DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otani (WO 2022/168623 A1, cited by applicant, see US 2023/0335805 A1 for English translation).
Re Claim 1. Otani teaches an electrode assembly (Fig. 1-6 & 17, item 20) comprising:
a first electrode (item 22) having a first coated portion (a portion covered by items 22B & 22D) and a first uncoated portion (item 221) at an edge of the first coated portion;
a second electrode (item 21) having a second coated portion (a portion covered by items 21B and 101) and a second uncoated portion (item 21C) at an edge of the second coated portion;
a separator (item 23) between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a first insulating layer (item 22Db) on a first surface of the first uncoated portion; and
a second insulating layer (item 22Da) on a second surface of the first uncoated portion,
wherein lengths of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer are different from each other (Fig. 17),
wherein the first uncoated portion is bent toward a center of the electrode assembly and has a portion overlapping and electrically connected to an adjacent first uncoated portion (Fig. 17), wherein the second insulating layer (item 22Da) extends onto the bent portion of the first uncoated portion (Fig. 17), and
wherein a distal end of the second insulating layer on the bent portion of the first uncoated portion is spaced apart from the adjacent first uncoated portion (Fig. 17).
Re Claim 2. Otani teaches wherein the second surface of the first uncoated portion faces an end portion of the second electrode and is spaced apart from the end portion of the second electrode (Fig. 17).
Re Claim 3. Otani teaches wherein the first uncoated portion has a first region extending from the first coated portion and a second region bent from the first region, wherein the second region has a portion overlapping the adjacent first uncoated portion, wherein the first insulating layer is on the first region, and wherein the second insulating layer is on the second region (Fig. 17).
Re Claim 4. Otani teaches wherein the second insulating layer is on a part of the second region, wherein the second region has an exposed surface at where the second surface of the first uncoated portion is exposed, and wherein the exposed surface of the second region contacts one surface of the adjacent first uncoated portion (Fig. 17).
Re Claim 5. Otani teaches wherein the second insulating layer is on the first region (Fig. 17).
Re Claim 6. Otani teaches wherein the first electrode is a negative electrode, and the second electrode is a positive electrode (Fig. 17), which is switched from the claimed configuration. However, Otani discloses that the positive electrode can be bent the same way as the negative electrode (para. 64).
Re Claim 7. Otani teaches a rechargeable battery (abstract, Fig. 1) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Fig. 1-6 & 17, item 20) comprising:
a first electrode (item 22) having a first coated portion (a portion covered by items 22B & 22D) and a first uncoated portion (item 221) at an edge of the first coated portion;
a second electrode (item 21) having a second coated portion (a portion covered by items 21B and 101) and a second uncoated portion (item 21C) at an edge of the second coated portion;
a separator (item 23) between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a first insulating layer (item 22Db) on a first surface of the first uncoated portion; and
a second insulating layer (item 22Da) on a second surface of the first uncoated portion,
wherein lengths of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer are different from each other (Fig. 17),
a cylindrical case (item 11) accommodating the electrode assembly;
a center pin (para. 67) at a center of the electrode assembly; and
an electrolyte (para. 77) within the cylindrical case,
wherein the first uncoated portion is bent toward a center of the electrode assembly and has a portion overlapping and electrically connected to an adjacent first uncoated portion (Fig. 17), wherein the second insulating layer (item 22Da) extends onto the bent portion of the first uncoated portion (Fig. 17), and
wherein a distal end of the second insulating layer on the bent portion of the first uncoated portion is spaced apart from the adjacent first uncoated portion (Fig. 17).
Re Claims 8-12. See rejections of Claims 2-6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly applied reference, Otani addresses the new limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
6/11/2026