DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on June 25, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-20.
Claims 4, 11 and 17 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (CN 106569239 B) in view of Janky et al (US 2010/0079333 A1) and Wirola et al (US 2010/0090890 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tang teaches a method for positioning a terminal performed by a computer device, the method comprising [page 5, claim 1]:
determining an initial estimated location of the terminal based on first actual observation data obtained by a terminal by separately performing satellite communication with multiple satellites and actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1B for getting virtual reference observation data];
determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal based on an actual location of a target base station associated with the terminal, second actual observation data obtained by the target base station by separately performing satellite communication with the satellites, and the actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1D for the terminal searches for the nearest grid point];
determining virtual observation data between the terminal and each of the satellites based on the first system positioning error and the initial estimated location of the terminal, the virtual observation data including a virtual pseudo-range observation value and a virtual carrier phase observation value between the terminal and the each of the satellites [page 5, first paragraph and clam 1 for calculating VRS data according to grid points to proximate location of the terminal];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [page 3, second paragraph for getting rover data with multiple high precision stations].
Tang fails to explicitly teach and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data, and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: performing a first differential processing.
Janky has a system for delivery of location-dependent time-specific corrections (abstract) and teaches and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data [0132 for compute a set of “synthetic” observables, i.e., observables for a virtual reference station, and 0158-0159],
and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: performing a first differential processing [0133 for GNSS observables and antenna position of a virtual reference station located at the position of rover station].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Janky for the purpose to generate the synthetic VRS observables for the position estimate provided by rover station (Janky 0132).
Tang fails to explicitly teach performing a first differential processing on virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain first satellite differential information between the virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites; performing a second differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites independently of the first differential processing, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites; and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal.
Wirola has first data that is valid for a first reference station is provided for transmission to a device (abstract) and teaches performing a first differential processing on virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain first satellite differential information between the virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [0103—0105 and equation 4 for measurement equation can be formed for the same pair of satellites for virtual reference stations VRS k and VRS m (measurement between two VRS)];
performing a second differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites independently of the first differential processing, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [0107, 0111-0112 for determining the accurate absolute position of the GNSS receiver again by subtracting the baseline vector to the new virtual reference station];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [0107 for Nrk lq and Nkm lq could be mapped to Nrm with 0111-0112 for determine the accurate absolute position of the GNSS receiver].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Wirola for the purpose to determined, the position of rover r can be determined with high precision (Wirola, 0112).
Regarding Claim 8, Tang teaches a computer device, comprising: a processor and a memory, the processor being connected to the memory [page 5, claim 1];
and the memory being configured to store program code that, when executed by the processor, causing the computer device to perform a method for positioning a terminal [page 3, first two paragraphs],
the method comprising: determining an initial estimated location of the terminal based on first actual observation data obtained by a terminal by separately performing satellite communication with multiple satellites and actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1B for getting virtual reference observation data];
determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal based on an actual location of a target base station associated with the terminal, second actual observation data obtained by the target base station by separately performing satellite communication with the satellites, and the actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1D for the terminal searches for the nearest grid point];
determining virtual observation data between the terminal and each of the satellites based on the first system positioning error and the initial estimated location of the terminal, the virtual observation data including a virtual pseudo-range observation value and a virtual carrier phase observation value between the terminal and the each of the satellites [page 5, first paragraph and clam 1 for calculating VRS data according to grid points to proximate location of the terminal];
performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [page 3, second paragraph for using differential calculations on actual observation data];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [page 3, second paragraph for getting rover data with multiple high precision stations].
Tang fails to explicitly teach and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data, and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: performing a first differential processing.
Janky has a system for delivery of location-dependent time-specific corrections (abstract) and teaches and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data [0132 for compute a set of “synthetic” observables, i.e., observables for a virtual reference station, and 0158-0159],
and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: performing a first differential processing [0133 for GNSS observables and antenna position of a virtual reference station located at the position of rover station].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Janky for the purpose to generate the synthetic VRS observables for the position estimate provided by rover station (Janky 0132).
Tang fails to explicitly teach performing a first differential processing on virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain first satellite differential information between the virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites; performing a second differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites independently of the first differential processing, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites; and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal.
Wirola has first data that is valid for a first reference station is provided for transmission to a device (abstract) and teaches performing a first differential processing on virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain first satellite differential information between the virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [0103—0105 and equation 4 for measurement equation can be formed for the same pair of satellites for virtual reference stations VRS k and VRS m (measurement between two VRS)];
performing a second differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites independently of the first differential processing, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [0107, 0111-0112 for determining the accurate absolute position of the GNSS receiver again by subtracting the baseline vector to the new virtual reference station];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [0107 for Nrk lq and Nkm lq could be mapped to Nrm with 0111-0112 for determine the accurate absolute position of the GNSS receiver].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Wirola for the purpose to determined, the position of rover r can be determined with high precision (Wirola, 0112).
Regarding Claim 15, Tang teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing program instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computer device, cause the computer device to perform a method for positioning a terminal, the method comprising [page 5, claim 1]:
determining an initial estimated location of the terminal based on first actual observation data obtained by a terminal by separately performing satellite communication with multiple satellites and actual locations of the satellites;
determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal based on an actual location of a target base station associated with the terminal, second actual observation data obtained by the target base station by separately performing satellite communication with the satellites, and the actual locations of the satellites [page 5, claim 1D for the terminal searches for the nearest grid point];
determining virtual observation data between the terminal and each of the satellites based on the first system positioning error and the initial estimated location of the terminal, the virtual observation data including a virtual pseudo-range observation value and a virtual carrier phase observation value between the terminal and the each of the satellites [page 5, first paragraph and clam 1 for calculating VRS data according to grid points to proximate location of the terminal];
performing differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [page 3, second paragraph for using differential calculations on actual observation data];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [page 3, second paragraph for getting rover data with multiple high precision stations].
Tang fails to explicitly teach and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data, and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: performing a first differential processing.
Janky has a system for delivery of location-dependent time-specific corrections (abstract) and teaches and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal according to the first system positioning error, the first actual observation data [0132 for compute a set of “synthetic” observables, i.e., observables for a virtual reference station, and 0158-0159],
and the virtual observation data to obtain a target location of the terminal, including: performing a first differential processing [0133 for GNSS observables and antenna position of a virtual reference station located at the position of rover station].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Janky for the purpose to generate the synthetic VRS observables for the position estimate provided by rover station (Janky 0132).
Tang fails to explicitly teach performing a first differential processing on virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain first satellite differential information between the virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites; performing a second differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites independently of the first differential processing, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites; and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal.
Wirola has first data that is valid for a first reference station is provided for transmission to a device (abstract) and teaches performing a first differential processing on virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites, to obtain first satellite differential information between the virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [0103—0105 and equation 4 for measurement equation can be formed for the same pair of satellites for virtual reference stations VRS k and VRS m (measurement between two VRS)];
performing a second differential processing on first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites independently of the first differential processing, to obtain second satellite differential information between the first actual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites [090-0091, 0111-0112 for determining the accurate absolute position of the GNSS receiver again by subtracting the baseline vector to the new virtual reference station];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal [0107 for Nrk lq and Nkm lq could be mapped to Nrm with 0111-0112 for determine the accurate absolute position of the GNSS receiver].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Wirola for the purpose to determined, the position of rover r can be determined with high precision (Wirola, 0112).
Regarding Claim 5, 12, and 18, Tang teaches virtual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pi comprises a first virtual pseudo-range observation value and a first virtual carrier phase observation value, and virtual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pj comprises a second virtual pseudo-range observation value and a second virtual carrier phase observation value; both the satellite Pi and the satellite Pj belong to the satellites, j is different from I [using RTCM differential protocol with carrier phase and pseudorange].
Regarding Claim 6, 13, and 19 Tang fails to explicitly teach first actual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pi comprises a first actual pseudo-range observation value and a first actual carrier phase observation value, and first actual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pj comprises a second actual pseudo- range observation value and a second actual carrier phase observation value.
Janky has a system for delivery of location-dependent time-specific corrections (abstract) and teaches first actual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pi comprises a first actual pseudo-range observation value and a first actual carrier phase observation value, and first actual observation data between the terminal and a satellite Pj comprises a second actual pseudo- range observation value and a second actual carrier phase observation value [0039 for GPS receiver computes the observables for that satellite comprising the L1 pseudorange, possibly the L2 pseudorange and the coherent L1 and L2 carrier phases. Coherent phase tracking implies that the carrier phases from two channels assigned to the same satellite and frequency will differ only by an integer number of cycles].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Janky for the purpose to track signals from all deployed GNSS (Janky, 0040).
Regarding Claim 7, 14, and 20 Tang fails to explicitly teach the adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal comprises: performing differential processing on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information to obtain third satellite differential information; determining a location offset based on the third satellite differential information; and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal by using the location offset, to obtain the target location of the terminal.
Wirola has first data that is valid for a first reference station is provided for transmission to a device (abstract) and teaches the adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal comprises [0107 and equation 5 for obtaining the double-difference integer ambiguities corresponding to the baseline between the GNSS receiver and the new VRS]:
performing differential processing on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information to obtain third satellite differential information [0107-0108];
determining a location offset based on the third satellite differential information [0109 for ambiguity solving using this equation is more reliable due to less noise than in a case];
and adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal by using the location offset, to obtain the target location of the terminal [0112 for position of rover r can be determined with high precision].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the error calculations as taught by Wirola for the purpose to position of rover r can be determined with high precision (Wirola, 0112).
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (CN 106569239 B) in view of Janky et al (US 2010/0079333 A1) and Wirola et al (US 2010/0090890 A1), as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, above, and further in view of Yang (CN 107015255 A).
Regarding Claim 2, 9, and 16, Tang teaches and performing interpolation processing on the second system positioning error based on the initial estimated location of the terminal, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites, to obtain the first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal [page 5, claims 1 steps B and D for grid based VRS computations].
Tang fails to explicitly teach the determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal comprises: determining a second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on the second actual observation data, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites.
Yang has a kind of base station equipment, including: difference resolves module and transmitter module (page 1, abstract) and teaches the determining a first system positioning error corresponding to the initial estimated location of the terminal comprises: determining a second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on the second actual observation data, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites [0106-0108 for using the base station coordinates to calculate the actual distance of the base station and getting the base station pseudo-range].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the range calculations as taught by Yang for the purpose to improve positioning precision (Yang, 0105).
Regarding Claim 3 and 10, Tang fails to explicitly teach the second actual observation data comprises second actual observation data Qi between the target base station and a satellite Pi ; and the determining a second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on the second actual observation data, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites comprises: determining an actual distance value between the target base station and the satellite Pi; determining a difference between the second actual observation data Qi and the actual distance value as a first candidate system positioning error between the target base station and the satellite Pi; and determining the second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on a first candidate system positioning error between the target base station and each of the satellites.
Yang has a kind of base station equipment, including: difference resolves module and transmitter module (page 1, abstract) and teaches the second actual observation data comprises second actual observation data Qi between the target base station and a satellite Pi [0076 for multiple satellites, and 0116-0119 for using visible satellites and base station to measure pseudorange, with 0122 for using a second algorithm, second set of data, 0206];
and the determining a second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on the second actual observation data, the actual location of the target base station, and the actual locations of the satellites comprises [0151, 0206]:
determining an actual distance value between the target base station and the satellite Pi 0206];
determining a difference between the second actual observation data Qi and the actual distance value as a first candidate system positioning error between the target base station and the satellite Pi [0146-0151, and 0206];
and determining the second system positioning error corresponding to the target base station based on a first candidate system positioning error between the target base station and each of the satellites [0151, 0206].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Tang, further including the range calculations as taught by Yang for the purpose to improve positioning precision (Yang, 0105).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In applicant’s arguments, page 12, first paragraph the applicant states that no references teach determining virtual observation data between the terminal and each of the satellites based on the first system positioning error. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Tang teaches determining virtual observation data between the terminal and each of the satellites based on the first system positioning error [Tang, page 5 first paragraph for the data center using grid point to reshape the VRS observation data and claim 1B].
In applicant’s arguments, page 12, second paragraph the applicant states that the references fail to teach performing a first differential processing on virtual observation data for two satellites. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Wirola teaches a first differential processing on virtual observation data for two satellites. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Wirola teaches using satellite and base stat [Wirola, 0103-0105 and equation 4].
In applicant’s arguments, page 12, second paragraph the applicant states that Liu does not teaches using virtual observation data corresponding to every two of the satellites. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Wirola teaches satellite to satellite differencing for localized position adjustment [Wirola, 0090-0091 and equation 1 for relative positioning computations aim at solving the double-difference integer ambiguities].
In applicant’s arguments, page 12, third paragraph the applicant states that Wirola’s processing of data is not done independently. The examiner thanks applicant for the amendments. Wirola teaches independent processing from the first differential [Wirola, 0090-0091 and equation 1 for relative positioning computations aim at solving the double-difference integer ambiguities and 0104 equation 4 for the new virtual reference station VRS m is taken into use, a corresponding measurement equation can be formed for the same pair of satellites for virtual reference stations In applicant’s arguments, page 12, third paragraph the applicant states that Wirola’s processing of data is not done independently. The examiner thanks applicant for the amendments. Wirola teaches independent processing from the first differential [Wirola, 0090-0091 and equation 1 for relative positioning computations aim at solving the double-difference integer ambiguities and 0104 equation 4 for the new virtual reference station VRS m is taken into use, a corresponding measurement equation can be formed for the same pair of satellites for virtual reference stations VRS k and VRS m].
In applicant’s arguments, page 12, last paragraph the applicant states that the references fail to teach adjusting the initial estimated location of the terminal based on the first satellite differential information and the second satellite differential information, to obtain the target location of the terminal. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Wirola teaches adjusting the initial estimated location [Wirola, 0107 for Nrk lq and Nkm lq could be mapped to Nrm with 0111-0112 for determine the accurate absolute position of the GNSS receiver].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648