DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a filed document or remarks of a filed response (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parsons (US 2012/0214610).
In reference to claim 1
Parsons discloses:
A grip (see the embodiments of both Figures 14 and 15) comprising:
an elongated body extending from a first axial body end (i.e., top end) to a second axial body end (i.e., bottom end) along a longitudinal axis, the body comprising:
a first section ((1) the portion including left side 406 or the portion including right side 408 - Figure 14; (2) the portion including left side 506 - Figure 15) having a cavity (see Figures 14 and 15) therein for receiving a shaft (12) extending at least partially therethrough; and
a second section ((1) the portion including right side 408 or the portion including left side 406 - Figure 14; (2) the portion including right side 508) adjacent the first section such that the second section is offset from the shaft when the shaft is received in the cavity of the first section.
In reference to claim 2
Parsons discloses:
The grip of claim 1, wherein the body has a first width at the first axial body end (i.e., top end) and a second width at the second axial body end (i.e., bottom end), and the second section tapers (see Figures 14 and 15) from the first axial body end to the second axial body end such that the first width is greater (see Figures 14 and 15) in magnitude than the second width.
In reference to claim 3
Parsons discloses:
The grip of claim 1, wherein the body has a cross-sectional shape (see Figure 16) of a rectangle with rounded ends.
In reference to claim 4
Parsons discloses:
The grip of claim 1, wherein the first section and the second section are integrally formed (see e.g. Figure 7 showing the typical construction of the grip).
In reference to claim 6
Parsons discloses:
The grip of claim 1, wherein the body further comprises an exterior gripping surface (i.e., the exterior surface can be gripped and, thus, can be considered a gripping surface; alternatively, see par. [0035] stating “The grip 100 may be fabricated from a flexible material such as a synthetic polymeric material, leather, others, or a combination of these” (emphasis added)) extending therearound.
In reference to claim 7
Parsons discloses:
The grip of claim 1, wherein the second section is formed of a shock-absorbing material (see par. [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parsons in view of Siniscalchi (US 9,586,108).
In reference to claim 5
Parsons discloses:
The grip of claim 1.
Parsons does not disclose:
the first section and the second section are separate components attached to one another.
Siniscalchi discloses:
a grip (see Figure 5) for a golf club, the grip comprising separate components (12 and 18) attached to one another.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grip of Parsons to include forming the first section and the second section as separate components attached to one another, as disclosed by Siniscalchi, for the purpose of allowing ease of installation and/or forming the first section of a different material than the second section.
Citations of Pertinent Art
The following art is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
All cited references disclose a golf club grip that tapers from a top end to a bottom end.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711