DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
Claim Objections
The objections provided in the Office Action dated 10/14/2025 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 1/08/2026. Examiner notes that Applicant’s method of correcting Claim 15 appears to have introduced a new error as complementary amendments are missing. See the new objection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
The rejection provided in the Office Action dated 10/14/2025 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 1/08/2026 cancelling the rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejections provided in the Office Action dated 10/14/2025, except for the rejection made with respect to Claim 8 generally addressed in paragraphs 52. – 57., are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 1/08/2026 cancelling or amending the rejected claims.
With respect to Claim 8, Applicant appears to have amended the limitations at issue such that the first interpretation, or one similar enough thereto, already addressed in 54. is taken. As indicated, this amounts to new matter and is rejected under 35 USC § 112(a). Applicant’s indicated support does not correct this deficiency and Applicant’s arguments are entirely silent with respect to the issue.
Furthermore, and with respect to 35 USC § 112(b), the claim goes on to recite enabling the selection of the turning paths which under the supported meanings thereof directly contradict the contingent limitations of “when” which are independent of selection. See the updated rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
While Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/2026 have been fully considered and are not considered persuasive, in the interest of compact prosecution Examiner provides a new grounds of rejection under 35 USC § 103 in alignment with Applicant’s narrower interpretation of the claim limitations provided within their arguments.
With respect to the arguments being unpersuasive, Examiner refers to past discussions of the breadth of the terminology and phrasing used in the claim limitations, for example and in particular “within”. The present claim limitations remain highly open to geometric interpretation as little to no real geometric constraints are actually imposed.
Furthermore, the phrase “backward travel” has an ordinary and customary meaning to those of ordinary skill in the art, the specification does not provide an express intent to provide a special definition, and the meaning thereof is broader than the arguments require for them to hold merit. MPEP 2111.01 relates. Specifically, “backward” is with respect to a particular reference point, which might be freely chosen. Thus, backward travel might be considered from any perspective. Such interpretation furthermore is in alignment with the prior art. Previously cited references consider backward travel as simply going back along the field in an opposite direction, not only as the vehicle itself travelling in a reverse gear or similar; the point of reference being a particular edge, side, starting point, etc.
See for example [0083] of Ogura et al. (US 20200348690 A1) “Once setting is done by inputting values and selecting options described above, the controller 30 automatically generates a travel path R for a reciprocatory operation to be repeated in the work area HA wherein the vehicle runs straight and makes U-turns in the headlands HB to reverse the direction” (emphasis added).
As another example of the breadth of the claims, the first and second turning routes may be effectively the same form if the point where “backward travel” ends at a border of the inner and outer region.
Examiner finally notes that similar discussion was already provided with respect to “traveling backward” which Applicant’s Remarks appear silent on with respect to in Claim 7. See 90. of the Office Action dated 10/14/2025.
Consequently, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Berridge would appear to still disclose the claims.
However, various previously cited references disclose operating in reverse (e.g. US 20200409371 A1, US 20200348690 A1, and US 20180373256 A1), turns involving the vehicle reversing (e.g. JP 2019168812 A), and one reference in particular used in the updated rejection below (Kakkar et al. (US 20210339768 A1)) is directed as a whole to headland turns and discloses a wide variety of turns wherein the vehicle is operated in reverse during the turn which read on the limitations. Furthermore, it is anticipated that the body of turns disclosed read on a variety of turns even if further narrowed in future amendments to recite narrow geometric constraints being applied to regions, starting and ending points of turns, etc.
Therefore, to facilitate compact prosecution by making clear the limitations stand rejected under even the likely intended narrower interpretation the rejections are updated below with respect to Kakkar et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
All arguments rely on the arguments made with respect to Berridge under 35 USC § 102 above which are addressed above. Furthermore, all arguments with respect to other prior art would fail to be persuasive as they are generalized, non-specific, and fail to address the references as a whole.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 15, the claim recites the “the route setting method of claim 12”. Claim 12 recites “a route setting system” rather than a method. It should read “the route setting system of claim 12”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
General Notes:
The adjectives “first”, “second”, “third”, etc. have been interpreted as indicating that two items might, but are not required to be, different. It is common claim construction practice to use these adjectives for ease of referring to items while maintaining a potential distinction which might be further claimed in further limitations and dependent claims. The adjectives, under the broadest reasonable interpretation do not require a particular chronological order, difference, etc. except where Applicant’s specification sets for such an explicit definition or the claim otherwise specifies as such.
The phrase “turning” on its own has been interpreted as referring to the act of turning or performing any maneuver containing some level of turning. This is with respect specifically to Claim 7, wherein the claim recites the limitation “enables turning, without traveling backward prior to turning”.
Both the claims and specification are variable with respect to the term “turning”. Specifically, Claim 1 recites two “predetermined turning route” wherein both “includes backward travel of the work vehicle”. Furthermore, Figures 8 and 9 illustrate “turning methods” (See [0067] and [0068] of Applicant’s originally filed specification), however these both include turning backward as part of the turning method. [0065] however indicates a “turning start position after travelling backward”, however based on [0067] and [0068] this is likely referreing to the same. It thus appears to be an arbitrary demarcation without further specifying what constitutes “turning” and what does not, particularly wherein “turning route”, etc. are claimed and disclosed.
It thus presently appears that what might be considered “turning” and consequently, “prior to”, is relatively arbitrary as “turning” might be considered with respect to a whole turn maneuver/method or a component thereof.
112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Setting processing unit in Claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim recites the limitations of:
“when the outer region has a first predetermined width, the work vehicle turns in the outer region while traveling along the first predetermined turning route of the target route”
and
“when the outer region has a second predetermined width narrower than the first predetermined width, the work vehicle turns in the outer region while traveling along the second predetermined turning route of the target route”.
These limitations are contingent limitations (see interpretation below under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)) wherein the vehicle operates in a certain manner under a certain condition. However, Applicant’s originally filed disclosure does not support these limitations. As previously noted in 54. of the Office Action dated 10/14/2025 [0067] and [0068] of Applicant’s specification merely disclose preferable conditions under which each turning method might be applied, but do not provide that the method makes an evaluation of headland width and applies a particular turning method only based on the evaluation. It appears that a user selection prevails in all conditions. See also [0090], [0101], and Figure 14 (which were not indicated as support in Applicant’s remarks). If the headlands area is set using one path, then a user selects between two options. What otherwise happens is not disclosed with any clarity with step S8 potentially infinitely looping. While a particular turning route methodology might be designed for a particular condition of headland width, there is no indication that the determination is automated or of automated application under one or more contingent conditions, and instead is explicitly recited as being set by a user/operator.
The paragraphs cited as support by Applicant in the Remarks filed 01/08/2026 support the above. See “allows the operator to set the desired turning method for each work path” of [0067], “in response to the setting operation of the operator” of [0077], and “when the operator selects” of [0096] and [0097].
Furthermore, and additionally, the claim then recites displaying indicators “that enables” a particular route to be “selected”. If, as appears to be the only supported interpretation, this means a route is to be employed/executed, there is furthermore no disclosure detailing how an automated determination and user selection for a same thing interact, particularly in a manner that is neither redundant nor contradictory.
Therefore, the claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim recites the limitations:
“when the outer region has a first predetermined width, the work vehicle turns in the outer region while traveling along the first predetermined turning route of the target route”
and
“when the outer region has a second predetermined width narrower than the first predetermined width, the work vehicle turns in the outer region while traveling along the second predetermined turning route of the target route”.
First, it is not entirely clear if these are positively recited contingent claim limitations that recite further steps of the method due to the passive language utilized. Specifically, the claim limitations recite “when …” condition is met, “the work vehicle turns …” rather than “when …” condition is met, “turning the work vehicle …” matching the format of a positively recited method step and that of the independent claim it depends from.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the limitations have been interpreted as reciting, at least for the purpose of examination with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(a), the following:
“when the outer region has a first predetermined width, turning the work vehicle in the outer region while traveling along the first predetermined turning route of the target route”
and
“when the outer region has a second predetermined width narrower than the first predetermined width, turning the work vehicle in the outer region while traveling along the second predetermined turning route of the target route”.
Examiner alternatively notes that if these are not meant to be contingent limitations, and meant to further define the first and second predetermined turning route, there is no point to the “when” clause as the same definition is applied or even separating them into separate overall clauses. Both might simply recite “wherein traveling along the first and second predetermined turning route includes travel in the outer region” or similar. Therefore, it is considered that the most likely interpretation is that of contingent limitations.
Examiner furthermore notes that neither “width” is bounded in any manner and thus encompass all values further causing clarity issues.
Separately but additionally, the claim recites the limitations of:
the route setting method further comprises selectively displaying either a first turning mode indicator that enables the first predetermined turning route to be selected or a second turning mode indicator that enables the second predetermined turning route to be selected, the first user operation includes selecting the first turning mode indicator, and a second user operation includes selecting the second turning mode indicator”
wherein Claim 1 recites:
“receiving a first user operation selecting a predetermined turning route from among a plurality of predetermined turning routes;
setting the predetermined turning route …
setting a target route … the target route including … the respective predetermined turning routes”
Therefore, the claim appears to recite setting one of the turning routes, but also operating the vehicle according to one of the turning routes based on contingent conditions wherein at least one must occur. It is therefore unclear which governs. As discussed above with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(a), what actually appears disclosed is that the user/operator selects the turning route methodology from the display, wherein each methodology has an intended use case related to headland width.
Therefore, in light of what is actually supported and is likewise logical, with respect to examination with respect to prior art (35 U.S.C. 102, 103) the limitations related to “when” have been interpreted as simply reading:
“wherein traveling along the first predetermined turning route or the second predetermined turning route includes travel in the outer region” or similar.
Examiner notes wherein the claims have been addressed below in view of the prior art, as best understood by the Examiner, in light of the 35 USC 112 rejections provided herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 11 – 13, 15 – 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berridge et al. (US 20210405644 A1) in view of Kakkar et al. (US 20210339768 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Berridge teaches:
A route setting method comprising:
receiving a first user operation selecting a predetermined turning route from among a plurality of predetermined turning routes (See at least [0039] “In several embodiments, the specific shape, length, etc. of the EOR turn path 140 generated may vary depending on a selected turn path type for executing EOR turns during the performance of the agricultural operation. For instance, in one embodiment, the operator may be allowed to select a given turn path type from a number of different predetermined turn path types … By providing various options for different turn path types, the operator may select the desired turn path type (e.g., via the operator interface 52) to best suit his/her needs given the current operating conditions, based on one or more parameters of the agricultural machine 10 and/or in view of the agricultural operation being performed.” and Figure 3);
setting the predetermined turning route that is selected for each pair of work routes of a plurality of pairs of work routes included in a work area (See at least [0038] “Upon reaching an end point 120 of a first path 122 defined along one of the guidance lines 122 during the performance of an agricultural operation, the agricultural vehicle 12 may proceed to a starting point 124 of a second path 126 defined along a different guidance line 122 by following an end-of-row (EOR) turn path 140 during the execution of an EOR turn”, [0039] above, and Figure 3) where a work vehicle is configured to autonomously travel (See at least [0029] “In an automatic or semi-automatic mode of operation, the vehicle steering system 48 may be controlled automatically by the vehicle control system 42”), wherein the work area includes an inner region (See at least work area 106 and 206) and an outer region surrounding the inner region (See at least headlands area 108 and 208); and
setting a target route along which the work vehicle is configured to autonomously travel within the work area, the target route including the plurality of pairs of work routes and each of the respective predetermined turning routes set for the plurality of pairs of work routes; (See again at least [0038], [0039], and Figure 3), wherein a first portion of the target route is within the inner region and is configured to direct the work vehicle to travel reciprocally back and forth, and wherein a second portion of the target route is in the outer region and is configured to direct the work vehicle to travel around the inner region (See at least Figures 3 and 4B); and
controlling the work vehicle to autonomously travel along the target route (See at least [0022] “Alternatively, the vehicle 12 may have a cab-free configuration, such as when the vehicle 12 is configured as an autonomous vehicle” and [0029] “The vehicle steering system 48 may be controlled by the operator in a manual mode of operation. In an automatic or semi-automatic mode of operation, the vehicle steering system 48 may be controlled automatically by the vehicle control system 42”),
wherein the plurality of predetermined turning routes include a first predetermined turning route and a second predetermined turning route (See again at least [0039]),
…
Berridge, under BRI discloses, but under the likely intended interpretation does not disclose, but Kakkar clearly discloses and is thus relied upon in the interest of compact prosecution:
…
wherein the first predetermined turning route includes backward travel of the work vehicle that ends within the inner region (See at least Figure 3A, 3B, and [0032] which disclose that a vehicle may begin a given turn in the forward or reverse gear. Furthermore, per [0052] “the shape of the trajectory may adaptively change depending on the shape of the guidance line”. Finally, see the “headland-following (HF)” ([0052]), “move-to-start-of-turn (MST)” ([0061]), “move-to-end-of-swath-before-turn (MESBT)” ([0065]), “move-to-beginning-of-next-swath-after-turn (MBSAT)” ([0066]), and “turn-within-boundary (TWB)” ([0068]) options/features. These collectively allow for huge variety including various turns meeting the criteria of the limitations. For more specific examples, see at least Figures 9A, 10, and 11), and
wherein the second predetermined turning route includes backward travel of the work vehicle that ends within the outer region (See again above disclosure and comments made with respect to the first predetermined route. For more specific examples, see at least Figures 3B, 4A – 4C, and 5A – 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the turning methods/options/features as taught by Kakkar in the same of Berridge with a reasonable expectation of success. Having a most appropriate turning option can save time, fuel, and damage to crops or avoid other machines and structures (See [0004] of Berridge).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method according to claim 1,
Berridge further teaches:
further comprising accepting the first user operation for each of a plurality of outer periphery edges forming the work area (See again [0039] above, Figure 3, and variously work boundary 104, 204 as well as field 102, 202. Examiner notes that the nature of this claim is not particularly claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method according to claim 3,
Berridge further teaches:
further comprising displaying a first outer periphery edge in a different display form on an operation screen than a second outer periphery edge (Examiner notes that the nature of a “display form” or the “displaying” itself is not claimed leaving the claim particularly open to broad interpretation. Examiner finds Figures 3, 4A, and 4B to illustrate outer periphery edges forming a work area in “different display forms”, wherein that might include simply displaying them in different locations, with different curvatures, line widths, line types, etc. Furthermore, the turn paths are shown connected to the boundaries which is a clear means of showing different turns for different edges).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method according to claim 1,
Berridge further teaches:
further comprising
receiving a second user operation selecting a number of laps for rotating travel in the outer region (Examiner notes that as presently claimed, this limitation does not appear to limit the claim such that it must reflect the form of work route Rb in Figure 3 of Applicant’s drawings. The plain meaning of lap is particularly broad, the nature of “in the outer region” and “for rotating travel” if recited positively rather than as intended purpose or use are both likewise broad. Additionally, Examiner notes that it is clear from Applicant’s choice of the term “lap” rather than repeating an existing term that “lap” is not exclusive of other previously recited terms, such as “work paths” or “turning routes.
See at least Figure 3 which clearly illustrates that the work vehicle 10 performs a lap in the headlands area 108, and that the number of such laps (turns) is predicated upon the number of guidance lines 112, 212 which are determined by a user operation. See at least [0037] which illustrates processes by which the user participates in generation of the guidance lines. See also [0039] which makes clear that this user operation is distinct from determining the nature of the turns or laps).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method according to claim 5,
Berridge further teaches:
further comprising enabling acceptance of the first user operation based on a predetermined number being selected as the number of laps by the second user operation (Examiner notes that the nature of a predetermined number being selected is not claimed with any particularity. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms as constructed, selecting baseline information which predicates the number as shown above with respect to Claim 5 is a form of selecting the predetermined number. Furthermore, the nature of “enabling acceptance” is particularly open to broad interpretation. Examiner considers the ability to input information leading to the generation of the guidance lines, and consequently their number, as therefore enabling the receiving of a further input of a turning method (a first user operation) related to two of them).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method according to claim 6,
Berridge further teaches:
wherein the predetermined number is such a number that a total working width corresponding to the predetermined number is less than a width that enables turning, without traveling backward prior to turning, from a first work route to a second work route in the inner area (Examiner notes that the claim appears to only hold a loose relationship with that of the predetermined number. For example, the claim does not state that the predetermined number is selected in such a manner that the condition noted must occur, or similar. Instead, the claim merely indicates that the number results in such a condition. Furthermore, the nature of the correspondence is not claimed and by nature of being related to work in the same area shares a correspondence. Additionally, and separately the nature of “total working width” is not specified, and under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term may refer to any width related to the working of the work vehicle. Additionally, “travelling backward” is not necessarily the same as “travelling in reverse”, and furthermore, a subject for “travelling backward” is omitted and therefore open to interpretation. “Backward” requires a reference for forwards, and for example may be defined with respect to “the first work route” as indicated under one reading of the claim. Additionally, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar already discloses various means of “backwards”. Finally, Examiner takes official notice that the performance of backing up in order to make a turn wherein the available width of the lane/headlands/road/etc. is less than that of the minimum turning radius of the vehicle in question is common knowledge in the art of driving a vehicle and is known under the general term of a multi-point term.
In light of the above, without further clear and positive recitation narrowing the limitations above, it is Examiner’s opinion that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations Berridge teaches this limitation. Berridge teaches a headlands area which is a form of total working width. Berridge does not limit the headlands area to any particular size, and indeed indicates defining it ([0036]). The number of guidance lines and headlands area is directly related to how much of the overall field is designated as the work boundary 104, 204 and thus share a correspondence/relationship. Finally, Berridge teaches a detailed control over setting the turns, which given the also free directions by which guidance lines might be defined, presumably covers turns involving directions which are “backward” in some manner (See latter half of [0039])).
Therefore, if not already taught by Berridge, and furthermore not considered already incorporated into the combination of Berridge and Kakkar, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the common knowledge of the well-understood and routine multi-point turn in the turn options of Berridge in order to have available a turn method known for use in accomplishing a turn wherein the available (headland) area is smaller than the minimum turn radius of the (work) vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method according to claim 1,
Berridge further teaches:
when the outer region has a first predetermined width, the work vehicle turns in the outer region while traveling along the first predetermined turning route of the target route,
when the outer region has a second predetermined width narrower than the first predetermined width, the work vehicle turns in the outer region while traveling along the second predetermined turning route of the target route (See 112 rejections above.
Furthermore, Examiner notes that “width” is not particularly defined. See at least the following sections related to how different EOR turn paths might be generated based on different “widths” related to the headlands area: [0037] “In one embodiment, the guidance lines 112 may be generated by the vehicle control system 42 based on the swath width 114 and an initial guidance line defined across the work area 106” and [0039] “For example, an EOR turn path 140 between two different guidance lines 112 may be defined in a variety of different ways, such as along paths of different shapes and/or lengths. Such different path shapes/lengths can be characterized as different turn path types, thereby allowing an operator to select a desired turn path type based on, for instance, operator preferences, the lateral footprint 116 of the agricultural machine 110, available space within the headlands area 108, and/or the like” (emphasis added)), and
the route setting method further comprises selectively displaying either a first turning mode indicator that enables the first predetermined turning route to be selected or (Note optional indicator “or”) a second turning mode indicator that enables the second predetermined turning route to be selected, the first user operation includes selecting the first turning mode indicator, and a second user operation includes selecting the second turning mode indicator (Examiner notes the use of the vague term “indicator” which might be considered as anything related to said item. Additionally, the vague term “enables”. Furthermore, the user operations are not indicated as having any particular timing or other particular relationship, and the actual nature of “displaying” or “selectively displaying” is not claimed with any particularity.
See at least [0053] “In addition to such automatic control (or as an alternative thereto), the computing system 90 (e.g., via the operator interface 52) may be configured to display the boundary-based EOR turn path to the machine operator. For instance, as indicated above, the boundary-based EOR turn path may be displayed in association with a field map on the display 66 of the operator interface 52 to allow the operator to view the generated turn path” and [0059] “By providing various options for different turn path types, the operator may select the desired turn path type (e.g., via the operator interface 52) to best suit his/her needs given the current operating conditions, based on one or more parameters of the agricultural machine 10 and/or in view of the agricultural operation being performed”).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method according to claim 1,
Berridge further teaches:
further comprising permitting acceptance of the first user operation after autonomous traveling of the work vehicle starts (See at least [0028] “The vehicle speed system 46 may be controlled by the operator in a manual mode of operation. In an automatic or semi-automatic mode of operation, the vehicle speed system 46 may be controlled automatically or semi-automatically by the vehicle control system 42” and [0035] “In several embodiments, the field map 100 may be configured to be presented to the vehicle operator (e.g., via the display 66 of the operator interface 52) during the performance an agricultural operation within the field 102 (e.g., planting, tilling, spraying, harvesting, and/or the like). For instance, the field map 100 may be presented to the operator to display swath or guidance lines, end-of-row turn paths, and/or other relevant information as an agricultural operation is being performed within the field 102”).
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, the claims recite essentially the same limitations of Claim 12 above with respect to the application of prior art and said limitations are rejected under the same logic as Claim 1 above. This position of equivalency is supported by at least Applicant’s Remarks filed 01/08/2026 which argues the claims together and states they “recite similar elements as claim 1, and are patentable for at least the same reasons”.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method of claim 12,
Berridge further teaches:
wherein the first starting point of the first predetermined turning route is positioned within the inner area such that a portion of the inner area adjacent to the first starting point remains unworked subsequent to the work vehicle autonomously traveling along the first predetermined turning route (Examiner notes that at this point in the claims the term “inner area” has not been defined with any particularity. The only limitation to it is the plain meaning, that of it being an inner region of the work area. A smaller or larger area than that defined by work boundary 104 might be chosen as the boundary, which would therefore expand or shrink what is arbitrarily considered an “inner area”. Therefore, this limitation might be met simply due to the open and undefined nature of the claim terms as presently constructed.
Furthermore, Examiner notes the term “adjacent to” is particularly broad.
Alternatively, and furthermore, see at least [0029] “When the vehicle 12 or implement 14 reaches the starting point 124 of the second path 126 (or at a location immediately before or after such starting point 124), the implement 14 is then lowered, turned on, and/or otherwise engaged to allow for the continuation of the agricultural operation as the vehicle 12 proceeds across the work area 106 along the second path 126” (emphasis added)).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method of claim 1,
Berridge further teaches:
wherein the second starting point of the second predetermined turning route is positioned such that a portion of the work vehicle exits the work area while the work vehicle autonomously travels along the second predetermined turning route (While Berridge teaches that turns might be defined based on “available space within the headlands area 108”, Berridge does not teach that turns are limited thereto. Furthermore, Berridge clearly teaches that the definition of a headland is mostly arbitrary “The headlands area 108 may, for example, be defined between the work boundary 102 of the field 102 and an outer field boundary 110 defining the outline or otherwise forming the outer perimeter of the field 102. The outer field boundary 110 may be a physical boundary for the field 102 (e.g., a fence, creek, ravine, road, etc.) or may correspond to a virtual boundary defining the outer perimeter of the field 102”. Therefore, under Applicant’s presently constructed claims which only loosely defines “work area”, this condition is readily met. Examiner might readily and arbitrarily take Figure 3 or Figure 4a and draw a new arbitrary boundary for, or otherwise subdivide the headlands such that the illustrated turn would cause at least a portion of the work vehicle to protrude. In fact, Figure 3 appears to be illustrated such that implement 14 would cross the over the dashed line of 102 while making turn path 140).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method according to claim 1,
There is little practical distinction between this limitation and those of Claim 1 which already recite selecting from a plurality of predetermined turning routes which included the first and second turning routes. With respect to prior art, Berridge has already been shown to teach selecting a turning route and in combination with Kakkar that these routes are among the body of potential routes. See again Claim 1 or [0039] in particular of Berridge.
where the predetermined turning route selected by the first user operation is the first predetermined turning route or the second predetermined turning route.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berridge et al. in view of Kakkar et al., or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Berridge et al. in view of Kakkar et al., further in view of Ogura et al. (US 20200348690 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Berridge and Kakkar teaches:
The route setting method of claim 1,
Berridge further discloses:
further comprising:
displaying a first indication representing at least a portion of the target route; and
displaying a second indication overlaid on the first indication and representing the autonomous work vehicle such that the second indication or the first indication moves relative to the other as the autonomous work vehicle travels along the target route (See at least [0035] “Referring now to FIG. 3, a schematic view of a portion of a field map 100 showing an agricultural machine 10 (including an agricultural vehicle 12 and an implement 14) within a field 102 is illustrated in accordance with aspects of the present subject matter. In several embodiments, the field map 100 may be configured to be presented to the vehicle operator (e.g., via the display 66 of the operator interface 52) during the performance an agricultural operation within the field 102 (e.g., planting, tilling, spraying, harvesting, and/or the like). For instance, the field map 100 may be presented to the operator to display swath or guidance lines, end-of-row turn paths, and/or other relevant information as an agricultural operation is being performed within the field 102” and Figure 3).
In light of Figure 3 which shows the vehicle on an apparent heading, and particularly in light of the state of the art of computerized navigation and display of information thereof, that both the route and the progress of the vehicle are displayed. However, as it is not entirely explicit, Examiner alternatively provides Ogura et al. which teaches [0057] “Worked sections in the preset travel path R for the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 and the accompanying travel work vehicle 100 are filled in so that the remaining sections of the route are easily distinguishable from the entire route. Alternatively, unworked sections and worked sections of the route may be indicated with different colors. Alternatively, the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 and the accompanying travel work vehicle 100 may be shown as animated images on the operation route to indicate their current operating positions”.
Wherein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the location of the vehicle on the route as taught by Ogura with a reasonable expectation of success. The display of the current position of a vehicle on a navigation route is well-known, understood, and routine. Such information can be invaluable to a vehicle operator or supervisor to determine progress and location of a vehicle along a route.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Also, Kimura et al. (JP 2019168812 A), Ueda et al. (US 20200409371 A1), Nishii et al. (US 20200363811 A1), Runde et al. (US 20180373256 A1), and Potier et al. (US 20170188505 A1) which teach autonomous work vehicles making planned turns in headland areas.
Also, US 20230011137 A1, US 20210000006 A1, and US 20200029490 A1, in particular US 20230011137 A1 assigned to Bear Flag Robotics, Inc. directed to autonomous agricultural vehicles, the particular application being directed to path generation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW C GAMMON/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657