DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-8, 18, 27, 34-35, 45, 54, 61-62, 72, 81, 88-89, 99, and 108 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 23, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-110 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-71 of copending Application No. 18/210,588 (reference application) in view of Fields (US 2006/0006628). The reference application discloses the claimed transportation module and cart, but does not specifically claim a workstation. Fields teaches another user-elevated transportation system including a gurney-like wheeled carriage (72) that transports a cart (20), the cart has a materials transportation work cell (25) mounted on its top. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the relevant art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the device claimed in the reference application to include a material transportation work cell to improve securement of any load on the cart. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims are nearly identical except include the narrowing work cell.
Claims 1-110 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-94 of copending Application No. 18/588,467 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims are nearly identical except changing the preamble’s scope from a materials transportation system to a workstation transportation system.
Claims 1-110 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-74 of copending Application No. 18/986,510 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims are nearly identical except changing the preamble’s scope from a materials transportation system to a heavy construction tools transportation system.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16, 19-23, 25-26, 28-33, 36-43, 46-50, 52-53, 55-60, 63-70, 73-77, 79-80, 82-87, 90-97, 100-104, and 106-107 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fields (US 2006/0006628) in view of Ward (US 2007/0000057) and Ondrasik et al. (6,793,223).
Regarding claims 1-2, 21, 28-29, 48, 55-56, 75, 82-83, and 102, Fields discloses a materials transportation system with loading features, comprising a transportation module (72), a cart (20), and a materials transport work cell (25; see Figs. 6-7), wherein
said transportation module comprising:
a. a frame member (74) defining a longitudinal axis and having a front and a rear opposing ends;
b. a base member (50) comprising a plurality of ground wheels (40), said wheels configured for engaging and rolling over a supporting surface;
c. a lifting assembly (90) connected between said base member (50) and said frame member (74); said lifting assembly configured to lift and lower said frame member relative to said base member; and
d. a leg member (162) comprising a leg body (166) and at least one loading wheel (164); said leg body having a first end and a second end; said first end connected to said frame member (see Fig. 10); and said loading wheel connected to said second end;
said cart (20) comprising:
a cart body (24) and at least one front wheel (32, see Fig. 6); said cart body comprising a front and a rear opposing sections, said front wheel (32) mounted to said front section of said cart body; said cart body including a transportation module-to-cart coupling mechanism configured to detachably couple to said frame member (74) of said transportation module (72; see e.g., Claim 4 providing that the removable body uses a temporal support including rails and guides);
said materials transport work cell comprising:
a plate member (e.g., the top removable worktop 25, see Fig. 7 and ¶0030) comprising a first end, an opposite second end, a first lateral side and an opposite second lateral side, wherein said plate member having a top surface, a bottom surface, a width defined by said first and second lateral sides; said plate member extending longitudinally between said first and second ends; and a perimeter defined by said first and second ends and said first and second lateral sides (see Fig. 7 showing each of these features of a plate); said plate member configured to detachably couple to said cart body (see Fig. 7 and ¶0030).
Fields’ transportation module does not have a front overhang or a rear leg member and while the work cell plate (25) includes vertical support elements (e.g., supports 80 in Fig. 3), it does not disclose a plurality of rails.
Ward teaches a transportation system with loading features, comprising a transportation module, said module comprising:
a. a frame member (34) defining a longitudinal axis and having a front and a rear opposing ends, wherein said front end comprising an overhang member (44/49a) having an overhang portion (44) protruding downwardly below said frame member; said overhang portion having at least one approach wheel (50);
b. a base member (12) comprising a plurality of ground wheels (14), said wheels configured for engaging and rolling over a supporting surface;
c. a lifting assembly (150) connected between said base member (12) and said frame member (34); said lifting assembly configured to lift and lower said frame member relative to said base member; and
d. a leg member (162) comprising a leg body (166) and at least one loading wheel (164); said leg body having a first end and a second end; said first end connected to said frame member (see Fig. 10); and said loading wheel connected to said second end;
wherein the frame member (34) includes leg-receiving means (176, see Fig. 10a), so that said leg member (162) is operable to extend from and retract to said means.
Ondrasik teaches another rolling work station, including a wheeled cart (12) that supports a work cell plate (14), the top surface of the plate (14) including a plurality of rails (48, 62) that form a tubular support framework (see e.g., Figs. 3 and 6) mounted to a top surface of the plate member via a rail bed assembly (see e.g., sockets 45 and 58 at the top surface in Figs. 1 and 3), wherein a table (60) is mounted atop of the work cell frame.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the system of Fields to include a front approach wheel overhang and deployable rear support leg as taught by Ward and to include a material supporting framework to the top plate as taught by Ondrasik to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., using an approach wheel on a gurney to aid in loading and unloading, using additional supports/legs for an elevated load to improve safety; and providing a framework on a work platform to improve retention/securing of loads thereon) to known devices (e.g., collapsible transport system that carry a load upon a top surface) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g., a device that is easier to load on a vehicle and which provides a more secure and stable transport system).
Regarding claims 3, 30, 57, and 84, the leg assembly of Ward from the above combination further provides that said leg receiving means comprising a leg receiving assembly (176), said assembly comprising a pair of spaced apart linear slide rails (see Fig. 10) extending longitudinally, each of said rails having a medially facing track (see inwardly facing track groove in Fig. 10a); and wherein said first end of said leg body (166) mounted to said medially facing tracks by mounting means (174) having rotational axes (172); said tracks configured to translatably receive said leg body (see e.g., Fig. 11), so that said leg body operable to extend and retract from said tracks; and pivot about said rotational axes when extended.
Regarding claims 4-5, 31-32, 58-59, and 85-86, the leg assembly of Ward from the above combination further comprises leg body immobilizing means (see Fig. 12 and ¶0044) configured to secure said leg member in substantially vertical position; wherein the immobilizing means comprises at least one locking pin (e.g., rod 168) on said leg body (166) and at least one gravity latch (182) on said frame member, said gravity latch configured to releasably couple (via a notch, see ¶0044) to said pin (168) to secure said leg member in the substantially vertical position.
Regarding claims 6, 33, 60, and 87, the leg assembly of Ward from the above combination further provides that said leg body (166) is length-adjustable (see ¶0042).
Regarding claims 9-11, 36-38, 63-65, and 90-92, Fields discloses that its height adjustment mechanism (90) has a scissor configuration (see e.g., Figs. 5-6) and can be adjusted (e.g., screwed -- see ¶0027), but does not specifically disclose that its height adjustment mechanism (90) is manual or powered.
Ward further teaches that said lifting assembly (150) is a scissor lift (see Fig. 9) that is manual or electrically powered (see ¶0043).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the system of the Fields combination to use either a manual or powered lifting mechanism as taught by Ward to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element (manual or powered lifting means on a scissor-type lift) for another (generic screwed lifting means on a scissor-type lift) to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claims 12-13, 16, 39-40, 43, 66-67, 70, 93-94, and 97, Fields does not disclose a user-engaged handle at the rear end of its frame.
Ward further teaches that a transportation module further comprises a handle (see the upwardly turned handles shown in Figs. 10 and 11) connected to said rear end of said frame member and that said handle includes at least one user engagement portion (e.g., the slot/opening adjacent to reference character “178” in Fig. 10 allows a user to engage the device by grasping the handle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the system of the Fields combination to include a rear frame handle with user-engagement portions as taught by Ward a to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., providing a handle to a user-manipulated wheeled vehicle) to known devices (e.g., collapsible transport system that are user-manipulated) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 14-15, 41-42, 68-69, and 95-96, Fields further discloses that said frame member further comprising a platform member (e.g., the flat surface of frame 74 in Fig. 6 that hides portions of the lifting mechanism) extending longitudinally between said front and rear ends of said frame member and said platform member (74) comprising at least one through aperture (see end of ¶0024 describing how the work surfaces can include holes through the device’s surfaces).
Regarding claim 19, 46, 73, and 100, Fields further discloses that the height adjustment mechanism (90) allows for the transportation module (72) to collapse down such that any underhanging wheels (e.g., wheels 30 and 32 hanging below the cart 20 and frame 74, see Fig. 5) has a height that is equal to the height collapsed lifting assembly (see e.g., Fig. 4) such that all the wheels on the cart (30, 40, 45) engage the supporting surface (120).
Regarding claims 20, 47, 74, and 101, Fields further discloses that said frame member (74) having a length l1, and said base member (50) having a length l2, and wherein l1 > l2 (see Fig. 6 showing the frame 74 is longer than the wheeled base).
Regarding claims 22-23, 49-50, 76-77, and 103-104, Fields further discloses that the cart body (20) further comprising a cart platform (e.g., walls 26; see Fig. 7) and a cart base (cart bottom 70); said cart platform (26) having a top surface (shown in Fig. 7) and a bottom surface (e.g., the surface that sits atop base 70); said cart base (70) connected to said bottom surface of said cart platform; wherein said plate/platform member (74) configured to detachably couple to said cart platform (via base 70) by the cart-to-work cell coupling mechanism (see e.g., claim 4 describing the temporal support guides, rails, or rack).
As discussed above with respect to claims 12-13, 16, 39-40, 43, 66-67, 70, 93-94, and 97, Fields does not disclose a user-engaged handle at the rear end of its frame.
Ward further teaches that a transportation module further comprises a handle (see the upwardly turned handles shown in Figs. 10 and 11) connected to said rear end of said frame member and that said handle includes at least one user engagement portion (e.g., the slot/opening adjacent to reference character “178” in Fig. 10 allows a user to engage the device by grasping the handle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the system of the Fields combination to include a rear frame handle with user-engagement portions as taught by Ward a to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., providing a handle to a user-manipulated wheeled vehicle) to known devices (e.g., collapsible transport system that are user-manipulated) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 25, 52, 79, and 106, the work cell framework of Ondrasik from the above combination further comprises at least one rails junction (e.g., rails 54 in Fig. 1 and the laterally running rail between rails 62 in Fig. 4) extending between and connected to at least two rails (46/48; and 62) of said plurality of rails.
Regarding claims 26, 53, 80, and 107, Fields further discloses at least one tool carrier mounted to said plate member or said cart body (26, e.g., tool storage partitions 22, 24 in Fig. 7).
Claims 17, 44, 71, and 98 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fields in view of Ward and Ondrasik as applied to claims 1, 28, 55, and 82 above and further in view of Bishop et al. (7,140,055).
Regarding claims 17, 44, 71, and 98, Fields does not disclose that any of its wheels have a shock absorbing feature.
Bishop teaches another scissor-type lifting transportation module (see e.g., Fig. 16) wherein the wheels (see Fig. 6) can include a shock absorbing assembly (216).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the system of the Fields combination to have its wheels, including any auxiliary wheels, include shock absorbers as taught by Bishop to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., improving the ride/controllability of a wheeled vehicle by providing the wheels with a suspension/shock absorption system) to known devices (e.g., collapsible transport modules) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g., a module that more readily adapts to irregularities in the rolling surface).
Claims 24, 51, 78, and 105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fields in view of Ward and Ondrasik as applied to claims 23, 50, 77, and 104 above and further in view of Myers et al (6,431,319).
Regarding claims 24, 51, 78, and 105, Fields does not disclose the particular couplings associated with its coupling mechanism.
Myers teaches another scissor-type (16) lifting transportation module (13, see Fig. 3) that supports a cart (12 generally; see Fig. 1) on top of a frame (14), the cart comprising a cart body (12 generally, see Figs. 1 and 2) and at least one front wheel (38); said cart body having a front and a rear opposing sections; said front wheel mounted to said front section of said cart body; said cart body configured to detachably couple to said frame member of said transportation module (see e.g., Col. 5, lines 14-30) via a transportation-module-to-cart coupling mechanism (33) and said platform member/plate (24/24) of said transportation module (13) is configured to detachably mount to the cart body by having a plurality of apertures (for lock 33) extending therethrough (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the system of the Fields combination to include a cart interlocking system as taught by Myers to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., using a aligned apertures to secure a load to an underlying support) to known devices (e.g., collapsible transport modules that carry a load upon a top surface) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g., a system that transports a readily detachable load carrier/cart).
Claim 109 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fields in view of Ward.
Regarding claim 109, Fields discloses a method for loading a transportation system comprising a transportation module (72), a cart (20) and a materials transport work cell (25) to an elevated surface (see Fig. 2), the method comprising: providing the system comprising the structures discussed above with respect to claim 1, the Fields/Ward combination provided for the recited system of a transportation module (72), cart (20), and materials transport work cell (25), the claim mapping and motivation for combination from claim 1 above are incorporated herein to avoid repetition.
Fields further disclosing a method comprising:
coupling said plate member (25) of said materials transport work cell to said cart body (26) of said cart (20);
coupling said cart body (26, via base 70) of said cart (20) to said frame member (74; see Fig. 6) of said transportation module (72);
advancing said system (10) along a supporting surface toward an elevated surface edge (65, see Fig. 2) via said plurality of ground wheels (40) of said base member (50);
lifting said frame member (74) relative to said base member (50) via said lifting assembly (90), so that any underhanging wheels (e.g., wheels 30) is elevated to a height exceeding a height of the elevated surface (see Fig. 2 showing the wheel 30 approaching the truck bed is above the elevated surface 65);
advancing said system (10) via said plurality of ground wheels (40) until said base member (50) is adjacent to an edge of the elevated surface and said approach wheel (e.g., wheel 30 in Fig. 2) is positioned above the elevated surface (65).
The Fields/Ward combination provides for a system having an extendable rear support leg (162). Ward teaches how the support leg (162) is used in loading a transportation module (10) and any load it is carrying onto an elevated surface including the steps of:
extending said leg member (162, from position shown in Fig. 11 to extended position shown in Figs. 1 and 10); so that said leg body has achieved substantially vertical position relative to the supporting surface;
securing said leg member in a position substantially vertical to the supporting surface (via immobilizing means shown in Fig. 12);
lowering said frame member relative to said base member via said lifting assembly until said approach wheel engages the elevated surface (implicit to the use of a lifting assembly is that the assembly can be lowered/adjusted to a desired height);
lifting said base member (12) relative to said frame member (34) via said lifting assembly (150), so that said ground wheels (14) have substantially aligned with the elevated surface;
advancing said transportation module via an approach wheel (50) and said loading wheel (164) until said ground wheels engaged the elevated surface;
retracting said leg member (162; see ¶0042 describing the use of the rear approach wheels 162/164 to allow for the transition/loading onto the elevated surface).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the system and method of Fields to include a front approach wheel overhang and deployable rear support leg to support the system while loading as taught by Ward to arrive at the claimed device and methodology with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., using an approach wheel on a gurney to aid in loading and unloading and using additional supports/legs for an elevated load to improve safety) to known devices (e.g., elevatable transport system that raises a load up onto an elevated surface) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g., a device that is easier to load on a vehicle and which provides a more stable transport system during the loading process).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 110 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not appear to disclose or otherwise fairly suggest a system as in claim 3 further comprising the claimed features of the transportation module-to-cart coupling mechanism with the recited bottom of the cart mating elements and top of the transportation module groove in its platform member in addition to all of the other recited elements and limitations.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/STEVE CLEMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618