DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the other surface" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the other surface" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2024/0266700 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Re Claim 1. Lee teaches an electrode assembly (Fig. 6, item 10) comprising:
a first electrode (item 11) having a first coated portion (item 11b) and a first uncoated portion (item 11a) at an edge of the first coated portion;
a second electrode (item 12) having a second coated portion (item 12b) and a second uncoated portion (item 12a) at an edge of the second coated portion;
a separator (item 13) between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a first insulating layer (item 14 on the left side of item 11a) on one surface of the first uncoated portion; and
a second insulating layer (item 14 on the right side of item 11a) on another surface of the first uncoated portion,
wherein lengths of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer are different from each other (Fig. 6).
Re Claim 2. Lee teaches wherein the first uncoated portion is bent toward a center of the electrode assembly (Fig. 6, para. 128) and has a portion overlapping and electrically connected to an adjacent first uncoated portion (Fig. 1, para. 129), and wherein the other surface of the first uncoated portion faces an end portion of the second electrode and is spaced apart from the end portion of the second electrode (Fig. 6).
Re Claim 3. Lee teaches wherein the first uncoated portion has a first region (a vertical portion of item 11a) extending from the first coated portion and a second region (a horizontal portion of item 11a) bent from the first region, wherein the second region has a portion overlapping the adjacent first uncoated portion (Fig. 6), wherein the first insulating layer is on the first region, and wherein the second insulating layer is on the second region (Fig. 6).
Re Claim 4. Lee teaches the second insulating layer is on a part of the second region (Fig. 6), wherein the second region has an exposed surface at where the other surface of the first uncoated portion is exposed (para. 129), and wherein the exposed surface of the second region contacts one surface of the adjacent first uncoated portion (para. 129).
Re Claim 5. Lee teaches wherein the second insulating layer is on the first region (Fig. 6).
Re Claim 6. Lee teaches wherein the first electrode is a positive electrode, and the second electrode is a negative electrode (para. 103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Lee (US 2012/0107655 A1, hereinafter Lee ‘655).
Re Claim 7. Lee teaches a rechargeable battery (Fig. 2 & 6, item 1) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Fig. 6, item 10) comprising:
a first electrode (item 11) having a first coated portion (item 11b) and a first uncoated portion (item 11a) at an edge of the first coated portion;
a second electrode (item 12) having a second coated portion (item 12b) and a second uncoated portion (item 12a) at an edge of the second coated portion;
a separator (item 13) between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a first insulating layer (item 14 on the left side of item 11a) on one surface of the first uncoated portion; and
a second insulating layer (item 14 on the right side of item 11a) on another surface of the first uncoated portion,
lengths of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer being different from each other (Fig. 6);
a cylindrical case (item 20) accommodating the electrode assembly;
a cap assembly (item 30) covering and sealing the cylindrical case; and
an electrolyte within the cylindrical case (para. 104).
Lee fails to specifically teach a center pin at a center of the electrode assembly.
The invention of Lee ‘655 encompasses secondary battery. Lee ‘655 teaches a center pin (Fig. 2, item 140) at a center of the electrode assembly (item 132).
In view of Lee ‘655, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Lee to employ a center pin at a center of the electrode assembly, since Lee ‘655 teaches the advantage of using it, which is to suppress deformation and movement of the electrode assembly due to charge/discharge operation (para. 64).
Re Claims 8-12. See rejections of claims 2-6, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
3/18/2026