DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on March 2, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-20.
Claims 4, 11 and 17 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are pending this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10/16/2025 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (CN 106569239 B) in view of Liu et al (CN 108363079 A) and Wirola et al (US 2010/0090890 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tang teaches a method for positioning a terminal performed by a computer device, the method comprising [page 5, claim 1]:
determining an initial estimated location of the terminal based on first actual observation data obtained by a terminal by separately performing satellite communication with multiple satellites and actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1B for getting virtual reference observation data];
determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal based on an actual location of a target base station associated with the terminal, second actual observation data obtained by the target base station by separately performing satellite communication with the satellites, and the actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1D for the terminal searches for the nearest grid point];
determining virtual observation data between the terminal and each of the satellites based on the first system positioning error and the initial estimated location of the terminal, the virtual observation data including a virtual pseudo-range observation value and a virtual carrier phase observation value between the terminal and the each of the satellites [page 5, first paragraph and clam 1 for calculating VRS data according to grid points to proximate location of the terminal];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [page 3, second paragraph for getting rover data with multiple high precision stations].
Tang fails to explicitly teach and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data, and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including:.
Liu has a GNSS pseudo-range double-difference positioning method and system for a portable smart device (abstract) and teaches and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data [0084-0086 for parsing data from reference station position and observation values],
and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: [0089-0092 for obtaining relative position of the smart device (terminal) using difference data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Liu for the purpose to finally obtain the reference station position, the reference station pseudorange observation value, and the ephemeris type information (Liu, 0085).
Tang fails to explicitly teach performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites.
Wirola has first data that is valid for a first reference station is provided for transmission to a device (abstract) and teaches performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [0100-0102 for calculating the double different between tow virtual reference stations VRS m and VRS k].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Liu for the purpose to finally obtain the reference station position, the reference station pseudorange observation value, and the ephemeris type information (Liu, 0085).
Regarding Claim 8, Tang teaches a computer device, comprising: a processor and a memory, the processor being connected to the memory [page 5, claim 1];
and the memory being configured to store program code that, when executed by the processor, causing the computer device to perform a method for positioning a terminal [page 3, first two paragraphs],
the method comprising: determining an initial estimated location of the terminal based on first actual observation data obtained by a terminal by separately performing satellite communication with multiple satellites and actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1B for getting virtual reference observation data];
determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal based on an actual location of a target base station associated with the terminal, second actual observation data obtained by the target base station by separately performing satellite communication with the satellites, and the actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1D for the terminal searches for the nearest grid point];
determining virtual observation data between the terminal and each of the satellites based on the first system positioning error and the initial estimated location of the terminal, the virtual observation data including a virtual pseudo-range observation value and a virtual carrier phase observation value between the terminal and the each of the satellites [page 5, first paragraph and clam 1 for calculating VRS data according to grid points to proximate location of the terminal];
performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [page 3, second paragraph for using differential calculations on actual observation data];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [page 3, second paragraph for getting rover data with multiple high precision stations].
Tang fails to explicitly teach and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data, and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including:.
Liu has a GNSS pseudo-range double-difference positioning method and system for a portable smart device (abstract) and teaches and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data [0084-0086 for parsing data from reference station position and observation values],
and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: [0089-0092 for obtaining relative position of the smart device (terminal) using difference data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Liu for the purpose to finally obtain the reference station position, the reference station pseudorange observation value, and the ephemeris type information (Liu, 0085).
Tang fails to explicitly teach performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites.
Wirola has first data that is valid for a first reference station is provided for transmission to a device (abstract) and teaches performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [0100-0102 for calculating the double different between tow virtual reference stations VRS m and VRS k].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Liu for the purpose to finally obtain the reference station position, the reference station pseudorange observation value, and the ephemeris type information (Liu, 0085).
Regarding Claim 15, Tang teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing program instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computer device, cause the computer device to perform a method for positioning a terminal, the method comprising [page 5, claim 1]:
determining an initial estimated location of the terminal based on first actual observation data obtained by a terminal by separately performing satellite communication with multiple satellites and actual locations of the satellites;
determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal based on an actual location of a target base station associated with the terminal, second actual observation data obtained by the target base station by separately performing satellite communication with the satellites, and the actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1D for the terminal searches for the nearest grid point];
determining virtual observation data between the terminal and each of the satellites based on the first system positioning error and the initial estimated location of the terminal, the virtual observation data including a virtual pseudo-range observation value and a virtual carrier phase observation value between the terminal and the each of the satellites [page 5, first paragraph and clam 1 for calculating VRS data according to grid points to proximate location of the terminal];
performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [page 3, second paragraph for using differential calculations on actual observation data];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [page 3, second paragraph for getting rover data with multiple high precision stations].
Tang fails to explicitly teach and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data, and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including:.
Liu has a GNSS pseudo-range double-difference positioning method and system for a portable smart device (abstract) and teaches and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data [0084-0086 for parsing data from reference station position and observation values],
and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: [0089-0092 for obtaining relative position of the smart device (terminal) using difference data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Liu for the purpose to finally obtain the reference station position, the reference station pseudorange observation value, and the ephemeris type information (Liu, 0085).
Tang fails to explicitly teach performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites.
Wirola has first data that is valid for a first reference station is provided for transmission to a device (abstract) and teaches performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [0100-0102 for calculating the double different between tow virtual reference stations VRS m and VRS k].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Liu for the purpose to finally obtain the reference station position, the reference station pseudorange observation value, and the ephemeris type information (Liu, 0085).
Regarding Claim 5, 12, and 18, Tang teaches virtual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pi comprises a first virtual pseudo-range observation value and a first virtual carrier phase observation value, and virtual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pj comprises a second virtual pseudo-range observation value and a second virtual carrier phase observation value; both the satellite Pi and the satellite Pj belong to the satellites, j is different from I [using RTCM differential protocol with carrier phase and pseudorange].
Regarding Claim 6, 13, and 19 Tang fails to explicitly teach first actual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pi comprises a first actual pseudo-range observation value and a first actual carrier phase observation value, and first actual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pj comprises a second actual pseudo- range observation value and a second actual carrier phase observation value.
Liu has a GNSS pseudo-range double-difference positioning method and system for a portable smart device (abstract) and teaches first actual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pi comprises a first actual pseudo-range observation value and a first actual carrier phase observation value, and first actual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pj comprises a second actual pseudo- range observation value and a second actual carrier phase observation value [Claim 1 for using carrier phase observation and Doppler, 0079-0082 for smoothing the pseudo range].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Liu for the purpose to finally obtain the reference station position, the reference station pseudorange observation value, and the ephemeris type information (Liu, 0085).
Regarding Claim 7, 14, and 20 Tang fails to explicitly teach the adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal comprises: performing differential processing on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information to obtain third satellite differential information; determining a location offset based on the third satellite differential information; and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal by using the location offset, to obtain the target location of the terminal.
Liu has a GNSS pseudo-range double-difference positioning method and system for a portable smart device (abstract) and teaches the adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal comprises [0131-0134 for claim 3 and calculating the double difference based on single difference observation values]:
performing differential processing on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information to obtain third satellite differential information; determining a location offset based on the third satellite differential information [0089-0092 for getting baseline vector calculations];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal by using the location offset, to obtain the target location of the terminal [0102-0105 for converting relative position to local coordinates].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Liu for the purpose to the thermal noise error of the pseudorange observation value (Liu, 0104).
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 107015255 A) in view of Liu et al (US 2015/0289097 A1) and Wirola et al (US 2010/0090890 A1), as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, above, and further in view of Yang (CN 107015255 A).
Regarding Claim 2, 9, and 16, Tang teaches and performing interpolation processing on the second system positioning error based on the initial estimated location of the terminal, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites, to obtain the first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal [page 5, claims 1 steps B and D for grid based VRS computations].
Tang fails to explicitly teach the determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal comprises: determining a second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on the second actual observation data, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites.
Yang has a kind of base station equipment, including: difference resolves module and transmitter module (page 1, abstract) and teaches the determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal comprises: determining a second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on the second actual observation data, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites [0106-0108 for using the base station coordinates to calculate the actual distance of the base station and getting the base station pseudo-range].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the range calculations as taught by Yang for the purpose to improve positioning precision (Yang, 0105).
Regarding Claim 3 and 10, Tang fails to explicitly teach the second actual observation data comprises second actual observation data Qi between the target base station and a satellite Pi ; and the determining a second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on the second actual observation data, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites comprises: determining an actual distance value between the target base station and the satellite Pi; determining a difference between the second actual observation data Qi and the actual distance value as a first candidate system positioning error between the target base station and the satellite Pi; and determining the second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on a first candidate system positioning error between the target base station and each of the satellites.
Yang has a kind of base station equipment, including: difference resolves module and transmitter module (page 1, abstract) and teaches the second actual observation data comprises second actual observation data Qi between the target base station and a satellite Pi [0076 for multiple satellites, and 0116-0119 for using visible satellites and base station to measure pseudorange, with 0122 for using a second algorithm, second set of data, 0206];
and the determining a second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on the second actual observation data, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites comprises [0151, 0206]:
determining an actual distance value between the target base station and the satellite Pi 0206];
determining a difference between the second actual observation data Qi and the actual distance value as a first candidate system positioning error between the target base station and the satellite Pi [0146-0151, and 0206];
and determining the second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on a first candidate system positioning error between the target base station and each of the satellites [0151, 0206].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the range calculations as taught by Yang for the purpose to improve positioning precision (Yang, 0105).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In applicant’s arguments, page 10, last paragraph the applicant states that no references teach performing differential processing on virtual observation data. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Tang teaches performing differential processing on virtual observation data using the VRS grid point from the network base station error processing and transmitting the data in RTCM formation [Tang, page 5, claim 1B].
In applicant’s arguments, page 11, last paragraph the applicant states that Yang does not teach taking the difference between the true distance and the optimized pseudorange. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Yang teaches using satellite and base station coordinated to calculate actual distance of the base station element Ri with the pseudorange measurement element pi [Yang, 0105-0108].
In applicant’s arguments, page 12, second paragraph the applicant states that Liu does not teaches using virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Wirola teaches calculating the double different between tow virtual reference stations VRS m and VRS k [Wirola, 0100-0103].
In applicant’s arguments, page 13, sections II and III the applicant discusses reference Rudow and Del Regno. These references have been replaced with new art.
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648