DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a first portion extending in a vertical direction and a second portion extending in a horizontal direction” of the first input/output terminal as recited in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 recites the limitation "the body, each body…" in lines 8--9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the body, the body…" in lines 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 8, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0136974).
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches a battery module assembly (i.e., high voltage battery) (see figure 2) (paragraph [0019]), comprising: a first battery module (1) (paragraph [0019]) including a first module case housing a plurality of battery cells (paragraph [0007]) (see figure 2), the first battery module including a first input/output terminal (i.e., a terminal boss) (7) and a second input/output terminal (i.e., a terminal boss) (7) (paragraph [0022]) positioned at one side of the first module case (see figure 2); and
a second battery module (1) including a second module case housing a plurality of battery cells (paragraph [0007]) (see figure 2), the second battery module including a first input/output terminal (i.e., terminal boss) (7) and a second input/output terminal (i.e., terminal boss)( 7) (paragraph [0022]) positioned at one side of the second module case (see figure 2),
wherein the first input/output terminal of the first battery module includes a first module bus bar (3) connected to at least one of the plurality of battery cells inside the first module case (i.e., terminal boss penetrates busbar and is electrically connected with the battery cells) (paragraph [0022]), the first input/output terminal of the first battery module extending to and configured to connect to the second input/output terminal of the second battery module (i.e., connecting terminals of two neighboring battery modules) (see figure 2) (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Lim teaches wherein the first input/output terminal of the first battery module includes a first portion extending in a vertical direction (i.e., plate-shaped terminal plate) (9) (as shown in figure 2 below) (paragraph [0022]) and a second portion extending in a horizontal direction (as shown in figure 2 below), and wherein the second portion includes a recess (i.e., coupling hole) (11) portion oriented in the horizontal direction from an end thereof (paragraph [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Lim teaches the first battery module (1) and the second battery module (1) each include a second module bus bar (3) connected to at least one of the plurality of battery cells (i.e., terminal boss penetrates busbar and is electrically connected with the battery cells) (paragraph [0022]) (as shown in figure 2 below) respectively, each of the second module bus bars (3) including an upper end having a downwardly directed recess portion (as shown figure 2 below) (paragraph [0024]), and
wherein the second input/output terminal of the first battery module and the second input/output terminal of the second battery module each include a respective bolt (7), each of the bolts having a threaded body and a head connected to the body (as shown in figure 2 below) (paragraph [0022]), each body being positioned in the recess portion of the respective second module bus bar such that the body is exposed outside of the respective first and second battery module (as shown in figure 2 below).
Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches the body of the second input/output terminal of the second battery module is received within the recess portion of the first input/output terminal of the first battery module, further comprising a nut fastened (i.e., fastening nut) (13) to the body of the second input/output terminal of the second battery module (paragraph [0022]) (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Lim teaches the second battery module (1) further includes a second module bus bar (3) connected to at least one of the plurality of battery cells of the second battery module (i.e., terminal boss penetrates busbar and is electrically connected with the battery cells) (paragraph [0022]), the second module bus bar including an upper end having a downwardly directed recess portion(as shown figure 2 below) (paragraph [0024]), and the second input/output terminal of the second battery module includes a nut (i.e., fastening nut) (13) having a threaded terminal hole (as shown in figure 2 below), the terminal hole being aligned with the recess portion of the second module bus bar so as to be exposed to the outside of the second battery module (as shown in figure 2 below).
Regarding claim 7, Lim teaches the second battery module (1) further comprising a third battery module bus bar (3) (i.e., a plurality of battery modules 1 arranged in series with different/opposing poles adjacent to each other – implying 1, 2, 3,…,n battery modules) (paragraph [0019]), each include a second module bus bar (3) connected to at least one of the plurality of battery cells (i.e., terminal boss penetrates busbar and is electrically connected with the battery cells) (paragraph [0022]) (as shown in figure 2 below) respectively, each of the third module bus bars (3) including an upper end having a downwardly directed recess portion (as shown figure 2 below) (paragraph [0024]), and
the first input/output terminal of the second battery module and the second input/output terminal includes a bolt (7), each of the bolts having a threaded body and a head connected to the body (as shown in figure 2 below) (paragraph [0022]), the body being positioned in the recess portion of the respective second module bus bar such that the body is exposed outside of the respective first and second battery module (as shown in figure 2 below).
Regarding claim 9, Lim teaches a device (i.e., hybrid vehicle) comprising the battery of claim 1 (paragraph [0005], [0018]-[0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0136974) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Kume (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0017436).
Regarding claim 6, Lim teaches the battery module as described above in claims 1 and 5.
Lim does not teach the specifics of the terminal hole of the second input/output terminal of the second battery module is aligned with the recess portion of the first input/output terminal of the first battery module, further comprising a nut fastened to the terminal hole of the second input/output terminal of the second battery module.
Kume, also directed to a battery module (i.e., power source apparatus) (paragraph [0005]), teaches a terminal (6a) having a terminal hole aligned with a recess portion of the terminal where a nut (i.e., inserting hole) (25) is fastened to the terminal hole to connect the bus bar with the battery units (paragraph [0042]) (see figure 17 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim to include the specifics of the terminal hole of the second input/output terminal of the second battery module is aligned with the recess portion of the first input/output terminal of the first battery module, further comprising a nut fastened to the terminal hole of the second input/output terminal of the second battery module as suggested by Kume, in order to secure and connect the bus bar with the battery cells.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0211499). Cho teaches a battery module comprising a terminal (410, 420) (paragraph [0031]) a recess (i.e., groove) to fix a bus bar (330) (paragraph [0035]) (see figure 1).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723