DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that it would not be obvious to combine Straitz III and Jin-Shan because that would result in an igniter that is “…significantly less accessible for matters such as service, replacement, or maintenance as compared to that of the original construction taught by Straitz III” [pp. 15 of the remarks and similar on page 14]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Jin-Shan teaches that retraction of the igniter prevents burning of the tip; every engineering decision has tradeoffs, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would weigh the stated advantage against any difficulty in servicing the ignition system due to the claimed placement of the igniter1. The fact that a tradeoff exists between advantages and disadvantages does not mean that a combination is prima facie inappropriate. On pp. 15 of the remarks the applicant argues that the igniter of Jin-Shan is not applicable to Straitz III because Jin-Shan discloses an intermittent igniter whereas Straitz III “…explicitly teaches that ‘[i]n use the pilots 43 are continuously burning’ Straitz at col. 3, 61-63” [pp. 15 of the response]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The pilot of Straitz III is ignited by directing a flame through an igniter pipe that is adjacent to the pilot [column 3 lines 58-61]; there being no disclosed means of automatic reignition the pilot it is set to continuously burn. Combination with Jin-Shan would provide the ability to ignite and reignite the flare without the use of a pilot, thereby removing the need to continuously supply a pilot with fuel. For these reasons the rejections are maintained.
The applicant’s amendments to claims 20 and 26-27 overcome the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections presented in the Non-Final rejection dated 06/02/2026; therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straitz III (US 3,822,984, hereinafter Straitz) in view of Jin-Shan (CN 106610017 A, machine translated).
With respect to claim 1 Straitz discloses a hybrid flare assembly for waste gas combustion, comprising: a shell [reference character 11] defining a duct, the shell including an exhaust portion [see annotated Fig. below] extending from an offset portion [see annotated Fig. below], wherein an angle between longitudinally extending lines of the exhaust portion and the offset portion is acute [see annotated Fig. below].
Straitz does not disclose an ignitor for igniting the waste gas, the ignitor mounted to a shaft for longitudinal movement within the exhaust portion.
Jin-Shan discloses a burner system having a high energy igniter [reference character 17] mounted to a shaft [reference character 18] that extends through the center of a burner tube [reference character 22] and is positioned for longitudinal movement within the burner tube allowing the igniter to be retracted from the combustion zone after ignition to prevent the igniter from being burned2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the flare stack taught by Straitz by including the retractable igniter taught by Jin-Shan, in order to prevent the igniter from being burned [see pp. 5 of the machine translation of Jin-Shan].
With respect to claim 2 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose that the longitudinal movement of the ignitor and shaft occurs at least partially within a guide tube [reference character 10 of Jin-Shan] extending substantially along a centerline of the exhaust portion.
With respect to claim 3 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose that the exhaust portion of the shell partially defines a combustion chamber [reference character 7 of Jin-Shan] and the ignitor is supported within the combustion chamber.
With respect to claim 4 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose that the shell further includes an input portion [see annotated Fig. above associated with claim 1] extending from the offset portion.
With respect to claim 5 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose a flare stack [reference character 10 of Straitz] attached to the shell, wherein the flare stack and the exhaust portion are substantially parallel.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straitz III (US 3,822,984, hereinafter Straitz) in view of Jin-Shan (CN 106610017 A, machine translated) and further in view of Christenson (US 5,441,404).
With respect to claim 6 the combination of Straitz and Jin-Shan do not disclose a first plurality of risers at least partially arrayed about the ignitor shaft for conducting high pressure gas from a first high pressure inlet to a combustion chamber partially defined by the exhaust portion of the shell.
Christenson discloses a flare burner that includes disclose a first plurality of risers [reference character 34] at least partially arrayed about the center of the flare for conducting high pressure gas from a first high pressure inlet [reference character 26] to a combustion chamber [the area above nozzles 38] partially defined by the exhaust portion of a shell [reference character 30].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the flare taught by the combination of Straitz and Jin-Shan by providing risers around the periphery of the of the interior of the flare, as taught by Christenson, in order to provide fuel gas uniformly around the flare.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straitz III (US 3,822,984, hereinafter Straitz) in view of Jin-Shan (CN 106610017 A, machine translated) and further in view of Rajewski (US 5,749,719).
With respect to claim 9 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose a shield attached to the shell and partially defining the combustion chamber.
Rajewski discloses a flare stack having a shield [reference character 16] attached to a shell [reference character 14] and partially defining a combustion chamber [the space between the tip of the flare, 36, and the tip of the shield 16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the flare taught by the combination of Straitz and Jin-Shan by including the Shield taught by Rajewski in order to prevent wind from affecting the flame [column 1 lines 20-46 of Rajewski].
With respect to claim 10 the combination of Straitz, Jin-Shan, and Rajewski disclose that an upper edge of the shield extends above an upper edge of the exhaust portion. In Rajewski the tip of the shield extends above the tip of the flare.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straitz III (US 3,822,984, hereinafter Straitz) in view of Jin-Shan (CN 106610017 A, machine translated) and further in view of Christenson (US 5,441,404).
With respect to claim 15 Straitz discloses a hybrid flare assembly for waste gas combustion, comprising: a shell [reference character 11] defining a duct, the shell including an exhaust portion extending from an offset portion [see annotated Fig. above associated with claim 1].
Straitz does not disclose an ignitor for igniting the waste gas, the ignitor mounted to a shaft for longitudinal movement within the exhaust portion.
Jin-Shan discloses a burner system having a high energy igniter [reference character 17] mounted to a shaft [reference character 18] that extends through the center of a burner tube [reference character 22] and is positioned for longitudinal movement within the burner tube allowing the igniter to be retracted from the combustion zone after ignition to prevent the igniter from being burned3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the flare stack taught by Straitz by including the retractable igniter taught by Jin-Shan, in order to prevent the igniter from being burned [see pp. 5 of the machine translation of Jin-Shan].
The combination of Straitz and Jin-Shan do not disclose a first plurality of risers at least partially arrayed about the ignitor shaft for conducting high pressure gas from a first high pressure inlet to a combustion chamber.
Christenson discloses a flare burner that includes disclose a first plurality of risers [reference character 34] at least partially arrayed about the center of the flare for conducting high pressure gas from a first high pressure inlet [reference character 26] to a combustion chamber [the area above nozzles 38] partially defined by the exhaust portion of a shell [reference character 30].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the flare taught by the combination of Straitz and Jin-Shan by providing risers around the periphery of the of the interior of the flare, as taught by Christenson, in order to provide fuel gas uniformly around the flare.
With respect to claim 16 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose that the exhaust portion of the shell partially defines a combustion chamber [reference character 7 of Jin-Shan] and the ignitor is supported within the combustion chamber.
With respect to claim 17 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose a flare stack [reference character 10 of Straitz] attached to the shell.
With respect to claim 18 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose a guide tube [reference character 10 of Jin-Shan] within which the ignitor and ignitor shaft move.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straitz III (US 3,822,984, hereinafter Straitz) in view of Jin-Shan (CN 106610017 A, machine translated) in view of Christenson (US 5,441,404) and further in view of Rajewski (US 5,749,719).
With respect to claim 19 Straitz, Jin-Shan, and Christenson disclose a shield attached to the shell and partially defining the combustion chamber.
Rajewski discloses a flare stack having a shield [reference character 16] attached to a shell [reference character 14] and partially defining a combustion chamber [the space between the tip of the flare, 36, and the tip of the shield 16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the flare taught by the combination of Straitz, Jin-Shan, and Christenson by including the Shield taught by Rajewski in order to prevent wind from affecting the flame [column 1 lines 20-46 of Rajewski].
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straitz III (US 3,822,984, hereinafter Straitz) in view of Jin-Shan (CN 106610017 A, machine translated) and further in view of Christenson (US 5,441,404).
With respect to claim 23 Straitz discloses a hybrid flare assembly for waste gas combustion, comprising: a flare stack [reference character 10]; a shell [reference character 11] attached to and extending from the flare stack, defining a duct, and including an offset portion and an exhaust portion [see annotated Fig. above associated with claim 1].
Straitz does not disclose an ignitor for igniting the waste gas, the ignitor mounted to a shaft for longitudinal movement within the exhaust portion.
Jin-Shan discloses a burner system having a high energy igniter [reference character 17] mounted to a shaft [reference character 18] that extends through the center of a burner tube [reference character 22] and is positioned for longitudinal movement within the burner tube allowing the igniter to be retracted from the combustion zone after ignition to prevent the igniter from being burned4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the flare stack taught by Straitz by including the retractable igniter taught by Jin-Shan, in order to prevent the igniter from being burned [see pp. 5 of the machine translation of Jin-Shan].
The combination of Straitz and Jin-Shan do not disclose a first plurality of risers at least partially arrayed about the ignitor shaft for conducting high pressure gas from a first high pressure inlet to a combustion chamber.
Christenson discloses a flare burner that includes disclose a first plurality of risers [reference character 34] at least partially arrayed about the center of the flare for conducting high pressure gas from a first high pressure inlet [reference character 26] to a combustion chamber [the area above nozzles 38] partially defined by the exhaust portion of a shell [reference character 30].
With respect to claim 26 Straitz discloses that the flare stack and the exhaust portion are substantially parallel and the intermediate portion5 is angled relative to the exhaust portion [see Fig. 1].
With respect to claim 28 Straitz and Jin-Shan disclose that the exhaust portion of the shell partially defines a combustion chamber [reference character 7 of Jin-Shan] and the ignitor is centrally supported within the combustion chamber.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straitz III (US 3,822,984, hereinafter Straitz) in view of Jin-Shan (CN 106610017 A, machine translated) in view of Christenson (US 5,441,404) and further in view of Rajewski (US 5,749,719).
With respect to claim 29 Straitz, Jin-Shan, and Christenson disclose a shield attached to the shell and partially defining the combustion chamber.
Rajewski discloses a flare stack having a shield [reference character 16] attached to a shell [reference character 14] and partially defining a combustion chamber [the space between the tip of the flare, 36, and the tip of the shield 16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the flare taught by the combination of Straitz, Jin-Shan, and Christenson by including the Shield taught by Rajewski in order to prevent wind from affecting the flame [column 1 lines 20-46 of Rajewski].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 11-14, 21-22, and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 Anecdotally, if modern technology is any indicator, from automobiles to home appliances (televisions et. al), serviceability is not a factor when a particular design is considered advantageous.
2 “High-energy igniter 17 enters in the oil fog gun 11, when ignition is completed, after high-energy igniter 17 move behind the gun nozzle and prevent high-energy igniter 17 to be burned…” [pp. 5 of the machine translation of Jin-Shan].
3 “High-energy igniter 17 enters in the oil fog gun 11, when ignition is completed, after high-energy igniter 17 move behind the gun nozzle and prevent high-energy igniter 17 to be burned…” [pp. 5 of the machine translation].
4 “High-energy igniter 17 enters in the oil fog gun 11, when ignition is completed, after high-energy igniter 17 move behind the gun nozzle and prevent high-energy igniter 17 to be burned…” [pp. 5 of the machine translation].
5 Interpreted as “the offset portion”, see 112(b) rejection above.