DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show bearing sleeveas described in ¶0034 of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "136" and "138" have both been used to designate the cam (e.g., in Fig. 5, the cam 136 should be --138--).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Fath et al. (DE 102019121482, see attached machine translation) in view of Nahum et al. (10,640,136).
Regarding claims 1-3, 12, and 19-20, Fath discloses a trolley configured to maneuver an implement on a surface of a floor (that the implement can be a surgical robot moved on an operating room floor is interpreted as merely intended use and the trolley structure of Fath is not altered by its use for that purpose; see MPEP 2111.02), the trolley comprising:
a frame configured to attach to the implement (see e.g., ¶0009 and 0024 describing a transport device having four roller units/wheel assemblies);
four wheel assemblies (1) attached to the frame opposite the implement (implicit), each having a hollow center shaft (8; see Fig. 2);
a stabilizer cartridge (7) inserted into each of the hollow center shafts (8); and
an actuator module (9) attached to the frame (via top 3) and to a respective stabilizer cartridge (7), the actuator module moves the stabilizer cartridge (7) within the hollow center shaft (8) of the wheel assemblies (1);
wherein the stabilizer cartridge is movable from a first raised position, a second position where the foot of the cartridge engages the floor, and a third position where the cartridge raises/stabilizes the trolley (see ¶0035-0036 describing the activation of the foot pedal 18 to move the support foot 7 from a raised position down to the floor and then to an lifting position).
While Fath discloses a trolley that has an actuator module that deploys a caster-encased stabilizer cartridge, it does not disclose that the actuator module moves pairs of the stabilizer cartridges.
Nahum teaches another trolley having a stabilization system having selectively deployable feet (4) that are activated via an activation module (22) coupled to a pair of deployable feet/cartridges (4; see e.g., Fig. 2) where the actuator module (22) moves both stabilizers.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the trolley of Fath to have multiple stabilizer units deployed via a common/interconnected actuator module as taught by Nahum to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., linking like deployable structures together via a common actuator) to known devices (e.g., trolley’s having manually activated ground-engaging deployable stabilizer structures) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g., a trolley having stabilizer feet that are more readily deployed).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Fath further discloses that each of the wheel assemblies further comprises:
a hub (2) surrounding the hollow center shaft (8, see e.g., Fig. 2), the hub attached to the frame of the trolley (via top 3);
a housing (35) connected to the hub (2) and surrounding the hollow center shaft (8), the housing receive an axle (6) that support a wheel (5).
Fath does not disclose that each roller unit has dual wheels.
Nahum teaches the well-known expedient of providing two spaced wheels (3, see Fig. 2) mounted upon a trolley caster, where each wheel is spaced apart from the vertical rotational axis of the caster.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the trolley of Fath to use dual caster wheels as taught by Nahum to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element (a caster wheel having two wheels) for another (a caster wheel having one wheel) to obtain predictable results (e.g., a caster that distributes its weight across more rolling surfaces).
Claims 5-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fath in view of Nahum as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of Hornbach et al. (US 2006/0010643).
Regarding claims 5-7 and 14, Fath further discloses that each of the wheel assemblies (1) include a first bearing assembly (4) between the hub (2) and the hollow center shaft (8; see Fig. 8, wherein the first bearing assembly comprises ball bearings (see Fig. 2).
Fath does not disclose a sleeve baring acting as a second bearing assembly between the rotatable housing and the fixed hollow center shaft.
Hornbach teaches another caster having dual wheels mounted upon a rotatable housing (6). The caster including a first roller bearing (7) mounted between a fixed hollow center shaft (14) and a hub (e.g., the upper end of body 6) and also a sleeve-type second bearing (5; see ¶0014 describing the inner sliding surface 38) between the hollow center shaft (14) and the lower portion of housing (6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the trolley of the Fath combination to use a second lower bearing sleeve as taught by Hornbach to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., using multiple bearings in a moving element to provide additional stability) to known devices (e.g., trolley’s having casters that rotate about a fixed tubular shaft) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not appear to disclose or otherwise fairly suggest the following features when included with the other features and limitations recited in the antecedent claims: actuator module comprises a cam pivotally attached to the frame and mechanically connected to an engagement mechanism, the cam having a slot formed therein; a lift bar having a pin configured to mechanically attach the lift bar to the cam such that the pin slides within the slot to move the lift bar as the cam rotates; a linear motion system attached to the trolley frame and mechanically coupled to the lift bar, wherein the linear motion system limits the degrees of freedom of the lift bar such that the lift bar moves toward and away from the trolley frame; and an attachments mechanism mechanically attached to the lift bar and configured to be attached to the stabilizer cartridges to move the cartridges into the three positions based on the positioning of the engagement mechanism.
Conclusion
/STEVE CLEMMONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618