BENZIMIDAZOLE-BASED POLYMER ELECTROLYTE MEMBRANE HAVING HIGH IONIC CONDUCTIVITY UNDER HIGH TEMPERATURE AND NON-HUMIDIFIED CONDITIONS AND METHOD FOR PREPARING SAME
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/235,024 Art Unit: 1727 September 29, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response to Restriction filed on May 10, 2026 has been received. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Species Ia in the reply filed on May 10, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-9 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gronwald et al. (US 2009/0075141 A1).
As to Claims 10-17 and 20, Gronwald discloses a fuel cell, comprising: a membrane electrode unit (anode and cathode); and a polymer electrolyte membrane (Abstract, paragraphs [0051 and 0063] and claim 28). Gronwald discloses a polymer electrolyte membrane comprising a PBI membrane (poly(2,2’-(m-phenylene)-5,5’-dibenzimidazole) cross-linked with isocyanate groups (paragraph [0003]). In addition, the courts have held that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2113, I. Gronwald discloses the claimed membrane as the claims do not structurally differentiate the final product from that of the prior art.
Claim(s) 10-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pu et al. (CN 108539235 A; using machine translation for citation purpose).
As to Claims 10-17 and 20, Pu discloses a fuel cell (intrinsically comprises an anode and cathode) and a polymer electrolyte membrane, formed from crosslinking PBI with a imidazole ring with an isocyanate (paragraphs [0019 and 0068]). The courts have held that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2113, I. Pu discloses the claimed membrane as the claims do not structurally differentiate the final product from that of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gronwald et al. (US 2009/0075141 A1) or Pu et al. (CN 108539235 A; using machine translation for citation purpose) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 111755725 A; using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 18-19, Zhang teaches of a polymer electrolyte membrane comprising a triethylamine catalyst (paragraph [0013]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the membrane of Gronwald and Pu to comprise a triethylamine catalyst because Zhang teaches that the reliability of the fuel cell is improved (paragraph [0028]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727