (title, abstract)
In regard to claim 11, Bernhardt meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 but does not teach the exterior screw cap or fabric as claimed.
Song further teaches the umbrella 20 and the exterior screw cap 30 do not crimp the fabric covering 13 once engaged. (see figure 3, not crimped) This is a statement of intended use, patentable only based on the resulting structure. The attachment is capable of not crimping any fabric.
In regard to claim 12, Bernhardt meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 but does not teach the central aperture S is internally threaded.
Song teaches the central aperture is internally threaded. (see 101 within the aperture of 20 in figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to centrally thread the central aperture of Bernhardt as taught by Song to allow the connection of multiple components such as a pin or another component with different connection needs.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) in view of Song (KR2010/0044956A) and further in view of Eberle (2003/0181989A1).
In regard to claim 3, Bernhardt in view of Song meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. However, the combination remains silent to the material of the umbrella and screw cap.
Eberle teaches the umbrella and the exterior screw cap comprise aluminum. [0035: the receptacle body can be formed of aluminum].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the connectors of the umbrella of Bernhardt and the screw cap of Song in view of Bernhardt aluminum as taught by Eberle for durability and strength and the resistance to rust.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) in view of Song (KR2010/0044956A) and further in view of Schaffer (2005/0149202A1).
In regard to claim 5, Bernhart meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 but does not teach the internal elastomer layer comprises a thermoplastic styrene-based elastomer gel.
Schaffer teaches the internal elastomer layer comprises a thermoplastic styrene-based elastomer gel. [0058: styrene and any thermoplastic elastomer blended with mineral oil].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the gel of Schaffer in place of the silicone elastomer of Bernhardt because the mineral oil component will improve skin health and reduce pressure points.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) in view of Song (KR2010/0044956A) and further in view of Slemker (8308816B2).
In regard to claim 7, Bernhardt meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 but does not teach the base further comprises a plurality of radial grooves on the upper face.
Slemker teaches the base further comprises a plurality (defined as two or more) of radial grooves 144, 141 on the upper face (fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the radial grooves of Slemker on the base upper face of Bernhardt because the corresponding grooves and protrusions allow a seal between components (Col 5, lines 49-65) and prevent rotation.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) in view of Song (KR2010/0044956A) and further in view of McCarthy (WO2018/055411A1).
In regard to claim 10, Bernhardt meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 but does not teach the umbrella is not embedded in the internal elastomer layer.
McCarthy teaches the umbrella 7 is not embedded in the internal elastomer layer. (figure 4B)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to rearrange the umbrella of Bernhardt to be outside the elastomer layer as taught by McCarthy because this allows the umbrella to more easily be repaired or replaced and is easier to manufacture. “In” is interpreted as connected to.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) in view of Song (KR2010/0044956A) in view of Eberle (2003/0181989A1) in view of Slemker (8308816B2).
In regard to claim 13, Bernhardt teaches a prosthetic liner (fig 1) comprising:
an internal silicone layer (B, C; abstract), wherein the closed distal end further comprises a liner opening (S) and a dome shaped distal end (fig 1);
a locking attachment (fig 3) further comprising an umbrella (D), and a central aperture (S, H),
wherein the umbrella (D) further comprises a stem (E) with stem threading (fig 1) and a base (outer portion of D) residing within the liner (between B and C, fig 1);
the umbrella (D) is adhered to the internal silicone layer (B; see fig 2);
the umbrella is not embedded in the internal silicone layer (as best understood by the examiner this is interpreted to mean that the stem portion of the umbrella is not embedded in the internal silicone later; as shown in figures 1-2; the stem portion E of the umbrella extends outwards of the silicone layers B, C).
However, Bernhardt does not teach a fabric covering or screw cap, that the umbrella or screw cap is aluminum or that the umbrella is not embedded in the internal silicone layer
Song teaches a substantially tubular fabric covering having an open proximal end, a closed dome-shaped distal end (see abstract: attaching a fabric to the outer surface of the inner layer to complete main body 1; interpreted as the outer skin 13 as shown in figure 3; when applied to the liner of Bernhardt with a dome shaped distal end, fabric will also be dome shaped);
an exterior screw cap 30 with screw cap threads (since attached by connecting bolt 101 which is threaded, the hole 201 is threaded; abstract: nut hole 201 engaged with connecting bolt 101), and wherein the exterior screw cap 30 is disposed on an exterior of the fabric covering (on exterior, see fig 3),
once the exterior screw cap 30 is engaged with the umbrella 10 by joining the screw cap threads with the stem threads (see threaded nut 101 and 201), thereby securing the fabric covering (interpreted as 13) between the base and the exterior screw cap (see fig 3). Since the umbrella of Bernhardt is already adhered to the internal silicone layer, the umbrella will also be adhered after the screw cap of Song is applied.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the fabric and exterior screw caps of Song on the liner of Bernhardt because the fabric assists in allowing the liner to easily be inserted into a socket (reduced friction) and the screw cap protects the outer surface of the liner and provides additional cushioning (pg 3, paragraph 1 of translation).
Eberle teaches the umbrella and the exterior screw cap comprise aluminum. [0035: the receptacle body can be formed of aluminum].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the connectors of the umbrella of Bernhardt and the screw cap of Song in view of Bernhardt aluminum as taught by Eberle for durability and strength and the resistance to rust.
Slemker teaches the base further comprises a plurality (defined as two or more) of radial grooves 144, 141 on the upper face (fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the radial grooves of Slemker on the base upper face of Bernhardt because the corresponding grooves and protrusions allow a seal between components (Col 5, lines 49-65) and prevent rotation.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) in view of Song (KR2010/0044956A) in view of Eberle (2003/0181989A1) in view of Slemker (8308816B2) and in view of Schaffer (2005/0149202A1).
In regard to claim 14, Bernhardt teaches a prosthetic liner comprising:
a closed dome-shaped distal end (fig 1),
and gel layer (B, C), wherein the closed distal end further comprises a liner opening (S);
a locking attachment (fig 3) further comprising an umbrella (D),
and a central aperture (H, S),
wherein the umbrella (D) is not embedded in the gel layer (interpreted as best understood to mean a portion of the umbrella is not embedded; the stem E is external to the gel layers B, C as shown in figures 1-2).
and further comprises a stem (E) with stem threading (see fig 3) and a base (D) residing within the liner (between B and C as shown in fig 2),
and the umbrella (D) is adhered to the internal gel layer (between B and C as shown in figure 2).
However, Bernhardt does not teach a substantially tubular fabric, the gel is not thermoplastic styrene based elastomer gel, that the umbrella or screw cap is aluminum, or that the base comprises a plurality of radial grooves on its face
Song teaches a substantially tubular fabric covering having an open proximal end, a closed dome-shaped distal end (see abstract: attaching a fabric to the outer surface of the inner layer to complete main body 1; interpreted as the outer skin 13 as shown in figure 3; when applied to the liner of Bernhardt with a dome shaped distal end, fabric will also be dome shaped);
an exterior screw cap 30 with screw cap threads (since attached by connecting bolt 101 which is threaded, the hole 201 is threaded; abstract: nut hole 201 engaged with connecting bolt 101), and wherein the exterior screw cap 30 is disposed on an exterior of the fabric covering (on exterior, see fig 3),
once the exterior screw cap 30 is engaged with the umbrella 10 by joining the screw cap threads with the stem threads (see threaded nut 101 and 201), thereby securing the fabric covering (interpreted as 13) between the base and the exterior screw cap (see fig 3). Since the umbrella of Bernhardt is already adhered to the internal silicone layer, the umbrella will also be adhered after the screw cap of Song is applied.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the fabric and exterior screw caps of Song on the liner of Bernhardt because the fabric assists in allowing the liner to easily be inserted into a socket (reduced friction) and the screw cap protects the outer surface of the liner and provides additional cushioning (pg 3, paragraph 1 of translation).
Slemker teaches the base further comprises a plurality (defined as two or more) of radial grooves 144, 141 on the upper face (fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the radial grooves of Slemker on the base upper face of Bernhardt because the corresponding grooves and protrusions allow a seal between components (Col 5, lines 49-65) and prevent rotation.
Eberle teaches the umbrella and the exterior screw cap comprise aluminum. [0035: the receptacle body can be formed of aluminum].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the connectors of the umbrella of Bernhardt and the screw cap of Song in view of Bernhardt aluminum as taught by Eberle for durability and strength and the resistance to rust.
Schaffer teaches the internal elastomer layer comprises a thermoplastic styrene-based elastomer gel. [0058: styrene and any thermoplastic elastomer blended with mineral oil].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the gel of Schaffer in place of the silicone elastomer of Bernhardt because the mineral oil component will improve skin health and reduce pressure points.
Response to Arguments
In regard to the drawing objections for failing to include divots, dimples and locking teeth, the amendments have overcome the objections.
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claims 1, 4 and 10-12 as unpatentable over McCarthy (WO2018/055411A1) in view of Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) and in view of Haberman (WO9734548A2), the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. The applicant argues that because the rejection used 3 references impermissible hindsight was used. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The remainder of the arguments are directed towards new claim limitations which have been addressed above. The amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claim 2 as unpatentable over McCarthy (WO2018/055411A1) in view of Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) and in view of Haberman (WO9734548A2) and further in view of Jacobs (5746772A), no further arguments were presented.
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claim 3 as unpatentable over McCarthy (WO2018/055411A1) in view of Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) and in view of Haberman (WO9734548A2) and further in view of Eberle (2003/0181989A1) no further arguments were presented.
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claim 6 as unpatentable over McCarthy (WO2018/055411A1) in view of Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) and in view of Haberman (WO9734548A2) and further in view of Crowther (2113425A) no further arguments were presented.
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claims 7-9 as unpatentable over McCarthy (WO2018/055411A1) in view of Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) and in view of Haberman (WO9734548A2) and further in view of Slemker (8308816B2) no further arguments were presented.
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claim 13 as unpatentable over McCarthy (WO2018/055411A1) in view of Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) and in view of Haberman (WO9734548A2) and further in view of Slemker (8308816B2) and further in view of Eberle (2003/0181989A1) no further arguments were presented.
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claim 14 as unpatentable over McCarthy (WO2018/055411A1) in view of Bernhardt (FR2962327A1) and in view of Haberman (WO9734548A2) and further in view of Slemker (8308816B2) and further in view of Eberle (2003/0181989A1) no further arguments were presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTIE BAHENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774