DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 08/17/2023.
Currently, claims 1-17 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2024, 04/22/2024, and 08/14/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the transistor disposed in the first area (see claim 14) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over LI (US Pub. No. 2022/0367587) in view of YU (US Pub. No. 2021/0217983).
Regarding independent claim 1, Li teaches a display device comprising (Fig. 3):
a first area (Fig. 3, 100a, ¶ [0029]) included in a display area (Fig. 2, 100, ¶ [0029]) arranged to display images, the first area arranged to allow light to be transmitted (¶ [0029]);
a normal area (Figs. 2 & 3, top portion of 100c, ¶ [0029]) included in the display area and located outside of the first area;
a second area (Fig. 3, 100b, ¶ [0029]) included in the display area and located between the first area and the normal area;
a first anode electrode (Fig. 12, OLED, ¶ [0071] teaches that Li’s light emitting devices have anodes) of a first light emitting element (Fig. 3, right 100a2 disposed in 100a, ¶ [0032]) disposed in the first area;
a first pixel circuit (Fig. 3, 1011 connected to right 100a2, ¶ [0030]) disposed in the second area;
a first anode extension line (Figs. 3 & 12, 102 between 1011 and right 100a2, ¶ [0030]) electrically interconnecting the first anode electrode and the first pixel circuit.
However, Li does not explicitly teach at least one first compensation line connected with at least a portion of the first anode extension line.
However, Yu is a pertinent art that teaches at least one first compensation line (Fig. 3A, 210, ¶ [0045]) connected with at least a portion of the first anode extension line (Yu’s auxiliary electrode is connected with their first electrode 110. Li’s anode is connected to their anode extension line 102. Therefore, Li modified by Yu’s auxiliary electrode would be electrically connected to Li’s anode extension line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s anode to be connected to an auxiliary layer according to the teaching of Yu (Fig. 3A) in order to reduce the resistance of the first electrode (Yu ¶ [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Li teaches that one or more transistors (Fig. 3, 1011, ¶ [0030]) are disposed in the second area (Fig. 3, 100b, ¶ [0029]), and no transistor is disposed in the first area (¶ [0036] teaches that Li’s transistors that drive subpixels in 100a are disposed in 100b).
Regarding claim 3, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Li teaches that at least a portion of the first anode extension line (Figs. 3 & 12, 102, ¶ [0030]) is disposed in the first area, and the first anode extension line comprises a first transparent line (Figs. 3 & 12, 102, ¶ [0030]), optionally (Li modified by Yu teaches at least the limitations explicitly required by this claim) wherein the first anode extension line further comprises a second transparent line, and the second transparent line is located closer to the first anode electrode than the first transparent line.
Regarding claim 4, Li modified by Xu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Xu teaches that the at least one first compensation line (Fig. 3A, 210, ¶ [0045]) comprises at least one of a metal line (¶ [0052] teaches that 210 can be metallic) and a semiconductor material line (Li modified by Yu teaches at least one option required by this claim), wherein the semiconductor material line comprises a conductivity-enabled semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 5, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Li modified by Xu teaches a substrate (Li Fig. 12, 111, ¶ [0056]);
a first metal layer (Li Fig. 8, 12, ¶ [0057]) over the substrate;
a first planarization layer (Li Fig. 12, 108, ¶ [0060]) on the first metal layer (Li ¶ [0060]);
a second metal layer (Li Fig. 9, 13, ¶ [0059]) on the first planarization layer (Li ¶ [0060]);
a second planarization layer (Li Fig. 12, top half of 109, ¶ [0061]) on the second metal layer (¶ [0061]); and
a transparent conductive material layer (Li Fig. 12, 102, ¶ [0071]) on the second planarization layer,
wherein the first anode extension line comprises a first transparent line (Li ¶ [0071]) disposed in the transparent conductive material layer, and wherein the at least one first compensation line comprises a metal line located in the second metal layer (Yu’s auxiliary electrode 210 is a metal layer located below their first electrode 110. It would be obvious to have Li modified by Yu’s auxiliary layer located below Li’s anode in a same layer as another metal layer such as Li’s metal layer 13 in order to reduce manufacturing costs), optionally wherein the at least one first compensation line further comprises a metal line located in the first metal layer (Li modified by Yu teaches at least one option explicitly required by this claim).
Regarding claim 9, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Li teaches a second anode electrode (Fig. 3, anode in 100a3 in 100a, ¶ [0033]) disposed in the first area;
a second pixel circuit (Fig. 3, 1011 connected to 100a3 in 100a, ¶ [0033]) disposed in the second area; and
a second anode extension line (Fig. 3, 102 connected between 1011 and corresponding 100a3) electrically interconnecting the second anode electrode and the second pixel circuit, wherein the second anode extension line has a shorter length than the first anode extension line (Fig. 3, 102 connected between 1011 and corresponding 100a3 is shorter than 102 connected between 1011 and the right 100a2).
Regarding claim 10, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 9, and Li modified by Yu teaches at least one second compensation line (Li modified by Yu would have auxiliary electrodes connected to each of Li’s anodes) connected with at least a portion of the second anode extension line (Li Fig. 3, 102 connected between 1011 and corresponding 100a3), wherein the at least one second compensation line has a different resistance (Yu ¶ [0052] teaches that Yu’s auxiliary electrode 210 can be made of materials that have different resistances such as metals or different kinds of transparent conductive oxides. It would be obvious to select different materials for different auxiliary electrodes in Li modified by Yu’s device depending on desired electrical conductivity and light transmittance characteristics).
from the at least one first compensation line, optionally (Li modified by Yu teaches at least the limitations explicitly required by this claim) wherein the at least one second compensation line is electrically connected in parallel with the second anode extension line.
Regarding claim 11, Li modified by Yu teaches a third anode electrode (Fig. 3, anode corresponding to 100a2 in 100b, ¶ [0033]) disposed in the second area (Fig. 3, 100b, ¶ [0029]);
a third pixel circuit (Fig. 3, 1011, ¶ [0036] teaches that pixel circuits 1011 drive subpixels in area 100b) disposed in the second area; and
a third anode extension line (Fig. 3, ¶ [0036] teaches that transparent wires 102 connected pixel circuits 1011 to corresponding subpixels. Therefore, subpixel 100a2 in 100b is connected to a corresponding pixel circuit 1011 through a transparent wire 102) electrically interconnecting the third anode electrode and the third pixel circuit, wherein the third anode extension line has a shorter length than the first anode extension line (It would be obvious that pixel circuits and corresponding subpixels in the same area 100b would require a shorter length transparent wire 102 than those required between pixel circuits in 100b and subpixels in 100a), optionally (Li modified by Yu teaches at least the limitations explicitly required by the claim) wherein a compensation line is not electrically connected in parallel to the third anode extension line.
Regarding claim 12, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Li teaches a cathode electrode (¶ [0033] teaches that Li’s subpixels include a cathode) commonly disposed (Figs. 2 & 3, ¶ [0033] teaches that Li’s subpixels include a cathode. Li’s subpixels are disposed throughout areas 100a, 100b, and 100c. Therefore, Li’s cathode is commonly disposed throughout 100a, 100b, and 100c) in the normal area (Figs. 2 & 3, top portion of 100c, ¶ [0029]), the second area (Fig. 3, 100b, ¶ [0029]), and the first area (Fig. 3, 100a, ¶ [0029]), wherein the cathode electrode comprises a plurality of cathode holes (Fig. 12, area occupied by cathode in OLED, ¶ [0033]) located in the first area.
Regarding claim 13, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Li teaches a first optical electronic device (¶ [0086] teaches a light sensing unit corresponding to area 100a) overlapping the first area (Fig. 3, 100a, ¶ [0029]), wherein the first optical electronic device is arranged to receive light transmitted through the first area and perform a predefined operation by using the received light (¶ [0086] teaches that Li’s light sensing unit can be a camera. It would be obvious that a camera is capable of performing the predefined operation of taking a picture), and wherein the light received by the first optical electronic device is visible light, infrared light, or ultraviolet light (It would be obvious that a camera takes pictures using at least visible light).
Regarding claim 15, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Yu teaches that the at least one first compensation line (Fig. 3A, 210, ¶ [0045]) is electrically connected in parallel with the first anode extension line (¶ [0046] teaches that 210 is in parallel with Yu’s first electrode. Therefore, Li modified by Yu’s auxiliary electrode 210 would be in parallel with Li’s anode and corresponding transparent wire).
Regarding independent claim 16, Li teaches a display panel (Figs. 2 & 3) comprising:
a display area (Fig. 2, 100, ¶ [0029]) that includes an optical area (Fig. 3, 100a, ¶ [0029]) allowing light to be transmitted and allows one or more images to be displayed (¶ [0032] teaches that 100a includes display pixels and would therefore be able to display images);
a light emitting element (Fig. 3, 100a2 disposed in 100a, ¶ [0032]) disposed in the optical area;
a pixel circuit (Fig. 3, 1011 connected to right 100a2, ¶ [0030]) disposed outside of the optical area;
an extension line (Figs. 3 & 12, 102 between 1011 and right 100a2, ¶ [0030]) electrically interconnecting the light emitting element and the pixel circuit.
However, Li does not explicitly teach at least one compensation line connected with at least a portion of the extension line.
However, Yu is a pertinent art that teaches at least one compensation line (Fig. 3A, 210, ¶ [0045]) connected with at least a portion of the extension line (Yu’s auxiliary electrode is connected with their first electrode 110. Li’s anode is connected to their anode extension line 102. Therefore, Li modified by Yu’s auxiliary electrode would be electrically connected to Li’s anode extension line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s anode to be connected to an auxiliary layer according to the teaching of Yu (Fig. 3A) in order to reduce the resistance of the first electrode (Yu ¶ [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Li modified by Yu teaches the display panel of claim 16, and Li teaches that a transistor is not disposed in the optical area (¶ [0036] teaches that Li’s transistors that drive subpixels in 100a are disposed in 100b), and wherein the at least a portion of the extension line (Figs. 3 & 12, 102 between 1011 and right 100a2, ¶ [0030]) is disposed in the optical area (Fig. 3, 100a, ¶ [0029]), and the extension line comprises a transparent line (¶ [0030]).
Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over LI (US Pub. No. 2022/0367587) in view of YU (US Pub. No. 2021/0217983) and further in view of HAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0324353).
Regarding claim 6, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 5, and Li teaches an active layer (Fig. 12, P1, ¶ [0056]) located under the first metal layer (Li Fig. 8, 12, ¶ [0057]).
However, Li modified by Yu does not explicitly teach that the at least one first compensation line further comprises a semiconductor material line disposed in the active layer, and wherein the semiconductor material line includes, in a conductive state, the same semiconductor material as a semiconductor material for forming a channel of a transistor in the display area.
However, Han is a pertinent art that teaches that the at least one first compensation line (Fig. 7a, 20, ¶ [0085] teaches an auxiliary electrode connected in parallel to an electrode of the light emitting device in order to reduce resistance in a similar manner to Yu’s auxiliary electrode) further comprises a semiconductor material line (¶¶ [0111] & [0119] teaches that auxiliary electrode 20 can include a semiconductor in semiconductor layer 61) disposed in the active layer (Fig. 7A, 61, ¶ [0116]), and wherein the semiconductor material line includes, in a conductive state, the same semiconductor material as a semiconductor material for forming a channel (Fig. 7A, 61, ¶ [0116]) of a transistor in the display area (¶¶ [0111] & [0119]. Further, it would be obvious to use a same semiconductor material for a channel of a transistor and an auxiliary electrode in order to reduce manufacturing costs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Li modified by Yu’s auxiliary electrode to further include a semiconductor material in the active layer according to the teaching of Han (Fig. 7A) in order to reduce resistance of an electrode (Han ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 7, Li modified by Yu modified by Han teaches the display device of claim 5, and Li teaches a first buffer layer (Fig. 12, 107, ¶ [0058]) on the substrate;
a first active layer (Fig. 12, P1, ¶ [0056] ) on the first buffer layer;
a second buffer layer (Fig. 12, 108, ¶ [0060]) on the first active layer;
a second active layer (Fig. 12, P6, ¶ [0056]) on the second buffer layer (It would be obvious to arrange P6 to be on a layer above P1 in order to increase proximity to electrical connections (P6 is connected to 102 and moving P6 closer to 102 would reduce the need for another electrical connector such as 153). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.); and
a gate insulating layer (Fig. 12, bottom half of 109, ¶ [0061]) on the second active layer, wherein the first metal layer (Li Fig. 8, 12, ¶ [0057]) is located on the gate insulating layer.
However, Li modified by Yu does not explicitly teach that the at least one first compensation line further comprises at least one of a first semiconductor material line resulting from conductivity-enabling of a first semiconductor material of the first active layer and a second semiconductor material line resulting from conductivity-enabling of a second semiconductor material of the second active layer, optionally wherein the first semiconductor material and the second semiconductor material are different from each other.
However, Han is a pertinent art that teaches that the at least one first compensation line (Fig. 7a, 20, ¶ [0085] teaches an auxiliary electrode connected in parallel to an electrode of the light emitting device in order to reduce resistance in a similar manner to Yu’s auxiliary electrode) further comprises at least one of a first semiconductor material line (¶¶ [0111] & [0119] teaches that auxiliary electrode 20 can include a semiconductor in semiconductor layer 61) resulting from conductivity-enabling of a first semiconductor material of the first active layer (Fig. 7A, 61, ¶ [0116]) (¶¶ [0111] & [0119]. Further, it would be obvious to use a same semiconductor material for a channel of a transistor and an auxiliary electrode in order to reduce manufacturing costs.) and a second semiconductor material line resulting from conductivity-enabling of a second semiconductor material of the second active layer (Li modified by Yu modified by Han teaches at least one option required by this claim), optionally wherein the first semiconductor material and the second semiconductor material are different from each other (Li modified by Yu modified by Han teaches at least the limitations explicitly required by this claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Li modified by Yu’s auxiliary electrode to further include a semiconductor material in the active layer according to the teaching of Han (Fig. 7A) in order to reduce resistance of an electrode (Han ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 8, Li modified by Yu modified by Han teaches the display device of claim 6, and Yu teaches that the at least one first compensation line (Fig. 3A, 210, ¶ [0045]) overlaps the first anode electrode (Fig. 3A, 110, ¶ [0045]) and/or (Li modified by Yu modified by Han teaches at least one of the options required by this claim) one or more other anode electrodes different from the first anode electrode.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over LI (US Pub. No. 2022/0367587) in view of YU (US Pub. No. 2021/0217983) and further in view of JEONG et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0167163)
Regarding claim 14, Li modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 1, and Li teaches a third area (Figs. 2 & 3, bottom portion of 100c, ¶ [0029]) included in the display area (Fig. 2, 100, ¶ [0029]), wherein the third area comprises two or more transmission areas (Fig. 3, areas between subpixels 100c1, 100c2, and 100c3, ¶ [0031]) and a non-transmission area (Fig. 3, area occupied by subpixels 100c1, 100c3, and 100c3), wherein two or more light emitting elements are disposed in the first area (Fig. 3, 100a, ¶ [0032] teaches that area 100a includes a plurality of subpixels), and two or more light emitting elements (Fig. 3, 100c1 +100c2 + 100c3, ¶ [0031]) are disposed in the non-transmission area of the third area, and wherein a transistor is disposed in the first area, and transistors (Fig. 3, 104, ¶ [0035]) are disposed in the third area.
However, Li modified by Yu does not explicitly teach that a transistor is disposed in the first area.
However, Jeong is a pertinent art that teaches that a transistor (Fig. 23, TR2, ¶ [0363]) is disposed in the first area (Fig. 23, A1, ¶ [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li modified by Yu’s device to have at least one transistor disposed in the first area according to the teaching of Jeong (Fig. 23) in order to reduce manufacturing costs.
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2024/0090270 by Wang discloses a display device.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2019/0067396 by Cheng et al discloses a display device.
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813